DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 9, line 5 recites “the input device being a in second orientation” and should recite “the input device being in a second orientation” to swap the positions of the “a in”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0371629 by Hauenstein et al. (“Hauenstein”).
As to claim 1, Hauenstein discloses a method (Hauenstein, the method includes dynamically changing an appearance of the user interface object in a first manner in accordance with a current hover proximity parameter of the input object. ¶ [0010]) comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component (Hauenstein, portable multifunction device 100, Figure 1A) (Hauenstein, display 650, Figure 7A), one or more sensors (Hauenstein, touch-sensitive surface 651, Figure 7A) and an input device (Hauenstein, stylus 230, Figure 7A):
displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface (Hauenstein, In FIG. 7A, user interface 702 is displayed on display 650. User interface 702 includes a number of user interface objects (e.g., represented by a row and a column of circles), including user interface object 704 (e.g., an application launch icon, a button, etc.). Figure 7A, ¶ [0242]);
while displaying the user interface via the display generation component, detecting a first pose of the input device relative to a surface (Hauenstein, FIG. 7B illustrate that, when the tip of stylus 203 is moved toward the touch-sensitive surface and is held within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface, the device optionally displays a visual indicator (e.g., indicator 706 (e.g., pointing hand 706-a)). Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
in response to detecting the first pose of the input device relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the first pose of the input device relative to the surface includes the input device being within a threshold distance of the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including a representation of a virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has a first visual appearance and a first position in the user interface based on the first pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203.Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
while displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has the first visual appearance and the first position in the user interface, detecting movement of the input device from the first pose to a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size based on the location and the hover distance.
in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the second pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being within the threshold distance of the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device having a second visual appearance, different from the first visual appearance, and a second position, different from the first position, in the user interface based on the second pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (different visual appearance) based on the location and the hover distance.
As to claim 2, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device includes a first portion corresponding to a barrel of a currently selected drawing implement for the input device (Hauenstein, flickering edge 712, Figure 7Q), and a second portion corresponding to a tip of the currently selected drawing implement (Hauenstein, indicator 706, Figure 7Q)(Hauenstein, In FIG. 7Q, the stylus is lifted above the touch-sensitive surface very close to the edge of the hover range (e.g., less than a threshold distance (e.g., 10% of the threshold hover distance) from the edge of the hover range), the device generates visual feedback (e.g., flickering edge 712 of indicator 706) indicating that stylus 203 is about to exit the hover range and termination of the hover input is imminent if stylus 203 is not brought closer to the touch-sensitive surface immediately (e.g., within a threshold amount of time (e.g., 300 ms)). Figure 7Q, ¶ [0251]).
As to claim 3, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
while displaying the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, detecting movement of the input device from the second pose to a third pose, different from the second pose, relative to the surface; and in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the second pose to the third pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the third pose relative to the surface includes the input device being outside the threshold distance of the surface, ceasing to display the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device (Hauenstein, FIG. 7U illustrates that, after dropping off object 704 and being lifted off of the touch-sensitive surface, stylus 203 is then lifted out of the hover range, such that stylus 203 is no longer in the hover state. Indicator 706 is no longer displayed, and object 704 is displayed at its new location and restored to its original appearance. Figure 7U, ¶ [0255]).
As to claim 4, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the first pose relative to the surface includes the input device being a first distance from the surface, and the first visual appearance includes an intensity of the representation of the virtual shadow being a first intensity; and the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being a second distance, different from the first distance, from the surface, and the second visual appearance includes the intensity of the representation of the virtual shadow being a second intensity, different from the first intensity (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]). As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (intensity) based on the location and the hover distance.
As to claim 5, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the first pose relative to the surface includes the input device having a first orientation relative to the surface, and the first visual appearance includes an intensity of the representation of the virtual shadow being a first intensity, wherein the intensity of the representation of the virtual shadow is based on an orientation of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]). As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (intensity) based on the location and the hover distance.
As to claim 6, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
while displaying the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device with the input device having the first orientation relative to the surface, detecting movement of the input device from the first pose to a third pose, different from the first pose, relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); and
in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the third pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the third pose includes the input device having a second orientation relative to the surface that is within a first range of orientations, displaying the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device with a third visual appearance, different from the first visual appearance, wherein the third visual appearance includes the representation of the virtual shadow having a third intensity that varies based on the orientation of the input device within the first range of orientations relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]). As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (intensity) based on the location and the hover distance.
