DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by von Flotow et al. (hereinafter von Flotow, US Publication Number 20170274997).
Regarding claim 1, von Flotow discloses a docking assembly for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figure 1a element 100), the docking assembly comprising: a bottom (Figure 1a bottom of element 122c); and an alignment feature on the bottom and configured to engage a docking feature on a top of the UAV to direct the UAV towards a first position (Figure 1a element 124),wherein the alignment feature is configured to encourage a lateral movement of the UAV through a tapered docking path toward the first position (Figures 1a and 3a-c).
Regarding claim 2, see figure 2 element 174 and figures 3c-d.
Regarding claim 3, see figures 3c-d and paragraph 58.
Regarding claim 4, see figure 1a element 124.
Regarding claim 5, von Flotow discloses a docking assembly for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figure 1a element 100), the docking assembly comprising: a bottom (Figure 1a bottom of element 122c); and a guiding feature on the bottom and configured to engage a docking feature on a top of the UAV to direct the UAV towards a first position (Figure 1a element 124), wherein the guiding feature defines a funnel configured to encourage a lateral movement of the UAV toward the first position (Figure 1 element 124 and Figures 3a-c).
Regarding claim 8, see figure 1a elements 126 and 128.
Regarding claim 9, von Flotow discloses a system (Figures 3a-d element 100 and 200)comprising: an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figure 2 element 200) comprising a top (Figure 2 unlabeled top of element 210); and a docking feature on the top (Figure 2 elements 250, 252 and 254); and a docking assembly (Figure 1a element 100) comprising a bottom (Figure 1a bottom of element 122c) and a guiding feature on the bottom and configured to receive the docking feature to direct the UAV towards a first position (Figure 1a element 124), wherein the guiding feature is configured to encourage a lateral movement of the UAV toward the first position (Figure 1a and Figures 3a-c).
Regarding claim 10, see figure 2 element 252.
Regarding claim 11, see figure 2 element 252 and figure 3d.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by Audrain (US Patent Number 1836010).
Regarding claim 1, Audrain discloses a docking assembly for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figures 1 and 2), the docking assembly comprising: a bottom (Figures 1 and 2 bottom of element 8); and an alignment feature on the bottom and configured to engage a docking feature on a top of the UAV to direct the UAV towards a first position (Figure 2 element 7), wherein the alignment feature is configured to encourage a lateral movement of the UAV through a tapered docking path toward the first position (Page 1 lines 63-90).
Regarding claim 4, see figure 3.
Regarding claim 5, Audrain discloses a docking assembly for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figures 1 and 2), the docking assembly comprising: a bottom (Figures 1 and 2 bottom of element 8); and a guiding feature on the bottom and configured to engage a docking feature on a top of the UAV to direct the UAV towards a first position (Figures 2 and 3 element 7), wherein the guiding feature defines a funnel configured to encourage a lateral movement of the UAV toward the first position (Figure 3 element 7, Page 1 lines 63-90).
Regarding claim 8, see figure 3 elements 7 and 12.
Claim(s) 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Gil et al. (hereinafter Gil, US Publication Number 20250136306).
Regarding claim 13, Gil discloses a docking assembly for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figure 2 element 10), the docking assembly comprising: a support assembly (Figure 2 element 18); and a guide at a top of the support assembly, wherein the guide is configured to: capture an element extending from a top of the UAV, and guide the UAV to a captured position (Figure 2 element 20 and Figure 11). The examiner notes that the claim requires neither the UAV nor that the guide actually capture anything, but merely that it have the capability of capturing an element. The claim does not provide any structure that would differentiate the claimed guide from any given guide and as such the guide of Gil can be considered to be configured as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, see figure 2 element 32. The examiner that the claim requires neither the UAV nor dependent vehicle, but merely that it have the capability of receiving the dependent vehicle. The claim does not provide any structure that would differentiate the claimed loading duct from any given duct, nor does is provide any description of the dependent vehicle and as such the loading duct of Gil can be considered to be configured as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, see figure 2 element 32. The examiner that the claim requires neither the UAV nor dependent vehicle, but merely that it have the capability of receiving the dependent vehicle. The claim does not provide any structure that would differentiate the claimed loading duct from any given duct, nor does is provide any description of the dependent vehicle and as such the loading duct of Gil can be considered to be configured as claimed.
Regarding claim 16, see figure 3 element 24.
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by Sisko (US Publication Number 20150158599).
Regarding claim 17, Sisko discloses a docking assembly for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figure 3), the docking assembly comprising: a loading duct configured to guide the UAV to a loading position (Figure 3 element 140); and a guide extending from the loading duct and configured to guide the UAV into alignment with the loading duct (Figures 2 and 3 element 120 and Paragraph 20).
Regarding claim 18, see figure 3 element 131 and paragraph 20.
Regarding claim 19, see paragraph 26.
Regarding claim 20, see figure 2 elements 132, 134 and 138. The examiner notes that the UAV is not positively claimed and the further details of the UAV do not constitute a positive recitation but merely an intended use of the docking assembly. As the claim does not provide any structure that would differential a loading duct for the specific UAV from any given UAV, the loading duct of Sisko can be considered configured as claimed and for the UAV as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Flotow as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gil.
Regarding claim 12, von Flotow discloses the above system, but fails to disclose multiple docking assemblies.
However, Gil discloses a similar system (Figures 2-5) with multiple docking assemblies that are operable at the same time (Figure 3 element 20).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of von Flotow to have multiple docking assemblies as in Gil for the predictable result of allowing the handling of several UAVs simultaneously (Gil, Paragraph 26).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 (rejecting claim 1) and 2 (rejecting claims 2 and 3) of U.S. Patent No. 12304670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of USPN 12304670 are a more specific version of claims 1-3 of the instant application. As such they patented claims form a species that anticipate the genus claims of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 12428175 discloses a docking assembly that connected to a capture element on top of a UAV.
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644