DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a bonding apparatus for bonding a second substrate to a first substrate, the bonding apparatus comprising:
a support unit configured to support the first substrate (Figure 6a-6c, item 10); and
a bonding unit above the support unit and configured to attach the second substrate (Figure 3 and 6a-6c, item 32);
wherein the bonding unit includes:
a tip member facing the support unit (Figure 7A, item 32 and col 4, ln 49-64); and
a head member on the tip member (Figure 6c, item 30 and 314 and col 4, ln 34-48 );
wherein the tip member includes:
a first part having a first region and a second region surrounding the first region,
wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form a vacuum in the second region (Figure 7A, item A2 and col 4, ln 58- col 5, ln 52); and
a second part extending from the first part toward the head member (Figure 7A, item A1); and
wherein an area of a transverse section of the first part is less than an area of a transverse section of the second part (Figure 7A).
Yu teaches a pushing element to protrude over an attaching surface A21 (Figure 7A and Col 8, ln 1-21). Yu teaches different embodiments(Figure 10A and 10 B and Col 9, ln 16- Col 10, ln 20).
Yu does not teach the bonding apparatus is configured to eject a gas from the first region.
Okamoto teaches a semiconductor device assembly die attach apparatus comprising a body with a vacuum groove at the edge and a chamber for expelling pressurized gas (Figure 1, 2A, 2B and Col 4, ln 18-66). Okamoto teaches the convex surface of the die 14, as indicated by arrows 34, tends to expel air from between the die 14 and die attach adhesive 30 during the ultimate placement of the die, reducing the frequency and magnitude of void formation (Col 4, ln 51- Col 5, ln 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yu with the pressurized gas port, chamber, and source of Okamoto to yield the predictable result of providing a convex surface for die placement as taught by Okamoto and desired by Yu.
Accordingly, the head and the tip members of Yu in view of Okamoto would be modified with the gas chamber and channel of Okamoto in order to provide the pressurization.
Regarding claim 2, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to eject the gas such that a portion of the second substrate corresponding to the first region is protruded toward the first substrate by the ejected gas (Okamoto, Col 4, ln 18-66);
the bonding apparatus is configured to form the vacuum such that another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region is attached to the second region by the vacuum (Yu, Col 5, ln 26-60); and
the bonding apparatus is configured to move the bonding unit toward the support unit such that the protruding portion of the second substrate comes into contact with the first substrate, and the second substrate is bonded to the first substrate (Yu, Figure 6a-6g).
Regarding claim 8, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein the tip includes metal (Yu, Col 4, ln 58-64).
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches a bonding apparatus for bonding a second substrate to a first substrate, the bonding apparatus comprising:
a support unit configured to support the first substrate (Figure 6a-6c, item 10); and
a bonding unit above the support unit and configured to attach the second substrate (Figure 3 and 6a-6c, item 32);
wherein the bonding unit includes:
a tip member facing the support unit (Figure 7A, item 32 and col 4, ln 49-64); and
a head member on the tip member (Figure 6c, item 30 and 314 and col 4, ln 34-48 );
wherein the tip member includes:
a first part having a first region and a second region surrounding the first region,
wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form a vacuum in the second region (Figure 7A, item A2 and col 4, ln 58- col 5, ln 52); and
a second part extending from the first part toward the head member (Figure 7A, item A1); and
wherein an area of a transverse section of the first part is less than an area of a transverse section of the second part (Figure 7A).
Yu teaches a pushing element to protrude over an attaching surface A21 (Figure 7A and Col 8, ln 1-21).
Yu teaches the bonding apparatus is configured to attach another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region to the second region using the negative pressure (Figure 6A-6G); and
the bonding apparatus is configured to move the bonding unit toward the support unit such that the protruding portion of the second substrate comes into contact with the first substrate, and the second substrate is bonded to the first substrate (Figure 6A-6G and Col 6, ln 51- Col 7, ln 67).
Yu teaches different embodiments (Figure 10A and 10 B Col 9, ln 16- Col 10, ln 20).
Yu does not teach:
the bonding apparatus is configured to eject a gas from the first region;
the bonding apparatus is configured to protrude a portion of the second substrate
corresponding to the first region toward the first substrate using the positive pressure, and
the bonding apparatus is configured to attach another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region to the second region using the negative pressure.
