DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 19/177,909 filed on April 14, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on April 14, 2025 and February 13, 2026 were received and have been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0021720) in view of Zhang et al. (US 6,864,911) and Yang (US 2021/0067675).
Consider claim 1, Wang et al. teaches:
An electronic device (see figures 6, 34A and 36) comprising:
a housing forming an exterior of the electronic device (electronic device body, 200, figure 36, paragraph 0397);
an external connection terminal (30) inside the housing (see figure 34A, paragraph 0385);
a first camera unit (first camera module unit, 10) adjacent to the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A, paragraph 0385), the first camera unit (10) comprising (see figure 6):
a first printed circuit board (first circuit board, 11, paragraph 0204),
a first image sensor (first photosensitive element, 13, paragraph 0204) on the first printed circuit board (11, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a first lens assembly (first lens, 14, paragraph 0204) corresponding to the first image sensor (13, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a first housing (first lens support element, 15, first base body, 123, paragraphs 0228 and 0217, figures 6 and 34A) around an outer periphery of the first image sensor (13) and the first lens assembly (14, see figure 6), and
a first contact contacting the first printed circuit board (11) and electrically connected to the first printed circuit board (The right side of a connection circuit board (128) in figure 6 is a first contact as it contacts and is electrically connected to the first printed circuit board (11), paragraph 0250.); and
a second camera unit (second camera module unit, 20) adjacent to the first camera unit (10, see figures 6 and 34, paragraph 0204), the second camera unit (20) comprising (see figure 6):
a second printed circuit board (second circuit board, 21, paragraph 0204),
a second image sensor (second photosensitive element, 23, paragraph 0204) on the second printed circuit board (21, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a second lens assembly (second lens, 24, paragraph 0204) corresponding to the second image sensor (23, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a second housing (second lens support element, 25, second base body, 223, paragraphs 0231 and 0229, figures 6 and 34A) around an outer periphery of the second image sensor (23) and the second lens assembly (24, see figure 6), and at least partially coupled to the first housing (15, 123, see figures 6 and 34A), and
a second contact contacting the second printed circuit board (21) and electrically connected to the second printed circuit board (The left side of a connection circuit board (128) in figure 6 is a second contact as it contacts and is electrically connected to the second printed circuit board (21), paragraph 0250.),
wherein the first printed circuit board (11) comprises a plurality of electrical wires (first electrical connection elements, 133, figure 6, paragraph 0306) connected to the first camera unit (10) and the second camera unit (20) respectively (see figure 6), extends in a direction toward the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A), and is connected to the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A, paragraph 0385).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach that the first and second contacts are contact pins on at least one surface of the first and second housings, respectively.
Zhang et al. similarly teaches an electronic device (figures 8a, 8b, 9 and 10) having first and second camera units with first and second housings, respectively (See the first digital camera (11) and second digital camera (13), column 3, line 66 through column 4, line 1.).
However, Zhang et al. additionally teaches that the camera units (11, 13) communicate with each other via first and second contact pins (16, 18) on at least one surface of the first and second housings (11, 13, see figure 10), respectively (As detailed in column 5, lines 23-25, “Electrical communication can be effectuated using electrically conductive pins or the like as illustrated by electrical connections 16 and 18 in FIGS. 9 and 10.” Note that column 6, lines 36-38 details that the first and second digital cameras (11, 13) may be connected with or without the data port connector (30) of figure 10.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second contacts taught by Wang et al. be contact pins as taught by Zhang et al. as this only involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as enabling communication of signals between the first and second camera units.
The combination of Wang et al. and Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach that the external connection terminal is connected to a main circuit board.
Yang similarly teaches an electronic device having first and second camera units (see figure 5) and an external connection terminal (connecting circuit board, 50) connected to an image shooting circuit board (20) of the camera units (see figure 5, paragraph 0037).
