DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: in each of claims 7-9, line 2, “0.3 MPa.” Should be changed to “0.3 MPa” (i.e., the period after “Pa” should be removed). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 was not included in the claim listing provided with the preliminary amendment of April 11, 2025. Since the subject matter of claim 18 was incorporated into claim 17, claim 18 is being treated as a canceled claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 15, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the (meth)acrylic polymer” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 22, from which claim 3 directly depends, recites “an acrylic polymer” but not “a (meth)acrylic polymer”. For purposes of examination, claim 4 is being construed as depending from claim 3 which recites that the polymer is a (meth)acrylic polymer.
Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and is therefore also indefinite for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 4.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the latent catalyst” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 22, from which claim 15 depends, recites a catalyst but not a latent catalyst. For purposes of examination, “the latent catalyst” is being construed as “the catalyst nis a latent catalyst”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the chemical compound” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 22, from which claim 16 depends, does not recite “a chemical compound”. For purposes of examination, claim 16 is being construed as depending from claim 15 which does recite a chemical compound.
Claim 23 recites “a polymer” in line 2. Claim 23, however, depends from claim 22 which also recites “an acrylic polymer”. It is therefore unclear whether the polymer of claim 23 is the same as the acrylic polymer of claim 22. For purposes of examination, “a polymer” is being construed as “the acrylic polymer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,800,170 B2, cited in IDS submitted June 11, 2025).
Regarding claim 22, Kendall discloses an adhesive composition (Abstract of Kendall) comprising: a polymer (9:37-43 of Kendall, adhesive composition comprises a polymer such as a thickening polymer); unpolymerized cyclic olefin (Abstract of Kendall, adhesive composition comprises a reactive cycloolefin); and a ring opening metathesis polymerization catalyst or precatalyst thereof (Abstract of Kendall, adhesive composition comprises metathesis catalyst; 4:19-20, 37-40 of Kendall, metathesis reaction involves ring opening polymerization or ROMP).
Kendall does not specifically disclose that the composition comprises at least 20 wt.% of the polymer. Kendall, however, discloses compositions comprising from 0 to about 50 wt% of the polymer thickener (19:51-52 and 66-67 of Kendall). Kendall therefore clearly teaches a polymer content range (i.e., 0-50 wt%) that overlaps with that recited in claim 22 (i.e., at least 20 wt%) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)). Kendall also discloses that the amount of thickener added to the composition depends upon the desired final viscosity, the viscosity of the thickener and the viscosity of the metathesizable material (i.e., the cyclic olefin) (9:64-67 of Kendall). Kendall therefore establishes that the amount of thickening polymer in the composition is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., increasing or decreasing the viscosity of the composition) (9:64-67 of Kendall). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of thickener in the adhesive of Kendall, including providing amounts of thickener as recited in claim 23. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B).
Regarding claim 23, Kendall does not specifically disclose that the composition comprises at least 30, 40 or 50 wt.% of the polymer. Kendall, however, discloses compositions comprising from 0 to about 50 wt% of the polymer thickener (19:51-52 and 66-67 of Kendall). Kendall therefore teaches a polymer content range (i.e., 0-50 wt%) that overlaps with that recited in claim 23 (i.e., at least 30, 40 or 50 wt%) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)). Kendall also discloses that the amount of thickener added to the composition depends upon the desired final viscosity, the viscosity of the thickener and the viscosity of the metathesizable material (i.e., the cyclic olefin) (9:64-67 of Kendall). Kendall therefore establishes that the amount of thickening polymer in the composition is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., increasing or decreasing the viscosity of the composition) (9:64-67 of Kendall). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of thickener in the adhesive of Kendall, including providing amounts of thickener as recited in claim 23. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B).
Regarding claim 3, Kendall discloses that the polymer is a (meth)acrylic polymer (9:37-43 of Kendall, thickening polymer can be an acrylic).
Claims 4, 5, 10-15, 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall in view of Ungefug et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,939,496, cited in IDS submitted June 11, 2025) as evidenced by Penzel et al. (“Polyacrylates”, Ullman’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 2018, cited in IDS submitted June 11, 2025).
