DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/12/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains 151 words, which exceeds 150 words. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 19 recite “adjusting at least one of sensing or therapy parameters of the implantable medical device based on the indication.” The specification discloses:
¶106-Additionally or alternatively, the information may include observations or recommendations regarding potential adjustments that may be made to the parameters of the IMD to reduce the number of false positives. For example, the ML model may output an indication that the IMD may be performing inappropriate sensing, such as over sensing or under sensing P waves, R waves, T waves and the like. As a further indication, the ML model may identify an accuracy of the R-wave sensing implemented by the IMD. Additionally or alternatively, the ML model may output recommendations for how to reprogram parameters of the IMD, such as how to reprogram sensitivity threshold utilized in connection with identifying P waves, R waves and T wave.
This is not the same as the limitation as claimed. The specification does not disclose wherein
the IMD is further configured to adjust at least one of sensing or therapy parameters of the implantable medical device based on the indication. Observations or recommendations regarding potential adjustments is not the same as performing an adjustment. This limitation is not disclosed in the originally filed specification or drawings to show how this function is implemented. Therefore, it fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 10 and 20 recite “delivering a therapy by the implantable medical device based on the indication.” The specification discloses:
¶72-implantable or external therapy delivery device.
This is not the same as the limitation as claimed. The specification does not explicitly disclose delivering a therapy by the implantable medical device based on the indication. This limitation is not disclosed in the originally filed specification or drawings to show how this function is implemented. Therefore, it fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an implantable medical device (IMD), does not reasonably provide enablement for a medical device. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The specification only describes the medical device as being implantable. There is no description of the medical device being non-implantable which does read on the scope of the claims.
Claims 4-5, 9, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 14 recite the limitation "the corresponding DCA data sets" see claim 4, line 7 for example. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5 and 15 recite the limitation "the corresponding DCA data sets" see claim 5, lines 3-4 and 6 for example. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9 and 19 recite the limitation "the implantable medical device" see claim 9, line 3 for example. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the implantable medical device" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea.
Step 1
The claimed invention in claims 1-20 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a system and a method for confirming device documented (DD) arrhythmias.
Step 2A, Prong One
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the recited steps are directed to a mental process of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the limitations of “obtain reference cardiac activity (CA) signals for one or more beats sensed by electrodes of a medical device; generate an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals; and apply new CA signals to obtain an indication of whether the new CA signals correspond to an arrhythmia or normal sinus rhythm” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving a print out of reference cardiac activity (CA) signals for one or more beats sensed by electrodes of a medical device, analyzing the data to generate an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals, and analyzing new CA signals to obtain an indication of whether the new CA signals correspond to an arrhythmia or normal sinus rhythm.
Step 2A, Prong Two
For claims 1 and 11, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1 and 11 recite “a memory and one or more processors.” The memory and one or more processors are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “beats sensed by electrodes of a medical device” does not explicitly recite the data gathering step, just the data obtained after the fact. Additionally, Applicant includes a machine learning (ML) model which is nothing more than the computer implementation/automation of an abstract mental process of screening a patient, which is what a physician typically does with a patient in a diagnostic setting. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into
a practical application, the additional elements of a memory and one or more processors that amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer, which does not amount to an inventive concept. Further, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
Regarding dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20, the limitations of claims 1 and 11 further define the limitations already indicated as being directed to the abstract idea.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the limitations of “generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the reference CA signals in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional generating the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the reference CA signals in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting using pen and paper. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the limitations of “generate the augmented collection of data sets by applying noise to the reference CA signals in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional generating the augmented collection of data sets by applying outlier data points to the reference CA signals in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting using pen and paper. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the limitations of “obtain reference device classified arrhythmia (DCA) data sets associated with device declared arrhythmias, the reference DCA data sets including the reference CA signals for one or more beats sensed by subcutaneous electrodes of an implantable medical device (IMD), the reference DCA data sets including one or more device documented (DD) markers characterizing the reference CA signals within the corresponding DCA data sets” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional obtaining a print out of reference device classified arrhythmia (DCA) data sets associated with device declared arrhythmias, the reference DCA data sets including the reference CA signals for one or more beats sensed by subcutaneous electrodes of an implantable medical device (IMD), and the reference DCA data sets including one or more device documented (DD) markers characterizing the reference CA signals within the corresponding DCA data sets. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “beats sensed by subcutaneous electrodes of an implantable medical device (IMD)” does not explicitly recite the data gathering step, just the data obtained after the fact.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the limitations of “apply a first augmented collection of data sets that represent valid DCA data sets that include DD markers that correctly characterize the corresponding CA signals; and to apply a second augmented collection of data sets that represent invalid DCA data sets that include DD markers that incorrectly characterize the corresponding CA signals” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional using pen and paper to apply a first and second augmented collection of data sets. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the limitations of “generate the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the reference CA signals such that trailing portions of the reference CA signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the reference CA signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional using pen and paper and generating the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the reference CA signals such that trailing portions of the reference CA signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the reference CA signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the limitations of “generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the reference CA signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to RR intervals between successive beats in the reference CA signals in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional generating the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the reference CA signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to RR intervals between successive beats in the reference CA signals in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting using pen and paper. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the limitations of “wherein the augmented collection of data sets represent data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated CA signals that are based on the reference CA signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional artificially generating CA signals that are based on the reference CA signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of CA signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference CA signals thereby avoid overfitting using pen and paper. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the limitation of “adjusting at least one of sensing or therapy parameters of the implantable medical device based on the indication” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, this limitation is nothing more than a medical professional writing down the adjustment of at least one of sensing or therapy parameters.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the step of applying therapy is not directed towards a specific arrhythmia and there is no known relationship between the general therapy and an outcome for the patient as claimed. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). Additionally, claim 20 is a method claim and the therapy is deliver based on the indication, where the indication could be a normal sinus rhythm. See MPEP 2111.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 11, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dani (US 20200357519 filed on 4/17/20) in view of Sirendi (US 20200008696 filed on 3/7/18 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Dani teaches a system, comprising: memory (¶34-memory) configured to store specific executable instructions (¶44-instructions from external device 12); and one or more processors (¶31-a processor) configured to execute the specific executable instructions to: obtain reference cardiac activity (CA) signals for one or more beats sensed by electrodes of a medical device (¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient); and apply new CA signals to the ML model to obtain an indication of whether the new CA signals correspond to an arrhythmia or normal sinus rhythm (¶6-make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in a patient and only use a machine learning model to verify the episodes of cardiac arrhythmia detected by the feature delineation or classify such episodes detected by feature delineation as being a particular type of cardiac arrhythmia; ¶84-if the episode of arrhythmia is an episode of normal sinus rhythm (NSR), Premature ventricular contractions (PVCs), or Premature atrial contractions (PACs); ¶53-the greater the amount of cardiac electrogram data on which machine learning system 250 is trained, the higher the accuracy of the machine learning model in detecting or classifying cardiac arrhythmia in new cardiac electrogram data).
However, Dani does not explicitly teach generate an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals; and apply the augmented collection of data sets to a machine learning (ML) model to train the ML model.
