DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180008056 A1 to Yang.
Re Claim 1, Yang teaches:
An infant playpen (at least [Abstract] “foldable enclosure apparatus”) comprising:
an upper frame portion (at least Fig. 1) including a first side segment and a second side segment pivotally connected to a pivot joint (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 32-33 and [0029] “a first rod 32, and a second rod 33”.), the first side segment and the second side segment being rotatable about the pivot joint between an unfolded state and a folded state (at least Figs. 1-9 and [0030] “first gear portion 34 is formed on the second end of the first rod 32 and is pivotally mounted on the connecting seat 31”.);
a bottom linkage portion, and a standing post connected to both the upper frame portion and the bottom linkage portion (at least Fig. 1, the four lower bars connected to hub 10), the bottom linkage portion being movable along with the first side segment and the second side segment between the unfolded state and the folded state (at least Figs. 1-9 and [0040] “When the first seat 25 moves downward, the second spring 49 of the at least one locking device 40 exerts a restoring force to the moving seat 47 to pull the cable 431 of the linking part 43. With reference to FIGS. 8 and 9, the locking seat 45 is pulled by the linking part 43 for driving the locking rod 44. The two ends of the locking rod 44 respectively move out of the transverse sections 315 of the positioning grooves 313, and further move into the curved sections 314 of the positioning grooves 313 to release the locked state of the upper assemblies 30. The relative rotation between the first gear portion 34 and the second gear portion 35 is allowed. The upper assemblies 30 are pulled by the second seat 26 to smoothly fold the first rod 32 and the second rod 33 of each upper assembly 30”.);
a latching device (at least [0026] “the foldable enclosure apparatus has multiple locking devices 40”.) having a locking state for locking the first side segment and the second side segment in the unfolded state, and an unlocking state for rotation of the first side segment and the second side segment (at least Figs. 3-4 and [0033] “Each one of the at least one locking device 40 has a locking seat 45, a first recess 451, a through hole 452, and a first spring 46. The locking seat 45 is located in the assembly recess 341”.), wherein the latching device includes a first latch and a second latch connected to the pivot joint, the first latch being engaged with the first side segment and the second latch engaged with the second side segment in the locking state, and the first latch being disengaged from the first side segment and the second latch disengaged from the second side segment in the unlocking state (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0032] “member 42 is restorably mounted on the supporting rod 21 that is connected to the first rod 32 of the at least one upper assembly 30, is moveable upward and downward, and is located above the supporting member 22 of the corresponding lower assembly 20”); and
a cable assembly coupling the first latch and the second latch of the latching device to a cable actuator provided on the standing post (at least Figs. 1-7 element 431 and [0037] “the two ends of the cable 431 are respectively connected to the lock member 41 and the second seat 26”.), the cable actuator being movable to cause the latching device to switch from the locking state to the unlocking state, wherein the cable assembly has a first portion connected to the first latch and a second portion connected to the second latch, the first portion of the cable assembly extending from the first latch toward the second portion of the cable assembly inside the pivot joint (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0035] “Two ends of the cable 431 are respectively connected to the locking seat 45 and the moving seat 47”).
Re Claim 2, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 1, wherein the first portion of the cable assembly extends across a gap between the first latch and the second latch (at least Figs. 3-4).
Re Claim 3, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 1, wherein the first portion of the cable assembly extends from a location where the first portion connects to the first latch to a location where the second portion of the cable assembly connects to the second latch (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0035] “Two ends of the cable 431 are respectively connected to the locking seat 45 and the moving seat 47”).
Re Claim 4, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 1, wherein the first portion of the cable assembly includes a cable and the second portion of the cable assembly includes a conduit (at least Figs. 1-6 and [0032] “sleeve 432”.), the cable extending through an interior of the conduit (at least Figs. 1-6 and [0032] “cable 431”.).
Re Claim 6, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 1, wherein the bottom linkage portion includes a bar segment pivotally connected to the standing post, the bar segment being rotatable to urge the cable actuator in movement and cause the first latch to disengage from the first side segment and the second latch to disengage from the second side segment (at least Figs. 4-6 and [0040] “When the first seat 25 moves downward, the second spring 49 of the at least one locking device 40 exerts a restoring force to the moving seat 47 to pull the cable 431 of the linking part 43”.).
