DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action for application #19/177448, Angled Anchor Mounts, filed 4/11/25. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/11/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. The document that did not have a concise explanation of relevance has been striked through and not considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 212, 242.
Specification
The specification is objected to because it uses the reference numerals “355” and “455” when referring to the lower notches in para [0026]. Numerals “354” and “454” should be used when referring to the lower notches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9, 10, 12-14, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3:
-It is unclear if “a base portion” is in addition to the base portion already claimed.
Regarding Claim 9:
-The phrase “wherein the arm that extends from the curved sidewall” is a fragment.
Regarding Claims 12-14:
-It is unclear if the strap is intended on being positively claimed. Claim 1, and some of the dependent claims, merely claims the strap with functional language. However, Claim 12 claims that the strap is a first strap. Additionally, claims 13 and 14 claim limiter portions for limiting lateral movement of the strap.
Regarding Claim 19:
-It is unclear is “a curved sidewall” is in addition to the curved sidewall already claimed. Additionally, guiding the object from the first route to the second route was already claimed in Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2012/0211609 (Mandic).
Regarding Claim 1, Mandic teaches a mount (2) comprising:
a bundle connector (see Figure below) configured to receive a strap (within 22; para [0064]) to attach an object (cable) to the mount, the bundle connector comprising an arm (see Figure below) that defines a notch (22) configured to receive the strap therein.
Regarding Claim 2, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 1, further comprising:
a base portion (4) that includes a top side (as viewed in Figure 1) opposite a bottom side (as viewed in Figure 2), the bottom side includes a mount portion (42/50) configured to connect the base portion (4) to a workpiece (Figure 3; para [0066], [0068], [0074]).
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 2, wherein the arm (see Figure above) is spaced apart from a base portion to define the notch (22).
Regarding Claim 4, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 2, wherein the bundle connector extends from at least one of the base portion (4) or a curved sidewall (18; see Figure above showing the bundle connector extending from both).
Regarding Claim 7, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 2, further comprising:
a curved sidewall (18) that extends from the base portion (4), the curved sidewall (18) configured to guide the object (cable) from a first route (linear) to a second route (curved) along a route path (Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 7, wherein the base portion (4) defines a base plane and the curved sidewall (18) extends generally orthogonally to the base plane (para [0063] teaching a “generally perpendicular upstanding wall 12” and 18 is coplanar with 12; also see Figure above).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 7, wherein the arm that extends from the curved sidewall (18), the arm configured to attach to the object (cable) via the strap (that passes through 22; para [0064]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 9, wherein the arm extends from an end of the curved sidewall (18; see Figure above).
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 7, wherein the bundle connector (see Figure above) is a first bundle connector, the strap (that passes through 22) is a first strap, and the mount (2) further comprises: a second bundle connector (portion surrounding 20) that extends from the base portion (4), the second bundle connector configured to receive a second strap (that passes through 20; para [0063]) to attach the object (cable) to the mount, the second bundle connector comprising a second arm (portion above 20) that extends from the curved sidewall (18), the second arm spaced apart from the base portion to define a second notch (20) therebetween, the second notch (20) configured to receive the second strap therein (para [0063]).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, as best understood, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 1, wherein the bundle connector (depicted above around 22) defines a first limiter portion (one edge of 22) that is configured to limit a lateral movement of the strap on the arm in a first direction, wherein the bundle connector defines a second limiter portion (second edge of 22) that is configured to limit the lateral movement of the strap on the arm in a second direction, the second direction opposite the first direction.
Regarding Claim 15, Mandic teaches a mount (2) comprising:
a curved sidewall (18) configured to guide an object (cable) from a first route (linear) to a second route (curved) along a route path (Figure 4); and
a bundle connector (portion around 22 or portion around 20) configured to receive a strap (within 20 or 22; para [0063], [0064]) to attach the object (cable) to the mount, the bundle connector comprising an arm (portion above the notch) that extends from the curved sidewall (18).
Regarding Claim 16, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 15, further comprising: a base portion (4) that includes a top side (as depicted in Figure 1) opposite a bottom side (as depicted in Figure 2), the bottom side includes a mount portion (42/50) configured to connect the base portion to a workpiece (Figure 3; para [0066], [0068], [0074]).
Regarding Claim 17, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 16, wherein the curved sidewall (18) extends from the base portion (4) and the bundle connector (portion around 20 or 22) extends from the base portion (4).
Regarding Claim 18, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 16, wherein the arm is spaced apart from the base portion (4) to define a notch (20 or 22) therebetween, the notch (20 or 22) configured to receive the strap therein (para [0063],[0064]).
Regarding Claim 19, as best understood, Mandic teaches the mount of claim 16, further comprising:
a curved sidewall (18) that extends from the base portion (4), the curved sidewall (18) configured to guide the object (cable) from a first route (linear) to a second route (curved) along a route path (Figure 4).
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 5,961,081 (Rinderer).
Regarding Claim 1, Rinderer teaches a mount (10) comprising:
a bundle connector (24/60; Figure 2) configured to receive a strap (within 60; col 4, ln 35-61) to attach an object (cable) to the mount, the bundle connector comprising an arm (24) that defines a notch (60) configured to receive the strap therein.