Sirendi relates to the analysis of cardiac data, in particular, the invention relates to a system and method of determining the probability of a cardiac event occurring. This may enable timely preventative action to be taken, or may enable the determination of periods where increased monitoring of a person may be beneficial (¶1). Sirendi further teaches the invention using the following steps:
generate an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals (¶123-each heartbeat in the training data set is represented as a real-valued vector containing values for features that describe the specific heartbeat, and enable a classification to be made; ¶204-205-the artificial intelligence based classifier, which is formed of multiple different classifiers combined to obtain a hybrid classifier, determines threshold abnormality values for each property, which are indicative of an upcoming cardiac event (e.g. a threshold mean RR interval is calculated, where a mean interval above this threshold is indicative of an upcoming cardiac event). The threshold values are determined based upon past data from multiple sources); and apply the augmented collection of data sets to a machine learning (ML) model to train the ML model (¶41-training of the classifiers; ¶205-threshold values are determined based upon past data from multiple sources, for example a database containing physiological data for patients alongside occurrences of cardiac events may be used for training a classifier; ¶139-Gaussian Process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include generating an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals; and applying the augmented collection of data sets to a machine learning (ML) model to train the ML model of Sirendi in order to determine the probability of a cardiac event occurring. This may enable timely preventative action to be taken, or may enable the determination of periods where increased monitoring of a person may be beneficial (Sirendi, ¶1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to obtain reference device classified arrhythmia (DCA) data sets associated with device declared arrhythmias (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient), the reference DCA data sets including the reference CA signals for one or more beats sensed by subcutaneous electrodes of an implantable medical device (IMD) (Dani, ¶27-IMD 10 may be implanted outside of a thoracic cavity of patient 4 (e.g., subcutaneously in the pectoral location illustrated in FIG. 1); ¶36-one or more sensors (e.g., electrodes) are described herein as being positioned on a housing of IMD 10; ¶9; ¶37), the reference DCA data sets including one or more device documented (DD) markers (Dani, ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia), generated by the IMD, characterizing the reference CA signals within the corresponding DCA data sets (Dani, (¶37-verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly detected an episode of cardiac arrhythmia. In some examples, the medical device applies a machine learning model to cardiac electrogram data of patient 2 to verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly classified an episode of cardiac arrhythmia as a particular type of arrhythmia; ¶90-feature delineation incorrectly determines that an episode of cardiac arrhythmia has occurred in patient 4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply a first augmented collection of data sets that represent valid DCA data sets that include DD markers that correctly characterize the corresponding CA signals (Dani, ¶37-verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly detected an episode of cardiac arrhythmia. In some examples, the medical device applies a machine learning model to cardiac electrogram data of patient 2 to verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly classified an episode of cardiac arrhythmia as a particular type of arrhythmia; ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia); and to apply a second augmented collection of data sets that represent invalid DCA data sets that include DD markers that incorrectly characterize the corresponding CA signals (Dani, ¶90-feature delineation incorrectly determines that an episode of cardiac arrhythmia has occurred in patient 4; ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device is implantable, the one or more processors are further configured to adjust at least one of sensing or therapy parameters of the implantable medical device based on the indication (Dani, ¶30- program IMD 10 , e.g., select or adjust values for operational parameters of IMD 10; ¶74-IMD 10 receives, in response to the report, one or more adjustments to one or more parameters used by IMD 10 to sense the cardiac electrogram data of patient 4 . IMD 10 perform such adjustments to for subsequent sensing of the cardiac electrogram data of patient 4).
Regarding claim 11, Dani teaches a computer implemented method for building a machine learning (ML) model to confirm device documented (DD) arrhythmias (¶65), comprising: under control of one or more processors (¶31-a processor) configured with specific executable instructions, obtaining reference cardiac activity (CA) signals for one or more beats sensed by electrodes of a medical device (¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient); and applying new CA signals to the ML model to obtain an indication of whether the new CA signals correspond to an arrhythmia or normal sinus rhythm (¶6-make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in a patient and only use a machine learning model to verify the episodes of cardiac arrhythmia detected by the feature delineation or classify such episodes detected by feature delineation as being a particular type of cardiac arrhythmia; ¶84-if the episode of arrhythmia is an episode of normal sinus rhythm (NSR), Premature ventricular contractions (PVCs), or Premature atrial contractions (PACs); ¶53-the greater the amount of cardiac electrogram data on which machine learning system 250 is trained, the higher the accuracy of the machine learning model in detecting or classifying cardiac arrhythmia in new cardiac electrogram data).
However, Dani does not explicitly teach generating an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals; and applying the augmented collection of data sets to a machine learning (ML) model to train the ML model.
