DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application No. 19/176,856 filed on 04/11/2025, in which claims 1 - 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 - 5, 8 - 13 and 16 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang “US 2017/0185366” in view of Kessel “US 8,832,319”.
Re-claim 1, Wang teaches an electronic device (par. [0005] inputting information, including: establishing a network connection with a relay device) comprising:
communication circuitry; (fig. 7; 716)
a display; (fig. 7 and par. [0099] The multimedia component 708 includes a screen providing an output interface between the device 700 and the user.)
memory (fig. 7; 704) comprising one or more storage mediums storing instructions; (par. [0097] and [0105]) and
at least one processor (fig. 7; 720) comprising processing circuitry, the at least one processor being operatively connected to the communication circuitry, the display, and the memory, (par. [0096])
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (fig. 7; 720) individually or collectively, (par. [0096]) cause the electronic device to:
obtain information indicating a status of a connection, established by the communication circuitry, between at least one external electronic device and the electronic device, according to a specified interval, (par. [0028] a network connection between a main input terminal and a relay device is established. The main input terminal obtains input information from the relay device)
based on executing a first application, identify an input indicating to store at least one content, which is displayed within the display, in a preset area of the memory accessible by a second application different from the first application, at least one content displayed within the display (pars. [0066] In step 411, the main input terminal stores the input information in a clipboard. [0067] The present disclosure does not impose specific limitations on the capacity and number of pieces of information in the clipboard. The clipboard can store the most recently received piece of input information, or multiple pieces of input information.)
based on the input, in a first status in which the at least one external electronic device is identified using the obtained information: store, in the preset area of the memory, the data indicating the at least one content, (pars. [0066] In step 411, the main input terminal stores the input information in a clipboard.) and
and display, within the display, a first visual object indicating the first status, (par. [0069] In step 412, when the main input terminal changes to the state for accepting input, notification information is displayed. The notification information is used to notify that the input information is stored in the clipboard. [0070] The notification information can be displayed using a drop-down box. For example, the main input terminal can display a drop-down box which can include the input information stored in the clipboard in step 411. [0088] The first input sub-module 604b is configured to, if the determination sub-module 604a determines that the main input terminal is in the state for accept input, display the input information obtained by the information obtaining module 603 at the input position on the main input terminal.)
in a second status that is different from the first status and that is independent from displaying the first visual object: store, in the preset area of the memory, the data indicating the at least one content, and display, within the display, a second visual object different from the first visual object. (pars. [0090] The second input sub-module 604d is configured to, when the main input terminal changes to the state for accepting input later, display the input information stored by the storing sub-module 604c at the input position on the main input terminal. [0091] According to an exemplary embodiment, the storing sub-module 604c is configured to, if it is determined that the main input terminal is not in the state for accepting input, store the input information obtained by the information obtaining module 603 in a clipboard in the main input terminal. [0092] The second input sub-module 604d is configured to: when the main input terminal changes to the state for accepting input at a later time, display notification information to notify that the input information is stored in the clipboard; and when receiving an operation for pasting information in the clipboard according to the notification information, display the input information at the input position on the main input terminal.)
Wang does not explicitly teach based on the input, in a first status in which the at least one external electronic device is identified using the obtained information:
However, Kessel teaches based on the input, in a first status in which the at least one external electronic device is identified using the obtained information: (col.1, lines 66 - col. 2, line 2and col. 4, lines 15 - 20, FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrative of a content management environment for use in facilitating the sharing of synchronization information between devices based on determination of synchronization events; the synchronization component has been configured to determine time-based synchronization event (e.g., a synchronization event every two minutes). Accordingly, at the specified time intervals, the synchronization component transmits the synchronization information associated with the content to the content management system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Wang with the teaching of Kessel to provide a user to select which receiving devices are eligible to receive synchronization information or to specify subsets of synchronization information to be received. (Kessel)
Re-claim 2, Wang in view of Kessel teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to transmit a signal for storing the data in the preset area of the memory accessible by an application executed by the at least one external electronic device. (par. [0066] In step 411, the main input terminal stores the input information in a clipboard.)
