DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 19/178,617 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 17 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
INFORMATION CONCERNING DRAWINGS
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
INFORMATION CONCERNING THE SPECIFICATION
Specification
The applicant’s specification submitted is acceptable for examination purposes.
REJECTIONS NOT BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to an abstract idea of human activity/mental process through the term “determining” found throughout claims 1-20. While the claims are directed to an electronic device, it is not specified as to what entity is doing the determining and hence could be interpreted as a human user monitoring a system output on a screen and adjusting settings through input devices such as a keyboard based on those outputs.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baeckler et al. (Publication Number US 2019/0318058 A1).
As per claim 1, Baeckler et al. discloses “A bandwidth control method for an integrated circuit (a networks-on-chip (NoCs); Abstract, lines 1-2), comprising: determining a plurality of performance requirement parameters respectively corresponding to a plurality of hardware units in the integrated circuit (determining an expected performance associated with the first portion of the plurality of register; Abstract, lines 8-16).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a first bandwidth threshold based on a first performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043), wherein the first performance requirement parameter corresponds to a first hardware unit in the plurality of hardware units (note that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a second bandwidth threshold based on at least one second performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043), wherein the at least one second performance requirement parameter respectively corresponds to at least one second hardware unit in the plurality of hardware units other than the first hardware unit (note that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; FIG. 11).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus (save the routing information in step 212; FIG. 11).”
As per claim 2, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 1 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a second bandwidth threshold based on at least one second performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters comprises: determining the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; [FIG. 11] in view of that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and determining the second bandwidth threshold based on the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters and a respective bandwidth threshold corresponding to the at least one second performance requirement parameter (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043).”
As per claim 3, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 2 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein determining the second bandwidth threshold based on the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters and a respective bandwidth threshold corresponding to the at least one second performance requirement parameter comprises: in response to the number of the second performance requirement parameter among the plurality of performance requirement parameters being one (see step 204 of determining an expected performance; FIG. 11), determining the second bandwidth threshold based on a bandwidth threshold corresponding to the second performance requirement parameter among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; [FIG. 11] in view of that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).”
As per claim 4, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 2 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein determining the second bandwidth threshold based on the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters and a respective bandwidth threshold corresponding to the at least one second performance requirement parameter comprises: in response to there being a plurality of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters, determining a magnitude relationship between the plurality of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a target performance requirement parameter from the plurality of second performance requirement parameters based on the magnitude relationship between the plurality of second performance requirement parameters (see steps 204 (determining expected performance) and 206 (determining if expected performance is within threshold range); FIG. 11).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and determining the second bandwidth threshold based on a bandwidth threshold corresponding to the target performance requirement parameter (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; [FIG. 11] in view of that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).”
As per claim 5, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 4 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a target performance requirement parameter from the plurality of second performance requirement parameters based on the magnitude relationship between the plurality of second performance requirement parameters comprises: determining a maximum performance requirement parameter from the plurality of second performance requirement parameters based on the magnitude relationship between the plurality of second performance requirement parameters (as it pertains to a maximum value of the target performance level threshold range; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and determining the target performance requirement parameter based on the maximum performance requirement parameter (as it pertains to expected performance; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).”
As per claim 11, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 1 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus comprises: determining, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth upper limit value for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus (as it pertains to a maximum value of the target performance level threshold range; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling the bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus to be less than or equal to the upper bandwidth limit value (as it pertains to expected performance [Paragraphs 0055 and 0074]. See also step 206 in [FIG. 11]).”
As per claim 12, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 2 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus comprises: determining, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth upper limit value for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus (as it pertains to a maximum value of the target performance level threshold range; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling the bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus to be less than or equal to the upper bandwidth limit value (as it pertains to expected performance [Paragraphs 0055 and 0074]. See also step 206 in [FIG. 11]).”
As per claim 13, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 3 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus comprises: determining, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth upper limit value for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus (as it pertains to a maximum value of the target performance level threshold range; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling the bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus to be less than or equal to the upper bandwidth limit value (as it pertains to expected performance [Paragraphs 0055 and 0074]. See also step 206 in [FIG. 11]).”