Sirendi teaches generating an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals (¶123-each heartbeat in the training data set is represented as a real-valued vector containing values for features that describe the specific heartbeat, and enable a classification to be made; ¶204-205-the artificial intelligence based classifier, which is formed of multiple different classifiers combined to obtain a hybrid classifier, determines threshold abnormality values for each property, which are indicative of an upcoming cardiac event (e.g. a threshold mean RR interval is calculated, where a mean interval above this threshold is indicative of an upcoming cardiac event). The threshold values are determined based upon past data from multiple sources); and applying the augmented collection of data sets to a machine learning (ML) model to train the ML model (¶41-training of the classifiers; ¶205-threshold values are determined based upon past data from multiple sources, for example a database containing physiological data for patients alongside occurrences of cardiac events may be used for training a classifier; ¶139-Gaussian Process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include generating an augmented collection of data sets based on the reference CA signals; and applying the augmented collection of data sets to a machine learning (ML) model to train the ML model of Sirendi in order to determine the probability of a cardiac event occurring. This may enable timely preventative action to be taken, or may enable the determination of periods where increased monitoring of a person may be beneficial (Sirendi, ¶1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising obtaining reference device classified arrhythmia (DCA) data sets associated with device declared arrhythmias (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient), the reference DCA data sets including the reference CA signals for one or more beats sensed by subcutaneous electrodes of an implantable medical device (IMD) (Dani, ¶27-IMD 10 may be implanted outside of a thoracic cavity of patient 4 (e.g., subcutaneously in the pectoral location illustrated in FIG. 1); ¶36-one or more sensors (e.g., electrodes) are described herein as being positioned on a housing of IMD 10; ¶9; ¶37), the reference DCA data sets including one or more device documented (DD) markers (Dani, ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia), generated by the IMD, characterizing the reference CA signals within the corresponding DCA data sets (Dani, ¶37-verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly detected an episode of cardiac arrhythmia. In some examples, the medical device applies a machine learning model to cardiac electrogram data of patient 2 to verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly classified an episode of cardiac arrhythmia as a particular type of arrhythmia; ¶90-feature delineation incorrectly determines that an episode of cardiac arrhythmia has occurred in patient 4).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising applying a first augmented collection of data sets that represent valid DCA data sets that include DD markers that correctly characterize the corresponding CA signals (Dani, ¶37-verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly detected an episode of cardiac arrhythmia. In some examples, the medical device applies a machine learning model to cardiac electrogram data of patient 2 to verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly classified an episode of cardiac arrhythmia as a particular type of arrhythmia; ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia) and applying a second augmented collection of data sets that represent invalid DCA data sets that include DD markers that incorrectly characterize the corresponding CA signals (Dani, ¶90-feature delineation incorrectly determines that an episode of cardiac arrhythmia has occurred in patient 4; ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the medical device is implantable, the method further comprising adjusting at least one of sensing or therapy parameters of the implantable medical device based on the indication (Dani, ¶30- program IMD 10 , e.g., select or adjust values for operational parameters of IMD 10; ¶74-IMD 10 receives, in response to the report, one or more adjustments to one or more parameters used by IMD 10 to sense the cardiac electrogram data of patient 4 . IMD 10 perform such adjustments to for subsequent sensing of the cardiac electrogram data of patient 4).
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dani in view of Sirendi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Rochac (NPL “A Gaussian Data Augmentation Technique on Highly Dimensional, Limited Labeled Data for Multiclass Classification Using Deep Learning” published in 2019).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Rochac teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 147, left col., ¶2-for each original image, we automatically generate multiple derived images. Each image is a different version or variant of the original image. By stretching, shrinking, zooming in, zooming out, flipping, rotating, or applying a different color or contrast, DA augments the original dataset size. Then, the original and derived images are used in the learning stage; page 145, last ¶-page 146, ¶1-data Augmentation variant (GDA) which integrates signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) with an Additive white Gaussian noise (AWGN) to generate derived data samples suited for multiclass classification in various deep neural networks models; page 148, right col., last ¶-to reduce the effect of overfitting).
