DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species III in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species (136), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026. Applicant indicated in the Remarks filed 6/23/2026 that claims 1-20 are directed towards the elected embodiment. However, upon further inspection of the present application, claims 6 and 13 are not included in the elected embodiment and are therefore withdrawn. Specifically, paragraph 0079 which references the elected embodiment (Figs. 12-17b) indicates that the elected embodiment “omits the pneumatic device.” Therefore claims 6 and 13 will be treated as non-elected and withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye US 2017/0114563 (hereinafter Ye).
Re. Cl. 1, Ye discloses: A stand (1, Fig. 1) for moving an umbrella (2, Fig. 1) on a surface, the stand comprising: a base assembly (101, plate where 121s attach, 103, Fig. 1) to receive the umbrella and being over the surface (see Fig. 1); a plurality of arms (104, Fig. 3), each arm having a proximal end coupled to the base assembly (see Fig. 3, inner end), and a distal end (outer ends where 107 are located, Fig. 3) extending outwardly from the base assembly; a plurality of wheels (107, Fig. 3) respectively coupled to the distal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3); a plurality of supports (121, Fig. 3) coupled to the base assembly and extending outwardly from the base assembly (see Fig. 3), each of the plurality of supports comprises a pivot point (113, Fig. 3) for a respective one of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4); and an actuator assembly (120, 102, 112, 108, 118, 110 Fig. 3) coupled to the base assembly and configured to cause the base assembly to switch between a first stationary state and a second movable state (see Fig. 3-4 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22), the first stationary state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels extending upward and away from the surface and the base assembly adjacent to the surface, the second moving state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels abutting the surface and the base assembly being spaced apart from the surface (Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22.
Re. Cl. 2, Ye discloses: the base assembly comprises an upper platform to receive the umbrella (101, Fig. 3), a lower platform (103, Fig. 3) coupled to the upper platform, and a lift joint (115, 106, 117 Fig. 3-4) between the upper platform and the lower platform and coupled to the proximal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4).
Re. Cl. 3, Ye discloses: the base assembly comprises a plurality of legs (see annotated figure 3) coupled between the upper platform and the lower platform.
Re. Cl. 4, Ye discloses: the actuator assembly comprises a housing (120, Fig. 3), a lever (105, Fig. 3) having a first end coupled to the base assembly (see Fig. 3-4) and a second end (end with 112, Fig. 3), and an actuator device (108, Fig. 3) coupled to the second end of the lever (see Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 5, Ye discloses: the actuator device comprises a foot pedal (see 108, Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 7, Ye discloses: a plurality of peripheral supports respectively coupled between the plurality of supports (see annotated figure 3).
Re. Cl. 8, Ye discloses: an anchor weight (102, Fig. 3) over the base assembly and the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4).
Re. Cl. 9, Ye discloses: each arm pivots on a respective support (114, Fig. 3) when switching between the first stationary state and the second movable state.
Re. Cl. 10, Ye discloses: A stand (1, Fig. 1) for moving an umbrella (2, Fig. 1) on a surface (ground, Paragraph 0028), the stand comprising: a base assembly (101, plate where 121s attach and 103, Fig. 1) comprising an upper platform (101, Fig. 3) to receive the umbrella (see Fig. 1), a lower platform (103, Fig. 3) under the upper platform and over the surface (see Fig. 1-4), a plurality of legs (see annotated figure 3) extending between the upper platform and the lower platform (see Fig. 3-4), and a lift joint (115, 106, 117, Fig. 3-4) between the upper platform and the lower platform (see Fig. 3-4) ;a plurality of arms (104, Fig. 3), each arm having a proximal end coupled to the lift joint (see Fig. 3, inner ends of 104), and a distal end (end with 107, Fig. 3) extending outwardly from the base assembly (see Fig. 3);a plurality of wheels (107, Fig. 3) respectively coupled to the distal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3);a plurality of supports (121, Fig. 3) coupled to the base assembly and extending outwardly from the base assembly (see Fig. 3, outward from the middle of the base assembly), each of the plurality of supports comprises a pivot point (where 114 is, Fig. 3) for a respective one of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4); an anchor weight (102, Fig. 3) over the base assembly and the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4); and an actuator assembly (120, 105, 110, 108, 109 and 120, Fig. 3) coupled to the lift joint and configured to cause the lift joint to switch between a first stationary state and a second movable state (see Fig. 3-4 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22, the first stationary state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels extending upward and away from the surface and the lower platform adjacent to the surface, the second moving state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels abutting the surface and the lower platform being spaced apart from the surface (Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22).