As to claim 7, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the third pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the third pose includes the input device having a third orientation relative to the surface that is within a second range of orientations, different from the first range of orientations, ceasing to display the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device (Hauenstein, FIG. 7U illustrates that, after dropping off object 704 and being lifted off of the touch-sensitive surface, stylus 203 is then lifted out of the hover range, such that stylus 203 is no longer in the hover state. Indicator 706 is no longer displayed, and object 704 is displayed at its new location and restored to its original appearance. Figure 7U, ¶ [0255]).
As to claim 8, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the first pose relative to the surface includes the input device being in a first orientation relative to the surface, and the first visual appearance includes a shape of the representation of the virtual shadow being a first shape; and the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being in a second orientation relative to the surface, different from the first orientation, and the second visual appearance includes the shape of the representation of the virtual shadow being a second shape, different from the first shape (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 9, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the first pose relative to the surface includes the input device being in a first orientation relative to the surface, and the first visual appearance includes an orientation of the representation of the virtual shadow being in a first respective orientation relative to the user interface; and the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being a in second orientation relative to the surface, different from the first orientation, and the second visual appearance includes the orientation of the representation of the virtual shadow being a second respective orientation, different from the first respective orientation, relative to the user interface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (different visual appearance) based on the location and the hover distance.
As to claim 10, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the user interface is a user interface of a drawing application (Hauenstein, The device typically supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: a drawing application, a presentation application, a word processing application, a website creation application,… ¶ [0059]).
As to claim 11, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein displaying the representation of the virtual shadow with the first visual appearance includes:
in accordance with a determination that a currently selected drawing implement for the input device is a first drawing implement, displaying the representation of the virtual shadow with a first shape corresponding to the first drawing implement (Hauenstein, FIG. 7B illustrate that, when the tip of stylus 203 is moved toward the touch-sensitive surface and is held within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface, the device optionally displays a visual indicator (e.g., indicator 706 (e.g., pointing hand 706-a)). Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]); and in accordance with a determination that the currently selected drawing implement for the input device is a second drawing implement, different from the first drawing implement, displaying the representation of the virtual shadow with a second shape corresponding to the second drawing implement, wherein the second shape is different from the first shape (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 12, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
displaying, via the display generation component, a second user interface, different from the user interface, wherein the second user interface is a system user interface of the electronic device (Hauenstein, The device typically supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: a drawing application, a presentation application, a word processing application, a website creation application, a disk authoring application, a spreadsheet application, a gaming application, a telephone application, a video conferencing application, an e-mail application, an instant messaging application, a workout support application, a photo management application, a digital camera application, a digital video camera application, a web browsing application, a digital music player application, and/or a digital video player application. ¶ [0059]);
while displaying the second user interface, detecting the first pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIG. 7B illustrate that, when the tip of stylus 203 is moved toward the touch-sensitive surface and is held within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface, the device optionally displays a visual indicator (e.g., indicator 706 (e.g., pointing hand 706-a)). Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]); and
in response to detecting the first pose of the input device relative to the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the second user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has a respective shape that is independent of the currently selected drawing implement for the input device (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7B-7C illustrate that, when stylus 203 moves laterally while being held above the touch-sensitive surface and within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface (in other words, while stylus 203 is within the hover range above the touch-sensitive surface), indicator 706 moves in accordance with the lateral movement of stylus 203. Figures 7B and 7C, ¶ [0244]).
As to claim 13, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the user interface is a system user interface of the electronic device (Hauenstein, The device typically supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: a drawing application, a presentation application, a word processing application, a website creation application, a disk authoring application, a spreadsheet application, a gaming application, a telephone application, a video conferencing application, an e-mail application, an instant messaging application, a workout support application, a photo management application, a digital camera application, a digital video camera application, a web browsing application, a digital music player application, and/or a digital video player application. ¶ [0059]).
As to claim 14, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the user interface is a user interface of an application installed on the electronic device (Hauenstein, The device typically supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: a drawing application, a presentation application, a word processing application, a website creation application, a disk authoring application, a spreadsheet application, a gaming application, a telephone application, a video conferencing application, an e-mail application, an instant messaging application, a workout support application, a photo management application, a digital camera application, a digital video camera application, a web browsing application, a digital music player application, and/or a digital video player application. ¶ [0059]).
