DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 6, 9-11 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 1, the phrase “each electrode securing element” should read “each of the electrode securing elements” or similar language, to properly refer to the electrode securing elements previously introduced.
In claim 6, line 1, the phrase “each electrode securing element” should read “each of the electrode securing elements” or similar language, to properly refer to the electrode securing elements previously introduced.
In claim 9, line 2, the phrase “each electrode securing element” should read “each of the electrode securing elements” or similar language, to properly refer to the electrode securing elements previously introduced.
In claim 10, lines 2-3, the phrase “each electrode securing element” should read “each of the electrode securing elements” or similar language, to properly refer to the electrode securing elements previously introduced.
In claim 11, line 2, the phrase “each electrode securing element” should read “each of the electrode securing elements” or similar language, to properly refer to the electrode securing elements previously introduced.
In claim 16, line 5, the phrase “through cavitation bubble chamber” should read “through the cavitation bubble chamber”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electrode securing elements” in claim 2.
Para. [0279] of the published application describes the “securing elements” as a heat shrink extrusion, a polymer, or an adhesive. “Securing elements” uses the generic placeholder “elements” coupled with the term “securing”, which is functional in that the limitation alternatively recites an element for securing, and the term “element” is not preceded by a structural modifier since the term “securing” does not imply any structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the cavitation solution lumen” in line 2. It is unclear whether the phrase is referring to the first or second cavitation solution lumens previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to either the first or second cavitation solution lumens previously introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phan (US 2022/0183708 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Phan discloses (see abstract; paras. [0050]-[0117]; figs. 1-6d) a medical device catheter (fig. 1), comprising:
a proximal end (22, para. [0058]; fig. 1) configured to remain outside the body of a patient (para. [0058]), and a distal end (distal end of catheter) configured to go inside the body of a patient (fig. 1);
a catheter shaft (12, para. [0059]) comprising a cavitation bubble chamber (230, paras. [0076]-[0078] and [0084]) at the distal end of the medical device catheter (fig. 2c) and extending along a first longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 230);
a first electrode (208, para. [0101]) and a second electrode (206) and an electrode gap therebetween (para. [0070]), wherein the electrode gap is positioned inside of the cavitation bubble chamber (distal ends of each wire define the gap, depicted as located within 230, para. [0070]; fig. 2c); and
a slender element (210, para. [0064]; fig. 2a) connected to each of the first and second electrodes (via conductive sheath 212, see also para. [0095] describing lumen 201 being sealed, para. [0068]) and extending along a second longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 210) different than the first longitudinal axis (depicted as being offset relative to the longitudinal axis of 230, para. [0095]; figs. 2c-d and 3d).
Regarding claim 2, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 1. Phan further discloses further comprising electrode securing elements (respective portions of conductive sheath 212 surrounding each electrode, considered to correspond to the structure disclosed for the securing elements interpreted under 112(f), para. [0068]) connecting each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element (para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 3, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 2. Phan further discloses wherein each electrode securing element comprises metal surrounding the slender element and each respective first electrode and second electrode (sheath 212 formed of stainless steel, para. [0075]), and wherein the slender element comprises a polymer material (polyimide tubing, para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 2. Phan further discloses wherein each electrode securing element connects each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element using a mechanical lock feature (via bonded material, considered to function as a mechanical lock, para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 9, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 6. Phan further discloses wherein the mechanical lock feature is present on at least two opposing sides of each electrode securing element (bonded material considered to be on opposing sides of each wire portion within inner tubular wall of sheath 212, e.g. sides above and below each wire portion, fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 12, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 1. Phan further discloses further comprising a first cavitation solution lumen (201, para. [0101]; fig. 3d) extending within the cavitation bubble chamber (fig. 2c) and having a first distal opening positioned at the distal portion of the cavitation bubble chamber (a distal portion is considered to encompass a distal half of cap 230, lumen 201 is considered to be positioned within cap 230 and therefore positioned within at least a distal half of cap 230, figs. 2c and 3d), a second cavitation solution lumen (204) having a second distal opening positioned at the proximal portion of the cavitation bubble chamber (positioned within cap 230 and therefore considered to be positioned within at least a proximal half of cap 230, figs. 2c and 3d), and a guidewire lumen (202b, para. [0062]; fig. 3d) extending through the cavitation bubble chamber (fig. 3d).