However, Yang additionally teaches that the external connection terminal (50) is connected to a main circuit board (“The image shooting circuit board 20 may transmit an electrical signal of the first image shooting assembly 30 and an electrical signal of the second image shooting assembly 40 to the main circuit board through the connecting circuit board 50, and the connecting circuit board 50 needs to be provided with wires for transmitting the electrical signal of the first image shooting assembly 30 and the electrical signal of the second image shooting circuit 40. As such, in order that the connecting circuit board 50 would not become too wide due to the wiring, the connecting circuit board 50 can be implemented as a double-layer or multilayer FPC.” paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the external connection terminal taught by the combination of Wang et al. and Zhang et al. be connected to a main circuit board via wires as taught by Yang for the benefit of enabling the first and second camera units to be installed on a main circuit board of the electronic device while providing efficient space utilization (Yang, paragraph 0027).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Wang et al. further teaches that the electronic device comprises a plurality of second camera units, and wherein the plurality of second camera units are at least partially coupled to and electrically connected with the first camera unit on different sides relative to the first camera unit (There may be three camera units (10, 20, 30), as shown in figures 17 and 33, paragraph 0300.).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Wang et al. further teaches that the plurality of second camera units comprise: a (2-1)th camera unit coupled to the first camera unit on a first side of the first camera unit; and a (2-2)th camera unit coupled to the first camera unit on a second side of the first camera unit (There may be three camera units (10, 20, 30), as shown in figures 17 and 33, paragraph 0300.).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 1 above, Wang et al. further teaches that the first printed circuit board (11) comprises: a connector (connection board, 128) at one end of the first printed circuit board (11, see figure 6); a first wire (first electrical connection element, 133) electrically connected to the first camera unit (10, see figure 6, paragraph 0306); and a second wire (second electrical connection element, 233) electrically connected to the second camera unit (20, see figure 6, paragraph 0306).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 13 above, Wang et al. further teaches that the first wire (133) and the second wire (233) each extend toward the connector (128) on a first surface of the first printed circuit board (11, see figure 6).
Consider claim 16, Wang et al. teaches:
An electronic device (see figures 6, 34A and 36) comprising:
a housing (electronic device body, 200, figure 36, paragraph 0397);
an external connection terminal (30) inside the housing (see figure 34A, paragraph 0385);
a first camera unit (first camera module unit, 10) adjacent to the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A, paragraph 0385), the first camera unit (10) comprising (see figure 6):
a first printed circuit board (first circuit board, 11, paragraph 0204),
a first lens assembly (first lens, 14, paragraph 0204) comprising a first image sensor (first photosensitive element, 13, paragraph 0204) on the first printed circuit board (11, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a first housing (first lens support element, 15, first base body, 123, paragraphs 0228 and 0217, figures 6 and 34A) in which the first lens assembly (14) is provided (see figure 6), and
a first contact electrically connected to the first printed circuit board (The right side of a connection circuit board (128) in figure 6 is a first contact as it contacts and is electrically connected to the first printed circuit board (11), paragraph 0250.); and
a second camera unit (second camera module unit, 20) adjacent to the first camera unit (10, see figures 6 and 34, paragraph 0204), the second camera unit (20) comprising (see figure 6):
a second printed circuit board (second circuit board, 21, paragraph 0204),
a second lens assembly (second lens, 24, paragraph 0204) comprising a second image sensor (second photosensitive element, 23, paragraph 0204) on the second printed circuit board (21, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a second housing (second lens support element, 25, second base body, 223, paragraphs 0231 and 0229, figures 6 and 34A) in which the second lens assembly (24) is provided (see figure 6), and at least partially coupled to the first housing (15, see figures 6 and 34A), and
a second contact contacting the second printed circuit board (21) and electrically connected to the second printed circuit board (The left side of a connection circuit board (128) in figure 6 is a second contact as it contacts and is electrically connected to the second printed circuit board (21), paragraph 0250.),
wherein the first contact (right side of connection board 128) is contacting the second contact (left side of connection board 128) and electrically connecting the first printed circuit board (11) to the second printed circuit board (21, see paragraph 0250), and
wherein the first printed circuit board (11) and the second printed circuit board (21) are electrically connected to the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A, paragraph 0385).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach that the first and second contacts are contact pins on at least one surface of the first and second housings, respectively.