As to claim 15, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device comprises an indication of a color of a currently selected drawing implement for the input device (Hauenstein, indication 516 is displayed, in accordance with the positional state of the stylus, with varying color, size (or radius or area), opacity, and/or other characteristics. ¶ [0192]).
As to claim 16, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
while a currently selected drawing implement for the input device is a first drawing implement, detecting an indication of a gesture being detected on the input device; and in response to detecting the indication of the gesture being detected on the input device, in accordance with a determination that the gesture satisfies one or more criteria, changing the currently selected drawing implement for the input device to be a second drawing implement, different from the first drawing implement (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 17, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
while a currently selected drawing implement for the input device is a first drawing implement and while displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having a third visual appearance corresponding to the first drawing implement, detecting an indication of an input for changing one or more characteristics of the currently selected drawing implement (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7B-7C illustrate that, when stylus 203 moves laterally while being held above the touch-sensitive surface and within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface (in other words, while stylus 203 is within the hover range above the touch-sensitive surface), indicator 706 moves in accordance with the lateral movement of stylus 203. Figures 7B and 7C, ¶ [0244]); and
in response to detecting the indication of the input for changing one or more characteristics of the currently selected drawing implement, changing the one or more characteristics of the currently selected drawing implement in accordance with the indication of the input and displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having a fourth visual appearance corresponding to the changed currently selected drawing implement, wherein the fourth visual appearance is different from the third visual appearance (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 18, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the indication of the gesture being detected on the input device:
in accordance with the determination that the gesture satisfies the one or more criteria, including a criterion that is satisfied when the input device is within the threshold distance of the surface, displaying an indication of a change in the currently selected drawing implement at a location in the user interface that is based on a location of the input device (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]); and
in accordance with a determination that the gesture does not satisfy the one or more criteria, displaying the indication of the change in the currently selected drawing implement at a location in the user interface that is not based on the location of the input device (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 19, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
detecting an indication of a gesture being detected on the input device (Hauenstein, FIG. 7AT shows that, lift-off of finger 734 is detected, and cursor 738 is detached from selection 746 in response to the lift-off of finger 734 from touch-screen 112. Selection 746 is maintained while cursor 738 moves away from selection 746 in accordance with movement of finger 734. Figures 7AT, ¶ [0277]); and
in response to detecting the indication of the gesture being detected on the input device, in accordance with a determination that the gesture satisfies one or more criteria, displaying a content entry user interface element at a location in the user interface that is based on a location of the input device, wherein the content entry user interface element includes one or more selectable options for changing one or more drawing settings for the input device (Hauenstein, FIG. 7AU illustrates that, when finger 734 is lifted out of the hover range (e.g., beyond the threshold hover distance above touch-screen 112), magnifying loupe 736 is replaced with menu 750 (e.g., a “cut/copy/lookup” menu) and selection 746 changes appearance (e.g., replaced with selection object 752 with adjustable boundaries). Figure 7AU, ¶ [0278]).
As to claim 20, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the user interface includes a text entry region (Hauenstein, FIG. 10U, when finger 734 moves toward the touch-screen and enters the first level hover proximity range, cursor 1074 is displayed within the displayed text at a location that corresponds to (x,y) position 504 of finger 734 (e.g., as indicated by indication 1076 (not visible)) relative to touch-screen 112. In addition, a magnifying loupe (e.g., magnifying loupe 1078) is displayed. A magnified version of a portion of the text near cursor 1074 is shown in magnifying loupe 1078. A magnified version 1080 of cursor 1074 is also shown in magnifying loupe 1078. Figures 10U, ¶ [0329]);
the first pose includes the input device positioned at a location in the user interface outside of the text entry region (Hauenstein, finger 734, Figure 10U);
the first visual appearance includes the representation of the virtual shadow of the input device including a first portion, the first portion having a visual appearance corresponding to a tip of a currently selected drawing implement (Hauenstein, indication 1076, Figure 10U);
the second pose includes the input device positioned at a location in the user interface within the text entry region (Hauenstein, finger 734, Figure 10V); and
the second visual appearance includes the first portion of the representation of the virtual shadow having a visual appearance corresponding to a text insertion cursor, different from the visual appearance corresponding to the currently selected drawing implement (Hauenstein, FIG. 10V shows that, when finger 734 moves laterally within the first level hover proximity range, cursor 1076 and magnifying loupe 1078 move across the touch-screen in accordance with (x,y) position 504 of finger 734. In some embodiments (not shown), if finger 734 is lifted out of the first level hover proximity range, cursor 1076 and magnifying loupe 1078 cease to be displayed. In some embodiments, the cursor placement mode can be activated when a selection already exist within the content. In some embodiments, cursor 1074 remains displayed (e.g., at least for a threshold amount of time) and the magnifying loupe ceases to be displayed when finger 734 is lifted out of the first level hover proximity range without first entering the second level hover proximity range. For example, the user can start typing or pasting additional content at the position of the cursor afterwards. Cursor 1074 may cease to be displayed if no user input is detected within the threshold amount of time. Figure 10V, ¶ [0330]).