Regarding claim 13, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 12. Phan further discloses wherein the slender element connected to each of the first and the second electrodes extends adjacent to the first cavitation solution lumen (para. [0095]; figs. 2a and 3d).
Regarding claim 14, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 13. Phan further discloses wherein the first cavitation solution lumen has a smaller diameter than the guidewire lumen within the region of the cavitation bubble chamber (depicted in fig. 3d).
Regarding claim 15, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 14. Phan further discloses wherein the electrode gap is positioned closer to the cavitation solution lumen than to the guidewire lumen (considered to be positioned closer to lumens which wires 206 and 208 extend through as opposed to lumen 202b, figs. 2a-b and 3d).
Regarding claim 16, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 12. Phan further discloses further comprising a first cavitation solution fitting (fluid port 26, para. [0058]; fig. 1) at the proximal end of the medical device catheter and in fluid communication with the first cavitation solution lumen (receives conductive fluid for delivery into cap, para. [0059]), and a second cavitation solution fitting (24) at the proximal end of the medical device catheter and in fluid communication with the second cavitation solution lumen (considered to be in fluid communication due to providing electrical connection for creating shock waves within the fluid, para. [0058]), and configured to flow a cavitation solution through cavitation bubble chamber (para. [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 16. Phan further discloses further configured to flow the cavitation solution through the cavitation bubble chamber at a minimum average fluid speed greater than the length of the cavitation bubble chamber times an electrical pulsing frequency used to create arcing across the electrode gap (Phan discloses the frequency of the applied voltage pulse to be between approximately 1 Hz and 10 Hz, and a length/diameter of the cap to be lower than 1.5mm, and further discloses the fluid flow rate to be approximately 1 ml/min to 3 ml/min, such that the average fluid speed is disclosed to be greater than the length of the chamber (1.5mm) times a frequency used to create arcing (1 Hz), paras. [0079] and [0084]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 18, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 16. Phan further discloses the catheter further configured to pressurize the flow of the cavitation solution through the cavitation bubble chamber to increase the column strength of the catheter shaft (cap is inflated to IVL pressure to contact the target lesion, considered to be pressurized for inflation and increase the column strength of the shaft to contact tissue, para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 16. Phan further discloses further configured to fluidly connect a first syringe to the first cavitation solution fitting and a second syringe to the second cavitation solution fitting (ports are configured to receive conductive fluid and a high voltage source to provide an electrical connection, considered to be capable of fluidly connecting to an additional structure such as a syringe, para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 20, Phan discloses (see abstract; paras. [0050]-[0117]; figs. 1-6d) a medical device catheter (fig. 1), comprising:
a proximal end (22, para. [0058]; fig. 1) configured to remain outside the body of a patient (para. [0058]), and a distal end (distal end of catheter) configured to go inside the body of a patient (fig. 1);
a catheter shaft (12, para. [0059]) comprising a cavitation bubble chamber (230, paras. [0076]-[0078] and [0084]) at the distal end of the medical device catheter (fig. 2c);
a distal electrode (208, considered to extrude out of distal edge of sheath 212 and therefore be located distal of sheath 212, paras. [0070] and [0101]) and a proximal electrode (206, considered to be proximal of distal end of 202b, figs. 2a-b) and an electrode gap therebetween (para. [0070]), wherein the electrode gap is positioned inside of the cavitation bubble chamber (distal ends of each wire define the gap, depicted as located within 230, para. [0070]; fig. 2c);
a slender element (210, para. [0064]; fig. 2a) connected to each of the distal and proximal electrodes (via conductive sheath 212, see also para. [0095] describing lumen 201 being sealed, para. [0068]);
electrode securing elements (respective portions of conductive sheath 212 surrounding each electrode, considered to correspond to the structure disclosed for the securing elements interpreted under 112(f), para. [0068]) connecting each of the distal and proximal electrodes to the slender element (para. [0068]);