Rochac relates to a new approach to integrate feature reduction and sample augmentation to deep learning classifiers (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Rochac in order to improve classification with better levels of accuracy (Rochac, page 147, left col., ¶1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Rochac teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 145, last ¶-page 146, ¶1-data Augmentation variant (GDA) which integrates signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) with an Additive white Gaussian noise (AWGN) to generate derived data samples suited for multiclass classification in various deep neural networks models; page 148, right col., last ¶-to reduce the effect of overfitting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Rochac in order to improve classification with better levels of accuracy (Rochac, page 147, left col., ¶1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Rochac teaches wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 147, left col., ¶2-for each original image, we automatically generate multiple derived images. Each image is a different version or variant of the original image. By stretching, shrinking, zooming in, zooming out, flipping, rotating, or applying a different color or contrast, DA augments the original dataset size. Then, the original and derived images are used in the learning stage; page 145, last ¶-page 146, ¶1-data Augmentation variant (GDA) which integrates signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) with an Additive white Gaussian noise (AWGN) to generate derived data samples suited for multiclass classification in various deep neural networks models; page 148, right col., last ¶-to reduce the effect of overfitting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Rochac in order to improve classification with better levels of accuracy (Rochac, page 147, left col., ¶1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Rochac teaches wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 145, last ¶-page 146, ¶1-data Augmentation variant (GDA) which integrates signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) with an Additive white Gaussian noise (AWGN) to generate derived data samples suited for multiclass classification in various deep neural networks models; page 148, right col., last ¶-to reduce the effect of overfitting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Rochac in order to improve classification with better levels of accuracy (Rochac, page 147, left col., ¶1).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dani in view of Sirendi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Pawar (NPL “Detection of Tactile Feedback on Touch-screen Devices using EEG Data” published in May 2020).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Pawar teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 779, left col., ¶1-in time-series based data, other augmentation techniques exists such as window slicing, window wrapping, and time-shifting, use time-shifting based augmentation in which the training data (each trial) is either shifted forward or backward in time with a small amount; such alteration is appropriate for EEG signals because these shifts in time can occur between subjects/trials up to few tens of milliseconds. We tripled the size of the training data by shifting each trial 50 ms forward and 50 ms backward; page 778, right col., ¶1-ensure that over-fitting is avoided as much as possible).
Pawar relates to data augmentation in time-series neural data which increased the classification accuracy (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Pawar in order to increase the classification accuracy (Pawar, Abstract) and size of the training data (Pawar, page 779, right col., Conclusion section).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Pawar teaches wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 779, left col., ¶1-in time-series based data, other augmentation techniques exists such as window slicing, window wrapping, and time-shifting, use time-shifting based augmentation in which the training data (each trial) is either shifted forward or backward in time with a small amount; such alteration is appropriate for EEG signals because these shifts in time can occur between subjects/trials up to few tens of milliseconds. We tripled the size of the training data by shifting each trial 50 ms forward and 50 ms backward; page 778, right col., ¶1-ensure that over-fitting is avoided as much as possible).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Pawar in order to increase the classification accuracy (Pawar, Abstract) and size of the training data (Pawar, page 779, right col., Conclusion section).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dani in view of Sirendi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Meyer (US 20190378619 filed on 5/30/19).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1, the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient) and RR intervals (Dani, ¶49-one or more of RR intervals).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Meyer teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (¶19-an automated system that is capable of producing a larger number of training samples by using a number of augmentation (e.g., expansion, increase, etc.) techniques unique and appropriate for medical data (e.g., health data), the augmentation technique may involve time warping, or modifying (e.g., increasing, decreasing, etc.) a length of time interval of the time series data set; ¶44).
