DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al (US Publication Number 2017/0371423, hereinafter “Yoon”) in view of Bica (US Publication Number 2010/0042763) further in view of Chen et al. (US Publication Number 2010/0185795, hereinafter “Chen”).
4. As per claims 16 and 19, Yoon teaches an integrated video and peripheral control device (200, figures 1 – 3) and method, comprising: one or more processors (100, figures 1 and 2); a first downstream connector (HDMI port in figure 3 between 200 and 300) that supports communication of one or more of video or audio signals (image signals of device 300, figure 3, via frame grabber 202, paragraph 45), wherein the first downstream connector is in communication with the one or more processors (frame grabber 202 connected to 300 via port, paragraphs 44 and 45); a second downstream connector (USB port, figure 3) in communication with the one or more processors (USB control 204 is connected to 300 via port, paragraph 47); and memory that stores computer-executable instructions (software of connection module 200 stored in computer host, figure 2 ) that, if executed, cause the one or more processors to (software implemented as a program, paragraphs 41 and 50): receive video input from a target computing device (frame grabber from 300, figure 3) via the first downstream connector (connection module 200 delivers the video signals of 300 to host 100, paragraphs 38 and 44, figures 1 and 3); receive one or more control messages (mouse and keyboard signals from host 100, figure 4) from the host computing device via the upstream connector, the one or more control messages comprises instructions received from one or more peripheral control devices in communication with the host computing device (connection module 200 delivers mouse and keyboard signals sent from host 100 to 300, figures 1 and 4, paragraphs 6 and 39).
Yoon does not appear to explicitly disclose an upstream connector connected to the one or more processors; convert the received video signals into processed video signals; present the processed video signals via a video interface through the upstream connector to a host computing device; convert the one or more control messages into one or more human interface device (HID) reports; and using the one or more HID reports, provide emulation of the one or more peripheral control devices to the target computer via the second downstream connector.
However, Bica discloses an upstream connector (connectors 112/114, figure 1) connected to the one or more processors (120, figure 1); convert the one or more control messages into one or more human interface device (HID) reports (converting HID messages into HID report table, paragraph 63 for the HID 104a and 104b, figure 1, paragraph 59); and using the one or more HID reports, provide emulation of the one or more peripheral control devices to the target computer via the second downstream connector (downstream connectors 103 and 105, figure 1, paragraph 61, emulated data from the keyboard and mouse signals input at the HID).
Yoon and Bica are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of peripheral handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Bica before him or her, to modify the device processing of Yoon to include the emulation techniques of Bica because enhance peripheral device utilization in recognizing keyboards and mice as HIDs.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance device connectivity (paragraphs 2 – 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bica with Yoon to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Yoon/Bica does not appear to explicitly disclose convert the received video signals into processed video signals; present the processed video signals via a video interface through the upstream connector to a host computing device.
However, Chen discloses convert the received video signals (VSA 32 encoding, figure 3) into processed video signals (adapter encode the received video signals as video streaming, paragraph 31, figures 3 and 4); present the processed video signals via a video interface (UVC compliant payload header and USB physical layer 355, figure 3) through the upstream connector to a host computing device (host 360, figure 3, adapter add the UVC compliant payload header and set DMA 351 of USB control 350 to transmit to 360, paragraphs 28, 31, and 37).
Yoon/Bica and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of peripheral handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon/Bica and Chen before him or her, to modify the device processing of Yoon/Bica to include the video techniques of Chen because it would enhance the video processing of the connected system.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance video data handling (paragraphs 5 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen with Yoon/Bica to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
5. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen as seen in claim 16 above, as per claims 17, Yoon teaches a device, wherein the integrated video and peripheral control device is part of an integrated video and peripheral control system, the system further comprising: a target device control application (connection module software in host 100-1, figure 2) executable by the host computing system, wherein the target device control application upon executing computer-executable instructions (software include in connection module 200, figure 2, implemented by being stored in the host and USB, and other units implement as a program in the host, paragraphs 41 and 50): obtains one or more peripheral control device inputs (input from mouse 106 and keyboard 104, steps s706 and s708, figure 7); and converts the one or more peripheral control device inputs (via mouse and keyboard signal generation units 210 and 212, figure 4) into one or more control messages prior to sending the one or more control messages to the target computing device through the integrated video and peripheral control device (mouse and keyboard signal generation units 210 and 212, figure 4, interpret an event input from the peripherals for translation for the embedded device, paragraphs 53 and 54).
6. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen as seen in claim 16 above, as per claims 18, Yoon teaches a device, wherein the target device control application upon executing computer-executable instructions further: upon obtaining the processed video signals, renders the processed video signals in a graphical user interface (GUI 108, figure 6) provided by the target device control application (video signal delivery to host with second task window corresponding to device is displayed on monitor 102 alongside hosts first task window 110, figures 6 and 7, paragraphs 38, 66, and 67).
7. Claims 1 – 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Bica in view of Chen further in view of Hung et al. (US Publication Number 2011/0113166, hereinafter “Hung”).
8. As per claim 1, Yoon teaches an integrated video and peripheral control device (200, figures 1 – 3), comprising: one or more processors (100, figures 1 and 2); a first downstream connector (HDMI port in figure 3 between 200 and 300) that supports one or more of a high-definition multimedia interface (HDMI) standard or a display port standard (image signals of device 300, figure 3, via frame grabber 202, paragraph 45), wherein the first downstream connector is in communication with the one or more processors (frame grabber 202 connected to 300 via port, paragraphs 44 and 45); a second downstream connector (USB port, figure 3) in communication with the one or more processors (USB control 204 is connected to 300 via port, paragraph 47); and memory that stores computer-executable instructions (software of connection module 200 stored in computer host, figure 2 ) that, if executed, cause the one or more processors to (software implemented as a program, paragraphs 41 and 50): receive video input from a target computing device (frame grabber from 300, figure 3) via the first downstream connector (connection module 200 delivers the video signals of 300 to host 100, paragraphs 38 and 44, figures 1 and 3); receive one or more control messages (mouse and keyboard signals from host 100, figure 4) from the host computing device via the upstream connector, the one or more control messages comprises instructions received from one or more peripheral control devices in communication with the host computing device (connection module 200 delivers mouse and keyboard signals sent from host 100 to 300, figures 1 and 4, paragraphs 6 and 39).
Yoon does not appear to explicitly disclose an upstream connector connected to the one or more processors; convert the received video signals into processed video signals; present the processed video signals via a video interface through the upstream connector to a host computing device; convert the one or more control messages into one or more human interface device (HID) reports; and using the one or more HID reports, provide emulation of the one or more peripheral control devices to the target computer via the second downstream connector.
However, Bica discloses an upstream connector (connectors 112/114, figure 1) connected to the one or more processors (120, figure 1); convert the one or more control messages into one or more human interface device (HID) reports (converting HID messages into HID report table, paragraph 63 for the HID 104a and 104b, figure 1, paragraph 59); and using the one or more HID reports, provide emulation of the one or more peripheral control devices to the target computer via the second downstream connector (downstream connectors 103 and 105, figure 1, paragraph 61, emulated data from the keyboard and mouse signals input at the HID).
Yoon and Bica are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of peripheral handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Bica before him or her, to modify the device processing of Yoon to include the emulation techniques of Bica because enhance peripheral device utilization in recognizing keyboards and mice as HIDs.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance device connectivity (paragraphs 2 – 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bica with Yoon to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Yoon/Bica does not appear to explicitly disclose convert the received video signals into processed video signals; present the processed video signals via a video interface through the upstream connector to a host computing device.
However, Chen discloses convert the received video signals (VSA 32 encoding, figure 3) into processed video signals (adapter encode the received video signals as video streaming, paragraph 31, figures 3 and 4); present the USB 3.0 or higher video signal via a USB Video Class (UVC) (UVC compliant payload header and USB physical layer 355, figure 3) interface through the upstream connector to a host computing device (host 360, figure 3, adapter add the UVC compliant payload header and set DMA 351 of USB control 350 to transmit to 360, paragraphs 28, 31, and 37).
Yoon/Bica and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of peripheral handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon/Bica and Chen before him or her, to modify the device processing of Yoon/Bica to include the video techniques of Chen because it would enhance the video processing of the connected system.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance video data handling (paragraphs 5 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen with Yoon/Bica to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Yoon/Bica/Chen does not appear to explicitly disclose an upstream connector that supports a universal serial bus (USB) 3.0 or higher standard; a second downstream connector that supports a USB 1.1 or higher standard; convert the received video input into USB 3.0 or higher video signal.