Zhang et al. similarly teaches an electronic device (figures 8a, 8b, 9 and 10) having first and second camera units with first and second housings, respectively (See the first digital camera (11) and second digital camera (13), column 3, line 66 through column 4, line 1.).
However, Zhang et al. additionally teaches that the camera units (11, 13) communicate with each other via first and second contact pins (16, 18) on at least one surface of the first and second housings (11, 13, see figure 10), respectively (As detailed in column 5, lines 23-25, “Electrical communication can be effectuated using electrically conductive pins or the like as illustrated by electrical connections 16 and 18 in FIGS. 9 and 10.” Note that column 6, lines 36-38 details that the first and second digital cameras (11, 13) may be connected with or without the data port connector (30) of figure 10.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second contacts taught by Wang et al. be contact pins as taught by Zhang et al. as this only involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as enabling communication of signals between the first and second camera units.
The combination of Wang et al. and Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach that the external connection terminal is connected to a main circuit board by a plurality of electrical wires.
Yang similarly teaches an electronic device having first and second camera units (see figure 5) and an external connection terminal (connecting circuit board, 50) connected to an image shooting circuit board (20) of the camera units (see figure 5, paragraph 0037).
However, Yang additionally teaches that the external connection terminal (50) is connected to a main circuit board (“The image shooting circuit board 20 may transmit an electrical signal of the first image shooting assembly 30 and an electrical signal of the second image shooting assembly 40 to the main circuit board through the connecting circuit board 50, and the connecting circuit board 50 needs to be provided with wires for transmitting the electrical signal of the first image shooting assembly 30 and the electrical signal of the second image shooting circuit 40. As such, in order that the connecting circuit board 50 would not become too wide due to the wiring, the connecting circuit board 50 can be implemented as a double-layer or multilayer FPC.” paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the external connection terminal taught by the combination of Wang et al. and Zhang et al. be connected to a main circuit board via wires as taught by Yang for the benefit of enabling the first and second camera units to be installed on a main circuit board of the electronic device while providing efficient space utilization (Yang, paragraph 0027).
Consider claim 18, Wang et al. teaches:
An electronic device (see figures 6, 34A and 36) comprising:
a housing (electronic device body, 200, figure 36, paragraph 0397);
an external connection terminal (30) inside the housing (see figure 34A, paragraph 0385);
one or more first camera units (first camera module unit, 10) adjacent to the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A, paragraph 0385), the first camera unit (10) comprising (see figure 6):
a first printed circuit board (first circuit board, 11, paragraph 0204),
a first lens assembly (first lens, 14, paragraph 0204) comprising a first image sensor (first photosensitive element, 13, paragraph 0204) on the first printed circuit board (11, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a first housing (first lens support element, 15, first base body, 123, paragraphs 0228 and 0217, figures 6 and 34A) in which the first lens assembly (14) is provided (see figure 6), and
a first contact electrically connected to the first printed circuit board (The right side of a connection circuit board (128) in figure 6 is a first contact as it contacts and is electrically connected to the first printed circuit board (11), paragraph 0250.); and
one or more second camera units (second camera module unit, 20) adjacent to the one or more first camera units (10, see figures 6 and 34, paragraph 0204),
the one or more second camera units (20) comprising:
a second printed circuit board (second circuit board, 21, paragraph 0204),
a second lens assembly (second lens, 24, paragraph 0204) comprising a second image sensor (second photosensitive element, 23, paragraph 0204) on the second printed circuit board (21, see figure 6, paragraph 0205),
a second housing (second lens support element, 25, second base body, 223, paragraphs 0231 and 0229, figures 6 and 34A) in which the second lens assembly (24) is provided (see figure 6), and
at least partially coupled to the first housing (15) of at least one of the one or more first camera units (10, see figures 6 and 34A), and
a second contact contacting the second printed circuit board (21) and electrically connected to the second printed circuit board (The left side of a connection circuit board (128) in figure 6 is a second contact as it contacts and is electrically connected to the second printed circuit board (21), paragraph 0250.),
wherein, with respect to the one or more first camera units (10) and the one or more second camera units (20), the first contact (right side of connection board 128) is contacting the second contact (left side of connection board 128, see figure 6) and electrically connecting the first printed circuit board (11) to the second printed circuit (21) board respectively (see paragraph 0250), and
wherein the first printed circuit board (11) of the one or more first camera units (10) and the second printed circuit board (21) of the one or more second camera units (20) are electrically connected to the external connection terminal (30, see figure 34A, paragraph 0385).
