DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the control substrate and the processing substrate are disposed to overlap each other” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Note: figure 3 shows that panel 1150 and panel 1170 are disposed side by side not overlapping each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, it is unclear what is meant by “the control substrate and the processing substrate are disposed to overlap each other”. Figure 3 shows that panel 1150 and panel 1170 are disposed side by side, not overlapping each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nakatsugawa et al. (US 20130043400).
Regarding claim 1, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising:
a radiation detection panel 92 configured to include an effective imaging area where incident radiation is detected;
a control substrate 208 194 50 210 212 configured to control driving of the radiation detection panel (para 231);
a processing substrate 50 85 32 configured to process a signal output from the radiation detection panel (figure 31); and
a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel, the control substrate, and the processing substrate, wherein the housing includes a first thickness section, which has a first thickness in an incident direction of the radiation, and where the effective imaging area is disposed, and a second thickness section, which has a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the incident direction of the radiation, and where the control substrate and the processing substrate are disposed (figure 31), and wherein the control substrate and the processing substrate are disposed to overlap each other at least in part when the second thickness section is viewed along the incident direction of the radiation (figure 38 and 73).
Regarding claim 2, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel configured to include an effective imaging area where incident radiation is detected; a control substrate configured to control driving of the radiation detection panel; a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel and the control substrate (figures 31, 38); and a grip portion 80 configured to be gripped to hold the housing, wherein the housing includes a first thickness section, which has a first thickness in an incident direction of the radiation, and where the effective imaging area is disposed, and a second thickness section, which has a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the incident direction of the radiation, and where the control substrate and the grip portion are disposed (figure 31), and wherein the control substrate and the grip portion are disposed to overlap each other at least in part when the second thickness section is viewed along the incident direction of the radiation, and the control substrate is disposed at a position closer to a side where the radiation is incident than the grip portion (figures 38, 73).
Regarding claim 4, Nakatsugawa teaches a battery 52 configured to be disposed in the second thickness section of the housing and to supply power to the radiographic imaging apparatus, wherein the control substrate and the battery are disposed to overlap at least in part when the second thickness section is viewed along the incident direction of the radiation (figure 38).
Regarding claim 5, Nakatsugawa teaches the radiation detection panel and the control substrate are disposed at different positions in the incident direction of the radiation (figure 31).
Regarding claim 6, Nakatsugawa teaches the second thickness section is thicker than the first thickness section toward a side where the radiation is incident (figure 31).
Regarding claim 7, Nakatsugawa teaches the processing substrate is one or more (figure 31).
Regarding claim 8, Nakatsugawa teaches the control substrate is disposed at a position close to a side where the radiation is incident, with respect to the control substrate (figure 38).
Regarding claim 9, Nakatsugawa teaches in a direction perpendicular to the incident direction of the radiation, the processing substrate is extended toward a position where the radiation detection panel is disposed, compared to the control substrate (figure 38).
Regarding claim 10, Nakatsugawa teaches a shielding member 192 configured to reduce electromagnetic noise, the shielding member being disposed between the control substrate and the processing substrate.
Regarding claim 11, Nakatsugawa teaches a grip portion 80 configured to be disposed in the second thickness section of the housing and to be gripped to hold the housing, wherein the grip portion and the processing substrate are disposed without overlapping when the second thickness section is viewed along the incident direction of the radiation (figure 31).
Regarding claim 12, Nakatsugawa teaches a battery 52 configured to be disposed in the second thickness section of the housing and to supply power to the radiographic imaging apparatus, wherein the battery and the processing substrate are disposed without overlapping when the second thickness section is viewed along the incident direction of the radiation (figure 38).
Regarding claim 13, Nakatsugawa teaches a grip portion 52 configured to be disposed in the second thickness section of the housing and to be gripped to hold the housing; and a battery configured to be disposed in the second thickness section of the housing and to supply power to the radiographic imaging apparatus, wherein the processing substrate and the battery are disposed with the grip portion therebetween when the second thickness section is viewed along the incident direction of the radiation (figure 38).
Regarding claim 14, Nakatsugawa teaches wiring 62 configured to connect the control substrate and the processing substrate, wherein in the control substrate and the processing substrate, the wiring is disposed on a side opposite to a side close to a position where the radiation detection panel is disposed (figure 38).
Regarding claim 15, Nakatsugawa teaches the grip portion is formed in a recessed shape in a surface of a side of the second thickness section where the radiation is incident (upper side of the handle, figure 71).
