Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are all the claims pending in the application.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 13 are amended.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
The following is a Final Office Action in response to amendments and remarks filed August 12, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 112(a) and (b) rejections, the rejections are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Regarding the 103 rejections, the rejections are withdrawn at least because the cited references do not teach generating and displaying notifications following an upload or validation, as claimed. Please see below for the new 103 rejections of the claims as amended.
Additionally, please note, the claims are no longer being interpreted under 112(f) because the amendments have removed the language triggering the 112(f) interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logan et al., US Pub. No. 2021/0409518, herein referred to as “Logan”, in view of Chan et al., US Pub. No. 2014/0136939, herein referred to as “Chan”; further in view of Davis et al., US Pub. No. 2016/0085793, herein referred to as “Davis”.
Regarding claim 1, Logan teaches:
a client device, including an add-in that operates as a design tool and runtime process (client system in communication with webservice, e.g., ¶¶[0059]-[0061] and Fig. 1, and add-in ¶¶[0008], [0051]; see also ¶¶[0163]-[0166] and Fig. 15 discussing computer components)
to obtain web service metadata that determines one or more capabilities of those web services (downloads data from server to populate spreadsheet including updating columns of fields with newly added custom action, ¶[0094] and Fig. 3; see also ¶¶[0090]-[0093] discussing related process);
wherein the metadata is used to automatically configure an editable table component in a spreadsheet for use with a web service (updates columns of fields with newly added custom action, ¶[0094]; see also ¶[0105] discussing updating spreadsheet layout; and e.g., ¶¶[0008], [0042] discussing web service),
wherein the table component is used to retrieve data, edit the data in the spreadsheet, or upload changes back to the web service, or provide validations, recommendations, or other functionalities (populates spreadsheet with retrieved data, e.g., ¶¶[0094], [0101], [0109]; see also ¶[0058] noting spreadsheet is used to create, retrieve, update, and delete (referred to as “CRUD operations” in Logan) server-side data);
and task-tracking of action items associated with spreadsheets having large amounts of cells (includes custom actions like “submit,” “approve,” “close,” etc., to the invoices or POs, ¶[0080], and shows status of actions e.g., ¶¶[0120], [0126] and Figs. 6 and 8; see also ¶[0121] noting spreadsheets include thousands of rows).
However Logan does not teach but Chan does teach:
and wherein the add-in provides navigation, inspection, correction, and task-tracking of action items associated with spreadsheets having a plurality of cells (vector viewing control including markers that are presented to indicate the location along the vector viewing control of certain cells within the data table including highly relevant data, ¶¶[0022], [0025] and Figs. 2C and 3A);
wherein in response to interaction with the user interface notifications, the system provides navigation between the one or more cells that correspond to successive action items (vector viewing control including markers that are presented to indicate the location along the vector viewing control of certain cells within the data table including highly relevant data, ¶¶[0022], [0025] and Figs. 2C and 3A)
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the spreadsheet integrated with web services of Logan with the vector viewing control of Chan because Chan explicitly suggests using the vector viewing control in spreadsheets with too much data to quickly scan or is formatted in a way that it is hard to visually consume, ¶[0001] of Chan, (i.e., like those in Logan with thousands of rows, ¶[0022] of Logan); see also MPEP 2143.I(G).
However the combination of Logan and Chan does not teach but Davis does teach:
to display within a user interface those cells necessitating user review or action (popup and border highlights indicate errors, ¶¶[0109]-[0110] and Figs. 9 and 10)
wherein following an upload or validation associated with the web service, of changes made to the spreadsheet at the client device (validation of data, ¶[0105] and Fig. 8; see also ¶[0093] discussing uploading)
the add-in generates and displays within the user interface notifications indicative that one or more cells necessitate user review or action (popup and border highlights indicate errors, ¶¶[0109]-[0110] and Figs. 9 and 10).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the spreadsheet integrated with web services and vector viewing control of Logan and Chan with the validation and notifications of Davis because Davis explicitly suggests doing so to report failures to users promptly and close to the error, which users prefer, ¶¶[0090], [0093]; see also MPEP 2143.I(G).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Logan, Chan and Davis teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Logan further teaches:
wherein the action items are one or more of upload result action items or data validations (uploads changes for implementation of the associated actions and the status of each action will then be returned and subsequently shown in the change/status, ¶[0120])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Logan, Chan and Davis teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Chan further teaches:
together with a navigation icon, window, drop-down menu, or selectable buttons that assists the user in navigating between action items associated with the spreadsheet and the relevant cells (vector viewing control including markers that are presented to indicate the location along the vector viewing control of certain cells within the data table including highly relevant data, ¶¶[0022], [0025] and Figs. 2C and 3A).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the spreadsheet integrated with web services of Logan with the vector viewing control of Chan because Chan explicitly suggests using the vector viewing control in spreadsheets with too much data to quickly scan or is formatted in a way that it is hard to visually consume, ¶[0001] of Chan, (i.e., like those in Logan with thousands of rows, ¶[0022] of Logan); see also MPEP 2143.I(G).
However the combination of Logan and Chan does not teach but Davis does teach:
wherein a user interface can additionally include a status window that displays information associated with cells necessitating user review or action, to address upload results or data validations (popup and border highlights indicate errors, ¶¶[0109]-[0110] and Figs. 9 and 10. Further, please note, Examiner finds that the limitations specifying the status window is displaying information to address upload results or data validations does not substantially further limit the scope of the claim because the specific information being displayed does not functionally alter or relate to the system and merely labeling the information does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention, see MPEP 2111.05).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the spreadsheet integrated with web services and vector viewing control of Logan and Chan with the validation and notifications of Davis because Davis explicitly suggests doing so to report failures to users promptly and close to the error, which users prefer, ¶¶[0090], [0093]; see also MPEP 2143.I(G).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Logan, Chan and Davis teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and Logan further teaches:
wherein the system can generate a notification indicative that a particular cell necessitates user review or action, which can be displayed alongside the cell with the cell highlighted in some manner (displays an indicator specifying whether or not a custom action process has failed, ¶[0142]; see also ¶[0126] and Fig. 8 discussing the corresponding field of the change/status column indicating the operations had not succeeded).
However Logan does not teach but Chan does teach:
wherein in response to user interactions, the system automatically scrolls to and selects the cell that corresponds to a next action item or relevant cell to allow the user to review and correct the issue (vector viewing control including markers that are presented to indicate the location along the vector viewing control of certain cells within the data table including highly relevant data, ¶¶[0022], [0025] and Figs. 2C and 3A, based on a pointer being positioned through user interactions, ¶[0024]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the spreadsheet integrated with web services of Logan with the vector viewing control of Chan because Chan explicitly suggests using the vector viewing control in spreadsheets with too much data to quickly scan or is formatted in a way that it is hard to visually consume, ¶[0001] of Chan, (i.e., like those in Logan with thousands of rows, ¶[0022] of Logan); see also MPEP 2143.I(G).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Logan and Chan teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Logan further teaches:
wherein the system is provided as part of a cloud computing system (server is a cloud based system, ¶¶[0065], [0170]).
Regarding claims 6-15, claims 6-15 recite similar limitations as claims 1-5 and accordingly are rejected for similar reasons as claims 1-5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Davis et al., US Pub. No. 2019/0095413 teaches a similar spreadsheet based system
Black et al, US at. No. 8,205,010 teaches a similar spreadsheet based system
Stachura, US Pub. No. 2020/0150938 teaches a similar spreadsheet for controlling webpages
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN S O'SHEA/Examiner, Art Unit 3626