a first cavitation solution lumen (201, para. [0101]; fig. 3d) extending within the cavitation bubble chamber (fig. 2c) and having a first distal opening positioned at a distal portion of the cavitation bubble chamber (a distal portion is considered to encompass a distal half of cap 230, lumen 201 is considered to be positioned within cap 230 and therefore positioned within at least a distal half of cap 230, figs. 2c and 3d), and a second cavitation solution lumen (204) having a second distal opening positioned at a proximal portion of the cavitation bubble chamber (positioned within cap 230 and therefore considered to be positioned within at least a proximal half of cap 230, figs. 2c and 3d); and
a first cavitation solution fitting (fluid port 26, para. [0058]; fig. 1) at the proximal end of the medical device catheter and in fluid communication with the first cavitation solution lumen (receives conductive fluid for delivery into cap, para. [0059]), and a second cavitation solution fitting (24) at the proximal end of the medical device catheter and in fluid communication with the second cavitation solution lumen (considered to be in fluid communication due to providing electrical connection for creating shock waves within the fluid, para. [0058]), and configured to flow a cavitation solution through the cavitation bubble chamber (para. [0059]) at a minimum average fluid speed greater than the distance between the distal electrode and the proximal electrode times an electrical pulsing frequency used to create arcing across the electrode gap (Phan discloses the frequency of the applied voltage pulse to be between approximately 1 Hz and 10 Hz, and a length/diameter of the cap which the electrodes are located within to be lower than 1.5mm, and further discloses the fluid flow rate to be approximately 1 ml/min to 3 ml/min, such that the average fluid speed is disclosed to be greater than the length of the chamber (1.5mm, encompassing the distance between the wire portions) times a frequency used to create arcing (1 Hz), paras. [0079] and [0084]-[0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan in view of McCaffrey (US 2020/0129196 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 3.
However, Phan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polymer material has a melting temperature of at least 300°C.
McCaffrey teaches (para. [0109]), in the same field of endeavor, a tubular body which may be composed of PEEK in place of polyimide (para. [0109]).
The substitution of one known element (tubing composed of PEEK) for another (tubing composed of polyimide, para. [0109] of McCaffrey, para. [0064] of Phan) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the substitution of the tubing composed of PEEK as taught by McCaffrey, would have yielded predictable results, specifically, providing the desired flexibility to the tube (para. [0109] of McCaffrey).
Phan (as modified) further teaches wherein the polymer material has a melting temperature of at least 300°C (combination considered to further teach polymer material being PEEK, which para. [0313] of the published application states having the claimed melting temperature).
Regarding claim 5, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 3.
However, Phan fails to specifically disclose wherein the polymer material comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
McCaffrey teaches (para. [0109]), in the same field of endeavor, a tubular body which may be composed of PEEK in place of polyimide (para. [0109]).
The substitution of one known element (tubing composed of PEEK) for another (tubing composed of polyimide, para. [0109] of McCaffrey, para. [0064] of Phan) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the substitution of the tubing composed of PEEK as taught by McCaffrey, would have yielded predictable results, specifically, providing the desired flexibility to the tube (para. [0109] of McCaffrey).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan in view of Falk (US 4774947).
Regarding claim 7, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 6.
However, Phan fails to disclose wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a dimpled interference fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide an interference fit to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Falk teaches (col. 1 line 5-col. 2 line 67; figs. 1-3), in the same field of endeavor, a medical device catheter (fig. 1) comprising a dimpled interference fastener (perforated portion of sleeve) to provide an interference fit to the conductors (col. 2 lines 23-35), for the purpose of immobilizing the sleeve on the two insulated conductors, firmly joining the sleeve to the conductors even in the case of possible splitting (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheath of Phan to comprise dimpled/interference portions in each portion of the electrode securing elements, in order to immobilize the sleeve on the electrodes and slender element when desired, based on the teachings of Falk (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan in view of Hakala (US 2014/0039513 A1) and Falk.
Regarding claim 8, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 6.
Phan further discloses the mechanical lock feature comprising thermally bonded plastic or adhesive (para. [0068]).
