Remarks
The applicant states that the office cannot go all of the way back to the 2015 date for Radford since this was not published and the publication date is 2016.
Under the America Invents Act (AIA ), you go by the UK filing date (foreign priority date) for a Section 103 obviousness rejection, provided the reference is a U.S. patent, published U.S. application, or published PCT application that properly claims priority to that UK application and describes the relevant subject matter.
Under pre-AIA law (the Hilmer doctrine), foreign priority dates could not be used as offensive prior art. The AIA abolished this rule.
A published document can be cited as prior art as of the filing date of the earliest foreign, international, or domestic application to which it claims priority—as long as that earlier application adequately describes the subject matter used in the rejection.
For an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the reference qualifies if it was "effectively filed" before the effective filing date of your claimed invention. Its actual publication date does not restrict this earlier priority date.
The UK priority application must explicitly describe the specific subject matter being used by the examiner.
The applicant contends that the office cannot use the UK filing date by itself under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) unless that UK application served as a priority document for a subsequent U.S. patent, published U.S. application, or WIPO-published PCT application designating the United States. This is not the case. This was a UK application only that was published in 2016.
Therefore a new rejection is made in view of Herman.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No.: 9,524,648 B1 to Gopalakrishnan et al. that was filed in 2014 and in view of United States Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2015/0350914 A1 to BAXLEY that was effectively filed in 6-3-14 (hereinafter “BAXLEY”) and in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US20130293406A1 to Herman that was filed in 2012 (hereinafter “Herman”).
In regard to claim 1 and 11, Gopalakrishnan et al. discloses “ 1. (New) A system for interdicting an unmanned aerial system, comprising:
a first sensor comprising a radio frequency (RF) receiver configured to detect radio frequency signals communicated between said unmanned aerial system and a remote control device; (see Col. 32, lines 42-53 and FIG. 1 where the uav is compromised and then a fail safe can be provided in blocks 136-144) (see FIG. 9, block 906 that communicates with the UAV 102 via signal 908) (The first navigation system 130 uses the malicious data 124 as an input to generate the first location data 134(1). The first location data 134(1) represents a first location determination of the UAV 102. The first navigation system 130 may include a GPS receiver used to generate the first location data 134(1). The second navigation system 132 may comprise a radio position finding system. The second navigation system 132 uses data received from terrestrial radio transmitters 302(1) and 302(2) as inputs to determine the second location data 134(2). The terrestrial radio transmitters 302 may include those used for commercial broadcast, navigational transmissions, Wi-Fi® access points, cellular telephone network transmitters, and so forth. For example, information such as station service set identifiers (“SSIDs”) received from Wi-Fi® access points may be used to determine the location of the UAV 102. The second location data 134(2) represents a second location determination of the UAV 102.)
a second sensor comprising a radio frequency (RF) receiver configured to detect radio frequency signals communicated between said unmanned aerial system and said remote control
device; and one or more processors coupled to the first sensor and to the second sensor, said one or more (see Col. 6, line 66 to Col. 7, line 12 and FIG. 2, where the uav 102 has sensors 210(1) to (8)) (In another implementation, the source data 264 may comprise coordinates indicative of a location of the source when the source is fixed. For example, the latitude, longitude, and altitude of a fixed terrestrial broadcast transmitter may be stored.
In another implementation, the source data 264 may be relatively coarse. For example, the source data 264 may provide relative position data indicating that the source is expected to be above or below, in front or behind, and so forth, relative to the UAV 102. The relative position data indicates the expected direction of the signal relative to the UAV 102, and may be independent of the exact location of the UAV 102.)
