DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on April 11, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Examiner's note: It is recommended to amend the abstract to briefly describe the claimed invention according to the above guidelines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupte et al “Gupte”, US-PGPub. No. 20160241446.
As per claims 1, 11 and 20, Gupte teaches a method, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and a system comprising:
one or more processing systems (Paragraph(s) [0069]); and
one or more computer-readable media (Paragraph(s) [0069]) storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processing systems, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by a first cloud environment and from a second cloud environment, a request to provision a cloud service, the cloud service being selected from among a plurality of cloud services provided by a cloud service provider associated with the first cloud environment (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0013-0014], [0016]; a cloud service manager may manage cloud services in a private cloud, a public cloud or executed as a Software as a service (SaaS) delivery model. Cloud services provided to users over a network may be designed, provisioned, deployed, and managed using a cloud service manager. An entity or individual designs, provisions, deploys, and manages a cloud service that appropriately comprises of a number of services, applications, platforms or infrastructure capabilities deployed, executed, and managed in a cloud environment. These designs may then be offered to user who may order, request, and subscribe to them from a catalog via a marketplace or via an API call, and then manage the lifecycles of a cloud service deployed based on the designs through the same mechanism. Gupte further discloses service offerings may be generated as instantiations of blueprints. The blueprints may be promoted and aggregated into a number of service offerings and provided to a user requesting the cloud service via the catalog (106) (Paragraph(s) [0035-0036]));
after receiving the request, performing, by the first cloud environment, a set of operations associated with provisioning the cloud service in the second cloud environment, wherein at least one operation of the set of operations comprises identifying one or more resource locations within a plurality of private clouds of the first cloud environment for executing the cloud service (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0046], [0050], [0064]; provisioning (block 804) may include calling the child cloud service manager (Fig. 1, 104) that is to provide a service design and resources. In other words, once a service offering has been subscribed to, a number of child cloud service managers that are resource providers (Fig. 3, 307) will be invoked to provision the resource. The service may then be controlled (block 805) via the master cloud service manager (Fig. 1, 103). More specifically, a master cloud service manager (Fig. 1, 103) may include carrying out life cycle management operations for the secondary cloud (Fig. 1, 104). Gupte further discloses managing a number of secondary clouds by a master cloud service manager, including coupling a first cloud (Fig. 1, 101) to a secondary cloud (Fig. 1, 102). The secondary cloud or a number of secondary clouds may be private clouds, offering services to a limited number of people, for example a single organization (Fig. 2, Paragraph(s) [0039]). In addition, Gupte teaches a first resource provider (307 a) may be located in a first secondary cloud (302 a). Similarly, second (307 b), third (307 c), and fourth (307 d) resource providers may be located in a second (302 b), third (302 c), and fourth (302 d) secondary cloud, respectively (Paragraph [0044])); and
after performing the set of operations, provisioning the cloud service in the plurality of private clouds, wherein the provisioning the cloud service in the plurality of private clouds enables data pertaining to the cloud service to flow between a resource location of the one or more resource locations of a first private cloud of the plurality of private clouds and a resource location of the one or more resource locations of one or more second private clouds of the plurality of private clouds (Paragraph(s) [0028], [0043-0044], [0064]; managing a number of secondary clouds by a master cloud service manager. For example, a cloud service manager may instantiate, provision, deploy, monitor, handle events, remediate incidents, and manage cloud services offered on a cloud. In some examples, a cloud service manager may orchestrate the use of application programming interfaces (APIs) for managing the lifecycles of the cloud services).
As per claims 2 and 12, Gupte teaches wherein performing the set of operations associated with provisioning the cloud service in the second cloud environment comprises generating metadata identifying the one or more resource locations (Paragraph(s) [0037], [0043]).
As per claims 3 and 13, Gupte teaches wherein performing the set of operations associated with provisioning the cloud service in the second cloud environment comprises:
creating a network link between a delegated subnet of the second cloud environment and a shadow subnet within a virtual cloud network of the first cloud environment (Paragraph(s) [0057]); and
generating an instruction for provisioning the cloud service in the second cloud environment, wherein the instruction comprises metadata identifying the one or more resource locations (Paragraph(s) [0030]).
As per claims 4 and 14, Gupte teaches wherein provisioning the cloud service in the plurality of private clouds enables the data to flow between a private endpoint (PE) in the first private cloud and a network load balancer (NLB) in a second private cloud of the one or more second private clouds (Paragraph(s) [0019], [0032], [0055]).
As per claims 5 and 15, Gupte teaches wherein provisioning the cloud service in the plurality of clouds enables the data to flow from a network load balancer (NLB) in a second private cloud of the one or more second private clouds to a connection manager in the second private cloud, and from the connection manager to one or more database instances provisioned in a subnet within the second private cloud (Paragraph(s) [0015-0016], [0019], [0029]).
As per claims 6 and 16, Gupte teaches wherein a first location second private cloud of the one or more second private clouds is located in a first location in the first cloud environment and a second location second private cloud of the one or more second private clouds is located in a second location of the first cloud environment (Paragraph(s) [0049], [0055]), and wherein provisioning the cloud service in the plurality of private clouds comprises:
detecting a failover event (Paragraph(s) [0034]);
in response to detecting the failover event, rerouting a data flow from the first private cloud to the first location second private cloud to the second location second private cloud (Paragraph(s) [0021], [0034]);
updating the metadata associated with the one or more second private clouds to reflect the second location second private cloud as the one or more resource locations (Paragraph(s) [0021], [0028], [0038]); and
redirecting the data pertaining to the cloud service to the second location second private cloud (Paragraph(s) [0034]).
As per claims 7 and 17, Gupte teaches wherein generating metadata identifying the one or more resource locations of the one or more second private clouds includes generating metadata identifying an instance of the cloud service as a resource managed by the first cloud environment and associating it with the second cloud environment using a multi-cloud tenant ID (Paragraph(s) [0055-0056]).
As per claims 8 and 18, Gupte teaches wherein incoming data pertaining to the cloud service flows to the second location second private cloud (Paragraph(s) [0055]).
As per claims 9, 10 and 19, Gupte teaches wherein performing the set of operations associated with provisioning the cloud service in the second cloud environment comprises identifying, using a broker in the first cloud environment, the one or more resource, wherein the broker determines an allocation of resources to the second cloud environment, and wherein the broker maintains a mapping of the one or more second private clouds to a multi-cloud ID (Paragraph(s) [0019], [0032], [0055]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
/MOHAMED A. WASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454