DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/963,685, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application does not provide support or enablement for the limitation “wherein the cap snaps on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle” from independent claims 1 and 12.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following:
The “puck” is referred to by reference numbers “130” (para. 36, line 1), “120” (para. 36, line 6) and “140” (para. 37, line 1)
Reference number “120” has been used to refer to both the “cap” (para. 35, line 2) and the “central bearing sleeve” (para. 38)
Reference number “115” has been used to refer to both a “wheel” (para. 35, line 3) and what appears to be a hub cap or center cap (Fig. 12)
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The feature that allows the “cap” to “snap on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle” from claims 1 and 12. Fig. 12 merely shows the floating puck and cap sitting on a table, not attached to a wheel or an axle
An embodiment wherein “the counterweight is embedded in a land within the cap” from claim 11
An embodiment that has “the cap snap[s] on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle” and also uses “a retainer clip affixing the cup to the vehicle wheel cover or axle” from claim 13
The “perimeter sidewall” from claim 2
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the description for Fig. 12 states that it “shows a floating centercap assembly positioned on a wheel according to one embodiment” but Fig. 12 merely shows a floating puck on a center cap sitting on a table, not attached to a wheel.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation “wherein the cap snaps on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle”. The specification and drawings do not adequately describe or show how the cap would “snap on to” either a vehicle wheel or an axle.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the counterweight is embedded in a land within the cap”, however this would not make sense with the disclosure and would not provide the desired purpose of keeping the floating puck from spinning. As such, it is assumed to applicant intended the limitation to refer to the puck rather than the cap. It is noted that the applicant refers to the axially outer design holding element which does not rotate with the tire as a “cap” in the beginning of the specification (the portion associated with parent application 17/963,685) and as a “floating puck” in latter portion of the specification which is the portion that contains the embodiment from the claims which supposedly “snaps on” a wheel or axle. The term “cap” is used in the latter portion of the specification to refer to the element the rotating portion attaches to through the bearing(s) and is also attached to the wheel or axle. To avoid confusion, it is recommended to use the same term for similar parts throughout the disclosure.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the cap includes a retainer clip affixing the cup to the vehicle wheel cover or axle”. The specification and drawings do not describe or show an embodiment of a cap which “snaps on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle” and also includes either a retainer clip or cup. As such, it is unclear how the retainer clip or the cup would be used or positioned in relation to the cap.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the bearings” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "the cup" and “the vehicle wheel cover”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MARSCHOLLEK DE 102019202507 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Marschollek discloses a floating centercap assembly for a vehicle comprising: a cap 14; a central bearing 18 affixed to the cap 14; a floating puck 24 affixed to the central bearing 18, the central bearing 18 rotationally positioned with respect to the floating puck 24; and wherein the cap 14 snaps on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle. (Fig. 1b and 2)
Regarding claim 2, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 1 wherein the cap 14 includes a central bearing sleeve 50 and a perimeter sidewall. (Fig. 1a and 1b)
Regarding claim 3, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 2 wherein the central bearing 18 is positioned within the central bearing sleeve 50. (Fig. 1a and 1b)
Regarding claim 4, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 3 further comprising a second central bearing (still referred to by reference number 18) positioned within the central bearing sleeve 50. (Fig. 1a and 1b)
Regarding claim 5, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 3 further comprising a bearing retainer (overhanging lip on the top of bearing sleeve which snaps over the bearing) positioned on the bearing sleeve 50 to retain the central bearing 18. (Fig. 1b)
Regarding claim 7, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 1 comprising two central bearings 18, the two central bearings stacked on top of each other. (Fig. 1a and 1b)
Regarding claim 8, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 1 further comprising a counterweight 28 positioned on the floating puck 24. (Fig. 1a and 1b)
Regarding claim 9, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 8 wherein the counterweight 28 comprises an arcuate segment having an arc of less than 120 degrees. (Fig. 1a shows the counterweight to be approximately 120 degrees or less)
Regarding claim 11, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap assembly of Claim 8 wherein the counterweight 28 is embedded in a land within the puck 24. (The original claim says the “counterweight is embedded in a land within the cap”, however this would not make sense with the disclosure and would not provide the desired purpose of keeping the floating puck from spinning. As such, it is assumed to applicant intended the limitation to refer to the puck rather than the cap).
Regarding claim 12, Marschollek discloses a floating centercap assembly for a vehicle comprising: a cap 14 having a central bearing sleeve 50; a central bearing 18 positioned within the central bearing sleeve 50; a bearing retainer (see annotated Fig. 1b above) positioned on the bearing sleeve 50 to retain the bearings 18 within the bearing sleeve 50; a floating puck 24 affixed to the central bearing 18, the central bearing 18 rotationally positioned with respect to the floating puck 24; a counterweight 28 positioned on the floating puck 24; and wherein the cap 14 snaps on to one of a vehicle wheel and an axle. (Fig. 1a and 1b)
Regarding claim 13, Marschollek discloses the floating centercap of Claim 12 wherein the cap 14 includes a retainer clip (shown in annotated Fig. 1b below; the element shown allows the cap to clip or snap on to the wheel) affixing the cup to the vehicle wheel or axle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marschollek DE 102019202507 A1 in view of Lee US 20230078032 A1.
Regarding claim 10 Marschollek teaches the floating centercap assembly of Claim 8 wherein the floating puck 24 includes a channel and the counterweight is positioned within the channel. Marschollek does not teach the channel including two or more posts which are engaged with the counterweight. Lee teaches two posts with screws to hold the counterweight (Fig. 2a and 2b). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use posts and screws in addition to the channel to ensure the counterweight would not come off and cause damage to the wheel or other vehicles on the road with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art gives examples of floating center caps.
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615