Re Claim 7, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 6, wherein an end of the bar segment is provided with a retractable part that is connected with a spring (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0033] “a first spring 46”.), the retractable part being movable relative to the bar segment to retract toward the bar segment or extend outward from the bar segment, the bar segment being rotatable relative to the standing post so that the retractable part contacts and urges the cable actuator in movement (at least Figs. 4-6 and [0040] “When the first seat 25 moves downward, the second spring 49 of the at least one locking device 40 exerts a restoring force to the moving seat 47 to pull the cable 431 of the linking part 43”.).
Re Claim 8, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 7, wherein the retractable part is slidably connected with the bar segment (at least [0040] “pull the cable 431”.).
Re Claim 9, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 7, wherein the retractable part is out of contact with the cable actuator when the infant playpen is fully folded (at least Figs. 6 and 9).
Re Claim 10, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 6, wherein the bottom linkage portion includes a central hub pivotally connected with the bar segment (at least Figs. 1-2 and [0026] “hub device 10”.).
Re Claim 11, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 1, wherein the latching device further includes a spring having two ends respectively connected to the first latch and the second latch, the spring biasing the first latch and the second latch to respectively engage with the first side segment and the second side segment (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0033] “a first spring 46”.).
Re Claim 12, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 1, wherein the first side segment and the second side segment are respectively connected pivotally to the pivot joint about two spaced-apart first pivot axes, and the first latch and the second latch are respectively connected pivotally to the pivot joint about two spaced-apart second pivot axes that are located below the two first pivot axes (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0032] “member 42 is restorably mounted on the supporting rod 21 that is connected to the first rod 32 of the at least one upper assembly 30, is moveable upward and downward, and is located above the supporting member 22 of the corresponding lower assembly 20”).
Re Claim 13, Yang teaches:
An infant playpen (at least [Abstract] “foldable enclosure apparatus”) comprising:
an upper frame portion (at least Fig. 1) including a first side segment and a second side segment pivotally connected to a pivot joint (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 32-33 and [0029] “a first rod 32, and a second rod 33”.), the first side segment and the second side segment being rotatable about the pivot joint between an unfolded state and a folded state (at least Figs. 1-9 and [0030] “first gear portion 34 is formed on the second end of the first rod 32 and is pivotally mounted on the connecting seat 31”.);
a bottom linkage portion, and a standing post connected to both the upper frame portion and the bottom linkage portion (at least Fig. 1, the four lower bars connected to hub 10), the bottom linkage portion being movable along with the first side segment and the second side segment between the unfolded state and the folded state (at least Figs. 1-9 and [0040] “When the first seat 25 moves downward, the second spring 49 of the at least one locking device 40 exerts a restoring force to the moving seat 47 to pull the cable 431 of the linking part 43. With reference to FIGS. 8 and 9, the locking seat 45 is pulled by the linking part 43 for driving the locking rod 44. The two ends of the locking rod 44 respectively move out of the transverse sections 315 of the positioning grooves 313, and further move into the curved sections 314 of the positioning grooves 313 to release the locked state of the upper assemblies 30. The relative rotation between the first gear portion 34 and the second gear portion 35 is allowed. The upper assemblies 30 are pulled by the second seat 26 to smoothly fold the first rod 32 and the second rod 33 of each upper assembly 30”.);
a latching device (at least [0026] “the foldable enclosure apparatus has multiple locking devices 40”.) having a locking state for locking the first side segment and the second side segment in the unfolded state, and an unlocking state for rotation of the first side segment and the second side segment (at least Figs. 3-4 and [0033] “Each one of the at least one locking device 40 has a locking seat 45, a first recess 451, a through hole 452, and a first spring 46. The locking seat 45 is located in the assembly recess 341”.), wherein the latching device includes a first latch and a second latch connected to the pivot joint, the first latch being engaged with the first side segment and the second latch engaged with the second side segment in the locking state, and the first latch being disengaged from the first side segment and the second latch disengaged from the second side segment in the unlocking state (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0032] “member 42 is restorably mounted on the supporting rod 21 that is connected to the first rod 32 of the at least one upper assembly 30, is moveable upward and downward, and is located above the supporting member 22 of the corresponding lower assembly 20”); and
a cable assembly coupling the first latch and the second latch of the latching device to a cable actuator provided on the standing post (at least Figs. 1-7 element 431 and [0037] “the two ends of the cable 431 are respectively connected to the lock member 41 and the second seat 26”.), the cable actuator being movable to cause the latching device to switch from the locking state to the unlocking state, wherein the cable assembly has a first portion connected to the first latch and a second portion connected to the second latch, the first portion and the second portion of the cable assembly being routed along a same path between the pivot joint and the cable actuator (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0035] “Two ends of the cable 431 are respectively connected to the locking seat 45 and the moving seat 47”).