Regarding Claim 2, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 1, further comprising:
a base portion (26/20; Figure 2) that includes a top side (where 26 is pointing to in Figure 1) opposite a bottom side (back of 26 that is mounted to a surface), the bottom side includes a mount portion (34) configured to connect the base portion (26/20) to a workpiece (col 3, ln 32-38).
Regarding Claim 4, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 2, wherein the bundle connector (24/60) extends from at least one of the base portion or a curved sidewall (see Figures 2 and 3 where 24/60 extends from a curved sidewall 20b that extends from 20).
Regarding Claim 5, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 2, wherein the base portion (26/20) further comprises: a channel (70; Figure 2) defined in the top side, the channel (70) configured to guide the strap (tie) under the arm of the bundle connector (see Figure 2 where the channel 70 extends directly under the arm of 24 into 60).
Regarding Claim 6, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 2, wherein the mount portion (34) further comprises at least one of:
an adhesive portion configured to adhere to a mount surface of the workpiece to attach the mount portion of the base portion to the mount surface; or
a fastener aperture (34) defined through the base portion (26/20) from the bottom side to the top side, the fastener aperture (34) configured to receive a fastener therethrough to attach the base portion to the mount surface (col 3, ln 32-38).
Regarding Claim 7, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 2, further comprising:
a curved sidewall (20b) that extends from the base portion (26/20), the curved sidewall (20b) configured to guide the object (cable) from a first route (entering into the mount) to a second route (exiting the mount) along a route path (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 7, wherein the base portion (26/20) defines a base plane (26 or 20a; Figure 3) and the curved sidewall (20b) extends generally orthogonally to the base plane (as depicted in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 7, wherein the arm that extends from the curved sidewall (20b), the arm (24) configured to attach to the object (cable) via the strap (that passes through 60).
Regarding Claim 10, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 9, wherein the arm (24) extends from an end of the curved sidewall (20b; Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 7, further comprising:
a bundle retainer (16; Figure 1), wherein the bundle retainer (16) and curved sidewall (20b) define a cradle therebetween, the cradle configured to receive the object (12; Figure 1), and the bundle retainer (16) configured to retain the object in the cradle (col 3, ln 1-17).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, as best understood, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 1, wherein the bundle connector defines a first limiter portion (one edge of 60) that is configured to limit a lateral movement of the strap on the arm in a first direction, wherein the bundle connector defines a second limiter portion (second edge of 60) that is configured to limit the lateral movement of the strap on the arm in a second direction, the second direction opposite the first direction.
Regarding Claim 15, Rinderer teaches a mount (10) comprising:
a curved sidewall (20b) configured to guide an object (cable) from a first route (entering the mount) to a second route (exiting the mount) along a route path (Figure 1); and
a bundle connector (24/60) configured to receive a strap (within 60; col 4, ln 35-61) to attach the object (cable) to the mount, the bundle connector comprising an arm (24) that extends from the curved sidewall (20b).
Regarding Claim 16, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 15, further comprising: a base portion (26/20) that includes a top side (where 26 is pointing to Figure 1) opposite a bottom side (rear side of 26 that attaches to a surface), the bottom side includes a mount portion (34) configured to connect the base portion to a workpiece (Figure13; col 3, ln 32-38).
Regarding Claim 19, as best understood, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 16, further comprising:
a curved sidewall (20b) that extends from the base portion (26/20), the curved sidewall (20b) configured to guide the object (cable) from a first route (entering the mount) to a second route (exiting the mount) along a route path (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Rinderer teaches the mount of claim 16, wherein the mount portion (34) further comprises at least one of:
an adhesive portion configured to adhere to a mount surface of the workpiece to attach the mount portion of the base portion to the mount surface; or
a fastener aperture (34) defined through the base portion (26/20) from the bottom side to the top side, the fastener aperture (34) configured to receive a fastener therethrough to attach the base portion to the mount surface (col 3, ln 32-38).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art has been listed in the PTO-892 form.
US 2002/0121571 (Ferris et al.) teaches a mount having a base and a curved sidewall extending therefrom to guide cables around the curved wall and notches for a strap to secure the cables.
US 7,221,832 (Tinucci), US 6,994,300 (Labeirie et al.) teach an arm extending upwardly from the base and creating a notch for a strap to secure cables thereto.
US 3,913,876 (McSherry), US 3,672,615 (Fiorentino) teach a mount with an adhesive mounting portion and an arm creating a notch for a strap to secure cables to the mount.
US 6,880,788 (Stephen), US 9,243,724 (Lake et al.), US 5,399,814 (Staber et al.), US 11,888,299 (Yamamoto et al.) teach an arcuate guide with notches for securing straps.
US D446,190 (Wakileh et al.), US 8,816,199 (French et al.), US 11,888,299 teach arcuate guides.
US 4,999,887 (Kraus) teaches a mount with arcuate walls and notches that could be used to secure straps.
US Des.427,897 (Johnston et al.) teach an arcuate guide with bundle retainers.
/INGRID M WEINHOLD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632