DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 states “…displayed independently from the the unit parts…”. One of the “the” should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 4 identifies the uniquely distinct features inter alia “estimation is performed by excluding records for procedures relating to the sub part.” In particular, the concept of excluding information pertaining to the sub-part when determining what to display as it relates to the main part, in association with the rest of the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sawai (US 2024/0179250).
Regarding Claim 1, Sawai teaches an information provision system providing information relating to a procedure for an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 21), the information provision system comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Paragraph 41, wherein there is memory); and
a processor executing the instructions (Paragraph 43, wherein there is a CPU) causing the information processing system to:
provide information including one or more corresponding locations in the image forming apparatus for which it has been estimated that a procedure is recommended, and procedure contents for the procedure with respect to the one or more corresponding locations (Paragraph 64, wherein it can display that a replacement for the part is needed),
wherein provision of information is performed such that a unit part for which the procedure is recommended, and a sub part for which the procedure is recommended and that is included in the unit part are both displayed independently as the corresponding locations (Fig. 9A and B and paragraphs 203-222, wherein a subpart can also be displayed to show what subpart needs to be replaced).
Regarding Claim 7, Sawai further teaches wherein the sub part for which the procedure is recommended and that is displayed independently from the unit part is sub part that has been defined in advance (Paragraph 203, wherein the subparts are known and displayed as separate line items).
Regarding Claim 8, Sawai further teaches wherein the procedure for the image forming apparatus is a procedure for resolving an error that has occurred in the image forming apparatus, and a procedure for dealing with an event that is predicted from operational information for the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 62, wherein a replacement part is needed in event of a failure).
Regarding Claim 9, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawai (US 2024/0179250) in view of Asakimori (US 2009/0089076).
Regarding Claim 2, Sawai does not teach wherein the sub part for which a procedure is recommended that is displayed independently from the the unit parts is determined based on ratios of numbers of records for processing for the sub part in comparison to numbers of records for processing for the unit part and all sub parts that are included in the unit part.
Asakimori does teach wherein the sub part for which a procedure is recommended that is displayed independently from the the unit parts is determined based on ratios of numbers of records for processing for the sub part in comparison to numbers of records for processing for the unit part and all sub parts that are included in the unit part (Fig. 16A and paragraphs 131 and 154-160, wherein there are replacement values and notification reference values, which are ratios for comparison of replacement of the parts to determine what needs to be replaced for each sub-part against the main part).
Sawai and Asakimori are combinable because they both deal with replacement of sub-parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawai with the teachings of Asakimori for the purpose of having more customizable replacement of parts (Asakimori: Paragraph 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Sawai does not teach wherein the processor further executes an instruction causing the information provision system to
estimate the recommended corresponding locations and the procedure for the image forming apparatus based on information that has been acquired from the image forming apparatus and records of past procedures,
wherein in a case in which a number of procedure records for a specific sub part that is included in a unit part exceeds a predetermined ratio in relation to a total number of procedure records of a number of procedure records for the unit part and a number of procedure records for all sub parts included in the unit part, it is estimated that the specific sub part is the sub part for which the procedure is recommended.
Asakimori does teach wherein the processor further executes an instruction causing the information provision system to
estimate the recommended corresponding locations and the procedure for the image forming apparatus based on information that has been acquired from the image forming apparatus and records of past procedures (Paragraphs 174-189, wherein it is determined about when a replacement is going to be needed for the sub-parts),
wherein in a case in which a number of procedure records for a specific sub part that is included in a unit part exceeds a predetermined ratio in relation to a total number of procedure records of a number of procedure records for the unit part and a number of procedure records for all sub parts included in the unit part, it is estimated that the specific sub part is the sub part for which the procedure is recommended (Paragraphs 174-189, wherein it is determined about when a replacement is going to be needed for the sub-parts as related to the other parts).
Sawai and Asakimori are combinable because they both deal with replacement of sub-parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawai with the teachings of Asakimori for the purpose of having more customizable replacement of parts (Asakimori: Paragraph 10).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawai (US 2024/0179250) in view of Asakimori (US 2009/0089076) further in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 5, Sawai does not teach wherein ratios for replacement records corresponding to the corresponding locations are included in the information that is provided; and
in a case in which the corresponding locations for which the procedure is recommended are displayed based on the provision of the information, the corresponding locations are displayed in order of the highest ratios for the replacement records.
Asakimori does teach wherein ratios for replacement records corresponding to the corresponding locations are included in the information that is provided (Fig. 16A and paragraphs 131 and 154-160, wherein there are replacement values and notification reference values, which are ratios for comparison of replacement of the parts to determine what needs to be replaced for each sub-part against the main part); and
in a case in which the corresponding locations for which the procedure is recommended are displayed based on the provision of the information, the corresponding locations are displayed (Fig. 16A and paragraphs 131 and 154-160, wherein there are replacement values and notification reference values, which are ratios for comparison of replacement of the parts to determine what needs to be replaced for each sub-part against the main part. This is displayed).
Sawai and Asakimori are combinable because they both deal with replacement of sub-parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawai with the teachings of Asakimori for the purpose of having more customizable replacement of parts (Asakimori: Paragraph 10).
Sawai in view of Asakimori does not teach displayed in order of the highest ratios for the replacement records.
Official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to display items in order of highest to lowest. This is a known sort method when displaying. In this case, it would allow for the preferential display of items that are more in need of being replaced/serviced.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sawai in view of Asakimori with the teachings of ordering from highest to lowest to allow for preferential display of need of replacement to the user.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawai (US 2024/0179250) in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 6, Sawai does not teach wherein the processor receives a selection of whether to limit the corresponding locations to only the unit part, or whether to make the corresponding locations both the unit part and the sub part, and provides information including the corresponding locations according to the selection, and procedure contents for each of the corresponding locations.
Official notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a hidden function to hide the sub-parts being shown. This is a known feature, wherein the main aspect can be shown and the subparts are hidden from view until the main part is selected to reveal any subparts. This helps clear up any confusion for the user while providing a more compact screen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Sawai with the teachings of a hidden menu to allow for a more compact design and easier readability for the user when looking at subparts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional part art of A, C, D, and F relates to replacement of components for image forming apparatuses.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699