However, Phan fails to disclose wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a dimpled spot weld fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide both an interference fit and thermal melt adhesion to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Hakala teaches (para. [0050]), in the same field of endeavor, a medical device catheter (figs. 1 and 9) comprising a wire secured between sheaths by an adhesive via spot welding (para. [0050]), for the purpose of ensuring the wire does not inadvertently contact an inner electrode or any other conductive medium via securement (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material with which the electrode securing elements of the sheath are connected to the electrodes and the slender element to comprise spot welding, in order to ensure the structures do not inadvertently contact each other, and provide proper securement of the structures relative to each other, based on the suggestions and teachings of Hakala (para. [0050]).
Phan (as modified) further teaches wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a spot weld fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide thermal melt adhesion to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element (spot welding between sheath and electrodes/slender element in combination considered to encompass thermal melt adhesion).
Phan (as modified) still fails to teach the fastener being dimpled, such that the fastener in each of the electrode securing elements provides an interference fit to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Falk teaches (col. 1 line 5-col. 2 line 67; figs. 1-3), in the same field of endeavor, a medical device catheter (fig. 1) comprising a dimpled interference fastener (perforated portion of sleeve) to provide an interference fit to the conductors (col. 2 lines 23-35), for the purpose of immobilizing the sleeve on the two insulated conductors, firmly joining the sleeve to the conductors even in the case of possible splitting (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheath of Phan (as modified) to comprise dimpled/interference portions in each portion of the electrode securing elements, in order to immobilize the sleeve on the electrodes and slender element when desired, based on the teachings of Falk (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan.
Regarding claim 10, Phan discloses the medical device catheter of claim 3.
Phan further discloses wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire (copper wires, para. [0062]) having a thickness (.003-.007 inches, para. [0096]) and a length (wires considered to have a length), wherein each electrode securing element is positioned a distance away from the electrode gap (distance between distal end of each wire and conductive sheath, portions of sheath 212 considered to be spaced a distance from additional electrode gaps, see also paras. [0071] and [0115] describing multiple gaps and electrode pairs, para. [0070]).
However, Phan fails to explicitly disclose wherein each electrode securing element is positioned a distance equal to at least one thickness of the corresponding first or second electrode away from the electrode gap.
Phan discloses (paras. [0070] and [0115]) that the spacing of the gap and spacing of the electrodes needs to be optimized to “produce shock waves having a desired magnitude for a given voltage and current output from a pulsed voltage source.” As seen in figs. 2a-b, the wires are spaced relative to portions of the sheath at the distal end of the device, and as such the distance from each portion of the sheath relative to the electrodes is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the distance changes the spacing between the sheath and the electrodes which affects the magnitude and uniformity of the shock wave being produced. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Phan to have each electrode securing element positioned within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Phan by making the distance equal to at least one thickness of the corresponding first or second electrode away from the electrode gap as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Phan discloses the medical device catheter claim 3.
Phan further discloses wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire (copper wires, para. [0062]) having a thickness (.003-.007 inches, para. [0096]) and length (wires considered to have a length), wherein each electrode securing element extends along a length of the first and second electrode and slender element a distance (depicted in fig. 2b).
However, Phan fails to explicitly disclose wherein each electrode securing element extends along a length of the corresponding first or second electrode and slender element a distance more than 4 times the thickness of the corresponding electrode.
Phan discloses (paras. [0068] and [0072]) the length of the conductive sheath needs to be optimized to “control the flow of the conductive fluid.” As seen in figs. 2a-b, the conductive sheath is a specific length to produce shock waves relative to the wire portions and lean against the distal surface of base segment 202a to control the flow of fluid, and as such the length of the conductive sheath is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the length changes the spacing between the sheath and the electrodes which affects fluid flow across the electrode pairs. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Phan to have each electrode securing element extending a distance within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Phan by making the distance more than 4 times the thickness of a corresponding electrode as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/411,005 in view of Phan.
Regarding claim 1, 18/411,005 claims the catheter of claim 1 (claim 1), but fails to claim the slender element extending along a second longitudinal axis different than the first longitudinal axis.
Phan teaches (para. [0095]), in the same field of endeavor, a catheter comprising a slender element (210) extending along a second longitudinal axis different than the first longitudinal axis (depicted as being offset relative to the longitudinal axis of 230, para. [0095]; figs. 2c-d and 3d), for the purpose of positioning the tubing to maximize fluid flow across the electrode pairs (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the slender element extending along a second longitudinal axis different than the first longitudinal axis, in order to position the tubing to maximize fluid flow across the electrode pairs, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0072]).
