DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘elongated tube’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 9, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,581. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 1, 2, and 9 are anticipated by the reference patent claim 1. Reference patent 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,581 recites that the wire has a tip and is inserted into the lumen, the tip terminates at the distal neck, at least one connection piece is coupled to a proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion and defines at least one port for insertion of the wire and injection of fluid and the instant claim does not. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have viewed the omission as an obvious variant because at least one connection piece and wire tip is not required to inflate the balloon to occlude a blood vessel.
Claims from Instant Application (19/177897)
Corresponding Claims from U.S. Patent No. 12,295,581
Claims 1, 2, 9
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 2
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 4
Claim 6
Claim 5
Claim 7
Claim 9
Claim 8
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claims 11, 18, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,057. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 11 and 18 are anticipated by the reference patent claim 1. Reference patent 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,057 recites at least one connection piece is coupled to a proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion and defining at least one port for insertion of the wire and injection of fluid and the instant claim does not. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have viewed the omission as an obvious variant because at least one connection piece and wire tip is not required to inflate the balloon to facilitate occluding a blood vessel.
Claims from Instant Application (19/177897)
Corresponding Claims from U.S. Patent No. 11,801,057
Claims 11 and 18
Claim 1
Claim 12
Claim 2
Claim 13
Claim 3
Claim 14
Claim 4
Claim 15
Claim 5
Claim 16
Claim 9
Claim 17
Claim 10
Claim 19
Claim 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the device" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Radl et al. (US 2019/0105057A1, “Radl”).
Regarding claim 11, Radl discloses an occlusion assembly capable of occluding a blood vessel. The assembly includes an elongated shaft (Fig. 8) defining a single lumen therein. The shaft consists of an inflatable balloon portion (236) having distal and proximal ends, a distal neck portion (236C) attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion, and a proximal neck portion (236B) attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The inner lumen is constructed and arranged to act as a flow channel for passage of a fluid [0114] and to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion. It is noted that the claim limitation “constructed and arrange……to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion” does not appear to positively recite the wire. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to positively recite the wire to avoid misinterpretation. For example, “the inner lumen contains a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion”. For the purposes of art rejection, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as not positively reciting the wire.
Regarding claim 12, Radl discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are a single integral structure (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Radl discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are constructed from polyurethane [0096].
Regarding claim 15, Radl discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a conical shape (Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Franklin et al. (US 2018/0236203A1, “Franklin”).
Regarding claim 11, Franklin discloses an occlusion assembly capable of occluding a blood vessel. The assembly includes an elongated shaft (Fig. 28) defining a single lumen therein. The shaft consists of an inflatable balloon portion having distal and proximal ends (1208, 1212), a distal neck portion (1200c) attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion and a proximal neck portion (1200b) attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The inner lumen is constructed and arranged to act as a flow channel for passage of a fluid [0219] and to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion. It is noted that the claim limitation “constructed and arrange……to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion” does not appear to positively recite the wire. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to positively recite the wire to avoid misinterpretation. For example, “the inner lumen contains a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion”. For the purposes of art rejection, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as not positively reciting the wire.
Regarding claim 12, Franklin discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are a single integral structure (Fig. 28).
Regarding claim 13, Franklin discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are constructed from PET [0217].
Regarding claim 14, Franklin discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, distal and proximal necks are sized for zone 1, zone 2 or zone 3 deployment [0034, 0030-0031].
Regarding claim 15, Franklin discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a spherical shape (Fig. 28).
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker (US 2004/0064150A1).
Regarding claim 11, Becker discloses an occlusion assembly capable of occluding a blood vessel. The assembly includes an elongated shaft (134;Fig. 1) defining a single lumen therein (tube (136) extends through the lumen). The shaft consists of an inflatable balloon portion (174) having distal and proximal ends, a distal neck portion (172) attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion, and a proximal neck portion (176) attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The inner lumen is constructed and arranged to act as a flow channel for passage of a fluid, wherein tube (136) extends therethrough and includes port (140) through which fluid may pass. The lumen is constructed and arranged to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion. It is noted that the claim limitation “constructed and arrange……to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion” does not appear to positively recite the wire. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to positively recite the wire to avoid misinterpretation. For example, “the inner lumen contains a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion”. For the purposes of art rejection, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as not positively reciting the wire.
Regarding claim 12, Becker discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are a single integral structure (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 13, Becker discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are constructed from PET [0041].
