DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 8, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to (twice). Claim 1 already recites “at least one processor”, comprising processing circuitry, and the instructions executed by the at least one processor. It is unclear whether claim 4 refers to the same processor(s) or introduces a further processor, and whether the recited configuration is the stored instructions of claim 1 or a separate configuration. For examination, claim 4 is read as the at least one processor of claim 1 executing the instructions of claim 1.
Claim 5 recites connect the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion to the ground line and communicate … based on the ground line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the ground line”; claim 5 depends from claim 1, and a ground line is first introduced in claim 4. For examination, claim 5 is read as introducing a ground line.
Claim 6 (a) recites “the ground line” without antecedent basis for the same reason as claim 5, and (b) is internally unclear: it requires, based on a grip in the second side region, connecting the third conductive portion and the second conductive portion to the ground line and then communicating with an external electronic device through the third conductive portion based on the ground line. It is unclear how the device communicates through a conductive portion that the same claim requires to be connected to the ground line, and the specification describes the opposite for this grip: when the grip is adjacent to the third conductive portion 430, “the electronic device 101 may radiate a signal through the first conductive portion 410, based on grounding using the second conductive portion 420 and the third conductive portion 430” ([0113]). Although [0193] repeats the claim language, that paragraph does not resolve which portion radiates. For examination, claim 6 is read, consistent with [0113], as communicating through the first conductive portion based on the ground line. Applicant should amend claim 6 (e.g., “through the first conductive portion”) or explain how the claimed operation is performed.
Claim 8 recites the grip sensor includes a first port and a second port. Claim 1 recites at least one grip sensor; there is insufficient antecedent basis for the grip sensor, and it is unclear whether claim 8 requires exactly one grip sensor. For examination, claim 8 is read as the at least one grip sensor includes a grip sensor having a first port and a second port.
Claim 10 recites the first wireless communication circuit is connected to the tuning circuit and the second wireless communication circuit is connected to the switching circuit. Claim 10 depends from claim 1, which recites no tuning circuit or switching circuit; those elements are introduced in claim 9. For examination, claim 10 is read as depending from claim 9.
Claim 14 recites obtain the change in capacitance. Claim 14 depends from claim 1, which recites no change in capacitance; a change in capacitance is introduced in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun WO 2022/030977 A1 (herewith English language equivalent US PGPUB 2023/0188173) in view of Kim US 2022/0115772 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses:
An electronic device comprising: — Yun [0003]: “A portable electronic device such as a portable communication device, a mobile terminal, a mobile communication terminal, or a smart phone may communicate with an external electronic device using a communication circuit and an antenna”; Yun [0115]: “an electronic device 100 according to an embodiment may include an antenna structure (or frame structure) 400 in the electronic device 100.”
memory, comprising one or more storage media storing instructions; — Yun [0191]: “The memory 1530 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 1520 or the sensor module 1576) of the electronic device 1501. The various data may include, for example, software (e.g., the program 1540)”; Yun [0213]: “Various embodiments as set forth herein may be implemented as software (e.g., the program 1540) including one or more instructions that are stored in a storage medium (e.g., the internal memory 1536 or external memory 1538) that is readable by a machine.”
at least one grip sensor; — Yun [0119]: “The electronic device 100 according to an embodiment may detect the proximity of a human body via a grip sensor. The grip sensor according to an embodiment may be disposed at a first point at which the first conductive portion 411 is connected to the third switching circuit 443 or a second point at which the first conductive portion 411 is connected to the first switching circuit 441.”