As per claim 14, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 4 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus comprises: determining, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth upper limit value for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus (as it pertains to a maximum value of the target performance level threshold range; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling the bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus to be less than or equal to the upper bandwidth limit value (as it pertains to expected performance [Paragraphs 0055 and 0074]. See also step 206 in [FIG. 11]).”
As per claim 15, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 5 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus comprises: determining, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth upper limit value for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus (as it pertains to a maximum value of the target performance level threshold range; Paragraphs 0055 and 0074).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling the bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through the bus to be less than or equal to the upper bandwidth limit value (as it pertains to expected performance [Paragraphs 0055 and 0074]. See also step 206 in [FIG. 11]).”
As per claim 16, Baeckler et al. discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program configured to perform a bandwidth control method for an integrated circuit (a networks-on-chip (NoCs); Abstract, lines 1-2), wherein the method comprises: determining a plurality of performance requirement parameters respectively corresponding to a plurality of hardware units in the integrated circuit (determining an expected performance associated with the first portion of the plurality of register; Abstract, lines 8-16).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a first bandwidth threshold based on a first performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043), wherein the first performance requirement parameter corresponds to a first hardware unit in the plurality of hardware units (note that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a second bandwidth threshold based on at least one second performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043), wherein the at least one second performance requirement parameter respectively corresponds to at least one second hardware unit in the plurality of hardware units other than the first hardware unit (note that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; FIG. 11).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus (save the routing information in step 212; FIG. 11).”
As per claim 17, Baeckler et al. discloses “An electronic device, comprising: a processor (processor 16; FIG. 1).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and a memory, configured to store instructions executable by the processor (memory device 20; FIG. 1), wherein the processor is configured to read the executable instructions from the memory, and execute the instruction to implement a bandwidth control method for an integrated circuit (a networks-on-chip (NoCs); Abstract, lines 1-2), wherein the method comprises: determining a plurality of performance requirement parameters respectively corresponding to a plurality of hardware units in the integrated circuit (determining an expected performance associated with the first portion of the plurality of register; Abstract, lines 8-16).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a first bandwidth threshold based on a first performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043), wherein the first performance requirement parameter corresponds to a first hardware unit in the plurality of hardware units (note that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a second bandwidth threshold based on at least one second performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043), wherein the at least one second performance requirement parameter respectively corresponds to at least one second hardware unit in the plurality of hardware units other than the first hardware unit (note that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; FIG. 11).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and controlling, based on the target bandwidth threshold, a bandwidth for transmitting data by the first hardware unit through a bus (save the routing information in step 212; FIG. 11).”
As per claim 18, Baeckler et al. discloses “The electronic device according of claim 17 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a second bandwidth threshold based on at least one second performance requirement parameter in the plurality of performance requirement parameters comprises: determining the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; [FIG. 11] in view of that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and determining the second bandwidth threshold based on the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters and a respective bandwidth threshold corresponding to the at least one second performance requirement parameter (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043).”
As per claim 19, Baeckler et al. discloses “The electronic device according of claim 18 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein determining the second bandwidth threshold based on the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters and a respective bandwidth threshold corresponding to the at least one second performance requirement parameter comprises: in response to the number of the second performance requirement parameter among the plurality of performance requirement parameters being one (see step 204 of determining an expected performance; FIG. 11), determining the second bandwidth threshold based on a bandwidth threshold corresponding to the second performance requirement parameter among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; [FIG. 11] in view of that the programmable logic 48 may correspond to different portions or sectors on the integrated circuit device with each sector programmed to perform a specific task; Paragraph 0038).”
As per claim 20, Baeckler et al. discloses “The electronic device according of claim 18 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein determining the second bandwidth threshold based on the number of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters and a respective bandwidth threshold corresponding to the at least one second performance requirement parameter comprises: in response to there being a plurality of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 004), determining a magnitude relationship between the plurality of second performance requirement parameters among the plurality of performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043).” Baeckler et al. discloses “determining a target performance requirement parameter from the plurality of second performance requirement parameters based on the magnitude relationship between the plurality of second performance requirement parameters (the information regarding the integrated circuit device 12A may include information such as a particular model of the integrated circuit device 12A (e.g., a specific chip), as well as characteristics associated with the particular integrated circuit device 12A. The metrics associated with the NoC may include bus width (e.g., number of wires), bus speed (e.g., a value in hertz), a target performance level, and a target performance level threshold range; Paragraph 0043).” Baeckler et al. discloses “and determining the second bandwidth threshold based on a bandwidth threshold corresponding to the target performance requirement parameter (see the steps of an expected performance within threshold range 206; FIG. 11).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Baeckler et al. (Publication Number US 2019/0318058 A1) in view of Aronson (Publication Number US 2007/0263713 A1).