Regarding claim 24, Kendall also does not disclose that the polymer has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of less than 25°C. Kendall, however, discloses that the composition can contain a thickening polymer and that the thickening polymer can be an acrylic polymer (9:37-43 of Kendall). Kendall also discloses that the compositions can be aqueous (21:5-8 of Kendall). Ungefug discloses a polyacrylate thickener from ethyl acrylate (Abstract of Ungefug). According to Ungefug, the ethyl acrylate polymer thickeners have increased thickening properties compared to conventional thickening polymers made using methyl acrylate therefore allowing for less thickener to be used in order to reach a target viscosity (3:27-33 of Ungefug). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ethyl acrylate polymer thickeners of Ungefug as the acrylic polymer thickeners in the adhesive article of Kendall. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a target viscosity using less thickener as taught by Ungefug (3:27-33 of Ungefug). While Ungefug does not specifically disclose the glass transition temperature (Tg) of the ethyl acrylate polymers, as evidenced by Penzel, ethyl acrylate homopolymers have a Tg of -8 ℃ (pg. 4, Table 1 of Penzel).
Regarding claim 4, Kendall does not specifically disclose that the (meth)acrylic polymer comprises polymerized units of non-acid-functional polar monomers. As set forth above with respect to claim 24, however, Ungefug provides motivation to use ethyl acrylate polymer thickeners as the polymer thickeners in the adhesive article of Kendall (3:27-33 of Ungefug). Ungefug discloses forming the polymers from a monomer blend containing hydroxyethyl methacrylate or hydroxypropyl methacrylate which are non-acid functional polar monomers (3:49-60 of Ungefug).
Regarding claim 5, Ungefug discloses that the non-acid-functional polar monomers comprise hydroxyl, ether, or amide groups (3:49-60 of Ungefug, monomer blend containing hydroxyethyl methacrylate or hydroxypropyl methacrylate which are non-acid functional polar monomers comprising hydroxyl groups; claim only requires one of the recited functional groups)
Regarding claim 10, Ungefug discloses that the polymer comprises at least 50, 60, 70, 80, or 90 wt.% of polymerized units of monomer having a Tg less than 0 ℃ (8:55-66, Table I of Ungefug, polyacrylate thickener comprises 99 parts ethyl acrylate and 1 part methyl acrylate; as evidenced by Table 1 of Penzel, ethyl acrylate has a Tg of -8 ℃).
Regarding claim 11, Kendall discloses that the polymer lacks functional groups that copolymerize with the cyclic olefin (9:57-60 of Kendall, thickening polymer may contain metathesizable functionalities that would allow it to cure with the cyclic olefin; since such functionalities are disclosed as being optional, Kendall discloses polymers with and without such functionalities).
Regarding claim 12, Kendall discloses that the cyclic olefin comprises moieties selected from cyclopentadiene, norbornene, and oligomers thereof (4:66-5:2 of Kendall, metathesizable material can be norbornene or a cycloalkadiene; 6:35-36 of Kendall, metathesizable material can be dicyclopentadiene).
Regarding claim 13, Kendall does not specifically disclose that the cyclic olefin is present in an amount ranging from 10 to 80 wt.%. Kendall, however, discloses compositions wherein the metathesizable monomer (i.e., cyclic olefin) is present in amounts of about 20 to 99.999 wt% (19:40-20:2 of Kendall). Moreover, Parts A and B of the two-part system disclosed in Kendall when combined would have about 20 to 100 wt% cyclic olefin when 0.0001 wt% metathesis catalyst and 99.999 wt% carrier fluid was used as component B. Kendall therefore clearly teaches a cyclic olefin range (i.e., 20 to 99.999 wt%) that overlaps with that recited in claim 12 (i.e., 10-80 wt%) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 14, Kendall discloses that the catalyst is a ruthenium or osmium metal carbene catalyst (10:65-67 of Kendall, catalyst may be ruthenium or osmium carbene complex).
Regarding claim 15, Kendall discloses that the latent catalyst is activated by heat, actinic radiation, a chemical compound, or a combination thereof and the chemical compound is an acid, photoacid generator, or thermal acid generator (20:12-15 of Kendall, catalyst that requires thermal activation can be used; claim only requires one of the latent catalyst types).