Re Claim 14, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 13, wherein the upper frame portion includes a corner bracket that is connected to the second side segment and the standing post, and the path along which the first portion and the second portion of the cable assembly are routed extends along the second side segment and the standing post (at least Fig. 6).
Re Claim 15, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 13, wherein the first portion of the cable assembly includes a cable and the second portion of the cable assembly includes a conduit (at least Figs. 1-6 and [0032] “sleeve 432”.), the cable extending through an interior of the conduit (at least Figs. 1-6 and [0032] “cable 431”.).
Re Claim 17, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 15, wherein the cable extends across a gap between the first latch and the second latch (at least Figs. 3-4).
Re Claim 18, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 13, wherein the bottom linkage portion includes a bar segment pivotally connected to the standing post, the bar segment being rotatable to urge the cable actuator in movement and cause the first latch to disengage from the first side segment and the second latch to disengage from the second side segment (at least Figs. 4-6 and [0040] “When the first seat 25 moves downward, the second spring 49 of the at least one locking device 40 exerts a restoring force to the moving seat 47 to pull the cable 431 of the linking part 43”.).
Re Claim 19, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 13, wherein the latching device further includes a spring having two ends respectively connected to the first latch and the second latch , the spring biasing the first latch and the second latch to respectively engage with the first side segment and the second side segment (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0033] “a first spring 46”.).
Re Claim 20, Yang teaches:
The infant playpen according to claim 13, wherein the first side segment and the second side segment are respectively connected pivotally to the pivot joint about two spaced-apart first pivot axes, and the first latch and the second latch are respectively connected pivotally to the pivot joint about two spaced-apart second pivot axes that are located below the two first pivot axes (at least Figs. 1-4 and [0032] “member 42 is restorably mounted on the supporting rod 21 that is connected to the first rod 32 of the at least one upper assembly 30, is moveable upward and downward, and is located above the supporting member 22 of the corresponding lower assembly 20”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Examiner notes that US 20180008056 A1 to Yang, US 20080189854 A1 to Thorne, and US 20070017025 A1 to Myer are particularly relevant.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the primary reference Yang teaches an infant playpen comprising an upper frame portion, a latching device, a standing post, a cable assembly, and a bottom linkage portion. However, Yang does not teach Applicant’s claimed “wherein the cable has two opposite ends respectively anchored to the first latch and the cable actuator, and the conduit has two opposite ends respectively anchored to the second latch and the standing post”. In other words, Applicant’s claimed invention is directed towards a cable assembly connected with the first latch and cable actuator (Fig. 3 cable 146 connected with first latch 132A) and the actuator (Fig. 4 cable 146 connected with actuator 142) as well as the conduit anchored to the second latch (Fig. 3 conduit 150 anchored to second latch 132B) and standing post. Thus, the cable and conduit are connected to different latches. Yang does not teach the claimed invention because the cable 431 and conduit 43 are attached to the same latch (Fig. 4). Thorne suffers from a similar deficiency (Figs. 7-9). Myer also suffers from a similar deficiency (Fig. 6). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art to result in Applicant’s claimed structure.
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673