Re-claim 3, Wang in view of Kessel teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, in the first status, display, within the display, the first visual object guiding that the data is capable of being transmitted to the at least one external electronic device. (par. [0069] In step 412, when the main input terminal changes to the state for accepting input, notification information is displayed. The notification information is used to notify that the input information is stored in the clipboard.)
Re-claim 4, Wang in view of Kessel teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, in the second status, based on the input, display, within the display, the second visual object indicating the data being stored in the preset area. (pars. [0091] According to an exemplary embodiment, the storing sub-module 604c is configured to, if it is determined that the main input terminal is not in the state for accepting input, store the input information obtained by the information obtaining module 603 in a clipboard in the main input terminal. [0092] The second input sub-module 604d is configured to: when the main input terminal changes to the state for accepting input at a later time, display notification information to notify that the input information is stored in the clipboard; and when receiving an operation for pasting information in the clipboard according to the notification information, display the input information at the input position on the main input terminal.)
Re-claim 5, Wang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, in the second status, based on a second input, which is different from a first input that is the input, display, within the display, the at least one content, and wherein the second input indicates that the at least one content stored in the preset area is displayed by the second application. (pars. [0091] According to an exemplary embodiment, the storing sub-module 604c is configured to, if it is determined that the main input terminal is not in the state for accepting input, store the input information obtained by the information obtaining module 603 in a clipboard in the main input terminal. [0092] The second input sub-module 604d is configured to: when the main input terminal changes to the state for accepting input at a later time, display notification information to notify that the input information is stored in the clipboard; and when receiving an operation for pasting information in the clipboard according to the notification information, display the input information at the input position on the main input terminal.)
Re-claim 8, Wang in view of Kessel teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the second status comprises a status where the connection is released, and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (fig. 7; 720) individually or collectively, (par. [0096]) further cause the electronic device to:
identify at least one of the first status or the second status, based on the specified interval, and obtain other information indicating the at least one of the first status or the second status, based on identifying the at least one of the first status or the second status. (par. [0041] In step 305, the main input terminal determines whether the main input terminal itself is in a state for accepting input. If the main input terminal is in the state for accepting input, step 306 is performed; if the main input terminal is not in the state for accepting input, steps 307 and 308 are performed.)
Re-claim 9, is rejected as a method as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claims 10 - 13 and 16, are rejected as a method as applied to claims 2 - 5 and 8 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claim 17, the rejected of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below.
Wang teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium in a memory storing one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device, including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, (par. [0007]) cause the electronic device to:
Re-claims 18 - 20, are rejected as applied to claims 2 - 4 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
5. Claims 6 - 7 and 14 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang “US 2017/0185366” in view of Kessel “US 8,832,319” and further in view of Sakairi “US 5,752,254”.
Re-claim 6, Wang in view of Kessel teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
identify the at least one external electronic device, based on an execution of a third application different from the first application, and store, in another area different from the preset area of the memory, the information according to the specified interval.
However, Sakairi teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
identify the at least one external electronic device, based on an execution of a third application different from the first application, and store, in another area different from the preset area of the memory, the information according to the specified interval. (col. 6; lines 26 - 30, The communication unit 31A sends a copy message specifying a region of the copy object, for instance, a starting point and an endpoint, to the corresponding shared application program of another computer system (step 53).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teaching of Sakairi so as to a copy instruction provided by a user of the shared application program executing on the first computer specifying the copy object.
Re-claim 7, Wang, Kessel in view of Sakairi teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Sakairi teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to, in the first status, update the information, based on displaying the first visual object. (col. 2; lines 40 - 50; copying a copy object into the internal clipboard in response to a copy instruction with a specification of the copy object (internal clipboard control unit), means for setting an identifier for identifying the group editor means in a system clipboard, and copying the copy object into the system clipboard in response to the copy instruction (system clipboard control unit), and means for sending a copy message specifying the copy object to corresponding group editor means in other computer systems in response to the copy instruction (communication unit).)
Re-claims 14 - 15, are rejected as a method as applied to claims 6 - 7 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Contact Information
6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 6/20/26B