Re. Cl. 11, Ye discloses: the actuator assembly comprises a housing (120, Fig. 3), a lever (105, Fig. 3) having a first end coupled to the base assembly (see Fig. 3-4) and a second end (end with 112, Fig. 3), and an actuator device coupled to the second end of the lever (108, Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 12, Ye discloses: the actuator device comprises a foot pedal (see 108, Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 14, Ye discloses: a plurality of peripheral supports respectively coupled between the plurality of supports (see annotated figure 3).
Re. Cl. 15, Ye discloses: each arm pivots on a respective support (114, Fig. 3) when switching between the first stationary state and the second movable state (see Fig. 3-4).
Re. Cl. 16, Ye discloses: An umbrella assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: an umbrella (2, Fig. 1); and a stand (1, Fig. 1) for moving the umbrella on a surface (Paragraph 0028, ground), the stand comprising a base assembly (101, plate where 121s attach and 103, Fig. 3) to receive the umbrella (see Fig. 1) and being over the surface (see Fig. 1-3),a plurality of arms (104, Fig. 3), each arm having a proximal end coupled to the base assembly (see Fig. 3-4), and a distal end extending outwardly from the base assembly (where 107s are, Fig. 3),a plurality of wheels (107, Fig. 3) respectively coupled to the distal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3),a plurality of supports (121, Fig. 3)coupled to the base assembly and extending outwardly from the base assembly (see Fig. 3-4), each of the plurality of supports comprises a pivot point (where 114 are located, Fig. 3) for a respective one of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4), and an actuator assembly (105, 110, 109, 108 Fig. 3) coupled to the base assembly and configured to cause the base assembly to switch between a first stationary state and a second movable state (see Fig. 3-4, Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22), the first stationary state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels extending upward and away from the surface and the base assembly adjacent to the surface, the second moving state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels abutting the surface and the base assembly being spaced apart from the surface (Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22).
Re. Cl. 17, Ye discloses: the base assembly comprises an upper platform to receive the umbrella (101, Fig. 3), a lower platform coupled to the upper platform and coupled to the plurality of arms (103, Fig. 3), and a lift joint (115, 106, 117 Fig. 3) between the upper platform and the lower platform and coupled to the proximal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4).
Re. Cl. 18, Ye discloses: the base assembly comprises a plurality of legs coupled between the upper platform and the lower platform (see annotated figure 3).
Re. Cl. 19, Ye discloses: A method for making an umbrella assembly (see Fig. 1) comprising: providing an umbrella (2, Fig. 1); coupling the umbrella into a stand (1, Fig. 1-2) for moving the umbrella on a surface (Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22), the stand comprising a base assembly (101, plate where 121s attach and 103, Fig. 3) to receive the umbrella and being over the surface (see Fig. 1-3),a plurality of arms (104, Fig. 3), each arm having a proximal end coupled to the base assembly (see Fig. 3), and a distal end extending outwardly from the base assembly (see ends with 107, Fig. 3),a plurality of wheels (107, Fig. 3) respectively coupled to the distal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3),a plurality of supports (121, Fig. 3) coupled to the base assembly and extending outwardly from the base assembly (see Fig. 3), each of the plurality of supports comprises a pivot point (where 114 attaches, Fig. 3) for a respective one of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3), and an actuator assembly (105, 110, 108, 109 Fig. 3) coupled to the base assembly and configured to cause the base assembly to switch between a first stationary state and a second movable state (see Fig. 3-4 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22), the first stationary state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels extending upward and away from the surface and the base assembly adjacent to the surface, the second moving state comprising the distal ends of plurality of arms with the plurality of the wheels abutting the surface and the base assembly being spaced apart from the surface (Paragraph 0028, Lines 13-22).
Re. Cl. 20, Ye discloses: the base assembly comprises an upper platform (101, Fig. 3) to receive the umbrella (see Fig. 1), a lower platform (103, Fig. 3) coupled to the upper platform (see Fig. 1), a plurality of legs coupled between the upper platform and the lower platform (see annotated figure 3), and a lift joint (115, 106 and 117 Fig. 3) between the upper platform and the lower platform and coupled to the proximal ends of the plurality of arms (see Fig. 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ma US 2012/0024329, Weng US 2013/0134285, and Yang US 2023/0021080 discloses other known umbrella stands presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632