DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 3 fails to show proper cross-hatching in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). This figure has been described in the disclosure as a sectional view; however, it does not show any cross-hatching to indicate the sectioned portion(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claims 14-19: It is not clear if the following elements are meant to be positively claimed as part of the claimed “constant velocity joint (CVJ)” or if they are meant only as functional limitations related to an intended use of the “constant velocity joint (CVJ)”:
The “stub shaft” (including its “external splined interface”, its “first and second ends”, and its “flange”);
The “wheel end assembly”;
The “bearing assembly”;
The “spindle” (including the “two snap rings” used to retain the CVJ to the spindle and its “flange section” and “nose section”); and
The “housing” (including its “cylindrical mounting feature”, the “plurality of fasteners” used to fasten the mounting feature with the flange of the stub shaft, and its “second bearing assembly”)
The preamble of each of these claims is directed to a “constant velocity joint (CVJ)” and each of the elements above are initially recited functionally as an intended use of the claimed CVJ. However, further limitations in the claims related to these elements (see each of dependent claims 15-19) appear to indicate that perhaps they are meant to be positively claimed as part of the “constant velocity joint (CVJ)”. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined because the scope of the claim is unclear.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret the claims as though these elements are NOT positively claimed as part of the “constant velocity joint (CVJ)”, but rather is recited only as a functional limitation related to an intended use of the “constant velocity joint (CVJ)”.
Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claim 18: Claim 18 recites the limitation "the flange of the stub shaft" in line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret this limitation as --a flange of the stub shaft--.
Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claim 19: This claim is considered indefinite because of its dependency from indefinite claim 18.
Examiner notes that any prior art rejections made in this Office Action are made in view of the claims, as best understood by the Examiner, in view of the above indefiniteness rejections.
Claim Interpretation – Functional Language
From the outset, it should be noted that some of the language in the claims is functional in nature. For example, in claims 14-19 (as best understood by the Examiner) the language related to a “stub shaft”, a “wheel end assembly”, a “bearing assembly”, a “spindle”, and a “housing” (as discussed above) is functional in nature and limited patentable weight is given to this section of the claim. Additionally, Examiner notes that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and thus, a prior art device must only be capable of performing the stated function in order to read on the functional limitation. In this instance, the prior art discloses every structural limitation of the claim and thus this limitation fails to distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. Please see MPEP 2114.
[Examiner notes that this section of the Office Action does not constitute a rejection or objection, but is merely meant to indicate the manner in which the claims have been interpreted by the Examiner.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baker (US Patent 5,492,417).
Re Claim 1: Baker discloses a wheel end assembly of a vehicle (see Figs. 1-2), the wheel end assembly comprising:
a wheel hub assembly (for example, the connection portion of the wheel, to be connected to flange 14; not shown);
a stub shaft (12) having a first end (the right-hand end in Figs. 1-2) including an external splined interface (16), and a second end (the left-hand end in Figs. 1-5) including a flange (14) configured to be fastened to the wheel hub assembly; and
a constant velocity joint (CVJ) (32), where the CVJ includes an outer race (34) comprising a bore with an internal splined interface (36) configured to mate with the external splined interface (16) of the stub shaft.
Re Claim 6: Baker discloses a wheel end assembly, wherein the flange (14) is fastened to a housing of the wheel hub assembly (for example, the connection portion of the wheel, to be connected to flange 14; not shown) via a plurality of fasteners (see the fastener attached to flange 14; Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Claim 14, as best understood by the Examiner: Baker discloses a constant velocity joint (CVJ) (32; Figs. 1-2) of a vehicle, comprising an outer race (34) including a bore with an internal splined (36) interface configured to mate with an external splined interface (16) of a stub shaft (12) of a wheel end assembly (for example, the connection portion of the wheel, to be connected to flange 14; not shown).
Re Claim 15, as best understood by the Examiner: Baker discloses a CVJ (32), wherein the external splined interface (16) is at a first end (the right-hand end in Figs. 1-2) of the stub shaft (12) and a second, opposing end (the left-hand end in Figs. 1-2) of the stub shaft includes a flange (14) configured to be fastened to a wheel hub of the wheel end assembly (for example, the connection portion of the wheel, to be connected to flange 14; not shown).