However, Hung discloses an upstream connector that supports a universal serial bus (USB) 3.0 or higher standard (USB port console module, figure 3, paragraphs 13 and 15); a second downstream connector that supports a USB 1.1 or higher standard (USB port computer 1…N, figure 3, paragraphs 13 and 15); convert the received video input into USB 3.0 or higher video signal (via video reconstruction block , figure 3, paragraphs 71 – 75).
Yoon/Bica/Chen and Hung are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of networked system data processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon/Bica/Chen and Hung before him or her, to modify the USB configuration of Yoon/Bica/Chen to include the next iteration of USB standard of Hung because it would allow for enhanced connectivity.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance efficiency for connected devices (paragraphs 5 – 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hung with Yoon/Bica/Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
9. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 2 and 20, Yoon teaches a device and method, wherein the one or more processors further comprise: a first processor (202, figure 2) and a second processor (204, figure 2), wherein the instructions that, if executed, cause the first processor to: receive the video input from the target computing device via the first downstream connector (frame grabber receives and digitizes the image signals of embedded device 300, figure 3, paragraphs 44 and 45); convert the received video signals into USB 3.0 or higher video signals (HDMI signals of Yoon paragraph 44 with the conversion mechanism of Chen paragraph 31 for encoding video signals as streaming); and present the USB 3.0 or higher video signals via the UVC interface through the upstream connector to the host computing device (Chen: UVC compliant payload header figures 3 and 4, deliver stream to pc 360, paragraphs 28 and 31); wherein the instructions that, if executed, cause the second processor to: receive the one or more control messages from the host computing device via the upstream connector (USB control unit 204, receives keyboard and mouse input from host, paragraphs 47 and 84, figures 3 and 4); convert the one or more control messages into the one or more HID reports (HID table for switch mapping, paragraph 55); and using the one or more HID reports, provide the USB keyboard and USB mouse emulation to the target computer via the second downstream connector (HID emulation to target, figure 1, paragraphs 42 – 46).
10. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 3, Chen teaches a device, wherein the first processor comprises one of a video processing chip or a graphics card (315, AV processor is a dedicated video processing block within digital av device 300, figure 3, paragraph 27).
11. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 4, Chen teaches a device, wherein one or more of the first processor or the second processor comprises a microcontroller unit (microcontroller 335, figure 3).
12. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 5, Yoon teaches a device, wherein the second processor comprises a USB communication component (USB control unit 204, figures 3 and 4, paragraph 47).
13. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 6, Yoon teaches a device, wherein the second processor comprises a USB serial chip (USB control unit 204, figures 3 and 4, paragraphs 47 and 84).
14. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 7, Yoon teaches a device, wherein the one or more peripheral controls devices comprise a mouse and a keyboard (keyboard 104, mouse 106, figure 1).
15. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 8, Bica teaches a device, further comprising: second memory (emulated storage via USB device controller 128, figure 1) in communication with the upstream connector (upstream end of USB hub 118, figure 1) and the second downstream connector that provides data storage of user data communicated through the upstream connector (via hub interface, figure 1, paragraph 47).
16. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 9, Yoon teaches a device, further comprising: second memory (memory buffer inside the switch, figure 3) in communication with the upstream connector and the second downstream connector that provides shared storage of user data (shared drive memory buffer, figure 3) between host computing device through the upstream connector and the target computing device through the downstream connector (buffer inside switch data copied from pc to buffer and then to another pc, with switch arbitration to make shared peripheral appear to be connected directly to each computer, paragraphs 44, 45, and 88).
17. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 10, Chen teaches a device, wherein the one or more processors comprises a USB interface that provides one or more of a USB video output or a USB port for communication with the host computing device (USB physical layer 355 is interface between controller 350 and PC 360 over with the UVC compliant video streaming is delivered, figure 3, paragraphs 28, 31, and 37).
18. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 11, Yoon teaches a device, further comprising: a third downstream connector that supports one or more of the HDMI standard or the display port standard for communication of video signals in communication with the one or more processors (frame grabber 202 connects to embedded device through HDMI port and image input terminal including DisplayPort, paragraphs 44 and 45, figures 3 and 4); and a fourth downstream connector that supports a USB 1.1 or higher standard in communication with the one or more processors (multiple ports via USB control unit, paragraph 47, figures 3 and 4, Bica: figure 1 ports 103); wherein the memory stores additional computer-executable instructions that, if executed, further cause the one or more processors to: receive video input from a second target computing device via the third downstream connector (connection module 200, figure 2, delivers video signals of device to host, paragraph 38); convert the received video signals into USB 3.0 or higher video signals (Chen: VSA 320/325 encoding, figure 3); present the USB 3.0 or higher video signals via the or another UVC interface through the upstream connector to the host computing device (Chen: UVC compliant video streaming, paragraphs 28 and 31, figures 3 and 4); receive one or more control messages from the host computing device via the upstream connector, the one or more control messages comprises instructions received from the one or more peripheral control devices in communication with the host computing device (paragraph 39, figure 4); convert the one or more control messages into one or more HID reports (Bica: converting HID messages into HID report table, paragraph 63 for the HID 104a and 104b, figure 1, paragraph 59); and using the one or more HID reports, provide emulation of the one or more peripheral control devices to the target computer via the fourth downstream connector (Bica: downstream connectors 103 and 105, figure 1, paragraph 61, emulated data from the keyboard and mouse signals input at the HID).
19. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 12, Yoon teaches a device, further comprising: one or more second processors; a third downstream connector that supports one or more of the HDMI standard or the display port standard for communication of video signals in communication with the one or more second processors (frame grabber 202 connects to embedded device through HDMI port and image input terminal including DisplayPort, paragraphs 44 and 45, figures 3 and 4); and a fourth downstream connector that supports a USB 1.1 or higher standard in communication with the one or more second processors (multiple ports via USB control unit, paragraph 47, figures 3 and 4, Bica: figure 1 ports 103); wherein the memory stores additional computer-executable instructions that, if executed, further cause the one or more second processors to: receive second video input from a second target computing device via the third downstream connector (connection module 200, figure 2, delivers video signals of device to host, paragraph 38); convert the received video signals into USB 3.0 or higher video signals (Chen: VSA 320/325 encoding, figure 3); present the USB 3.0 or higher video signals via the or another UVC interface through the upstream connector to the host computing device (Chen: UVC compliant video streaming, paragraphs 28 and 31, figures 3 and 4); receive one or more control messages from the host computing device via the upstream connector, the one or more control messages comprises instructions received from the one or more peripheral control devices in communication with the host computing device (paragraph 39, figure 4); convert the one or more control messages into one or more HID reports (Bica: converting HID messages into HID report table, paragraph 63 for the HID 104a and 104b, figure 1, paragraph 59); and using the one or more HID reports, provide emulation of the one or more peripheral control devices to the target computing device via the fourth downstream connector (Bica: downstream connectors 103 and 105, figure 1, paragraph 61, emulated data from the keyboard and mouse signals input at the HID).
20. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 13, Hung teaches a device, further comprising: a hub device in communication with the one or more processors (figure 3, fabric routes data packets from USB device manager blocks to the selected console modules and back per routing table held in the configuration management block, paragraphs 70 – 72, figure 3), the one or more second processors, and the memory, wherein the memory stores additional computer-executable instructions that, if executed, further cause the one or more second processors to: route the video input and the second video input (video reconstruction block, figure 3) from the target computing device and the second target computing device to the host computing device (switch traffic from multiple computers for display, figure 3, paragraphs 14 and 74); and route control messages (mouse/keyboard manager, figure 3) from the host computing device to the corresponding target computing device or the second target computing device (on screen display with select function, paragraphs 63 and 77).
21. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 14, Hung teaches a device, wherein the one or more processors are part of a first control device (I/O module, figure 1) and the one or more second processors are part of a second control device (port replication for switching device, paragraphs 68 and 69, figure 1).
22. Yoon modified by the teachings of Bica/Chen/Hung as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 15, Hung teaches a device, wherein the control device and the second control device are in communication with the hub device via one or more separate USB connections (each module connects to switching device by its own USB 3.0, figure 1, paragraphs 15 and 72).
Conclusion
23. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wong/Wu/Yau/Yu have teachings of handle a plurality of devices in a hub configuration along with associated emulation.
AH
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184