Wang et al. does not explicitly teach that the first and second contacts are contact pins on at least one surface of the first and second housings, respectively.
Zhang et al. similarly teaches an electronic device (figures 8a, 8b, 9 and 10) having first and second camera units with first and second housings, respectively (See the first digital camera (11) and second digital camera (13), column 3, line 66 through column 4, line 1.).
However, Zhang et al. additionally teaches that the camera units (11, 13) communicate with each other via first and second contact pins (16, 18) on at least one surface of the first and second housings (11, 13, see figure 10), respectively (As detailed in column 5, lines 23-25, “Electrical communication can be effectuated using electrically conductive pins or the like as illustrated by electrical connections 16 and 18 in FIGS. 9 and 10.” Note that column 6, lines 36-38 details that the first and second digital cameras (11, 13) may be connected with or without the data port connector (30) of figure 10.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second contacts taught by Wang et al. be contact pins as taught by Zhang et al. as this only involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as enabling communication of signals between the first and second camera units.
The combination of Wang et al. and Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach that the external connection terminal is connected to a main circuit board by a plurality of electrical wires.
Yang similarly teaches an electronic device having first and second camera units (see figure 5) and an external connection terminal (connecting circuit board, 50) connected to an image shooting circuit board (20) of the camera units (see figure 5, paragraph 0037).
However, Yang additionally teaches that the external connection terminal (50) is connected to a main circuit board (“The image shooting circuit board 20 may transmit an electrical signal of the first image shooting assembly 30 and an electrical signal of the second image shooting assembly 40 to the main circuit board through the connecting circuit board 50, and the connecting circuit board 50 needs to be provided with wires for transmitting the electrical signal of the first image shooting assembly 30 and the electrical signal of the second image shooting circuit 40. As such, in order that the connecting circuit board 50 would not become too wide due to the wiring, the connecting circuit board 50 can be implemented as a double-layer or multilayer FPC.” paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the external connection terminal taught by the combination of Wang et al. and Zhang et al. be connected to a main circuit board via wires as taught by Yang for the benefit of enabling the first and second camera units to be installed on a main circuit board of the electronic device while providing efficient space utilization (Yang, paragraph 0027).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 18 above, Wang et al. further teaches that the one or more first camera units are at least partially coupled to one another directly (The is only one first camera unit, 10, figures 6 and 34A.), and wherein each of the one or more second camera units (20) is coupled to at least one of the one or more first camera units (10, see figures 6 and 34A).
Consider claim 20, and as applied to claim 19 above, Wang et al. further teaches that the one or more second camera units (20) are at least partially coupled to the one or more first camera units (10) on different sides of the one or more first camera units (10, see figures 6 and 34A), respectively (The is only one first camera unit (10) and one second camera unit (20), as is required by the claims, see claim 18 rationale, figures 6 and 34A.).
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0021720) in view of Zhang et al. (US 6,864,911) and Yang (US 2021/0067675) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2014/0078708).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, the combination of Wang et al., Zhang et al. and Yang does not explicitly teach that the first contact pin and the second contact pin each comprise an elastic material.
Song et al. similarly teaches a contact pin (contact pin, 180b, paragraph 0074), and further teaches that the contact pin comprises an elastic material (“In addition, an elastic contact pin 180b is placed on a surface of the printed circuit board 180 which faces the supporting member 104. The elastic contact pin 180b, for example, may be Pogo pin, C-Clip and the like.” paragraph 0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first contact pin and second contact pin taught by the combination of Wang et al., Zhang et al. and Yang each comprise an elastic material as taught by Song et al. for the benefit of providing a structure for maintaining a fixed state of a camera module onto a preset position and preventing foreign materials from permeating into the camera module (Song et al., paragraph 0009).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0021720) in view of Zhang et al. (US 6,864,911) and Yang (US 2021/0067675) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2017/0244877), hereinafter referred to as Wang ‘877.