Regarding claim 2, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 2 (claim 1), but fails to claim further comprising electrode securing elements connecting each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Phan teaches further comprising electrode securing elements (respective portions of conductive sheath 212 surrounding each electrode, considered to correspond to the structure disclosed for the securing elements interpreted under 112(f), para. [0068]) connecting each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element (para. [0068]), for the purpose of bonding the structures together (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim further comprising electrode securing elements connecting each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element, in order to properly secure the first and second electrodes to the slender element, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 3, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 3 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein each electrode securing element comprises metal surrounding the slender element and each respective first electrode and second electrode, and wherein the slender element comprises a polymer material.
Phan teaches wherein each electrode securing element comprises metal surrounding the slender element and each respective first electrode and second electrode (sheath 212 formed of stainless steel, para. [0075]), and wherein the slender element comprises a polymer material (polyimide tubing, para. [0064]), for the purpose of forming the structures of appropriate material (paras. [0064] and [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein each electrode securing element comprises metal surrounding the slender element and each respective first electrode and second electrode, and wherein the slender element comprises a polymer material, in order to form the structures of appropriate material, based on the teachings of Phan (paras. [0064] and [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 6 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein each electrode securing element connects each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element using a mechanical lock feature.
Phan teaches wherein each electrode securing element connects each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element using a mechanical lock feature (via bonded material, considered to function as a mechanical lock, para. [0068]), for the purpose of securing the structures appropriately (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein each electrode securing element connects each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element using a mechanical lock feature, in order to secure the structures appropriately, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 9, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 9 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the mechanical lock feature is present on at least two opposing sides of each electrode securing element.
Phan teaches wherein the mechanical lock feature is present on at least two opposing sides of each electrode securing element (bonded material considered to be on opposing sides of each wire portion within inner tubular wall of sheath 212, e.g. sides above and below each wire portion, fig. 2b), for the purpose of providing bonding material in the appropriate locations (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the mechanical lock feature is present on at least two opposing sides of each electrode securing element, in order to provide bonding material in the appropriate locations, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 10, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 10 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire having a thickness and a length, and wherein each electrode securing element is positioned a distance equal to at least one thickness of the corresponding first or second electrode away from the electrode gap.
Phan teaches wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire (copper wires, para. [0062]) having a thickness (.003-.007 inches, para. [0096]) and a length (wires considered to have a length), wherein each electrode securing element is positioned a distance away from the electrode gap (distance between distal end of each wire and conductive sheath, portions of sheath 212 considered to be spaced a distance from additional electrode gaps, see also paras. [0071] and [0115] describing multiple gaps and electrode pairs, para. [0070]).
However, Phan fails to explicitly teach wherein each electrode securing element is positioned a distance equal to at least one thickness of the corresponding first or second electrode away from the electrode gap.
Phan discloses (paras. [0070] and [0115]) that the spacing of the gap and spacing of the electrodes needs to be optimized to “produce shock waves having a desired magnitude for a given voltage and current output from a pulsed voltage source.” As seen in figs. 2a-b, the wires are spaced relative to portions of the sheath at the distal end of the device, and as such the distance from each portion of the sheath relative to the electrodes is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the distance changes the spacing between the sheath and the electrodes which affects the magnitude and uniformity of the shock wave being produced. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Phan to have each electrode securing element positioned within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire having a thickness and a length, and wherein each electrode securing element is positioned a distance equal to at least one thickness of the corresponding first or second electrode away from the electrode gap as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 11 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire having a thickness and length, and wherein each electrode securing element extends along a length of the corresponding first or second electrode and slender element a distance more than 4 times the thickness of the corresponding electrode.
Phan teaches wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire (copper wires, para. [0062]) having a thickness (.003-.007 inches, para. [0096]) and length (wires considered to have a length), wherein each electrode securing element extends along a length of the first and second electrode and slender element a distance (depicted in fig. 2b).
