DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Skliar (9212956).
Skliar discloses a transducer for sending and receiving an ultrasonic pulse (Col 8, lines 32-33); and a longitudinally elongate fiber in ultrasonic communication with the transducer and having a proximal end joined to the transducer (Col 8, lines 15-20) and configured to receive an ultrasonic pulse therefrom (Col 8, lines 45-56) and a distal end remote from the proximal end and configured to reflect ultrasonic pulses towards the transducer (Col 8, lines 61-63), the distal end being disposable in an extreme environment (Col 8, lines 13-14), the fiber being segmented by a plurality of longitudinally spaced apart echogenic features intermediate the proximal end and the distal end (Col 8, lines 23-25), each echogenic feature being configured to reflect a respective portion of the ultrasonic pulse back to the transducer (Col 8, lines 41-42) and circumscribing the fiber (Col 9, lines 40-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skliar in view of Varela (4483630).
With respect to claim 2, Skliar teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach a pulser generator in ultrasonic communication with the transducer and a display configured to show results from processing waveforms received from the transducer.
Varela teaches a pulser generator in ultrasonic communication with the transducer (Col 3, lines 51-53) and a display configured to show results from processing waveforms received from the transducer (Col 7, lines 20-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Skliar with the pulse generator and display of Varela since such a modification would have allowed for better control of the acoustic pulse and better accessibility for a user operator.
With respect to claim 3, Skliar as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. It further teaches the echogenic features circumscribing the fiber comprises collars (Col 9, lines 40-41).
With respect to claim 4, Skliar as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. It further teaches from 5 to 10 collars (Fig 7).
With respect to claim 5, Skliar as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. It further teaches the distal end being disposed in an extreme environment (Col 8, lines 13-14), the proximal end and transducer being remote therefrom and not in the extreme environment (Col 8, lines 12-13). It teaches the distance between backscatterers is 2mm to about 2cm (Col 9, lines 1-3). Therefore, if the fiber has at minimum two backscatterers as required by Skliar at a distance between backscatterers, Skliar would teach the fiber has a length from the proximal end to the distal end of 0.01 meter to 30 meters.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skliar in view of Varela, and further in view of Sabraoui (2022/0146330).
Skliar as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the pulse generator emits a square wave.
Sabraoui teaches the pulse generator emits a square wave ([0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Skliar with the square wave of Sabraoui since such a modification would have led to a cleaner and easily detectable signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645