Re Claim 16, as best understood by the Examiner: Baker discloses a CVJ (32), wherein the stub shaft (12) extends from the wheel hub to the CVJ (32) through a spindle (for example, as shown for hub 30), and the stub shaft (12) is supported by a bearing assembly (22) interposed between the outer race and the spindle.
Re Claim 17, as best understood by the Examiner: Baker discloses a CVJ (32), wherein the CVJ (32) configured to be retained to the spindle (30) via two snap rings (for example, as shown for rings 18, 28).
Re Claim 18, as best understood by the Examiner: Baker discloses a CVJ (32), wherein a flange (14) of the stub shaft (12) is configured to be fastened to a cylindrical mounting feature of a housing of the wheel hub (for example, the connection portion of the wheel, to be connected to flange 14; not shown) via a plurality of fasteners (see the fastener attached to flange 14; Figs. 1-2).
Re Claim 19, as best understood by the Examiner: Baker discloses a CVJ (32), wherein the spindle (30) includes a flange section (for example, as shown for the section that attached to suspension 50; Fig. 2) that extends radially outward from a central axis of the spindle, and a nose section (the portion shown at ref. no. 30) centered around the central axis, the nose section configured to be retained to an inner race (for example as shown for the inner race at bearing 20) of a second bearing assembly (at 20) of the housing via a spindle nut.
Re Claim 20: Baker discloses a method, comprising:
rotating a wheel of a vehicle via a constant velocity joint (CVJ) (32), where a torque generated on an axle shaft of the vehicle is transferred to a stub shaft (12) fastened to a wheel hub (for example, the connection portion of the wheel, to be connected to flange 14; not shown) including the wheel through the CVJ, the stub shaft (12) having an external splined interface (16) that meshes with an internal splined interface (36) of an outer race (34) of the CVJ (32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US Patent 5,492,417), as applied to claims 1, 6, and 14-20 above, and further in view of Sahashi (US Patent 6,146,022).
Re Claims 7-9: Baker, as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, discloses a wheel end assembly significantly as claimed except wherein the flange is fastened to a mounting feature that is cylindrical in shape (as is required by claim 7); wherein the mounting feature curves around an opening that the stub shaft extends through (as is required by claim 8); and/or wherein the mounting feature extends longitudinally outward from the housing towards a wheel of the vehicle, along a central axis of the housing (as is required by claim 9).
Sahashi teaches the use of a wheel end assembly (see Fig. 9) comprising a wheel hub assembly (at H); a stub shaft (see annotated Fig. 9 below) including a flange (at 7); and a constant velocity joint (CVJ) (J2) having an outer race (3); and further wherein the flange is fastened to a mounting feature (se annotated Fig. 9 below) that is cylindrical in shape; wherein the mounting feature curves around an opening (see below) that the stub shaft extends through; and/or wherein the mounting feature extends longitudinally outward from the housing towards a wheel of the vehicle, along a central axis of the housing; for the purpose of attaching the wheel end assembly to the wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baker, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the flange is fastened to a mounting feature that is cylindrical in shape (as is required by claim 7); wherein the mounting feature curves around an opening that the stub shaft extends through (as is required by claim 8); and/or wherein the mounting feature extends longitudinally outward from the housing towards a wheel of the vehicle, along a central axis of the housing (as is required by claim 9), as taught by Sahashi, for the purpose of attaching the wheel end assembly to the wheel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 requires the wheel end assembly of claim 1 and further comprising “a spindle interposed between the outer race and the wheel hub assembly.” As discussed above, Baker is considered to be the closes prior art device of record to the disclosed invention. Baker fails to disclose a wheel end assembly that further comprises a “spindle” as claimed in claim 2. Further, none of the other prior art devices of record teach or disclose a wheel end assembly having all the requirements of claim 1 and further comprising a “spindle” as claimed in claim 2. Nor would it have been obvious to modify the device of Baker or any other prior art device of record in such a manner since there would have been no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. For at least these reasons, claim 2 is considered to be allowable over the prior art of record. Claims 3-5 and 10-13 are considered allowable at least due to their dependence from claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678