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry; — Yun [0189]: “The processor 1520 may execute, for example, software (e.g., a program 1540) to control at least one other component … the processor 1520 may include a main processor 1521 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)), or an auxiliary processor 1523”; Yun [0173]: “An electronic device according to an embodiment may include a processor.”
a first conductive portion comprising a conductive material, a second conductive portion comprising a conductive material, and a third conductive portion comprising a conductive material disposed on a side … — Yun [0010]: the frame structure forms “at least a part of a side surface of the electronic device, the side surface surrounding a space between a front surface of the electronic device and a rear surface of the electronic device and including a first edge, a second edge extending from the first edge and perpendicular to the first edge, and a third edge extending from the second edge and parallel to the first edge, and the frame structure including a first insulating portion disposed in the first edge, a second insulating portion disposed in the second edge, a third insulating portion disposed in the second edge, a first conductive portion extending from the first insulating portion to the second edge, a second conductive portion spaced apart from the first conductive portion by the second insulating portion and corresponding to a part of the second edge, a third conductive portion spaced apart from the second conductive portion by the third insulating portion and extending to the third edge”; Yun [0118]: “The plurality of conductive portions 410 according to an embodiment may form at least a part of the housing of the electronic device 100 … The plurality of conductive portions 410 according to an embodiment may be fed with power from the wireless communication circuit 430 to operate as antenna radiators.”
wherein the first conductive portion (read as 411) is disposed in a first side region of the side, the third conductive portion (read as 413) is disposed in a second side region opposite the first side region, and the second conductive portion (read as 412) is disposed between the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion, — Yun fig. 4; [0010], quoted above: the first conductive portion extends “from the first insulating portion to the second edge” (i.e., it occupies the end region of the second edge adjoining the first edge), the third conductive portion extends “to the third edge” (the opposite end region of the second edge), and the second conductive portion corresponds “to a part of the second edge” between them, being “spaced apart from the first conductive portion by the second insulating portion” and spaced from the third conductive portion “by the third insulating portion”; Yun [0118]: “A first conductive portion 411 and a second conductive portion 412 according to an embodiment may be spaced apart from each other by a second insulating portion 422. The second conductive portion 412 and a third conductive portion 413 according to an embodiment may be spaced apart from each other by a third insulating portion 423”.
wherein a first segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material is formed between the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion, and a second segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material is formed between the third conductive portion and the second conductive portion, and — Yun [0118]: “A first conductive portion 411 and a second conductive portion 412 according to an embodiment may be spaced apart from each other by a second insulating portion 422. The second conductive portion 412 and a third conductive portion 413 according to an embodiment may be spaced apart from each other by a third insulating portion 423”; Yun [0116]: “The plurality of insulating portions 420 according to an embodiment may be filled with a non-conductive material such as synthetic polymer.”
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: detect a grip of the electronic device through the at least one grip sensor, and — Yun [0137]: “in operation 620, a grip sensor may detect the proximity of a human body”; Yun [0173]: “a processor according to an embodiment may detect and determine proximity of a human body by using a grip sensor in operation 1230”; Yun [0213] (instructions executed by the processor, quoted above).
based on identifying that the grip is associated with the first side region of the electronic device, communicate with an external electronic device through the third conductive portion and the second conductive portion. — The grip sensor is located at the first conductive portion 411 and senses the body near the first conductive portion, i.e., a grip associated with the first side region: Yun fig. 4; [0119] “grip sensor according to an embodiment may be disposed at a first point at which the first conductive portion 411 is connected to the third switching circuit 443 or a second point at which the first conductive portion 411 is connected to the first switching circuit 441”. Yun [0120]: “the electric device 100 may detect the proximity of a human body with respect to the first insulating portion 421 via a grip sensor”. On that detection the device feeds the second and third conductive portions. Yun figs. 6-7; [0137]: “in a case where the human body is close according to the result of the determination of operation 620, operation 630 may be performed”. Yun [0143]: “In operation 720 according to an embodiment, the electronic device may release the connection between the wireless communication circuit and the first conductive portion.” Yun [0144]: “In operation 730 according to an embodiment, the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the second conductive portion, feed power to the second conductive portion, and may thus transmit or receive the first signal including the first frequency band via the second conductive portion. In operation 730 according to an embodiment, the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the third conductive portion, feed power to the third conductive portion, and may thus transmit or receive the second signal including the second frequency band via the third conductive portion.” Yun [0003]: “phone may communicate with an external electronic device using a communication circuit and an antenna”.