Okamoto teaches a semiconductor device assembly die attach apparatus comprising a body with a vacuum groove at the edge and a chamber for expelling pressurized gas (Figure 1, 2A, 2B and Col 4, ln 18-66). Okamoto teaches the convex surface of the die 14, as indicated by arrows 34, tends to expel air from between the die 14 and die attach adhesive 30 during the ultimate placement of the die, reducing the frequency and magnitude of void formation (Col 4, ln 51- Col 5, ln 7).
Specifically, Okamoto teaches a collet including a first region and a second region surrounding the first region, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to generate a positive pressure toward the first substrate in the first region (Figure 1 and 2A, item 24, 26, and 28), and the bonding apparatus is configured to generate a negative pressure toward the head member in the second region (Figure 1 and 2A, 16 18, 20, 22);
wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to protrude a portion of the second substrate corresponding to the first region toward the first substrate using the positive pressure (Figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yu with the pressurized gas port, chamber, and source of Okamoto to yield the predictable result of providing a convex surface for die placement as taught by Okamoto and desired by Yu.
Accordingly, the head and the tip members of Yu in view of Okamoto would be modified with the gas chamber and channel of Okamoto in order to provide the pressurization.
Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the bonding apparatus is configured to attach another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region to the second region using the negative pressure (Figure 6A-6G); and
the bonding apparatus is configured to move the bonding unit toward the support unit such that the protruding portion of the second substrate comes into contact with the first substrate, and the second substrate is bonded to the first substrate (Figure 6A-6G and Col 6, ln 51- Col 7, ln 67).
Regarding claim 11, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 9.
Yu in view of Okamoto does not teach a magnitude of the negative pressure in
the second region is greater than a magnitude of the positive pressure in the second region.
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Given that the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto is identical to the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto would be capable of performing the same function, including providing a negative pressure in the second region is greater than a magnitude of the positive pressure in the second region.
Regarding claim 16, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 9, wherein the tip includes metal (Yu, Col 4, ln 58-64).
Claim(s) 4-7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507), as applied to claim 1 and 9, in further view of Takahashi (PG-PUB 2010/0267317).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1, wherein at least one positive pressure hole formed in the first region, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form a positive pressure by ejecting the gas through the at least one positive pressure hole (Okamoto, Figure 3 and 4a-c).
Yu in view of Okamoto does not teach:
a trench formed in the second region;
a plurality of negative pressure holes formed in the trench, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form the vacuum by sucking the gas through the plurality of negative pressure holes; and
a plurality of protrusions formed between the plurality of negative pressure holes.
Takahashi teaches a substrate holder for use with semiconductor wafers [0047], the substrate holder comprising a suction surface having a plurality of closed sections surrounded by convexities and fluid passages (Figure 7 and 11 and [0049]-[0052]). Takahashi teaches when a vacuum is formed in the four vacuum production holes 14 with the substrate W placed on the suction surface of the substrate holder, and the convexities, constituted by a circumferential portion, central circular portion, and linking portion, function as sealing member such that the vacuum is formed in the concavities (Figure 5 and 8 and [0053]). Takahashi teaches while the concavities are vented to atmospheric pressure, the convexities of the suction pad contacting the substrate W act as a suction cup and the convexities function as support members for flatness for engaging and maintaining the flatness of the substrate [0054], [0093].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto with a plurality of concavities and convexities as taught by Takahashi, a known suitable mechanism for providing vacuum function to a substrate holder, to yield the predictable result of providing a sealing capabilities.
Given that the vacuum holes of Takahashi are fluidly coupled to the concavities, vacuum pressure is provided through a trench and a plurality of convexities (i.e., protrusions) are present in the trench in order to engage with the substrate, thereby suctioning the substrate and forming a sealed trench.
Regarding claim 5, Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 4, wherein a depth of the trench is substantially equal to a height of each of the plurality of protrusions (Takashi, Figure 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 6, Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 4.
Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi does not explicitly teach a top end of each of the plurality of protrusions is coplanar with the first region.
However, given that a top end of each of the plurality of protrusions is coplanar (Takahashi, Figure 5 and 7) and the surface of the first and second region are coplanar (Yu, Figure 3, 7a and 7B), one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the top end of each of the plurality of protrusions is coplanar with the first region in the configuration of Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi.
Regarding claim 7, Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 4, the head member includes a first channel connected to the at least one positive pressure hole and a second channel connected to the plurality of negative pressure holes (see rejection of claim 1, Okamoto Figures 2a-b and 3 and Col 5, ln 12-32).
Regarding claim 12, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 9, wherein at least one positive pressure hole formed in the first region, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form a positive pressure by ejecting the gas through the at least one positive pressure hole (Okamoto, Figure 3 and 4a-c).