Regarding claim 17, Kendall does not specifically disclose that the catalyst or precatalyst thereof is sufficiently latent such that the adhesive composition exhibits an overlap shear value with aluminum of less than 30 kPa after 24 hours at 25°C and/or that the adhesive composition after polymerization of the cyclic olefin exhibits an overlap shear value with aluminum of at least 100 kPa. Kendall, however, discloses using a catalyst that requires thermal activation (20:12-15 of Kendall). Kendall also discloses that such mixtures can be formulated as one-part adhesives which can be applied to a substrate for bonding and only effecting bonding of the substrate after heating the mixture to a temperature at which the catalyst becomes active (20:15-22 of Kendall). Kendall therefore discloses that latency of the catalyst is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., allowing the reaction to be initiated after coating) (20:15-22 of Kendall). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the latency of the catalyst in the adhesive composition of Kendall, including providing catalyst having a latency as recited in claim 17. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B). Regarding the limitation that the adhesive composition after polymerization of the cyclic olefin exhibits an overlap shear value with aluminum of at least 100 kPa, Kendall discloses bonding aluminum substrates with the adhesive (21:31-32 and 57-60 of Kendall). Kendall also discloses that the compositions display remarkable bonding or adhesion strength (2:40-44 of Kendall). Kendall therefore provides motivation to maximize the bonding strength of the compositions with aluminum substrates.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall in view of Ungefug as evidenced by Penzel as applied to claim 1 above and as further evidenced by Li et al. (“Fluorinated Poly(meth)acrylate: Synthesis and properties”, November 2014, Polymer 55(24), https://www.researchgate.net/publication/266321301_Fluorinated_Polymethacrylate_Synthesis_and_properties, cited in IDS submitted June 11, 2025).
Regarding claim 2, Ungefug does not specifically disclose that the polymer is a random polymer. Ungefug, however, discloses thickening polymers made from ethyl acrylate monomer blends with other acrylate monomers using free-radical initiators (3:49-62 of Ungefug, ethyl acrylate monomer blend combined with initiator; 3:61-4:15 of Ungefug, potassium and sodium persulfate used as initiators). As evidenced by Li, the resulting copolymers would be random copolymers (pg. 3, sec. 3.1.1 of Li, potassium persulfate used in random copolymerization of acrylates).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall in view of Ungefug as evidenced by Penzel as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mojtaba et al. (“Rheological and Adhesion Properties of Acrylic Pressure-Sensitive Adhesives”, J. App. Poly. Sci., Vol. 120, pp. 411-418, 14 October 2010, cited in IDS submitted June 11, 2025).
Regarding claims 6-9, Kendall does not specifically disclose: that the polymer is a pressure sensitive adhesive having a storage modulus no greater than 0.3MPa at a temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 hertz as recited in claim 6; that the adhesive composition is a pressure sensitive adhesive having a storage modulus no greater than 0.3MPa at a temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 hertz prior to polymerization of the cyclic olefin as recited in claim 7; that the adhesive composition is a pressure sensitive adhesive having a storage modulus no greater than 0.3MPa at a temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 hertz after polymerization of the cyclic olefin as recited in claim 8 or that the adhesive composition is not a pressure sensitive adhesive having a storage modulus greater than 0.3MPa at a temperature of 25°C and a frequency of 1 hertz after polymerization of the cyclic olefin as recited in claim 9. Moreover, Kendall does not disclose the viscoelastic properties of the adhesive or the polymer component of the adhesive. Mojtaba, however, discloses that the behavior of pressure sensitive adhesives is described by viscoelastic properties such as storage modulus which describes the elastic or solid like behavior of the adhesive and has an effect on the degree of adhesion (e.g., peel and debonding strength and shear-resistance) of the adhesives (pg. 411, right column of Mojtaba). Mojtaba therefore establishes that the storage modulus of the adhesive is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., effecting the degree of adhesion of the adhesive) (pg. 411, right column of Mojtaba). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the storage modulus of the polymer/adhesive composition in the article of Kendall, including providing a polymer/adhesive composition having a storage modulus as recited in claims 6-9. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall in view of Ungefug as evidenced by Penzel as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Burtovyy (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0232267 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Kendall does not disclose that the catalyst is activated by a chemical compound as recited in claim 15 or that the chemical compound is an acid, photoacid generator, or thermal acid generator as recited in claim 16. Burtovyy, however, discloses latent ROMP catalysts activated by a compound capable of generating photoacid (Abstract, [0002] of Burtovyy). According to Burtovyy, compositions using the latent catalysts are stable compositions with no change in viscosity at normal storage conditions but which undergo mass polymerization only under process conditions ([0009] of Burtovyy). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the catalyst system of Burtovyy as the catalyst in the modified adhesive compositions. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide stable compositions with no change in viscosity at normal storage conditions but which undergo mass polymerization only under process conditions ([0009] of Burtovyy).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746