Yun does not disclose a first housing; a second housing coupled to the first housing to be movable along a first direction in which the first housing is configured to be drawn out or along a second direction opposite to the first direction; or that the three conductive portions are disposed on a side of the second housing facing the second direction.
Kim discloses a first housing; a second housing coupled to the first housing to be movable along a first direction in which the first housing is configured to be drawn out or along a second direction opposite to the first direction. Kim fig. 2B; [0068]: “an electronic device 200 may include a first housing 210 (e.g., a base housing), a second housing 220 (e.g., a slide structure) coupled to the first housing 210 in a way to be movable at a designated maximum round-trip distance from the first housing 210 in a designated direction (e.g., an X-axis direction)”. Kim [0074]: “the first housing 210 may be coupled to the second housing 220 in a sliding manner so that the first housing 210 at least partially slides out from the second housing 220 or slides into at least a part of the second housing 220.” Kim [0072]: “when the second housing 220 of the electronic device 200 moves from the first housing 210 in the designated first direction”.
Kim further discloses a plurality of conductive portions, segmented by non-conductive portions and operating as antennas, disposed on a side of the second housing facing the second direction, i.e., on the end face of base housing 210 that faces away from the slide-out direction. Kim [0069]: the first side member 211 of housing 210 includes “a second side 2112 extended to have a second length longer than the first length in a direction substantially perpendicular to the first side 2111” and “at least a part of the first side member 211 may be made of a conductive material (e.g., metal)”. Kim [0074]: “the electronic device 200 may be configured to have a first width W1 from the second side 2112 to the fifth side 2212 in the slide-in state”, and in the slide-out state “a third width W greater than the first width W1”; because the fifth side 2212 of the slide structure 220 is the end that advances in the slide-out direction, the second side 2112 is the opposite end face of housing 210 and faces away from the slide-out direction. Kim [0083]: “the electronic device 200 may include a plurality of other conductive portions 262, 263, 264, 265, and 266 operating as antennas through at least a part of the first side member 211. According to one embodiment, the plurality of other conductive portions 262, 263, 264, 265, and 266 may be substantially disposed in a side region (e.g., the region B in FIG. 2A) … a third conductive portion 262 disposed through the second non-conductive portion 2612 formed in the first side 2111 and a fourth non-conductive portion 2613 formed in the second side 2112, a fourth conductive portion 263 disposed through the fourth non-conductive portion 2613 and a fifth non-conductive portion 2614, a fifth conductive portion 264 disposed through the fifth non-conductive portion 2614 and a sixth non-conductive portion 2615, a sixth conductive portion 265 disposed through the sixth non-conductive portion 2615 and a seventh non-conductive portion 2616 and/or a seventh conductive portion 266 disposed through the seventh non-conductive portion 2616 and an eighth non-conductive portion 2617 formed in the third side 2113.” Kim [0097]: “The plurality of other conductive portions 262, 263, 264, 265, and 266 according to one embodiment may also be configured to operate in the aforementioned various frequency bands.” Kim [0078] also lists “a grip sensor” among the device’s sensors.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the grip based antenna control of Yun and slide out form factor of Kim in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide optimized communication for all form factors of mobile device and yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Yun in view of Kim discloses:
An electronic device comprising: memory, comprising one or more storage media storing instructions; at least one grip sensor; at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry; — Yun [0003], [0191], [0213], [0119], [0189], [0173], as quoted for claim 1.
a first housing; a second housing coupled to the first housing to be movable along a first direction in which the first housing is configured to be drawn out or along a second direction opposite to the first direction; and — Kim [0068], [0074], [0072], as quoted for claim 1. For claim 15 the relative labels are applied with Kim’s base housing 210 as the claimed first housing: Kim [0074] states that “the first housing 210 at least partially slides out from the second housing 220”, so the first direction is the direction in which housing 210 is drawn out relative to the slide structure 220 (the direction opposite to Kim’s direction of slide-out of housing 220), and housing 220 is the claimed second housing movable relative to housing 210 along that direction and its opposite.