As to claim 21, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the user interface includes a first selectable user interface object (Hauenstein, user interface object 704, Figure 7B);
the first pose includes the input device positioned at a location in the user interface outside a respective threshold distance of the first selectable user interface object (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203. Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
the first visual appearance includes the representation of the virtual shadow of the input device including a first portion, the first portion having a visual appearance corresponding to a tip of a currently selected drawing implement for the input device (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203.Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
the second pose includes the input device positioned at a location in the user interface within the respective threshold distance of the first selectable user interface object (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7B-7C illustrate that, when stylus 203 moves laterally while being held above the touch-sensitive surface and within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface (in other words, while stylus 203 is within the hover range above the touch-sensitive surface), indicator 706 moves in accordance with the lateral movement of stylus 203. Figures 7B and 7C, ¶ [0244]); and
the second visual appearance includes the first portion of the representation of the virtual shadow having a visual appearance corresponding to a selection indicator for the first selectable user interface object, different from the visual appearance corresponding to the tip of the currently selected drawing implement (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7B-7C illustrate that, when stylus 203 moves laterally while being held above the touch-sensitive surface and within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface (in other words, while stylus 203 is within the hover range above the touch-sensitive surface), indicator 706 moves in accordance with the lateral movement of stylus 203. Figures 7B and 7C, ¶ [0244]).
As to claim 22, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the selection indicator has a predefined shape that is not based on a shape of the first selectable user interface object (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7B-7C illustrate that, when stylus 203 moves laterally while being held above the touch-sensitive surface and within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface (in other words, while stylus 203 is within the hover range above the touch-sensitive surface), indicator 706 moves in accordance with the lateral movement of stylus 203. Figures 7B and 7C, ¶ [0244]). As shown in figures 7B and 7C of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 shape is not determined by the user interface object 704.
As to claim 23, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the selection indicator has a shape that is based on a shape of the first selectable user interface object (Hauenstein, FIG. 10U, when finger 734 moves toward the touch-screen and enters the first level hover proximity range, cursor 1074 is displayed within the displayed text at a location that corresponds to (x,y) position 504 of finger 734 (e.g., as indicated by indication 1076 (not visible)) relative to touch-screen 112. In addition, a magnifying loupe (e.g., magnifying loupe 1078) is displayed. A magnified version of a portion of the text near cursor 1074 is shown in magnifying loupe 1078. A magnified version 1080 of cursor 1074 is also shown in magnifying loupe 1078. Figures 10U, ¶ [0329]). As shown in figure 10U of Hauenstein, when the user interface object is a text interface, an magnifying loupe is displayed for the cursor.