Gopalakrishnan is silent but Baxley et al. teaches “….processors configured to determine at least one of: an identification of said unmanned aerial system, (see paragraph 198 where a drone can be determined to be an unmanned air uav that is unpiloted or piloted) a vendor of said unmanned aerial system, a model designation of said unmanned aerial system, a serial number of said unmanned aerial system, an identity of the pilot of said
unmanned aerial system, (see paragraph 243 where the pilot is a remotely located pilot and is not in the drone) a location of said unmanned aerial system, or a direction of flight of said unmanned aerial system; and (see FIG. 3 where a space time frequency analysis is provided in block 350 from the RF signals with a geolocation to determine an attack classification and this is provided to an analysis database 380; see paragraph 24-33, 80-84, see paragraph 90-98 where an FFT window can represent a spectral energy content on a certain window in a time frequency analyses module where this vector can indicate a high energy content in one window in a spectrogram and this can indicate an attack; see paragraph 119 where the spectral occupancy of the amount of data received or transmitted is examined; see paragraph 207, 217 where a fast Fourier transform (FFT) may be performed to compute the spectral energy content of the radio frequency signal 215. Energy clustering and association may be performed on each set of frequency-domain data vectors to determine discrete contiguous blocks of signal that are likely to have been transmitted from the same device. )”.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the disclosure to combine the teachings of
Baxley with the disclosure of Gopalakrishnan since BAXLEY teaches that a
signal can be analyzed to determine via a signal analysis module 130 if the
spectrogram analysis indicates that there is a significant amount of data
throughput in a feature vector. An excessive amount of data that is not
expected via a metric can cause a processor to flag this data. This data can
be flagged as being malicious within an authorized window or alternatively,
as benign data. See paragraph 114-120. For example, a high energy
content from an amount of RF energy in another time slot window also can
provide a hint that this is an individual that is trying to do a malicious attack. Another hint can be tracking of a location. This can indicate that a malicious actor is trying to get into the system illegally. The technology including using a spectral data signature to include detecting, locating, and classifying impersonation attacks. The method of detecting impersonation attacks may be detected, located, classified, and thwarted for enhanced data security using a spectral analysis. See abstract and paragraphs 114-120, and 24-331 80-84, and paragraph 90-98
Gopalakrishnan is silent but HERMAN et al. teaches “…said one or more processors configured to, based on at least one of an identification of said
unmanned aerial system, a vendor of said unmanned aerial system, a model designation of said
unmanned aerial system, a serial number of said unmanned aerial system, an identity of the pilot
of said unmanned aerial system, a location of said unmanned aerial system, or a direction of
flight of said unmanned aerial system, ( see abstract where the drone can identify the model of the opposing threat and see paragraph 4-10 and FIG. 6a where based on the signature the threat can be detected as a model of a helicopter and see paragraph 70-75 where based on the IR signature and the radar signature the threat of a model of a helicopter can be determined and then a computation if engaged what would happen)
Gopalakrishnan is silent but HERMAN et al. teaches initiate action to interdict said unmanned aerial system. (see paragraph 77-80 where the threat can be jammed and then taken out or if they cannot successfully do this and would not win based on the model then the processor would take another action)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of HERMAN with the disclosure of the primary reference since HERMAN teaches that a vehicle can detect a threat and a model of the threat. As shown in FIG. 6a this would be an attack helicopter. The device processor can then determine would they win and survive against this threat. If so they can engage the threat and jam its communication and destroy it or if they cannot it would take further action to escape. See paragraph 69-78 and claims 1-10.
In regard to claim 2 and 12, Gopalakrishnan is silent but Herman et al. teaches “...2. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises transmitting an electronic counter-measure (ECM) signal to disrupt at least a portion
of communication between the unmanned aerial system and the remote control device used to control the unmanned aerial system. (see paragraph 77-80 where the threat can be jammed and then taken out or if they cannot successfully do this and would not win based on the model then the processor would take another action) ( see abstract where the drone can identify the model of the opposing threat and see paragraph 4-10 and FIG. 6a where based on the signature the threat can be detected as a model of a helicopter and see paragraph 70-75 where based on the IR signature and the radar signature the threat of a model of a helicopter can be determined and then a computation if engaged what would happen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of HERMAN with the disclosure of the primary reference since HERMAN teaches that a vehicle can detect a threat and a model of the threat. As shown in FIG. 6a this would be an attack helicopter. The device processor can then determine would they win and survive against this threat. If so they can engage the threat and jam its communication and destroy it or if they cannot it would take further action to escape. See paragraph 69-78 and claims 1-10.