Yu in view of Okamoto does not teach:
a trench formed in the second region;
a plurality of negative pressure holes formed in the trench, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form the vacuum by sucking the gas through the plurality of negative pressure holes; and
a plurality of protrusions formed between the plurality of negative pressure holes.
Takahashi teaches a substrate holder for use with semiconductor wafers [0047], substrate holder comprising a suction surface having a plurality of closed sections surrounded by convexities and fluid passages (Figure 7 and 11 and [0049]-[0052]). Takahashi teaches when a vacuum is formed in the four vacuum production holes 14 with the substrate W placed on the suction surface of the substrate holder, and the convexities, constituted by a circumferential portion, central circular portion, and linking portion, function as sealing member such that the vacuum is formed in the concavities (Figure 5 and 8 and [0053]). Takahashi teaches while the concavities are vented to atmospheric pressure, the convexities of the suction pad contacting the substrate W act as a suction cup and the convexities function as support members for flatness for engaging and maintaining the flatness of the substrate [0054], [0093].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto with a plurality of concavities and convexities as taught by Takahashi, a known suitable mechanism for providing vacuum function to a substrate holder, to yield the predictable result of providing a sealing capabilities.
Given that the vacuum holes of Takahashi are fluidly coupled to the concavities, vacuum pressure is provided through a trench and a plurality of convexities (i.e., protrusions) are present in the trench in order to engage with the substrate, thereby suctioning the substrate and forming a sealed trench.
Regarding claim 13, Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 12, wherein a depth of the trench is substantially equal to a height of each of the plurality of protrusions (Takashi, Figure 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 12.
Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi does not explicitly teach a top end of each of the plurality of protrusions is coplanar with the first region.
However, given that a top end of each of the plurality of protrusions is coplanar (Takahashi, Figure 5 and 7) and the surface of the first and second region are coplanar (Yu, Figure 3, 7a and 7B), one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the top end of each of the plurality of protrusions is coplanar with the first region in the configuration of Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Nagamoto (JP2021052096, machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 1.
Yu in view of Okamoto does not teach bonding apparatus is configured to
attach the tip member to the head member by the vacuum and is configured to detach the tip member from the head member by releasing the vacuum.
Nagamoto teaches a bonding device comprising a collet holder and collet configured to form a vacuum for carrying and bonding semiconductor chips (Figure 1 and 10 and [0008]-[0009], [0020]-[0022], [0040]). Nagamoto teaches in the collet 3, the tip 1 is vacuum-sucked through the suction hole opened in the lower end surface of the collet 3, and if this vacuum suction (evacuation) is released, the tip 1 will come off from the collet 3 [0005]. Nagamoto teaches a vacuum channels through the collet holder and collet surface [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto with the coupling mechanism of Nagamoto, a known suitable mechanism for coupling collet holders and collet surfaces using vacuum ports in both structures.
Regarding claim 10, Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 9.
Yu in view of Okamoto does not teach the bonding apparatus is configured to attach the tip member to the head member by the negative pressure and is configured to detach the tip member from the head member by releasing the negative pressure.
Nagamoto teaches a bonding device comprising a collet holder and collet configured to form a vacuum for carrying and bonding semiconductor chips (Figure 1 and 10 and [0008]-[0009], [0020]-[0022], [0040]). Nagamoto teaches in the collet 3, the tip 1 is vacuum-sucked through the suction hole opened in the lower end surface of the collet 3, and if this vacuum suction (evacuation) is released, the tip 1 will come off from the collet 3 [0005]. Nagamoto teaches a vacuum channels through the collet holder and collet surface [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto with the coupling mechanism of Nagamoto, a known suitable mechanism for coupling collet holders and collet surfaces using vacuum ports in both structures.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507) and Takahashi (PG-PUB 2010/0267317), as applied to claim 12, in further view of Nagamoto (JP2021052096, machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 15, Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 12, wherein the head member includes a first channel connected to the at least one positive pressure hole (see rejection of claim 1, Okamoto Figures 2a-b and 3 and Col 5, ln 12-32) and a second channel connected to the plurality of negative pressure holes (see rejection of claim 1, Yu, Figure 7A and 7B).
Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi does not teach a third channel providing a negative pressure for attachment and detachment of the tip member.