Regarding claim 15, Becker discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a tubular shape (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boudreault et al. (US 2009/0312807A1, “Boudreault”).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Boudreault discloses an occlusion assembly capable of occluding a blood vessel. The assembly includes an elongated shaft (2702;Fig. 45A) defining a single lumen therein. The shaft consists of an inflatable balloon portion (see marked up figure below) having distal and proximal ends, a distal neck portion attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion, and a proximal neck portion attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The inner lumen is constructed and arranged to act as a flow channel for passage of a fluid and to contain and position a wire (stylet; [0137]) in the lumen while having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion. It is noted that it is not clear if the claim limitation “constructed and arrange……to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion” positively recites the wire. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to positively recite the wire. For example, “the inner lumen contains a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion”. For the purposes of art rejection, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as positively reciting the wire. It is noted that a stylet is defined as a wire run through a catheter or cannula to stiffen it or clear it (Oxford Languages).
Regarding claim 12, Boudreault that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are a single integral structure (Fig. 45A)
Regarding claim 13, Boudreault discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are constructed from polyurethane, nylon, or PET [0112].
Regarding claim 15, Boudreault discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a tubular shape (Fig. 45A).
Regarding claim 16, Boudreault discloses that the distal neck portion terminates at a sealed plug (2706) such that the wire tip terminates adjacent to the sealed plug [0137].
Regarding claim 17, Boudreault discloses that the wire tip is a straight to provide atraumatic passage of the elongated shaft through the blood vessel (Fig. 45A).
Claim(s) 11-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolvek et al. (US 4,276,874, “Wolvek”).
Regarding claim 11, Wolvek discloses an occlusion assembly capable of occluding a blood vessel. The assembly includes an elongated shaft (28;Fig. 3) defining a single lumen therein. The shaft consists of an inflatable balloon portion (see marked up figure below) having distal and proximal ends, a distal neck portion attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion, and a proximal neck portion attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The inner lumen is constructed and arranged to act as a flow channel for passage of a fluid and to contain and position a wire (46) in the lumen while having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion. It is noted that it is not clear if the claim limitation “constructed and arrange……to contain a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion” positively recites the wire. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to positively recite the wire. For example, “the inner lumen contains a wire having a tip terminating in the distal neck portion”. For the purposes of art rejection, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as positively reciting the wire. It is noted that a wire is defined as a thin flexible thread or rod (Oxford Languages).
Regarding claim 12, Wolvek discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are a single integral structure (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 13, Wolvek discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, the distal neck portion and the proximal neck portion are constructed from polyurethane (C5;L67-69).
Regarding claim 15, Wolvek discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a tubular shape (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Wolvek discloses that the distal neck portion terminates at a sealed plug (32) such that the wire tip terminates adjacent to the sealed plug (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Wolvek discloses that the wire tip is a straight to provide atraumatic passage of the elongated shaft through the blood vessel (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radl in view of Franklin.
Regarding claim 14, Radl does not disclose that the inflatable balloon portion, distal and proximal neck portions are sized for zone 1, zone 2 or zone 3.
Radl discloses the use and inflation of the balloon in the aorta [0123]. In the same field of endeavor, balloons, Franklin teaches selecting a balloon to occlude flow inside the aorta and zone 1, zone 2 and zone 3 [0030-0031]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the balloon of Radl with the required dimensions to provide access to zones 1, 2 or 3, as taught by Franklin, to provide means for efficiently occluding the site.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolvek in view of Franklin.
Regarding claim 14, Wolvek does not disclose that the inflatable balloon portion, distal and proximal neck portions are sized for zone 1, zone 2 or zone 3.
Wolvek discloses the use and inflation of the balloon in the aorta (C5,L50-55). In the same field of endeavor, balloons, Franklin teaches selecting a balloon to occlude flow inside the aorta and zone 1, zone 2 and zone 3 [0030-0031]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the balloon of Wolvek with the required dimensions to provide access to zones 1, 2 or 3, as taught by Franklin, to provide means for efficiently occluding the site.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin et al. (US 2018/0236203A1, “Franklin”) in view of Forman et al. (US 2010/0036411A1, “Forman”).