Meyer relates to medical data processing, and more specifically, to predicting health conditions of patients using artificial intelligence methods with a focus on machine learning models (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Meyer in order for better performance and accuracy of predictions of health conditions (Meyer, ¶22).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11, the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient) and RR intervals (Dani, ¶49-one or more of RR intervals).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Meyer teaches wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (¶19-an automated system that is capable of producing a larger number of training samples by using a number of augmentation (e.g., expansion, increase, etc.) techniques unique and appropriate for medical data (e.g., health data), the augmentation technique may involve time warping, or modifying (e.g., increasing, decreasing, etc.) a length of time interval of the time series data set; ¶44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the generating the augmented collection of data sets includes at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Meyer in order for better performance and accuracy of predictions of health conditions (Meyer, ¶22).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dani in view of Sirendi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Velasco (NPL “Data Augmentation and Evolutionary Algorithms to Improve the Prediction of Blood Glucose Levels In Scarcity of Training Data” published in 2017).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the augmented collection of data sets represent data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Velasco teaches wherein the augmented collection of data sets represent data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (Abstract-a classification system for scenario selection and a data augmentation algorithm that generates synthetic glucose time series from real data; page 2194, left col., ¶1-the models can avoid overfitting and therefore be more robust).
Velasco relates to a classification system for scenario selection and a data augmentation algorithm that generates synthetic glucose time series from real data (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the augmented collection of data sets represent data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Velasco in order for more accurate and robust predictions (Velasco, Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11 and the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient).
However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the augmented collection of data sets represents data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model.
Velasco teaches wherein the augmented collection of data sets represents data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (Abstract-a classification system for scenario selection and a data augmentation algorithm that generates synthetic glucose time series from real data; page 2194, left col., ¶1-the models can avoid overfitting and therefore be more robust).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the augmented collection of data sets represents data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the reference signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Velasco in order for more accurate and robust predictions (Velasco, Abstract).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dani in view of Sirendi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Stahmann (US 20050115561 filed on 9/17/04 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the system of claim 1. However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the medical device is implantable, the one or more processors are further configured to deliver a therapy based on the indication.
Stahmann teaches wherein the medical device is implantable, the one or more processors are further configured to deliver a therapy based on the indication (¶224-detecting cardiac arrhythmias and/or for controlling pacing and/or defibrillation therapy; ¶240; ¶247).
Stahmann relates to systems and methods providing patient monitoring, diagnosis and/or therapy (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the medical device is implantable, the one or more processors are further configured to deliver a therapy based on the indication of Stahmann in order to treat cardiac arrhythmias (Stahmann, ¶240).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dani and Sirendi teaches the method of claim 11. However, the combination of Dani and Sirendi does not explicitly teach wherein the medical device is implantable, the method further comprising delivering a therapy by the implantable medical device based on the indication.
Stahmann teaches wherein the medical device is implantable, the method further comprising delivering a therapy by the implantable medical device based on the indication (¶224-detecting cardiac arrhythmias and/or for controlling pacing and/or defibrillation therapy; ¶240; ¶247).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dani to include wherein the medical device is implantable, the method further comprising delivering a therapy by the implantable medical device based on the indication of Stahmann in order to treat cardiac arrhythmias (Stahmann, ¶240).
Double Patenting
This double patenting rejection is being issued in view of 17/341436, as the claims are not commensurate in scope to the previous restriction requirement.
