DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/13/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 4/13/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the improper use of shading. Shading is permitted under 37 C.F.R. 1.84(m) if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility; “Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings.” The drawings do not appear to follow these guidelines for shading. Furthermore, solid black shading areas are only permitted when used to represent bar graphs or color.
However, the drawings appear to be the grayscale conversion of color drawings or photographs. In the event that photographs or color drawings are the only practical medium for illustrating the claimed invention, 37 C.F.R. 1.84(a)(2) and (b)(1,2) set forth the requirements for submitting color drawings and photographs. No petition under 37 C.F.R. 1.84(a)(2) has been received or granted to accept color drawings. It does not appear that photographs or color drawings are the only practical medium for illustrating the claimed invention, nor do the drawings appear to be of sufficient quality such that all details are reproducible in black and white. “Note that good quality copies are acceptable if the lines are uniformly thick, black, and solid” MPEP 608.02, section V. “If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph” 37 C.F.R. 1.84(b)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 state “small satellite docking adapter”. How small is small? And is it the satellite which is small or the docking adapter?
Claim 4 states “wherein allows the adapters to mate despite any x-y translational or z rotational misalignment”. It seems something might be missing between “wherein” and “allows”. Also, what adapters are being referenced here? There is one docking adapter, which comprises a probe adapter and a cone adapter. Further, how can the adapters mate despite “any” misalignment. There is a limit to how much misalignment can be accounted for.
All dependent claims not addressed above are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carrier et al (US 6126115 A).
For claim 1, Carrier discloses a small satellite docking adapter, the small satellite docking adapter comprising:
a probe adapter Fig. 5-6: 54, the probe adapter including:
one or more latches 100/102;
one or more springs 76/78; and
a cone adapter 60/64, which adapts the cone shaped member 110 (and could be used to adapt a cone shaped payload), the cone adapter including:
one or more grooves grooves at the top of spherical end 64, wherein:
the one or more latches are configured to couple to the one or more grooves Fig. 6; and
the one or more springs are configured to cause the one or more latches to engage with the one or more grooves to lock the probe adapter to the cone adapter Fig. 6, and to disengage with the one or more grooves to unlock the probe adapter and the cone adapter Fig. 5.
For claim 2, Carrier discloses the small satellite docking adapter of claim 1, wherein the one or more springs are comprised of a Shape Memory Alloy (SMA) material SMA springs 76/78.
For claim 4, Carrier discloses the small satellite docking adapter of claim 1, wherein the docking adapter is configured to mate despite some x-y translational or z rotational misalignment Fig. 5: there is some room for 64 to move while docking.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrier in view of Nygren (US 6769830 B1).
For claim 3, Carrier discloses the small satellite docking adapter of claim 2, wherein the one or more springs are compressed by heating the SMA material.
However, Nygren teaches an SMA spring that is compressed by heating Col 4, lines 44-45: “when the wire is heated, the wire shortens”. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Carrier by using the spring in the reverse manner, such that they compress when heated as disclosed by Nygren. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to be able to use springs which pull the latches since it would have been a simple substitution of one known element (expanding SMA springs) for another (compressing SMA springs) to produce predictable results (using SMA springs for applying loads).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642