a first conductive portion comprising a conductive material, a second conductive portion comprising a conductive material, and a third conductive portion comprising a conductive material disposed on a side of the first housing facing the first direction, — Yun [0010], [0118], [0116] (the three conductive portions along one edge), as quoted for claim 1; Kim [0069], [0074], [0083], [0097], as quoted for claim 1: the second side 2112 of housing 210 is the end face of housing 210 that faces the direction in which housing 210 is drawn out relative to housing 220, and carries the segmented conductive portions 262–266 operating as antennas.
wherein the first conductive portion is disposed in a first side region of the side, the third conductive portion is disposed in a second side region opposite the first side region, and the second conductive portion is disposed between the first conductive portion and the third conductive portion, wherein a first segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material is formed between the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion, and a second segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material is formed between the third conductive portion and the second conductive portion, and — Yun [0010], [0118], [0116], [0104], as quoted for claim 1.
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: detect a grip of the electronic device through the at least one grip sensor, and based on identifying that the grip is associated with the first side region of the electronic device, communicate with an external electronic device through the third conductive portion and the second conductive portion. — Yun [0137], [0173], [0119], [0120], [0143], [0144], [0131], [0174], [0003], as quoted for claim 1.
Yun does not disclose the slidable first and second housings or the location of the conductive portions on the side of the first housing facing the first direction; Kim discloses these as set forth above, and the reasons to combine stated for claim 1 apply equally to claim 15.
Regarding claim 9, Yun in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth above. Yun further discloses further comprising: a tuning circuit; and — Yun [0147]: “the switching circuit (e.g., the first switching circuit 441 of FIGS. 5A-5E) according to an embodiment may be a tuner including the plurality of internal elements 801 or 811 and the plurality of internal switches 802 or 812”.
a switching circuit connected to the tuning circuit, — Yun [0121]: “the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the first conductive portion 411 and/or the second conductive portion 412 by a first switching circuit 441. In an example, the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the second conductive portion 412 and/or the third conductive portion 413 by a second switching circuit 442.” The second switching circuit 442 is connected to the first switching circuit 441 (the tuner) through the common wireless communication circuit 430 and through the second conductive portion 412 to which both are connected (Yun [0128], [0130]); under the broadest reasonable interpretation, connected to includes this indirect electrical connection.
wherein the tuning circuit is connected to the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion, and — Yun [0130]: “the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the first conductive portion 411 via the first switching circuit 441 and the first feeding line 461. The wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the second conductive portion 412 via the first switching circuit 441 and the second feeding line 462.”
wherein the switching circuit is connected to the third conductive portion and the second conductive portion. — Yun [0128]: “the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the second conductive portion 412 via the third feeding line 463. The wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the third conductive portion 413 via a fourth feeding line 464. The wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the second conductive portion 412 and the third conductive portion 413 by the second switching circuit 442”.
Regarding claim 10 (read as depending from claim 9, see the 112(b) rejection), Yun in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 9 as set forth above. Yun further discloses further comprising: a first wireless communication circuit for the first conductive portion, and a second wireless communication circuit for the third conductive portion, wherein the first wireless communication circuit is connected to the tuning circuit and the second wireless communication circuit is connected to the switching circuit. — Yun [0164]: “the first wireless communication circuit 1131 may be electrically connected to the first switching circuit 1141. The first wireless communication circuit 1131 according to an embodiment may be electrically connected to a first conductive portion 1111 and/or a second conductive portion 1112 via the first switching circuit 1141.” Yun [0165]: “The second wireless communication circuit 1132 according to an embodiment may be electrically connected to a second switching circuit 1142. The second wireless communication circuit 1132 according to an embodiment may be electrically connected to the second conductive portion 1112 and/or a third conductive portion 1113 via the second switching circuit 1142.” The first switching circuit is the tuner (Yun [0147], [0163]: the same reference numerals denote the same components).
