DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-4, 13,15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cai et al (US 2023/0386382).
As to claim 1, Cai teaches an electronic device comprising:
at least one sensor ([0318] touch sensor 180K);
a display (display, fig. 15);
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry ([0301] processor); and
memory comprising one or more storage media storing instructions ([0301] The internal memory 121 may be configured to store computer executable program code, where the executable program code includes instructions),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to ([0301] The processor 110 executes various function applications and data processing of the electronic device 100 by running instructions stored in the internal memory 121… The program storage area may store an operating system, an application required by at least one function (for example, a sound play function or an image play function)):
display, via the display, an executable object (settings 301, fig. 3(a)) for displaying a user interface for context-specific setting (tapping the settings icon 301 (fig. 3(a)) open the user interface as illustrated in fig. 3(b)), as partially superimposed on a screen (fig. 3(a) illustrates settings icon 301 partially overlapping the screen);
receive an input on the executable object (see a user input on the settings icon 301, fig. 3(a));
in response to the input (fig. 3(a)), identify, from among setting menus (a user tapping of icon 301(fig. 3(a)) open setting menus as illustrated in fig. 3(b)) for global setting (user action on the display icon 311, fig. 3(b), will display a screen scanning rate (fig. 3(c)) which is used for global setting), a setting menu (display icon 311) corresponding to a function provided through an object, in the screen, positioned under the executable object or the screen positioned under the executable object (display icon 311 (fig. 3(b)) corresponds to how the scanning rate of the screen under the setting 301 (fig. 3(a)) is set);
identify a setting (screen scanning rate 321, fig. 3(c)) corresponding to data obtained via the at least one sensor from among settings in the setting menu (a user tapping of a screen scanning rate icon 321 from among the nine settings is sensed by the touch sensor 180K); and
display, via the display, the user interface including an item for adjusting a value of the setting, as partially superimposed on the screen (fig. 3(d) illustrates that a user is adjusting the value of the screen scanning rate form 60Hz to 90Hz).
As to claim 2, Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to an input on an item in a quick panel that is displayed as superimposed on the screen in response to a drag input from a periphery of the display, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0114] when the electronic device detects a leftward slide operation in the multi-task interface 620, in response to the operation, the cards in the multi-task interface 620 sequentially move leftward. In this case, the electronic device may display a user interface 630, that is, may completely display the card 622, and partially display the card 621, fig. 6(b) and fig. 6(c)).
As to claim 3, Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to an input on an item in a panel that is positioned along the periphery of the display as partially superimposed on the screen in response to a drag input from the periphery of the display, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0114] when the electronic device detects a leftward slide operation in the multi-task interface 620, in response to the operation, the cards in the multi-task interface 620 sequentially move leftward. In this case, the electronic device may display a user interface 630, that is, may completely display the card 622, and partially display the card 621, fig. 6(b) and fig. 6(c)).
As to claim 4, Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to an input on an item in a panel of bar-shaped positioned along a periphery of the display, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0114] when the electronic device detects a leftward slide operation in the multi-task interface 620, in response to the operation, the cards in the multi-task interface 620 sequentially move leftward. In this case, the electronic device may display a user interface 630, that is, may completely display the card 622, and partially display the card 621, fig. 6(b) and fig. 6(c)).
As to claim 13, Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the screen comprises a lock screen, a screen displayed via the display in a low power state of the electronic device, a quick panel, or another user interface of a software application ([0332] The application layer may include a series of application packages, such as a lock screen application, a desktop application, Share, Bluetooth, a voice interaction application, an address book, Gallery, a file manager, Browser, and Contacts, fig. 17).
As to claim 15, Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display, together with the item (screen scanning rate (fig. 3(c)) of the display 311, fig. 3(b)), another item for displaying another user interface for the global setting (screen resolution in fig. 3(c) is also a user interface for the global setting), including the item, within the user interface at least partially superimposed on the screen (fig. 3(b)).