As to claim 24, Hauenstein discloses the method further comprising:
while displaying the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device in the first pose relative to the surface, and the first pose includes the input device not being in contact with the surface, detecting movement of the input device from the first pose to a third pose, different from the first pose, relative to the surface; and in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the third pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the third pose relative to the surface includes the input device being in contact with the surface, continuing to display the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device shape (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 25, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the first pose relative to the surface includes the input device being greater than a second threshold distance from the surface; of the surface, displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the first visual appearance includes displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having a first portion corresponding to a barrel of the input device without including a second portion corresponding to a tip of the input device (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203.Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being less than the second threshold distance from the surface (Hauenstein, second threshold distance is touching the touch sensitive surface, Figure 7K); and
displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the second visual appearance includes displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the first portion corresponding to the barrel of the input device and the second portion corresponding to the tip of the input device (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 26, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the first pose relative to the surface includes the input device being greater than a second threshold distance from the surface (Hauenstein, threshold hover distance, Figure 7A);
displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the first visual appearance includes displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having a first portion corresponding to a tip of the input device without including a second portion corresponding to a barrel of the input device (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203.Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being less than the second threshold distance from the surface (Hauenstein, second threshold distance is touching the touch sensitive surface, Figure 7K) and
displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the second visual appearance includes displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the first portion corresponding to the tip of the input device and the second portion corresponding to the barrel of the input device (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 27, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having the first visual appearance includes displaying the representation of the virtual shadow having a first portion corresponding to a barrel of the input device and a second portion corresponding to a tip of the input device independent of a distance of the input device from the surface while the input device is within the threshold distance of the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7K-7L illustrate that, when contact between stylus 203 and the touch-sensitive surface is maintained for more than a threshold amount of time (e.g.,
T
l
o
n
g
press) such that a long press input is registered by the device (e.g., stylus 203 does not move for more than a threshold amount before the long press input is registered), user interface object 704 is picked up by stylus 203. Upon detecting that stylus 203 has maintained contact with the touch-sensitive surface for more than the long-press time threshold, the device changes the appearance of indicator 706 (e.g., from an open hand 706-b to a grabbing hand 706-c) to show that user interface object 704 is attached to indicator 706. Figure 7K, ¶ [0249]).
As to claim 28, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein the second portion of the representation of the virtual shadow includes one or more indicators of a color of a currently selected drawing implement for the input device, or a weight of the currently selected drawing implement for the input device (Hauenstein, indication 516 is displayed, in accordance with the positional state of the stylus, with varying color, size (or radius or area), opacity, and/or other characteristics. ¶ [0192]).
As to claim 29, Hauenstein discloses the method wherein:
the user interface includes a content alignment user interface element (Hauenstein, user interface object 704, Figure 7B); and
the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device includes a first portion corresponding to a barrel (Hauenstein, flickering edge 712) of a currently selected drawing implement for the input device, and a second portion corresponding to a tip (Hauenstein, indicator 706) of the currently selected drawing implement (Hauenstein, In FIG. 7Q, the stylus is lifted above the touch-sensitive surface very close to the edge of the hover range (e.g., less than a threshold distance (e.g., 10% of the threshold hover distance) from the edge of the hover range), the device generates visual feedback (e.g., flickering edge 712 of indicator 706) indicating that stylus 203 is about to exit the hover range and termination of the hover input is imminent if stylus 203 is not brought closer to the touch-sensitive surface immediately (e.g., within a threshold amount of time (e.g., 300 ms)). Figure 7Q, ¶ [0251]), the method further comprising:
in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the second pose relative to the surface:
in accordance with a determination that the second pose includes the input device positioned at a location corresponding to a first respective location in the user interface that is within a second threshold distance of the content alignment user interface element, displaying the first portion of the representation of the virtual shadow at a first location in the user interface based on the location of the input device and the second portion of the representation of the virtual shadow at a location of the content alignment user interface element in the user interface (Hauenstein, In FIG. 7Q, the stylus is lifted above the touch-sensitive surface very close to the edge of the hover range (e.g., less than a threshold distance (e.g., 10% of the threshold hover distance) from the edge of the hover range), the device generates visual feedback (e.g., flickering edge 712 of indicator 706) indicating that stylus 203 is about to exit the hover range and termination of the hover input is imminent if stylus 203 is not brought closer to the touch-sensitive surface immediately (e.g., within a threshold amount of time (e.g., 300 ms)). Figure 7Q, ¶ [0251]); and
in accordance with a determination that the second pose includes the input device positioned at a location corresponding to a second respective location in the user interface outside the second threshold distance of the content alignment user interface element, displaying the first portion of the representation of the virtual shadow at the first location in the user interface and the second portion of the representation of the virtual shadow at the second respective location in the user interface based on the location of the input device (Hauenstein, In FIG. 7Q, the stylus is lifted above the touch-sensitive surface very close to the edge of the hover range (e.g., less than a threshold distance (e.g., 10% of the threshold hover distance) from the edge of the hover range), the device generates visual feedback (e.g., flickering edge 712 of indicator 706) indicating that stylus 203 is about to exit the hover range and termination of the hover input is imminent if stylus 203 is not brought closer to the touch-sensitive surface immediately (e.g., within a threshold amount of time (e.g., 300 ms)). Figure 7Q, ¶ [0251]).
