DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (Figs. 5-8), and asserts at least claims 1-24 encompass the elected invention, in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1-3, 14-16, 23 and 24, it is unclear how the proximal end portion of the casing body can be interposed in nested conformance within the trench, absent the primer body comprising an outer primer portion trapping the end portion of the casing within the circumferential trench provided on the outer surface of an inner primer portion. Absent the outer primer portion, it is unclear how the end portion of the casing can be held in the trench.
In claims 3 and 16, the term, “thin-walled shell”, is a relative term, the scope of which cannot readily be determined, thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Claims 1-3, 14-16, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: primer body comprising an outer primer portion and an inner primer portion, the trench provided on the outer surface of the inner primer portion.
Claims 1-5, 13-17, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: an outer primer portion trapping the end portion of the casing within the circumferential trench provided on the outer surface of an inner primer portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14-16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PENNELL et al. (US 2021/0041211 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pennell et al. disclose an ammunition cartridge casing (Figs. 1, 2, 4), comprising: a primer body 1, 20, 60 having an outer surface providing a circumferential trench 6, 26, 46 having a radially outwardly extending first circumferential wall portion, a radially outwardly extending second circumferential wall portion, and an axially extending circumferential wall portion extending contiguously between the first circumferential wall portion and the second circumferential wall portion; and a casing body 31, 51, 64 having a distal end portion and a proximal end portion, the proximal end portion of the casing body interposed in nested conformance within the circumferential trench 26, 46 of the primer body 20, 60.
Regarding claim 2, Pennell et al. disclose that the proximal end portion of the casing body extends progressively along the radially outwardly extending first circumferential wall portion, the axially extending circumferential wall portion, and the radially outwardly extending second circumferential wall portion (see Figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, in Pennell et al, the end portion of the casing body meets the term, “thin-walled” (see the 112b section above regarding the indefinite nature of the term, “thin walled”).
Regarding claim 14, Pennell et al. disclose an ammunition cartridge casing (Figs. 1, 2, 4) comprising: a primer body 1, 20, 60 having an outer surface forming a circumferential trench 6. 26, 46 having a radially outwardly extending first circumferential wall portion, an axially extending circumferential wall portion, and a radially outwardly extending second circumferential wall portion; and a casing body 31, 51, 64 having a distal end portion and a proximal end portion, the proximal end portion of the casing body having an inner surface configured to interlock within the trench 26, 46.
Regarding claim 15, Pennell et al. disclose that the proximal end portion of the casing body extends progressively along the radially outwardly extending first circumferential wall portion, the axially extending circumferential wall portion, and the radially outwardly extending second circumferential wall portion (see Figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 24, Pennell et al. disclose that the interlocked axially extending circumferential wall portion of the casing body and the interlocked radially outwardly extending wall portion of the casing body extend at a right angle to one another (Figs 2, 4).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,184 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-24 of the instant application are anticipated by or obvious in view of claim 1-24 of the ‘184 patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. see the attached PTO-FORM 892.
/JAMES S BERGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641