Regarding claim 11, Yun in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1 as set forth above. Yun further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: before the grip of the electronic device is detected, communicate with an external electronic device through the first conductive portion. — Yun [0127]: “in a first mode, the wireless communication circuit 430 may be electrically connected to the first conductive portion 411 by the first switching circuit 441, and may transmit or receive a signal of a first frequency band (e.g., a low-band frequency) via the first conductive portion 411 by feeding power to the first conductive portion 411”; Yun [0136]: in operation 610, which precedes the grip detection of operation 620, “the wireless communication circuit 430 may feed power to the first conductive portion to transmit/receive the first signal”; Yun [0137]: “in a case where a human body is not close according to the result of the grip sensor which has detected the proximity of a human body, operation 610 may be performed.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun WO 2022/030977 A1 (herewith English language equivalent US PGPUB 2023/0188173) in view of Kim US 2022/0115772 A1 in view of Jung US 2021/0185164.
Regarding claim 14, Yun in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 13 as set forth above. Yun in view of Kim does not discloses wherein, for detecting the grip, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain a total capacitance through the at least one grip sensor.
Jung discloses wherein, for detecting the grip, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain a total capacitance through the at least one grip sensor, and — Jung [0141]: “ capacitance value measured through the grip sensor 660 may change. For example, when the amount of change in capacitance measured through the grip sensor 660 exceeds a preset threshold value, the processor 610 may determine that a user's grip (or holding) is detected.”
obtain the change in capacitance based on a reference capacitance of the at least one grip sensor and the total capacitance. — Jung [0141]: “ capacitance value measured through the grip sensor 660 may change. For example, when the amount of change in capacitance measured through the grip sensor 660 exceeds a preset threshold value, the processor 610 may determine that a user's grip (or holding) is detected.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the grip based antenna control of Yun as modified and capacitive grip sensor of Jung in order to arrive at either an electrode based or reference value based determination of capacitance change to provide an accurate grip determination and yield predictable results due to finite solutions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 12-13 are allowable over prior art. Unless, other outstanding issues remain, Applicant may roll up the subject matter into the independent claims for allowability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Reference
Relevance
Lee et al., US 10,819,010 B2 (US 2017/0170562 A1, June 15, 2017), Samsung
Metal side frame divided into first side member 130 (antenna) and second/third side members 131, 133 by insulation areas 132, 134 ([0082]); grip sensor 105; processor determines left-hand or right-hand grip and changes switches 780, 790 to ground to improve radiation on the gripped side ([0076], [0136]–[0145], Table 3)
Asrani et al., US 9,203,463 B2 (US 2015/0171916 A1, June 18, 2015), Google Technology Holdings
Slotted metal bezel with main antenna segment 308 and left-hand and right-hand capacitance sensor segments 312, 313 at either end to determine which hand holds the device ([0031]–[0033], [0041]); 102(a)(1) alternative to Hwang for claim 7
Kim et al., US 11,470,729 B2 (US 2021/0219437 A1, July 15, 2021), Samsung
U.S. counterpart of KR 10-2019-0143029 A, cited as category Y against claims 1–3 and 15 in the International Search Report. Rollable/slidable device whose fixed first side member carries three conductive portions 431–433 separated by inner segments 451, 453, with a sliding second side member whose cover surface overlaps them ([0102]–[0109], [0121]); the segmented portions lie on the second surface 422, which is parallel to the sliding direction, so Kim ’729 is cumulative to Kim (US 2022/0115772) for the housing and does not show the conductive portions on the side facing the second direction
Heo, US 2019/0103659 A1 (April 4, 2019), Samsung (US 10,637,128 B2)
U.S. counterpart of KR 10-2019-0038023 A, cited as category Y against claims 1–3 and 15 in the International Search Report. Senses a grip from a current loop formed through adjacent metallic frame parts across a separator, determines left-hand or right-hand grip by comparing the loop signals at the two separators ([0056], [0058], Table 1), and changes the antenna’s resonance frequency or output based on the sensed grip ([0013], [0064]–[0065]); cumulative to Yun and Han for grip-responsive antenna control, and does not show feeding the conductive portions on the side away from the grip
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
October 28, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646