Regarding claim 1, Franklin discloses a method of occluding a blood vessel including an elongated tube (Fig. 28) including an inflatable balloon portion having distal and proximal ends (1208, 1212) and inserting a wire into a lumen of the inflatable balloon portion [0032]. A distal neck (1200c) is attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion and a proximal neck (1200b) attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen defines a flow channel for a fluid to inflate the inflatable balloon portion when fluid is injected into the lumen from a proximal end of the elongated tube [0219]. Franklin discloses that the balloon may be used for angioplasty, stent placement, or occlusion [0017], wherein the balloon is introduced through percutaneous sheath and maneuvered into a patient’s blood vessels until the balloon is positioned in the target location. Femoral artery access is made via the percutaneous sheath [0017]. The sheath is placed into the artery [0017]. Once properly in position, the balloon is inflated with liquid to a predetermined size and pressure to widen the passageway [0023]. However, Franklin does not disclose that the wire and elongated tube is inserted into the artery through the sheath or angiocatheter.
In the same field of endeavor, vascular interventional procedures, Forman teaches the method of making an incision in a femoral artery by puncturing with a hollow vascular needle, withdrawing the needle, placing a guide catheter into the incision, inserting a guide wire into the lumen of the guide catheter, and advancing the balloon over the guide wire until it reaches the target location [0094]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of Franklin with inserting a guide wire into the lumen of the guide catheter and advancing the balloon over the guide wire until it reaches the target location, as taught by Forman, to provide means for guiding the balloon to the target location.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Franklin and Forman discloses that the distal and proximal neck are a single integral structure (Fig. 28).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Franklin and Forman discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, distal and proximal necks are formed of PET [0217].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Franklin and Forman discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, distal and proximal necks are sized for zone 1, zone 2 or zone 3 deployment [0034, 0030-0031].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Franklin and Forman discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a round shape (Fig. 28).
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolvek et al. (US 4276874, “Wolvek”) in view of Franklin.
Regarding claim 1, Wolvek discloses a method of occluding a blood vessel including an elongated tube including an inflatable balloon portion (Fig. 11) having a dual or multi-chamber balloon portion. The balloon portion includes distal and proximal ends. A distal neck (near tip 32) is attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion and a proximal neck (117) attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. A lumen (44) extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen defines a flow channel for a fluid to inflate the inflatable balloon portion when fluid is injected into the lumen from a proximal end of the elongated tube (C6;L19-33). A wire (46) is inserted into the lumen. The balloon is introduced through a femoral artery, fluid is injected into the lumen from the proximal end of the elongated tube to inflate the inflatable balloon portion and occlude the artery (Fig. 12). However, Wolvek does not disclose puncturing an artery by inserting a sheath or a syringe and angiocatheter, inserting the elongated tube and wire into the artery through the sheath to an appropriate length to reach a target location.
In the same field of endeavor, treating obstructions within body lumens, Franklin teaches the method of puncturing a femoral artery via a percutaneous sheath [0017], placing the sheath through the puncture, and advancing the balloon through the sheath until it reaches the target location. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of Wolvek with puncturing a femoral artery with a sheath, inserting a sheath into the incision, and advancing the balloon until it reaches the target location, as taught by Franklin, to provide means for guiding the balloon to the target location.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the lumen terminates at the distal neck, the wire has a tip such that when the wire is inserted into the lumen the tip terminates at the at the distal neck portion (Fig. 11; Wolvek).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the distal and proximal neck are a single integral structure (Fig. 11; Wolvek).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the inflatable balloon portion, distal and proximal necks are formed of polyurethane (C5;L67-69; Wolvek).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the artery is a femoral artery and that the inflatable portion, distal and proximal necks are sized for zone 1, 2 or 3 deployment [0034, 0030-0031, 0035; Franklin]. Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the inflatable balloon portion has a tubular shape (Fig. 11; Wolvek).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the distal neck portion terminates at a sealed plug (32) such that the wire tip terminates adjacent to the sealed plug (Fig. 11; Wolvek).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the wire tip is straight to provide atraumatic passage of the elongated shaft through the blood vessel (Fig. 11; Wolvek).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination of Wolvek and Franklin discloses that the elongated tube includes at least one connection piece (luer lock 26; Wolvek) coupled to a proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion and in fluid communication with the lumen. The at least one connection piece defines at least one port for insertion of the wire and for injection of the fluid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Menasche (US 4,927,412) discloses an elongated shaft defining a single lumen therein. The shaft consists of an inflatable balloon portion having distal and proximal ends, a distal neck portion attached to the distal end of the inflatable balloon portion, and a proximal neck portion attached to the proximal end of the inflatable balloon portion. The lumen extends through at least the proximal neck portion and the inflatable balloon portion. However, Menasche does not disclose at least one connection piece coupled to a proximal end of the elongated shaft, wherein the connection piece may be a luer lock or a valve.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771