DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim 7-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “information acquisition module” in claim 7, “ video generation control module” in claims 7, 9 and 12, shooting mode activation module in claim 8, “facial recognition information acquisition module” in claim 9 and “video stitching module” in claim 12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, these claim limitations are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 7-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention because the specification fails to disclose the structure, material, or acts that correspond to the following elements: “information acquisition module” in claim 7, “ video generation control module” in claims 7, 9 and 12, shooting mode activation module in claim 8, “facial recognition information acquisition module” in claim 9 and “video stitching module” in claim 12. The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garzon Aztatzi (US 2024/0416839).
Regarding claim 1, Garzon Aztatzi discloses:
A method for controlling a vehicle camera to generate a video, the method comprising:
acquiring driving information of a vehicle and preset matching information, wherein the driving information comprises at least driving direction information and braking status information of the vehicle, and the preset matching information comprises first matching information which defines a matching relationship between the driving direction information and/or braking status information of the vehicle and activation of a corresponding vehicle camera (Garzon Aztatzi: abstract; [0043]-[0046]; [0061]-[0062]; trigger signal generated when steering wheel rotates; activate camera responsive to trigger signal); and
according to the first matching information, controlling the activation of the corresponding vehicle camera among a plurality of vehicle cameras on the basis of the driving direction information and/or braking status information of the vehicle to shoot an exterior or interior of the vehicle to generate a video (Garzon Aztatzi: abstract; [0010] [0043]-[0046]; [0061]-[0062]; activate camera responsive to trigger signal, such as when the driver rotates the vehicle steering wheel in a predefined direction; [0018]-[0020]; images captured by the camera 110 are of a geographical area in front of vehicle 102; [0031]; [0035]; multiple cameras).
Regarding claims 7 and 13-16, Garzon Aztatzi discloses the apparatus, system, device, crm and vehicle limitations of these claims as shown above with respect to claim 1 (Garzon Aztatzi: [0065]-[0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garzon Aztatzi (US 2024/0416839) in view of Sun et al. (US 2020/0294194).
Regarding claim 6,
Garzon Aztatzi teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
Garzon Aztatzi fails to teach:
further comprising: controlling to enter a panoramic generation mode after acquiring an operation instruction for generating a panoramic video; in the panoramic generation mode, at least activating all vehicle exterior cameras to perform video shooting on the exterior of the vehicle to generate a plurality of videos; and stitching the plurality of videos into a panoramic video using a video stitching algorithm.
Sun teaches:
further comprising: controlling to enter a panoramic generation mode after acquiring an operation instruction for generating a panoramic video; in the panoramic generation mode, at least activating all vehicle exterior cameras to perform video shooting on the exterior of the vehicle to generate a plurality of videos; and stitching the plurality of videos into a panoramic video using a video stitching algorithm (Sun: Fig 1; [0019]; multiple cameras are positioned on various locations of a vehicle and stitched into a single panoramic view).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sun with Garzon Aztatzi. Using the panoramic view of Sun would benefit the Garzon Aztatzi teachings by enhancing safety and marketability. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, using a panoramic view, to a known device ready for improvement, the Garzon Aztatzi device, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Garzon Aztatzi in view of Sun teaches the apparatus of this claim as shown above with respect to claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)-(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st and 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES M PONTIUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488