In regard to claim 3 and 13, Gopalakrishnan is silent but Herman et al. teaches “...3. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises transmitting an electronic counter-measure (ECM) signal to take over or alter at least a
portion of the communication between the unmanned aerial system and the remote control device used to control the unmanned aerial system. (see paragraph 77-80 where the threat can be jammed and then taken out or if they cannot successfully do this and would not win based on the model then the processor would take another action) ( see abstract where the drone can identify the model of the opposing threat and see paragraph 4-10 and FIG. 6a where based on the signature the threat can be detected as a model of a helicopter and see paragraph 70-75 where based on the IR signature and the radar signature the threat of a model of a helicopter can be determined and then a computation if engaged what would happen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of HERMAN with the disclosure of the primary reference since HERMAN teaches that a vehicle can detect a threat and a model of the threat. As shown in FIG. 6a this would be an attack helicopter. The device processor can then determine would they win and survive against this threat. If so they can engage the threat and jam its communication and destroy it or if they cannot it would take further action to escape. See paragraph 69-78 and claims 1-10.
In regard to claim 4 and 14, Gopalakrishnan is silent but Herman et al. teaches 4. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises transmitting an electronic counter-measure (ECM) signal to force a landing of the unmanned aerial system. (see paragraph 77-80 where the threat can be jammed and then taken out or if they cannot successfully do this and would not win based on the model then the processor would take another action) ( see abstract where the drone can identify the model of the opposing threat and see paragraph 4-10 and FIG. 6a where based on the signature the threat can be detected as a model of a helicopter and see paragraph 70-75 where based on the IR signature and the radar signature the threat of a model of a helicopter can be determined and then a computation if engaged what would happen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of HERMAN with the disclosure of the primary reference since HERMAN teaches that a vehicle can detect a threat and a model of the threat. As shown in FIG. 6a this would be an attack helicopter. The device processor can then determine would they win and survive against this threat. If so they can engage the threat and jam its communication and destroy it or if they cannot it would take further action to escape. See paragraph 69-78 and claims 1-10.
In regard to claim 5 and 15, Gopalakrishnan is silent but Herman et al. teaches 5. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises transmitting an electronic counter-measure (ECM) signal to alter the flight path of the
unmanned aerial system. (see paragraph 77-80 where the threat can be jammed and then taken out or if they cannot successfully do this and would not win based on the model then the processor would take another action) ( see abstract where the drone can identify the model of the opposing threat and see paragraph 4-10 and FIG. 6a where based on the signature the threat can be detected as a model of a helicopter and see paragraph 70-75 where based on the IR signature and the radar signature the threat of a model of a helicopter can be determined and then a computation if engaged what would happen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of HERMAN with the disclosure of the primary reference since HERMAN teaches that a vehicle can detect a threat and a model of the threat. As shown in FIG. 6a this would be an attack helicopter. The device processor can then determine would they win and survive against this threat. If so they can engage the threat and jam its communication and destroy it or if they cannot it would take further action to escape. See paragraph 69-78 and claims 1-10.
Claims 6 and 16 and 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No.: 9,524,648 B1 to Gopalakrishnan et al. that was filed in 2014 and in view of United States Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2015/0350914 A1 to BAXLEY that was effectively filed in 6-3-14 (hereinafter “BAXLEY”) and in view of Herman and in view of NPL, Kerns, Andrew, J., Unmanned Aircraft Capture and Control via GPS Spoofing, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78712
(https://radionavlab.ae.utexas.edu/images/stories/files/papers/unmannedCapture.pdf) (July 2014).