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 11, 14-15, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 26-31, 33, 36, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 17/341436 in view of Dani (US 20200357519).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (19/177513)
Claims of US Application 17/341436
Secondary Reference Dani (US 20200357519)
1, 11
1, 5, 30, 43
Dani teaches apply new CA signals to the ML model to obtain an indication of whether the new CA signals correspond to an arrhythmia or normal sinus rhythm (¶6-make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in a patient and only use a machine learning model to verify the episodes of cardiac arrhythmia detected by the feature delineation or classify such episodes detected by feature delineation as being a particular type of cardiac arrhythmia; ¶84-if the episode of arrhythmia is an episode of normal sinus rhythm (NSR), Premature ventricular contractions (PVCs), or Premature atrial contractions (PACs); ¶53-the greater the amount of cardiac electrogram data on which machine learning system 250 is trained, the higher the accuracy of the machine learning model in detecting or classifying cardiac arrhythmia in new cardiac electrogram data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include applying new CA signals to the ML model to obtain an indication of whether the new CA signals correspond to an arrhythmia or normal sinus rhythm of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
4, 14
1, 5, 30, 43
5, 15
1, 30, 43
Dani teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply a first augmented collection of data sets that represent valid DCA data sets that include DD markers that correctly characterize the corresponding CA signals (Dani, ¶37-verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly detected an episode of cardiac arrhythmia. In some examples, the medical device applies a machine learning model to cardiac electrogram data of patient 2 to verify that feature delineation of the cardiac electrogram data has correctly classified an episode of cardiac arrhythmia as a particular type of arrhythmia; ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia); and to apply a second augmented collection of data sets that represent invalid DCA data sets that include DD markers that incorrectly characterize the corresponding CA signals (Dani, ¶90-feature delineation incorrectly determines that an episode of cardiac arrhythmia has occurred in patient 4; ¶65-IMD 10 further applies feature delineation to the cardiac electrogram data to detect one or more episodes of arrhythmia. For example, IMD 10 may apply QRS detection delineation and noise flagging to the cardiac electrogram data to provide arrhythmia characteristics and/or cardiac features for detected episodes of arrhythmia). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply a first augmented collection of data sets that represent valid DCA data sets that include DD markers that correctly characterize the corresponding CA signals; and to apply a second augmented collection of data sets that represent invalid DCA data sets that include DD markers that incorrectly characterize the corresponding CA signals of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
9, 19
1, 5, 43
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 26-31, 33, 36, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 17/341436 in view of Dani and Rochac (NPL “A Gaussian Data Augmentation Technique on Highly Dimensional, Limited Labeled Data for Multiclass Classification Using Deep Learning”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (19/177513)
Claims of US Application 17/341436
Secondary Reference Dani (US 20200357519)
Secondary Reference Rochac (NPL “A Gaussian Data Augmentation Technique on Highly Dimensional, Limited Labeled Data for Multiclass Classification Using Deep Learning”)
2, 12
30
Dani teaches the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include the reference CA signals of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
Rochac teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 147, left col., ¶2-for each original image, we automatically generate multiple derived images. Each image is a different version or variant of the original image. By stretching, shrinking, zooming in, zooming out, flipping, rotating, or applying a different color or contrast, DA augments the original dataset size. Then, the original and derived images are used in the learning stage; page 145, last ¶-page 146, ¶1-data Augmentation variant (GDA) which integrates signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) with an Additive white Gaussian noise (AWGN) to generate derived data samples suited for multiclass classification in various deep neural networks models; page 148, right col., last ¶-to reduce the effect of overfitting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of shifting, rotating, stretching, shrinking or applying a noise component to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Rochac in order to improve classification with better levels of accuracy (Rochac, page 147, left col., ¶1).
3, 13
30
Dani teaches the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include the reference CA signals of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
Rochac teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 145, last ¶-page 146, ¶1-data Augmentation variant (GDA) which integrates signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) with an Additive white Gaussian noise (AWGN) to generate derived data samples suited for multiclass classification in various deep neural networks models; page 148, right col., last ¶-to reduce the effect of overfitting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by applying noise to the signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Rochac in order to improve classification with better levels of accuracy (Rochac, page 147, left col., ¶1).
Claims 6 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 26-31, 33, 36, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 17/341436 in view of Dani and Pawar (NPL “Detection of Tactile Feedback on Touch-screen Devices using EEG Data”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (19/177513)
Claims of US Application 17/341436
Secondary Reference Dani (US 20200357519)
Secondary Reference Pawar (NPL “Detection of Tactile Feedback on Touch-screen Devices using EEG Data”)
6, 16
1, 30, 43
Dani teaches the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include the reference CA signals of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
Pawar teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (page 779, left col., ¶1-in time-series based data, other augmentation techniques exists such as window slicing, window wrapping, and time-shifting, use time-shifting based augmentation in which the training data (each trial) is either shifted forward or backward in time with a small amount; such alteration is appropriate for EEG signals because these shifts in time can occur between subjects/trials up to few tens of milliseconds. We tripled the size of the training data by shifting each trial 50 ms forward and 50 ms backward; page 778, right col., ¶1-ensure that over-fitting is avoided as much as possible). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by shifting and wrapping the signals such that trailing portions of the signals are wrapped to form leading portions of the augmented collection of data sets, and such that intermediate portions of the signals are shifted to form trailing portions of the augmented collection of data sets in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Pawar in order to increase the classification accuracy (Pawar, Abstract) and size of the training data (Pawar, page 779, right col., Conclusion section).