Regarding claim 16, Nakatsugawa fails to teach the grip portion is formed in a recessed shape in a surface of a side of the second thickness section opposite to a side where radiation is incident (lower side of the handle, figure 71).
Regarding claim 17, Nakatsugawa teaches radiographic imaging system comprising: the radiographic imaging apparatus according to Claim 1; and a radiation generation apparatus configured to generate the radiation (figure 31).
Regarding claim 19, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel configured to include an effective imaging area where incident radiation is detected; a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel (figure 81); and a display unit 82 configured to function as a user interface, wherein the housing includes a first thickness section, which has a first thickness in an incident direction of the radiation, and where the effective imaging area is disposed, and a second thickness section, which has a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the incident direction of the radiation, and where the display unit is disposed in an area which is excluded from a center in a longitudinal direction and is on one end side in the longitudinal direction (figure 31).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Imamura et al. (US 20190046130).
Regarding claim 21, Imamura teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel 50 configured to include an effective imaging area where radiation transmitted through a subject is detected; and a housing 52 configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel, wherein in the housing and index 57A 57B indicating a range of the effective imaging area is disposed on a first surface corresponding to a surface on one side of the radiation detection panel and a second surface corresponding to a surface on the other side of the radiation detection panel (figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa in view of Cho et al. (US 20230403808).
Regarding claim 3, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel configured to include an effective imaging area where incident radiation is detected; a control substrate configured to control driving of the radiation detection panel; a flexible circuit board 208, 194, 212 configured to connect the radiation detection panel and the control substrate; and a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel, the control substrate, and the flexible circuit board, wherein the housing includes a first thickness section, which has a first thickness in an incident direction of the radiation, and where the effective imaging area is disposed (figure 31), a second thickness section, which has a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the incident direction of the radiation, and where the control substrate is disposed, and a section, which connects the first thickness section and the second thickness section, and where at least a part of the flexible circuit board is disposed, and wherein the flexible circuit board connects the radiation detection panel and the control substrate which are disposed at different positions in the incident direction of the radiation (para 31).
However Nakatsugawa fails to teach the section is gradient section.
Cho teaches a gradient section 168s (figure 7a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the section of Nakatsugawa with the gradient section as taught by Cho, since it would provide better cosmetic appearance.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa in view of Sugawara et al. (US 20020153491).
Regarding claim 18, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel configured to include an effective imaging area where radiation transmitted through a subject is detected; a predetermined circuit configured to detect a signal output from the radiation detection panel; and a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel and the predetermined circuit. wherein the housing includes a first thickness section, which has a first thickness in an incident direction of the radiation, and where at least the effective imaging area is disposed, and a second thickness section, which has a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the incident direction of the radiation, and where at least the predetermined circuit is disposed, and wherein in the second thickness section (figures 31 and 38).
However current reduction mechanism for reducing a loop current in a region where a closed circuit may occur is disposed.
Sugawara teaches current reduction mechanism for reducing a loop current in a region where a closed circuit may occur is disposed (para 81-82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the circuit of Nakatsugawa with the current reduction mechanism as taught by Sugawara, since it would provide protective electrode.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa in view of Deinlein et al.(US 20170360394).
Regarding claim 20, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel configured to include an effective imaging area where radiation transmitted through a subject is detected; and a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel, wherein the housing includes a first thickness section, which has a first thickness in an incident direction of the radiation, and where the effective imaging area is disposed, and a second thickness section, which has a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the incident direction of the radiation.
However Nakatsugawa fails to teach a sensor unit configured to include one or more types of sensors for detecting the subject and disposed.
Deinlein teaches a sensor unit 13 configured to include one or more types of sensors for detecting the subject and disposed (figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the detector of Nakatsugawa with the sensor as taught by Deinlein, since it would provide better alignment.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa in view of Imamura et al. (US 20190046130).
Regarding claim 21, Nakatsugawa teaches a radiographic imaging apparatus comprising: a radiation detection panel configured to include an effective imaging area where radiation transmitted through a subject is detected; and a housing configured to accommodate the radiation detection panel, wherein in the housing.
However Nakatsugawa fails to teach an index indicating a range of the effective imaging area is disposed on a first surface corresponding to a surface on one side of the radiation detection panel and a second surface corresponding to a surface on the other side of the radiation detection panel.
Imamura teaches an index indicating 57A 57B a range of the effective imaging area is disposed on a first surface corresponding to a surface on one side of the radiation detection panel and a second surface corresponding to a surface on the other side of the radiation detection panel (figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the housing of Nakatsugawa with the index as taught by Imamura, since it would provide better positioning.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884