In regard to claim 6 and 16, The primary reference is silent but KERNS teaches “...6. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises intercepting global positioning system (OPS) data being downlinked from the unmanned aerial system to a remote control device and employing that data to
modify the mission being executed by the unmanned aerial system”. (see page 3 where the true location can be provided via a GPS signal however the spoofing the device that is a distance Rd from the drone can spoof the GPS to think it is at a different location for a spoofing attack to capture the drone at page 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of KERNS with the disclosure of the primary reference since KERNS teaches that a control center and base station can detect a drone threat. A spoofing device can provide incorrect GPS signals so south is now north and east is now west in a dynamic manner. This can cause the drone to move in the intended path but in reality it is going to crash to be intercepted by a control authority using a fake GPS signal. See page 26-28.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No.: 9,524,648 B1 to Gopalakrishnan et al. that was filed in 2014 and in view of United States Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2015/0350914 A1 to BAXLEY that was effectively filed in 6-3-14 (hereinafter “BAXLEY”) and in view of Herman and in view of NPL, Beaudoin, Laurent, Potential Threats of UAS Swarms and the Countermeasure’s Need, Hal Open Science, European Conference on Information Warfare and Security (ECIW), 2011, Tallinn, Estonia. ffhal-01132236f (https://hal.science/hal-01132236/document)(hereinafter “Beaudoin”).
In regard to claim 7 and 17, Beaudoin teaches 7. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises a kinetic weapon directed toward the unmanned aerial system. (See page 6 and section 4.2 where a swarm of UAVs is dispatched to jam the attacker or for a kamikaze attack)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to combine the disclosure of the primary reference with the teachings of Beaudoin with a reasonable expectation of success since Beaudoin teaches that a first drone threat can be detected. In response to the drone threat, the system can dispatch a swarm of drones to jam the drone or to engage in a kamikaze style attack to disable to the drone. See pages 1-6.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No.: 9,524,648 B1 to Gopalakrishnan et al. that was filed in 2014 and in view of United States Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2015/0350914 A1 to BAXLEY that was effectively filed in 6-3-14 (hereinafter “BAXLEY”) and in view of Herman.
In regard to claim 8 and 18, Gopalakrishnan is silent but Herman et al. teaches 8. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises a directed energy weapon directed toward the unmanned aerial system”. (see paragraph 77-80 where the threat can be jammed and then taken out or if they cannot successfully do this and would not win based on the model then the processor would take another action) ( see abstract where the drone can identify the model of the opposing threat and see paragraph 4-10 and FIG. 6a where based on the signature the threat can be detected as a model of a helicopter and see paragraph 70-75 where based on the IR signature and the radar signature the threat of a model of a helicopter can be determined and then a computation if engaged what would happen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of HERMAN with the disclosure of the primary reference since HERMAN teaches that a vehicle can detect a threat and a model of the threat. As shown in FIG. 6a this would be an attack helicopter. The device processor can then determine would they win and survive against this threat. If so they can engage the threat and jam its communication and destroy it or if they cannot it would take further action to escape. See paragraph 69-78 and claims 1-10.
In regard to claim 9 and 19, The primary reference is silent but KERNS teaches “.9. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said action to interdict said unmanned aerial system comprises directing law enforcement to the remote control device location of the unmanned aerial system”. (see page 26 where using a dynamic spoofing the UAV can direct itself where north is really south based on the spoofing to direct the uav to be captured by the law enforcement control authorities by providing a spoofed trajectory)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of KERNS with the disclosure of the primary reference since KERNS teaches that a control center and base station can detect a drone threat. A spoofing device can provide incorrect GPS signals so south is now north and east is now west in a dynamic manner. This can cause the drone to move in the intended path but in reality it is going to crash to be intercepted by a control authority using a fake GPS signal. See page 26-28.
In regard to claim 10 and 20, The primary reference is silent but KERNS teaches “10. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein said unmanned aerial system has a mass of less than 25 kilograms. (see page 22 where the drone is 4.5 KG).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of KERNS with the disclosure of the primary reference since KERNS teaches that a control center and base station can detect a drone threat. A spoofing device can provide incorrect GPS signals so south is now north and east is now west in a dynamic manner. This can cause the drone to move in the intended path but in reality it is going to crash to be intercepted by a control authority using a fake GPS signal. See page 26-28.
/JEAN PAUL CASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666 or