Nagamoto teaches a bonding device comprising a collet holder and collet configured to form a vacuum for carrying and bonding semiconductor chips (Figure 1 and 10 and [0008]-[0009], [0020]-[0022], [0040]). Nagamoto teaches in the collet 3, the tip 1 is vacuum-sucked through the suction hole opened in the lower end surface of the collet 3, and if this vacuum suction (evacuation) is released, the tip 1 will come off from the collet 3 [0005]. Nagamoto teaches a vacuum channels through the collet holder and collet surface [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto and Takahashi with the coupling mechanism of Nagamoto, a known suitable mechanism for coupling collet holders and collet surfaces using vacuum ports in both structures.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507) and Nagamoto (JP2021052096, machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches a bonding apparatus for bonding a second substrate to a first substrate, the bonding apparatus comprising:
a support unit configured to support the first substrate (Figure 6a-6c, item 10); and
a bonding unit above the support unit and configured to attach the second substrate (Figure 3 and 6a-6c, item 32);
wherein the bonding unit includes:
a tip member facing the support unit (Figure 7A, item 32 and col 4, ln 49-64); and
a head member on the tip member (Figure 6c, item 30 and 314 and col 4, ln 34-48 );
wherein the tip member includes:
a first part having a first region and a second region surrounding the first region,
wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form a vacuum in the second region (Figure 7A, item A2 and col 4, ln 58- col 5, ln 52); and
a second part extending from the first part toward the head member (Figure 7A, item A1); and
wherein an area of a transverse section of the first part is less than an area of a transverse section of the second part (Figure 7A).
Yu teaches a pushing element to protrude over an attaching surface A21 (Figure 7A and Col 8, ln 1-21).
Yu teaches the bonding apparatus is configured to attach another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region to the second region using the negative pressure (Figure 6A-6G); and
the bonding apparatus is configured to move the bonding unit toward the support unit such that the protruding portion of the second substrate comes into contact with the first substrate, and the second substrate is bonded to the first substrate (Figure 6A-6G and Col 6, ln 51- Col 7, ln 67).
Yu teaches different embodiments (Figure 10A and 10 B and Col 9, ln 16- Col 10, ln 20).
Yu does not teach:
(1) a tip member including a first part and a second part extending from the first part, the second part having a larger transverse section than the first part, the first part including a first region and a second region surrounding the first region, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to eject the gas from the first region and to form a positive pressure toward the first substrate, the bonding apparatus is configured to form a negative pressure in the second region by the vacuum, and the first region and the second region face the support unit,
wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to protrude a portion of the second substrate corresponding to the first region toward the first substrate using the positive pressure, and the bonding apparatus is configured to attach another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region to the second region using the negative pressure; and
(2) a head member to which the tip member is removably attached.
As to (1), Okamoto teaches a semiconductor device assembly die attach apparatus comprising a body with a vacuum groove at the edge and a chamber for expelling pressurized gas (Figure 1, 2A, 2B and Col 4, ln 18-66). Okamoto teaches the convex surface of the die 14, as indicated by arrows 34, tends to expel air from between the die 14 and die attach adhesive 30 during the ultimate placement of the die, reducing the frequency and magnitude of void formation (Col 4, ln 51- Col 5, ln 7).
Specifically, Okamoto teaches a collet including a first region and a second region surrounding the first region, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to generate a positive pressure toward the first substrate in the first region (Figure 1 and 2A, item 24, 26, and 28), and the bonding apparatus is configured to generate a negative pressure toward the head member in the second region (Figure 1 and 2A, 16 18, 20, 22); wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to protrude a portion of the second substrate corresponding to the first region toward the first substrate using the positive pressure (Figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yu with the pressurized gas port, chamber, and source of Okamoto to yield the predictable result of providing a convex surface for die placement as taught by Okamoto and desired by Yu.
Accordingly, the head and the tip members of Yu in view of Okamoto would be modified with the gas chamber and channel of Okamoto in order to provide the pressurization.
Yu in view of Okamoto teaches the bonding apparatus is configured to attach another portion of the second substrate corresponding to the second region to the second region using the negative pressure (Figure 6A-6G); and
the bonding apparatus is configured to move the bonding unit toward the support unit such that the protruding portion of the second substrate comes into contact with the first substrate, and the second substrate is bonded to the first substrate (Figure 6A-6G and Col 6, ln 51- Col 7, ln 67).
