DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-17 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Claims 6-17 each depend from claim 3, which is a multiple dependent claim. Accordingly, the claims 6-17 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petru et al. (RO 130096 B1; see attachment of English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Petru discloses a capsular tension ring insertion device (FIG 1 and 4) for inserting a capsular tension ring (Such as IT, FIG 5) having a pair of spaced apart eyelets (O1 and O2, FIG 5) into an intraocular space of an eye, the capsular tension ring insertion device comprising: a main body (1) having a first end (1a) and a second end (1b); a tube (3) extending from the first end of the main body (FIG 1-2c), the tube including a bore configured to receive the capsular tension ring ([0033]), and the tube having a distal end defining an opening configured to allow the capsular tension ring to pass therethrough ([0033]); an external hook (6) fixedly attached to the distal end of the tube (FIG 3a shows attachment to the distal end of 3), the external hook extending from an outer surface of the tube and beyond the distal end of the tube (FIG 3a), a distal end of the external hook defining a first eyelet grip (Fixing means 7, [0036]); a push mechanism including a carriage member (2) movably disposed within the main body and an actuator (2b) connected to the carriage member ([0032-0035]); and an internal hook (5, [0035]) having a proximal end connected to the carriage member (Connected to piston 2) and a distal end defining a second eyelet grip ([0035]) “the hanging thread 5 is provided at the free end with a small hook”), the internal hook being moveable with respect to the tube ([0035] “the hanging thread 5 can slide through the interior of the cannula 3, having the possibility of exiting outside the front end 3a thereof”); wherein the distal end of the internal hook is disposed within the tube when the push mechanism is in a first position (Retracted position of FIG 6, when plunger 2 is not depressed); and wherein the distal end of the internal hook extends beyond the distal end of the tube (FIG 5 and 7) when the push mechanism is in a second position (Depressed position of the plunger).
Regarding claim 3/1, Petru discloses the capsular tension ring insertion device of any one of the preceding claims, further comprising a spring (4) positioned within a cavity of the main body (FIG 4, [0034]).
Regarding claim 4/3/1, Petru discloses the spring is configured to be in an uncompressed state when the push mechanism is in the first position ([0034] discloses the spring is in its resting position when the position is in the first/retracted position).
Regarding claim 5/3/1, Petru discloses the spring is configured to be in a compressed state when the push mechanism is in the second position ([0034], when 3a is depressed to the second position, the spring compresses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petru et al. (RO 130096 B1; see attachment of English translation).
Regarding claim 2, Petru discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Petru further discloses the distal end of the external hook (6) extends a first distance from the distal end of the tube (See length of 6 extending from 3 in FIG 5) and the distal end of the internal hook (5) extends a second distance from the distal end of the tube (See position of the distal end of 5 relative to 3 in FIG 5) when the push mechanism is in the second position (i.e. the depressed/deployed position).
Petru is silent regarding the second distance being greater than the first distance.
Petru teaches wherein the capsular tension ring insertion device is attached to the capsular tension ring by extending the distal end of the internal hook (5) a distance from the distal end of the tube (3) in order to grip one of the eyelets of the capsular tension ring (see how 5 is extended beyond 3 to engage O1, FIG 5; the injector is armed by placing hole O1 in 5, [0035]) but does not teach how far the distal end may be extended.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the length of the internal hook/push mechanism such that in the second position the distal end of the internal hook extends a second distance greater than the first distance in order to more easily grip an eyelet of the capsular tension ring depending on how the capsular tension ring is positioned for loading into the device.
Regarding claim 3/2/1, Petru discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2. Petru further discloses a spring (4) positioned within a cavity of the main body (FIG 4, [0034]).
Regarding claim 4/3/2/1, Petru discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3. Petru further discloses the spring is configured to be in an uncompressed state when the push mechanism is in the first position ([0034] discloses the spring is in its resting position when the position is in the first/retracted position).
Regarding claim 5/3/2/1, Petru discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3. Petru further discloses the spring is configured to be in a compressed state when the push mechanism is in the second position ([0034], when 3a is depressed to the second position, the spring compresses).
Regarding claim 18, Petru discloses a method for inserting a capsular tension ring into an intraocular space of an eye ([0020 and 0032]), the method comprising: providing the capsular tension ring insertion device of claim 1 (as outlined above in claim 1); extending the internal hook (5) from a first position (FIG 6) to a second position beyond an end of a tube of the device (FIG 5); inserting the internal hook into a first eyelet (O1) of the capsular tension ring (IT, [0035]); withdrawing the internal hook and the capsular tension ring into the tube until the internal hook and the first eyelet are at a third position (in order to create the position where 5 and tension ring IT are withdrawn into # to a third position within 3 such that O2 can be engaged by 7, change in position between FIGs 5 and 6); inserting an external hook of the device (6/7) into a second eyelet (O2, as shown in FIG 7) of the capsular tension ring ([0042]); inserting a tip of the external hook into the intraocular space of the eye ([0041 and 0043]; placing the loaded IT tension ring into the crystalline sac); actuating the push mechanism to extend the internal hook and the first eyelet of the capsular tension ring to the second position ([0041-0043], actuation between FIG 6-7 which requires depressing plunger 2 to extend 5 and O1 to the second position) and spirally unwinding the capsular tension ring within the intraocular space (FIG 6-7 show the spiral unwinding of IT due to the fixed position of O2).
Petru is silent regarding the steps of withdrawing the internal hook and the capsular tension ring into the tube until the internal hook is in the first position and tilting the capsular tension ring insertion device to release the capsular tension ring.
Petru teaches wherein external hook (6,7) is inserted into the second eyelet (FIG 6, the injector is loaded by placing holes O1 and O2 of the tension ring into 5 and 7, [0042]) but does not specify exactly how the internal hook/tension ring are manipulated in order to achieve the method. However, depending on the lengths of the internal and external hooks as well as the size of the capsular tension ring, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the internal hook and capsular tension ring are withdrawn into the tube until reaching an intermediate position within the tube such that the second eyelet is optimally positioned for being engaged by the external hook. Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to then withdraw the internal hook and the capsular tension ring into the tube until the internal hook is in the first/most retracted position such that the capsular tension ring is fully loaded into the device for minimally invasive insertion into the intraocular space.
Further, Petru teaches wherein the capsular tension ring is released (placing the tension ring by releasing the holes O1 and O2 from 5 and 7, [0043]) but does not explicitly teach tilting to accomplish the releasing. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the releasing step comprises tilting/shaking the capsular tension ring insertion device to release the capsular tension ring in order to utilize gravity and overcome static friction between the parts for releasing the eyelets from the internal and external hooks.
Regarding claim 19, Petru discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 18.
Petru fails to disclose the third position is approximately at a midpoint along a length of the tube.
However, depending on the lengths of the internal and external hooks as well as the size of the capsular tension ring, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the internal hook and capsular tension ring are withdrawn into the tube until reaching approximately the third position at approximately a midpoint along the length of the tube such that the second eyelet is optimally positioned for being engaged by the external hook.
Regarding claim 20/19/18, Petru discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 18 and 19.
Petru fails to disclose the tip of the external hook is inserted into the center of the eye.
Petru teaches wherein the capsular tension ring is implanted to stabilize the circular shape of the lens ([0011]) and inserting the injector into the lens sac ([0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the external hook is inserted into the center of the eye in order to optimally place the injector such that the capsular tension ring spirally unwinds within the intraocular space to stabilize the circular shape of the lens of the eye.
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771