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, the combination of Wang et al., Zhang et al. and Yang does not explicitly teach that the electronic device comprises a plurality of first camera units and a plurality of second camera units, wherein the plurality of first camera units are at least partially coupled to one another, and wherein each of the plurality of second camera units is at least partially coupled to and electrically connected with at least one of the plurality of first camera units.
Wang ‘877 similarly teaches a dual camera module (figures 2A and 17), and further teaches that the electronic device may comprise a 2x2 array of camera modules (see figure 18, paragraph 0305).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electronic device taught by the combination of Wang et al., Zhang et al. and Yang comprise a plurality of first camera units and a plurality of second camera units connected in a 2x2 array as taught by Wang ‘877 for the benefit of enabling twice as many views to be captured while achieving lightness and thinness of the array imaging module (Wang ‘877, paragraph 0016).
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, the combination of Wang et al., Zhang et al. and Yang does not explicitly teach that the plurality of first camera units comprise: a (1-1)th camera unit; and a (1-2)th camera unit coupled to a first side of the (1-1)th camera unit, and wherein the plurality of second camera units comprise: a (2-1)th camera unit that is coupled to the (1-1)th camera unit on a second side opposite to the first side; and a (2-2)th camera unit coupled to the (1-2)th camera unit on a side opposite to a side at which the (1-1)th camera unit is coupled.
Wang ‘877 further teaches that the plurality of first camera units comprise: a (1-1)th camera unit; and a (1-2)th camera unit coupled to a first side of the (1-1)th camera unit, and wherein the plurality of second camera units comprise: a (2-1)th camera unit that is coupled to the (1-1)th camera unit on a second side opposite to the first side; and a (2-2)th camera unit coupled to the (1-2)th camera unit on a side opposite to a side at which the (1-1)th camera unit is coupled (see figure 18, paragraph 0305).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electronic device taught by the combination of Wang et al., Zhang et al. and Yang comprise a plurality of first camera units and a plurality of second camera units connected in a 2x2 array as taught by Wang ‘877 for the benefit of enabling twice as many views to be captured while achieving lightness and thinness of the array imaging module (Wang ‘877, paragraph 0016).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 12, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 2, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the first contact pin comprises a plurality of first connection pins at intervals on the at least one surface of the first housing, and a plurality of coupling pins with the plurality of first connection pins therebetween, wherein the first housing comprises a plurality of coupling areas in which the plurality of coupling pins are provided, wherein the second contact pin comprises a plurality of second connection pins at intervals on the at least one surface of the second housing, and a plurality of fixing pins with the plurality of second connection pins therebetween, wherein the plurality of first connection pins are in contact with the plurality of second connection pins, and wherein the plurality of fixing pins are in contact with the plurality of coupling pins in the plurality of coupling areas, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 3 contains allowable subject matter as depending from claim 2.
Consider claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the first housing comprises a coupling opening on one side of the first contact pin, wherein the second housing comprises a protrusion on one side of the second contact pin, and wherein the protrusion is inserted into the coupling opening, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 1.
Claims 6 and 7 contain allowable subject matter as depending from claim 5.
Consider claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the (1-2)th camera unit comprises an intermediate pin that comprises an elastic material and is configured to provide elastic resistance between the (1-1)th camera unit and the (1-2)th camera unit., in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 1, 10 and 11.
Consider claim 15, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the first wire extends toward the connector on a first surface of the first printed circuit board, and the second wire extends toward the connector on a second surface of the first printed circuit board, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 1 and 13.
Consider claim 17, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the second contact pin comprises a plurality of second connection pins at intervals on the at least one surface of the second housing, and a plurality of fixing pins with the plurality of second connection pins therebetween, wherein the first housing comprises a plurality of coupling areas corresponding to the plurality of fixing pins, and wherein the plurality of fixing pins are inserted into the plurality of coupling areas, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asai et al. (US 2006/0098969) teaches an imaging unit (figure 1) with contact pins (motor signal terminals, 13) on an outside surface of a housing thereof (see figure 1(a)).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637