However, Phan fails to explicitly teach wherein each electrode securing element extends along a length of the corresponding first or second electrode and slender element a distance more than 4 times the thickness of the corresponding electrode.
Phan discloses (paras. [0068] and [0072]) the length of the conductive sheath needs to be optimized to “control the flow of the conductive fluid.” As seen in figs. 2a-b, the conductive sheath is a specific length to produce shock waves relative to the wire portions and lean against the distal surface of base segment 202a to control the flow of fluid, and as such the length of the conductive sheath is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the length changes the spacing between the sheath and the electrodes which affects fluid flow across the electrode pairs. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Phan to have each electrode securing element extending a distance within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein each of the first and the second electrodes comprise metal wire having a thickness and length, and wherein each electrode securing element extends along a length of the corresponding first or second electrode and slender element a distance more than 4 times the thickness of the corresponding electrode as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 12, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 12 (claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 13 (claim 1, slender element considered to be adjacent the first cavitation solution lumen due to being located within the bubble chamber).
Regarding claim 14, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 14 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the first cavitation solution lumen has a smaller diameter than the guidewire lumen within the region of the cavitation bubble chamber.
Phan teaches wherein the first cavitation solution lumen has a smaller diameter than the guidewire lumen within the region of the cavitation bubble chamber (depicted in fig. 3d), for the purpose of providing a larger amount of surface area for the guidewire (para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the first cavitation solution lumen has a smaller diameter than the guidewire lumen within the region of the cavitation bubble chamber, in order to provide the appropriate amount of space for the guidewire to be accommodated within the device, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 15 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the electrode gap is positioned closer to the cavitation solution lumen than to the guidewire lumen.
Phan teaches wherein the electrode gap is positioned closer to the cavitation solution lumen than to the guidewire lumen (considered to be positioned closer to lumens which wires 206 and 208 extend through as opposed to lumen 202b, figs. 2a-b and 3d), for the purpose of positioning the electrode gap appropriately within the cap 230 to maximize shock wave generation (para. [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the electrode gap is positioned closer to the cavitation solution lumen than to the guidewire lumen, in order to position the electrode gap appropriately to maximize shock wave generation, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 16, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 16 (claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 17 (claim 16).
Regarding claim 18, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 18 (claim 1), but fails to claim the catheter further configured to pressurize the flow of the cavitation solution through the cavitation bubble chamber to increase the column strength of the catheter shaft.
Phan teaches the catheter further configured to pressurize the flow of the cavitation solution through the cavitation bubble chamber to increase the column strength of the catheter shaft (cap is inflated to IVL pressure to contact the target lesion, considered to be pressurized for inflation and increase the column strength of the shaft to contact tissue, para. [0082]), for the purpose of providing adequate pressure to contact the target lesion (para. [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the catheter further configured to pressurize the flow of the cavitation solution through the cavitation bubble chamber to increase the column strength of the catheter shaft, in order to provide adequate pressure to contact the target lesion, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 19 (claim 1), but fails to claim further configured to fluidly connect a first syringe to the first cavitation solution fitting and a second syringe to the second cavitation solution fitting.
Phan teaches the catheter further configured to fluidly connect a first syringe to the first cavitation solution fitting and a second syringe to the second cavitation solution fitting (ports are configured to receive conductive fluid and a high voltage source to provide an electrical connection, considered to be capable of fluidly connecting to an additional structure such as a syringe, para. [0082]), for the purpose of providing conductive fluid and any additional connections to the device (para. [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the catheter further configured to fluidly connect a first syringe to the first cavitation solution fitting and a second syringe to the second cavitation solution fitting, in order to provide conductive fluid and any additional connections to the device (para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 20, 18/411,005 claims the catheter of claim 20 (claim 16), but fails to claim electrode securing elements connecting each of the distal and proximal electrodes to the slender element.
Phan teaches further comprising electrode securing elements (respective portions of conductive sheath 212 surrounding each electrode, considered to correspond to the structure disclosed for the securing elements interpreted under 112(f), para. [0068]) connecting each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element (para. [0068]), for the purpose of bonding the structures together (para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim further comprising electrode securing elements connecting each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element, in order to properly secure the first and second electrodes to the slender element, based on the teachings of Phan (para. [0068]).