As to claim 19, Cai teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs ([0301] The internal memory 121 may be configured to store computer executable program code, where the executable program code includes instructions), the one or more programs including instructions, when executed by an electronic device ([0301] The processor 110 executes various function applications and data processing of the electronic device 100 by running instructions stored in the internal memory 121… The program storage area may store an operating system, an application required by at least one function (for example, a sound play function or an image play function))
including at least one sensor ([0318] touch sensor 180K) and a display (display, fig. 15), to cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, an executable object (settings 301, fig. 3(a)) for displaying a user interface for context-specific setting (tapping the settings icon 301 (fig. 3(a)) open the user interface as illustrated in fig. 3(b)), as partially superimposed on a screen (fig. 3(a) illustrates settings icon 301 partially overlapping the screen);
receive an input on the executable object (see a user input on the settings icon 301, fig. 3(a));
in response to the input (fig. 3(a)), identify, from among setting menus (a user tapping of icon 301(fig. 3(a)) open setting menus as illustrated in fig. 3(b)) for global setting (user action on the display icon 311, fig. 3(b), will display a screen scanning rate (fig. 3(c)) which is used for global setting), a setting menu (display icon 311) corresponding to a function provided through an object, in the screen, positioned under the executable object or the screen positioned under the executable object (display icon 311 (fig. 3(b)) corresponds to how the scanning rate of the screen under the setting 301 (fig. 3(a)) is set);
identify a setting (screen scanning rate 321, fig. 3(c)) corresponding to data obtained via the at least one sensor from among settings in the setting menu (a user tapping of a screen scanning rate icon 321 from among the nine settings is sensed by the touch sensor 180K); and
display, via the display, the user interface including an item for adjusting a value of the setting, as partially superimposed on the screen (fig. 3(d) illustrates that a user is adjusting the value of the screen scanning rate form 60Hz to 90Hz).
As to claim 20, Cai teaches a method executed in an electronic device including at least one sensor ([0318] touch sensor 180K) and a display (display, fig. 15), the method comprising:
displaying, via the display, an executable object (settings 301, fig. 3(a)) for displaying a user interface for context-specific setting (tapping the settings icon 301 (fig. 3(a)) open the user interface as illustrated in fig. 3(b)), as partially superimposed on a screen (fig. 3(a) illustrates settings icon 301 partially overlapping the screen);
receiving an input on the executable object (see a user input on the settings icon 301, fig. 3(a));
in response to the input (fig. 3(a)), identifying, from among setting menus (a user tapping of icon 301(fig. 3(a)) open setting menus as illustrated in fig. 3(b)) for global setting (user action on the display icon 311, fig. 3(b), will display a screen scanning rate (fig. 3(c)) which is used for global setting), a setting menu (display icon 311) corresponding to a function provided through an object, in the screen, positioned under the executable object or the screen positioned under the executable object (display icon 311 (fig. 3(b)) corresponds to how the scanning rate of the screen under the setting 301 (fig. 3(a)) is set);
identifying a setting (screen scanning rate 321, fig. 3(c)) corresponding to data obtained via the at least one sensor from among settings in the setting menu (a user tapping of a screen scanning rate icon 321 from among the nine settings is sensed by the touch sensor 180K); and
displaying, via the display, the user interface including an item for adjusting a value of the setting, as partially superimposed on the screen (fig. 3(d) illustrates that a user is adjusting the value of the screen scanning rate form 60Hz to 90Hz).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Song et al (US 2014/0210744).
As to claim 5, while Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to execute various functions or applications ([0301]), Cai does not teach the stylus pen as claimed.
However, Song teaches in response to identifying changing of a state of a stylus pen capable of causing a touch input via the display while the screen is displayed, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0202]-[0203] FIG. 7 (a), a user presses the first button 222, the second button 224 and the first button 122 in sequence. If so, the stylus pen 200 can transmit a first signal, a second signal and the first signal to the mobile terminal 100… After the signals have been sequentially received, if the touchscreen 151 is touched with the stylus pen 200, referring to FIG. 7 (b), the controller 180 can display a tool selection menu 700 at the touched point on the touchscreen 151).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the stylus pen, as suggested by Song. The motivation would have been in order to improve user’s convenience ([0003]).
As to claim 6, Cai does not teach the electronic device as claimed.
However, Song teaches the electronic device, wherein the changing of the state of the stylus pen comprises that a button exposed via a portion of a housing of the stylus pen is depressed ([0202]-[0203] FIG. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the stylus pen, as suggested by Song. The motivation would have been in order to improve user’s convenience ([0003]).
3. Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Missing et al (US 2018/0335936).
As to claim 7, while Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to execute various functions or applications ([0301]), Cai does not teach a touch input having an intensity as claimed.