As per claim 6, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 1 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold comprises: determining a magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (steps 102 to 108 as it pertains to route and endpoint determination [FIG. 5]. See also steps 304 to 306; Paragraph 0074).”
However, Baeckler et al. does not explicitly disclose setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold.” Aronson discloses setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (a communication bandwidth that may be characterized by a first frequency threshold and a second frequency threshold; Paragraphs 0053-0054; FIG. 8-9).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Baeckler et al. and Aronson to address communication buses that may have reduced performance compared to designed maximum performance (where Aronson’s example is on communication cables) [Paragraph 0003].
As per claim 7, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 2 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold comprises: determining a magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (steps 102 to 108 as it pertains to route and endpoint determination [FIG. 5]. See also steps 304 to 306; Paragraph 0074).”
However, Baeckler et al. does not explicitly disclose setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold.” Aronson discloses setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (a communication bandwidth that may be characterized by a first frequency threshold and a second frequency threshold; Paragraphs 0053-0054; FIG. 8-9).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Baeckler et al. and Aronson to address communication buses that may have reduced performance compared to designed maximum performance (where Aronson’s example is on communication cables) [Paragraph 0003].
As per claim 8, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 3 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold comprises: determining a magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (steps 102 to 108 as it pertains to route and endpoint determination [FIG. 5]. See also steps 304 to 306; Paragraph 0074).”
However, Baeckler et al. does not explicitly disclose setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold.” Aronson discloses setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (a communication bandwidth that may be characterized by a first frequency threshold and a second frequency threshold; Paragraphs 0053-0054; FIG. 8-9).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Baeckler et al. and Aronson to address communication buses that may have reduced performance compared to designed maximum performance (where Aronson’s example is on communication cables) [Paragraph 0003].
As per claim 9, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 4 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold comprises: determining a magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (steps 102 to 108 as it pertains to route and endpoint determination [FIG. 5]. See also steps 304 to 306; Paragraph 0074).”
However, Baeckler et al. does not explicitly disclose setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold.” Aronson discloses setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (a communication bandwidth that may be characterized by a first frequency threshold and a second frequency threshold; Paragraphs 0053-0054; FIG. 8-9).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Baeckler et al. and Aronson to address communication buses that may have reduced performance compared to designed maximum performance (where Aronson’s example is on communication cables) [Paragraph 0003].
As per claim 10, Baeckler et al. discloses “The method according of claim 5 (as disclosed by Baeckler et al. above), wherein the determining a target bandwidth threshold corresponding to the first hardware unit based on the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold comprises: determining a magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (steps 102 to 108 as it pertains to route and endpoint determination [FIG. 5]. See also steps 304 to 306; Paragraph 0074).”
However, Baeckler et al. does not explicitly disclose setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold.” Aronson discloses setting a bandwidth based on multiple thresholds as disclosed in the limitation “and determining the target bandwidth threshold based on the magnitude relationship between the first bandwidth threshold and the second bandwidth threshold (a communication bandwidth that may be characterized by a first frequency threshold and a second frequency threshold; Paragraphs 0053-0054; FIG. 8-9).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Baeckler et al. and Aronson to address communication buses that may have reduced performance compared to designed maximum performance (where Aronson’s example is on communication cables) [Paragraph 0003].
RELEVENT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and relied upon is citied to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The following references teach bandwidth/rate management.
U.S. PATENT NUMBERS:2005/0283634 A1 – [Claim 15]
2008/0104283 A1 – [Claims 1 and 9]
2008/0209093 A1 – [Paragraph 0018]
2011/0013514 A1 – [Claim 22]
2012/0260007 A1 – [Claim 1]
2021/0320661 A1 – [Paragraph 0042]
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 August 21, 2026
/Farley Abad/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181