Claims 4-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/411,005 in view of Phan as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of McCaffrey.
Regarding claim 4, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 4 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the polymer material has a melting temperature of at least 300°C.
McCaffrey teaches (para. [0109]), in the same field of endeavor, a tubular body which may be composed of PEEK in place of polyimide (para. [0109]).
The substitution of one known element (tubing composed of PEEK) for another (tubing composed of polyimide, para. [0109] of McCaffrey, para. [0064] of Phan) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the substitution of the tubing composed of PEEK as taught by McCaffrey, would have yielded predictable results, specifically, providing the desired flexibility to the tube (para. [0109] of McCaffrey).
18/411,005 (as modified) further claims wherein the polymer material has a melting temperature of at least 300°C (combination considered to further teach polymer material being PEEK, which para. [0313] of the published application states having the claimed melting temperature).
Regarding claim 5, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 5 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the polymer material comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
McCaffrey teaches (para. [0109]), in the same field of endeavor, a tubular body which may be composed of PEEK in place of polyimide (para. [0109]).
The substitution of one known element (tubing composed of PEEK) for another (tubing composed of polyimide, para. [0109] of McCaffrey, para. [0064] of Phan) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the substitution of the tubing composed of PEEK as taught by McCaffrey, would have yielded predictable results, specifically, providing the desired flexibility to the tube (para. [0109] of McCaffrey).
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/411,005 in view of Phan as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Falk.
Regarding claim 7, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 7 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a dimpled interference fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide an interference fit to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Falk teaches (col. 1 line 5-col. 2 line 67; figs. 1-3), in the same field of endeavor, a medical device catheter (fig. 1) comprising a dimpled interference fastener (perforated portion of sleeve) to provide an interference fit to the conductors (col. 2 lines 23-35), for the purpose of immobilizing the sleeve on the two insulated conductors, firmly joining the sleeve to the conductors even in the case of possible splitting (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a dimpled interference fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide an interference fit to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element, in order to immobilize the sleeve on the electrodes and slender element when desired, based on the teachings of Falk (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/411,005 in view of Phan as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hakala and Falk.
Regarding claim 8, 18/411,005 (as modified) claims the catheter of claim 8 (claim 1), but fails to claim wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a dimpled spot weld fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide both an interference fit and thermal melt adhesion to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Hakala teaches (para. [0050]), in the same field of endeavor, a medical device catheter (figs. 1 and 9) comprising a wire secured between sheaths by an adhesive via spot welding (para. [0050]), for the purpose of ensuring the wire does not inadvertently contact an inner electrode or any other conductive medium via securement (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the material with which the electrode securing elements of the sheath are connected to the electrodes and the slender element to comprise spot welding, in order to ensure the structures do not inadvertently contact each other, and provide proper securement of the structures relative to each other, based on the suggestions and teachings of Hakala (para. [0050]).
18/411,005 (as modified) further claims wherein the mechanical lock feature comprises a spot weld fastener in each of the electrode securing elements to provide thermal melt adhesion to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element (spot welding between sheath and electrodes/slender element in combination considered to encompass thermal melt adhesion).
18/411,005 (as modified) still fails to claim the fastener being dimpled, such that the fastener in each of the electrode securing elements provides an interference fit to connect each of the first and the second electrodes to the slender element.
Falk teaches (col. 1 line 5-col. 2 line 67; figs. 1-3), in the same field of endeavor, a medical device catheter (fig. 1) comprising a dimpled interference fastener (perforated portion of sleeve) to provide an interference fit to the conductors (col. 2 lines 23-35), for the purpose of immobilizing the sleeve on the two insulated conductors, firmly joining the sleeve to the conductors even in the case of possible splitting (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the sheath comprising dimpled/interference portions in each portion of the electrode securing elements, in order to immobilize the sleeve on the electrodes and slender element when desired, based on the teachings of Falk (abstract, col. 2 lines 23-35).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection, however, note 18/411,005 has been allowed, such that the double patenting rejection will be non-provisional when the application is issued.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0085383 A1 to Vo, disclosing a shock wave catheter including electrodes and multiple conductive sheaths.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771