DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The reference number in claims 1-15 should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “a control device” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “device” coupled with function “control” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a control device” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a controller” see figure 7. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “an opening mechanism” in claim 4 includes a generic/nonce term “mechanism” coupled with function “opening” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “an opening mechanism” can be implemented in various ways, such as “an actuator” 12 and “a thrust element” 13; see figure 4. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (CN116067072A) in view of Kim et al. (EP3470757B1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses refrigerator comprising:
a main body (see figure 4) provided with a cooling chamber (120; see figure 4);
a door (110) hinged to the main body (see figure 4) and movable between a stationary closed position, in which the door (110) closes the cooling chamber (see figure 4), and a fully open position (see figure 4);
a position sensor (121, 122 and 111) configured to detect current positions (opening degree of the revolving door body 110) of a reference portion (111) of the door (110) relative to a reference portion (121 and 122) of the main body (see figure 4);
a lighting system (131) comprising at least one light source (the lamp) arranged within the chamber (120; see figure 4);
a control device (140), configured to activate the at least one light source (the lamp) in response to a command (signal) given by a user on the door (110; see figure 4);
the control device (140) being configured to activate the at least one light source (the lamp) when the variation of the current position (the opening degree of the door 110 in the second state) with respect to a reference position (the position of door) is greater (exceeds), in absolute value, than an activation threshold (the second preset opening degree; paragraph 3-4 of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 16).
However, Zhu fails to disclose the door (110) being provided with at least one transparent portion.
Kim teaches a refrigerator comprising a door being provided with at least one transparent portion (paragraph 1 of page 3 and lines 13-15 of page 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the refrigerator of Zhu to incorporate the claimed transparent feature for door as taught by Kim in order to visually observe the interior condition of the cooling storage.
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses the control device (140) is configured to identify an open-door condition (the door is opened) on the basis of the current position (the opening degree in the first state or second state) detected (paragraphs 3-4 of page 14).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses the control device (140) is configured to switch off the at least one light source (the illuminating lamp) if, after switching on the at least one light source (the lamp), an open-door condition (the first switch and second switch are in the off state) is not detected within a time limit (when the accumulated second duration exceeds the second preset time; the last paragraph of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 15).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu discloses the control device (140) is configured to activate the at least one light source (the lamp) when the user exerts pressure (the push; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the open or close of the door by the user is eight push or pull) on the door (110) such that the variation of the current position (the opening degree of the door) is negative and exceeds, in absolute value, the activation threshold (the second preset opening degree; the last paragraph of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 15).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu discloses the control device (140) is configured to activate the at least one light source (lamp) when the user exerts a pull (it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date that the open or close of the door by the user is eight push or pull) on the door (110) such that the variation of the current position (the opening degree of the door) is positive and greater, in absolute value, than the activation threshold (the second preset opening degree; the last paragraph of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 15).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu as modified discloses method for controlling the automatic lighting of a refrigerator (see figure 4); the refrigerator comprising:
a main body provided with a cooling chamber (130; see figure 4);
a door (110) hinged to the main body and movable between a stationary closed position, in which the door (110) closes the cooling chamber (130), and a fully open position (see figure 4); the door (110) being provided with at least one transparent portion (see paragraph 1 of page 3 and lines 13-15 of page 5 of Kim);
a position sensor (111, 121 and 122) configured to detect current positions (the opening degree of the door 110) of a reference portion (111) of the door (110) relative to a reference portion (121 and 122) of the main body (see figure 4);
a lighting system (131) comprising at least one light source (the illuminating lamp) arranged within the chamber (130; see figure 4);
the method comprising the step of activating the at least one light source (the lamp) in response to a command (open or close of the door 110) given by a user on the door (110; see figure 4); the step of activating the at least one light source (the lamp) comprising activating the at least one light source (lamp) when the variation of the current position (the opening degree of the door 110) with respect to a reference position (the position of the door) is greater, in absolute value, than an activation threshold (the second preset opening degree; paragraph 3-4 of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 16).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu as modified discloses the steps of: identifying an open-door condition (opening of door 110) on the basis of the current position detected (the detected opening degree of the door; the last paragraph of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 15);
switching-off the at least one light source (the lamp extinguished) if, after switching on the at least one light source (11), an open-door condition (the opening degree of the door corresponding to the first and second switches are in off state) is not detected within a time limit (the last paragraph of page 14 to paragraph 1 of page 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference Zhu taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed control features of the refrigerator as required in claim 4-10 and 13. Ito (CN108375268A) teaches an opening mechanism configured to push a door (15) from the stationary closed position towards the fully open position in response to an opening command issued by a user (31; see figures 1-4). Chang et al. (CN107076503A) teaches an opening mechanism (25; see figure 1-4) configured to push a door (15) from the stationary closed position towards the fully open position in response to an opening command issued by a user (see figures 1-17). The prior art of record fails to provide further teachings or motivation to modify the refrigerator of Zhu to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claims 4-10 and 13 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763