As to claim 30, Hauenstein discloses an electronic device (Hauenstein, portable multifunction device 100, Figure 1A), comprising:
one or more processors (Hauenstein, processors 122, Figure 1A);
memory (Hauenstein, memory 102, Figure 1A); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Hauenstein, The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data. Figure 1A, ¶ [0065]), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface (Hauenstein, In FIG. 7A, user interface 702 is displayed on display 650. User interface 702 includes a number of user interface objects (e.g., represented by a row and a column of circles), including user interface object 704 (e.g., an application launch icon, a button, etc.). Figure 7A, ¶ [0242]);
while displaying the user interface via the display generation component, detecting a first pose of the input device relative to a surface (Hauenstein, FIG. 7B illustrate that, when the tip of stylus 203 is moved toward the touch-sensitive surface and is held within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface, the device optionally displays a visual indicator (e.g., indicator 706 (e.g., pointing hand 706-a)). Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
in response to detecting the first pose of the input device relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the first pose of the input device relative to the surface includes the input device being within a threshold distance of the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including a representation of a virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has a first visual appearance and a first position in the user interface based on the first pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203.Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
while displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has the first visual appearance and the first position in the user interface, detecting movement of the input device from the first pose to a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size based on the location and the hover distance.
in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the second pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being within the threshold distance of the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device having a second visual appearance, different from the first visual appearance, and a second position, different from the first position, in the user interface based on the second pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (different visual appearance) based on the location and the hover distance.
As to claim 31, Hauenstein discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device (Hauenstein, The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data. Figure 1A, ¶ [0065]), cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising:
displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface (Hauenstein, In FIG. 7A, user interface 702 is displayed on display 650. User interface 702 includes a number of user interface objects (e.g., represented by a row and a column of circles), including user interface object 704 (e.g., an application launch icon, a button, etc.). Figure 7A, ¶ [0242]);
while displaying the user interface via the display generation component, detecting a first pose of the input device relative to a surface (Hauenstein, FIG. 7B illustrate that, when the tip of stylus 203 is moved toward the touch-sensitive surface and is held within the threshold hover distance of the touch-sensitive surface, the device optionally displays a visual indicator (e.g., indicator 706 (e.g., pointing hand 706-a)). Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
in response to detecting the first pose of the input device relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the first pose of the input device relative to the surface includes the input device being within a threshold distance of the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including a representation of a virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has a first visual appearance and a first position in the user interface based on the first pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, Indicator 706 is displayed at a location in user interface 702 that corresponds to a position (e.g., position 701) on the touch-sensitive surface that is determined based on the lateral position (e.g., (x,y) position 504) of stylus 203 and, optionally, the vertical position and/or positional state of stylus 203. As shown in FIG. 7B, when the tip of stylus 203 is above touch-sensitive surface 651 and not in contact with touch-sensitive surface 651, position 701 is offset from (x,y) position 504 of stylus 203. The amount of the offset is optionally determined based on vertical distance 514 and optionally the positional state of stylus 203.Figure 7B, ¶ [0243]);
while displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device, wherein the representation of the virtual shadow has the first visual appearance and the first position in the user interface, detecting movement of the input device from the first pose to a second pose, different from the first pose, relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size based on the location and the hover distance.
in response to detecting the movement of the input device from the first pose to the second pose relative to the surface and in accordance with a determination that the second pose relative to the surface includes the input device being within the threshold distance of the surface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface including the representation of the virtual shadow corresponding to the input device having a second visual appearance, different from the first visual appearance, and a second position, different from the first position, in the user interface based on the second pose of the input device relative to the surface (Hauenstein, FIGS. 7D-7F illustrate that, when stylus 203 is moved vertically up and down within the hover range, the device dynamically changes the appearance of user interface object 704 in accordance with the current hover distance of stylus 203. In this example, the device enlarges the size of user interface object 704 with decreasing hover distance (e.g., represented by distance 514), and decreases the size of user interface object 704 with increasing hover distance. Figures 7D-7F, ¶ [0245]); As shown in figures 7B-7F of Hauenstein, the indicator 706 moves and changes size (different visual appearance) based on the location and the hover distance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0364198 by Yoganandan et al. teaches a hover touch system displays a cursor on the display based on the user finger hover location.
U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0210730 by Mankowski et al. teaches a stylus based object modification system on a touch display device.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623