As to (2), Nagamoto teaches a bonding device comprising a collet holder and collet configured to form a vacuum for carrying and bonding semiconductor chips (Figure 1 and 10 and [0008]-[0009], [0020]-[0022], [0040]). Nagamoto teaches in the collet 3, the tip 1 is vacuum-sucked through the suction hole opened in the lower end surface of the collet 3, and if this vacuum suction (evacuation) is released, the tip 1 will come off from the collet 3 [0005]. Nagamoto teaches a vacuum channels through the collet holder and collet surface [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto with the coupling mechanism of Nagamoto, a known suitable mechanism for coupling collet holders and collet surfaces using vacuum ports in both structures.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507) and Nagamoto (JP2021052096, machine translation relied upon), as applied to claim 17, in further view of Takahashi (PG-PUB 2010/0267317).
Regarding claim 18, Yu in view of Okamoto and Nagamoto teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 17.
Yu in view of Okamoto and Nagamoto does not teach:
a trench formed in the second region;
a plurality of negative pressure holes formed in the trench, wherein the bonding apparatus is configured to form the vacuum by sucking the gas through the plurality of negative pressure holes; and
a plurality of protrusions formed between the plurality of negative pressure holes.
Takahashi teaches a substrate holder for use with semiconductor wafers [0047], substrate holder comprising a suction surface having a plurality of closed sections surrounded by convexities and fluid passages (Figure 7 and 11 and [0049]-[0052]). Takahashi teaches when a vacuum is formed in the four vacuum production holes 14 with the substrate W placed on the suction surface of the substrate holder, and the convexities, constituted by a circumferential portion, central circular portion, and linking portion, function as sealing member such that the vacuum is formed in the concavities (Figure 5 and 8 and [0053]). Takahashi teaches while the concavities are vented to atmospheric pressure, the convexities of the suction pad contacting the substrate W act as a suction cup and the convexities function as support members for flatness for engaging and maintaining the flatness of the substrate [0054], [0093].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto with a plurality of concavities and convexities as taught by Takahashi, a known suitable mechanism for providing vacuum function to a substrate holder, to yield the predictable result of providing a sealing capabilities.
Given that the vacuum holes of Takahashi are fluidly coupled to the concavities, vacuum pressure is provided through a trench and a plurality of convexities (i.e., protrusions) are present in the trench in order to engage with the substrate, thereby suctioning the substrate and forming a sealed trench.
Regarding claim 19, Yu in view of Okamoto, Nagamoto, and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 18, the head member includes a first channel connected to the at least one positive pressure hole and a second channel connected to the plurality of negative pressure holes (Takahashi, Figure 7 and 11 and [0049]-[0052]); and the pressure unit includes a gas supply source configured to supply the gas through the first channel and a vacuum pump configured to provide the vacuum through the second channel (Takahashi, Figure 4-7 and [0053]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 9,842,823) in view of Okamoto (US 7,790,507), Nagamoto (JP2021052096, machine translation relied upon), Takahashi (PG-PUB 2010/0267317), as applied to claim 18, in further view of Mori (PG-PUB 2023/0207368).
Regarding claim 20, Yu in view of Okamoto, Nagamoto, and Takahashi teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 18.
Yu in view of Okamoto, Nagamoto, and Takahashi does not teach:
a photographing member configured to capture an image of an alignment mark of the first substrate and an image of an alignment mark of the second substrate;
an alignment determiner configured to analyze the images captured by the photographing member and determine an alignment state of the first substrate and the second substrate; and
an alignment controller configured to align the first substrate with the second substrate by controlling a movement of one of the bonding unit and the support unit.
Mori teaches a bonding apparatus comprising:
a bonding unit (Abstract);
a photographing member configured to capture an image of an alignment mark of the first substrate and an image of an alignment mark of the second substrate (Figure 5-10 and [0031], [0040], [0058]-[0059], [0063]-[0064], [0079]);
an alignment determiner configured to analyze the images captured by the photographing member and determine an alignment state of the first substrate and the second substrate (Figure 5-10 and [0064]-[0067], [0079], [0084]); and
an alignment controller configured to align the first substrate with the second substrate by controlling a movement of one of the bonding unit and the support unit [0038], [0045], [0055], [0131].
Mori teaches if the die array accuracy is low, when transferring the rewiring pattern using a step-and-repeat exposure apparatus, the rewiring pattern cannot accurately be aligned to the dies, and for this reason, the dies are required to be arranged at a high array accuracy [0026], [0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Yu in view of Okamoto, Nagamoto, and Takahashi with the photographic member, alignment determiner, and an alignment controller of Mori, for the benefit of providing improving alignment of dies for better accuracy and product output.
Conclusion
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/HANA C PAGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1745