However, Missing teaches in response to a touch input, having an intensity greater than a reference intensity, received while the screen is displayed, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0299] displaying an on-demand virtual home button in response to detecting an initial movement of an input (e.g., a swipe up), and in response to detecting an increase in the characteristic intensity of the input above an intensity threshold, activating the virtual home button to display the home screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the touch input having an intensity, as suggested by Missing. The motivation would have been in order to reduce “the number of inputs needed to perform an operation” and enhancing “the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient” ([0299]).
As to claim 8, Cai combined with Missing teaches the electronic device, wherein the executable object is superimposed on the screen at a position in which the touch input is received (Missing: see figs. 5C48 and 5C49).
4. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Nefulda et al (US 2022/0083211).
As to claim 9, while Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to execute various functions or applications ([0301]), Cai does not teach a housing as claimed.
However, Nefulda teaches the electronic device, further comprising: a housing including a side facing in a second direction opposite to a first direction in which the display faces, in response to a multiple tapping input received through the side of the housing, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0254] Performing the one action or displaying a set of selectable user interface objects in response to receiving a double tap input on the back surface of the housing provides the user with the capability to perform these operations without requiring further inputs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the housing, as suggested by Nefulda. The motivation would have been in order to “enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient” ([0254]).
5. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Van OS et al (US 2018/0335928).
As to claim 10, while Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to execute various functions or applications ([0301]), Cai does not teach the physical button as claimed.
However, Van OS teaches in response to an input depressing a physical button exposed through a portion of a housing of the electronic device such that an end of the physical button moves a distance between a first reference distance and a second reference distance, display, via the display, the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0415] in response to receiving double-click input 899 on mechanical button 855, electronic device 850 again displays (e.g., replaces display of payment confirmation user interface 831 with), on display 851, FIGS. 8AG and 8AH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the physical button, as suggested by Van OS. The motivation would have been in order “quickly and easily send an outgoing transfer and quickly and easily accept an incoming transfer” ([0003]).
6. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Griffin et al (US 2020/0326841).
As to claim 11, while Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to execute various functions or applications ([0301]), Cai does not teach a touch input with a contact area as claimed.
However, Griffin teaches in response to a touch input, received while the screen is displayed, having contact area wider than reference area, display, via the display the executable object partially superimposed on the screen ([0220] in FIG. 7K, the electronic device 100 detects a multi-finger tap input 718 including a first finger tap input 718a, a second finger tap input 718b, and a third finger tap input 718c associated with a hand 716 of a user. In some embodiments, the multi-finger tap input 718 corresponds to a single tap input. In some embodiments, the electronic device 100 detects the first finger tap input 718a, the second finger tap input 718b, and the third finger tap input 718c within a threshold amount of time of each other. In response to detecting the multi-finger tap input 718 in FIG. 7K, the electronic device 100 displays an interface 722 in FIG. 7L).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the touch input with a contact area, as suggested by Griffin. The motivation would have been in order provide efficient and accurate user interaction with the device ([0012]).
7. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Battre et al (US 10,380,614).
As to claim 16, while Cai teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to execute various functions or applications ([0301]), Cai does not teach the electronic device as claimed.
However, Battre teaches in response to an input for the item, adjust the value from a first value to a second value (col. 9, selection of a “Reset browser settings” user-interface element 460 may launch a user interface as shown in FIG. 5, which is a diagram that illustrates an example user interface 500 for resetting settings/values for a user's application); and based on identifying a cessation of the displaying of the screen or a change in the data, after the value is adjusted to the second value, restore the value to the first value (col. 9, As shown in FIG. 5, the user interface element 500 can include a selectable reset button 502, the selection of which causes the application to automatically restore the values of one or more settings of the application to default values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the electronic device, as suggested by Battre. The motivation would have been in order to automatically restore the default settings and enhances the operability of the device.
8. Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 2023/0386382) in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0070247).
As to claim 17, Cai does not teach the electronic device as claimed.
However, Wang teaches the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to display, via the display, at least one item for displaying a portion of settings that was provided via the user interface (local music including yesterday once more…fig. 8A-2), together with at least a portion of the setting menus, within another user interface for the global setting (a sharing interface, fig. 8A-2), and wherein the portion of the settings may be identified based on past usage history of the user interface (a return control 2015, fig. 8A-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cai to teach, the electronic device, as suggested by Wang. The motivation would have been in order to improve user convenience ([0005]).
As to claim 18, Cai iView of Wang teaches the electronic device, wherein an arrangement of the at least a portion of the setting menus displayed in response to displaying of the other user interface is changeable based on a user input (Fig. 6B(a)-6B(d) illustrates arrangement change of setting menus).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628