DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20220062764) in view of Pentelka (US 2015/0257183), hereinafter referred to as “Pen”.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a display (including 20 and 30 in fig. 7), comprising:
a memory (22, fig. 7) configured to store a correspondence (para. 38-39) between a plurality of keyboard-mouse commands and a plurality of touch operations (para. 48-89); and
a controller (23, fig. 7) connected to the memory (see fig. 7), the controller configured to receive a keyboard- mouse signal (manipulation information in fig. 7 and para. 60), and correspondingly output a touch signal (touch position information in fig. 7 and para. 60) according to the correspondence (para. 38-39), the touch signal configured to operate a touch device (10, fig. 7) according to the plurality of touch operations (para. 60),
wherein the controller is further configured to receive an update command from the touch device (para. 48) and update the correspondence according to the update command (para. 48, 60; wherein the new correspondence mapping is used for new touch outputs).
Li fails to disclose a shell including all of the components and the display.
Pen discloses a shell (the outside of 540 in fig. 5 and para. 152, further wherein the docking station is located inside the display shell), a memory disposed inside the shell (para. 152 and fig. 5, wherein docking stations include memory) and a controller disposed inside the shell (para. 152 and fig. 5; wherein docking stations include memory).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Pen in the device of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a docking station located inside a monitor (Pen; para. 152). Ultimately to reduce the size of the device and save space.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses further comprising:
a transmission interface (20, fig. 7) configured to connect the touch device to the controller (para. 60), output the touch signal to the touch device (para. 60) and receive a video stream from the touch device (para. 60, 35, 50).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the transmission interface is further configured to receive an audio stream from the touch device (para. 36), and output the audio stream to an audio playing component (para. 51).
Claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons stated for claim 1. See above rejection.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein the setting command comes from a computer or the touch device (para. 48, 60).
Claims 10-12 are rejected for the same reasons stated for claims 1-3, respectively. See above rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/ROBIN J MISHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628