Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“rotary” in claim 1;
“restricting portion” in claim 1;
“supporting member” in claim 1;
“moving device” in claim 10;
“driving device” in claim 10;
“first supporting member” in claim 16;
“second supporting member” in claim 16;
“restricting portion” in claim 17;
“supporting member” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17, contain the phrasing “image forming apparatus to which a toner cartridge accommodating toner and provided with a discharge opening” in the pre-amble. The phrasing is confusing as to whether the toner cartridge is provided with a discharge opening or whether the image forming apparatus is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Okabe et al. (US Pub.2006/0251446) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Okabe et al. (US Pub.2006/0251446) in view of Itabashi (US 8,577,250).
Regarding claim 17, Okabe et al. (US Pub.2006/0251446) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.3A) to which a toner cartridge (fig.1, #51K) accommodating toner and provided with a discharge opening (fig.1, #55 has opening downward toward #50) is detachably mounted, the image forming apparatus comprising: a developing device including a developing roller (fig.1, lower portion of #55 comprising #50) and an accommodating frame (fig.1, #55), wherein the accommodating frame is provided with a receiving opening (fig.1, #55 upward opening near projection above #50) and includes an accommodating chamber configured to accommodate toner to be supplied to the developing roller (fig.1, #55 bottom surrounding #50); a main assembly frame configured to accommodate the developing device (fig.1&3A, #2) and provided with a main assembly opening (fig.3B, #30); an openable member (fig.3A-4A, #2a) including a supporting surface (fig.4A, surface of #2a contacting #11) and a restricting portion (fig.3A-4A, #100) and configured to be movable to a closed position where the openable member closes the main assembly opening (fig.3A) and an open position where the openable member opens the main assembly opening (fig.4A), the openable member being mounted to the main assembly frame (fig.3A-4A, #2a mounted to #2); and a supporting member which is mounted to the developing device, to which the toner cartridge is detachably mounted (fig.3A-4A, #11/#12), and which is movably supported by the accommodating frame (see fig.3A-4A), the supporting member being movable, through the main assembly opening in a state in which the openable member is in the open position (fig.3C-4A), to an accommodating position where the toner cartridge is positioned in a mounting position relative to the accommodating frame (fig.3A) and a taking-out position where the toner cartridge is positioned in a retracted position retracted from the mounting position relative to the accommodating frame (fig.4A), wherein in a state in which the toner cartridge is in the mounting position relative to the accommodating frame, the discharge opening and the receiving opening oppose each other (see fig.1), and wherein when the openable member is positioned in the open position and the supporting member is positioned in the taking-out position (fig.4A), the restricting portion engages with the supporting member so that the supporting member is supported by the accommodating frame and the supporting surface and so that movement of the supporting member in a direction away from the supporting surface is restricted (fig.4A, engagement of #12 with #100 prevents #11/#12 from moving further away from #2a).
The Office contends that Okabe et al. (US Pub.2006/0251446) teach all of the limitations of claim 17, as set forth above.
However, should one find this not convincing on the aspect regarding a toner cartridge with an opening interpreted as a completely separate component, this argument can be addressed by a combination with Okabe et al. (US Pub.2006/0251446) in view of Itabashi (US 8,577,250).
Regarding claim 17, Itabashi (US 8,577,250) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) to which a toner cartridge (fig.1, #11) accommodating toner and provided with a discharge opening (fig.12, #58) is detachably mounted, the image forming apparatus comprising: a developing device (fig.1, #7) including a developing roller (fig.1, #9) and an accommodating frame (fig.1, outside of #7), wherein the accommodating frame is provided with a receiving opening (fig.2, #43) and includes an accommodating chamber configured to accommodate toner to be supplied to the developing roller (fig.1, empty space inside #7 around #9); a main assembly frame (fig.1, #2) configured to accommodate the developing device and provided with a main assembly opening (fig.1&2, covered by #4); an openable member configured to be movable to a closed position where the openable member closes the main assembly opening and an open position where the openable member opens the main assembly opening (fig.1&2, #4), the openable member being mounted to the main assembly frame (see fig.1); and a supporting member which is mounted to the developing device, to which the toner cartridge is detachably mounted, and which is movably supported by the accommodating frame (fig.1&3, #3), the supporting member being movable, through the main assembly opening in a state in which the openable member is in the open position (fig.2), to an accommodating position where the toner cartridge is positioned in amounting position relative to the accommodating frame (fig.1) and a taking-out position where the toner cartridge is positioned in a retracted position retracted from the mounting position relative to the accommodating frame (fig.2, #11 have clearly been retracted from the mounting position), wherein in a state in which the toner cartridge is in the mounting position relative to the accommodating frame, the discharge opening and the receiving opening oppose each other (see fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Okabe et al. (US Pub.2006/0251446) to have independently replaceable toner cartridges as in Itabashi (US 8,577,250) because it is a known configuration in an image forming apparatus comprising a drawer structure which allows the toner to be replaced (col.1, ln.20-23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “a rotary … including a developing roller and an accommodating frame, …an openable member including a supporting surface and a restricting portion … opens the main assembly opening, … a supporting member which is mounted to the rotary, to which the toner cartridge is detachably mounted, and which is movably … movable, through the main assembly opening in a state in which the openable member is in the open position… cartridge is positioned in a mounting position relative to the accommodating frame and a taking-out position where the toner cartridge is positioned in a retracted position … the toner cartridge is in the mounting position …the discharge opening and the receiving opening oppose each other… when the openable member is positioned in the open position and the supporting member is positioned in the taking-out position, the restricting portion engages with the supporting member so that the supporting member is supported by the accommodating frame and the supporting surface and so that movement of the supporting member in a direction away from the supporting surface is restricted” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 1-16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kasamura et al. (US 4,841,329) disclose the use of a rack and pinion for moving a developing unit out and in.
Kasamura et al. (US 4,941,018) disclose the use of a rack and pinion for moving a developing unit out and in.
Mushika et al. (US 8,204,405) disclose a cartridge drawer pulled out and supported along ribs on the door.
Nagase et al. (US 5,752,133) disclose a tray that rests on a door with an integrated stopper.
Matsuno et al. (US 6,184,909) disclose an image forming apparatus with a rotary member and separate toner cartridges, but does not discuss or depict replacement thereof.
Minagawa (US Pub.2003/0137675) disclose an image forming apparatus with a rotary member and separate waste toner cartridges, but does not discuss or depict replacement thereof.
Fischer (US Pub.2002/0094210) disclose an image forming apparatus with a rotary member and separate toner cartridges and the replacement thereof through an accessway, but does not discuss or depict a movable member through the opening of the accessway.
Kimizuka et al. (US pub.2008/0286000) disclose a cartridge rotary mechanism with a first supporting member and a movable member with a restricting portion to maintain the removable member on the supporting surface, but does not satisfy all of the limitations.
The following publications are cited as related art:
Hiasa et al. (US Pub.2026/0010115)
Nitta et al. (US Pub.2026/0023335)
Nitta et al. (US Pub.2025/0199457)
Tateishi et al. (US Pub.2025/0224686)
Sasaoka et al. (US Pub.2025/0348013)
Sasaoka et al. (US Pub.2025/0348014)
Hiasa et al. (US Pub.2025/0348011)
Shimizu et al. (US Pub.2025/0328091)
Yamauchi et al. (US Pub.2025/0341793)
Suzuki et al. (US Pub.2025/0348022)
Takano et al. (US Pub.2026/0161127)
Contact Information
/LKR/
7/17/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852