Claims 7 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 26-31, 33, 36, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 17/341436 in view of Dani and Meyer (US 20190378619).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (19/177513)
Claims of US Application 17/341436
Secondary Reference Dani (US 20200357519)
Secondary Reference Meyer (US 20190378619)
7, 17
1, 30, 43
Dani teaches the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include the reference CA signals of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
Meyer teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (¶19-an automated system that is capable of producing a larger number of training samples by using a number of augmentation (e.g., expansion, increase, etc.) techniques unique and appropriate for medical data (e.g., health data), the augmentation technique may involve time warping, or modifying (e.g., increasing, decreasing, etc.) a length of time interval of the time series data set; ¶44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate the augmented collection of data sets by at least one of stretching or shrinking the signals by at least one of adding or subtracting an amount of time to intervals between successive signals in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Meyer in order for better performance and accuracy of predictions of health conditions (Meyer, ¶22).
Claims 8 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 26-31, 33, 36, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 17/341436 in view of Dani and Velasco (NPL “Data Augmentation and Evolutionary Algorithms to Improve the Prediction of Blood Glucose Levels In Scarcity of Training Data”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (19/177513)
Claims of US Application 17/341436
Secondary Reference Dani (US 20200357519)
Secondary Reference Velasco (NPL “Data Augmentation and Evolutionary Algorithms to Improve the Prediction of Blood Glucose Levels In Scarcity of Training Data”)
8, 18
1, 30, 43
Dani teaches the reference CA signals (Dani, ¶37-a medical device, such as IMD 10…uses feature delineation to make a preliminary detection of cardiac arrhythmia in patient 4; ¶9-a medical device, such as an IMD, senses cardiac electrogram data of a patient. The medical device performs feature-based delineation of the cardiac electrogram data to obtain cardiac features indicative of an episode of arrhythmia in the patient). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include the reference CA signals of Dani in order to accurately detect arrhythmia in a patient (Dani, ¶7).
Velasco teaches wherein the augmented collection of data sets represent data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model (Abstract-a classification system for scenario selection and a data augmentation algorithm that generates synthetic glucose time series from real data; page 2194, left col., ¶1-the models can avoid overfitting and therefore be more robust). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the augmented collection of data sets represent data sets that include artificially generated or computer-generated signals that are based on the signals collected from a patient in order to enlarge a total number of signals, within the augmented collection of data sets, beyond the signals thereby avoid overfitting while training the ML model of Velasco in order for more accurate and robust predictions (Velasco, Abstract).
Claims 10 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 26-31, 33, 36, and 41-43 of copending Application No. 17/341436 in view of Dani and Stahmann (US 20050115561).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Present Application (19/177513)
Claims of US Application 17/341436
Secondary Reference Dani (US 20200357519)
Secondary Reference Stahmann (US 20050115561)
10, 20
1, 43
Stahmann teaches wherein the medical device is implantable, the one or more processors are further configured to deliver a therapy based on the indication (¶224-detecting cardiac arrhythmias and/or for controlling pacing and/or defibrillation therapy; ¶240; ¶247). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the medical device is implantable, the one or more processors are further configured to deliver a therapy based on the indication of Stahmann in order to treat cardiac arrhythmias (Stahmann, ¶240).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10602942: relates to a method and system for detecting abnormalities in electrocardiogram (ECG) signals (col. 1 and lines 6-7).
/LAURA HODGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3792