Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected salt bath system, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected as being indefinite because the term “substantially free” is relevant and it is unclear what this amount is being compared to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamada (WO 2014045979) as cited in the machine translation provided
Regarding claim 35, Yamada discloses a method for regenerating a molten salt, the method comprising:
circulating the molten salt through a containment device, regeneration tank, positioned outside of a first interior volume defined by a salt bath tank, tempering tank 1, page 3-step 1
the molten salt comprising one or more impurities formed during an ion exchange process, inherently a skilled artisan knows that ions come out of the glass as the ions from the salt are exchanged with, these become as excess ions, also known in the art as poisoning ions, that have come out of the glass (sodium precipitates), and
the containment device, (regeneration tank 2) comprising a regeneration medium positioned within a second interior volume defined by the containment device, (regeneration tank 2); and contacting the molten salt with the regeneration medium within the containment device via (transfer means 4), wherein the contact reduces a concentration of the one or more impurities in the molten salt (page 6,
In step 4, in order to perform the regeneration treatment of the molten salt subjected to the glass chemical strengthening treatment, a part of the molten salt is transferred from the first tank (chemical strengthening tank 1) to the second tank (regeneration tank (sedimentation tank) 2). The molten salt is transferred by the molten salt transfer means 4. A known method such as a pump, pumping, pumping out, or siphoning can be used for feeding the molten salt…the Na ion concentration range to be controlled…Na ion concentration of the transferred molten salt is reduced.
Thus the impurities are reduced.
Regarding claim 36, Yamada discloses a temperature of the, regeneration tank 2, or second interior volume is 470° C (page 4 ¶4) and the first interior volume is 500-600° C of the strengthening tank 1, thus overlapping with the claimed temperature range of the second interior “greater than or equal to 3 °C less than a temperature of the first interior volume”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-34, 37-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2014045979) as cited in the machine translation provided
Regarding claim 26, Yamada discloses a method for regenerating a molten salt, the method comprising:
circulating the molten salt through a containment device, regeneration tank, positioned outside of a first interior volume defined by a salt bath tank, tempering tank 1, page 3-step 1
the molten salt comprising one or more impurities formed during an ion exchange process, inherently a skilled artisan knows that ions come out of the glass as the ions from the salt are exchanged with, these become as excess ions, also known in the art as poisoning ions, that have come out of the glass (sodium precipitates), and
the containment device, (regeneration tank 2) comprising a regeneration medium positioned within a second interior volume defined by the containment device, (regeneration tank 2); and contacting the molten salt with the regeneration medium within the containment device via (transfer means 4), wherein the contact reduces a concentration of the one or more impurities in the molten salt (page 6,
In step 4, in order to perform the regeneration treatment of the molten salt subjected to the glass chemical strengthening treatment, a part of the molten salt is transferred from the first tank (chemical strengthening tank 1) to the second tank (regeneration tank (sedimentation tank) 2). The molten salt is transferred by the molten salt transfer means 4. A known method such as a pump, pumping, pumping out, or siphoning can be used for feeding the molten salt…the Na ion concentration range to be controlled…Na ion concentration of the transferred molten salt is reduced.
Thus the impurities are reduced.
Yamada discloses the regeneration tank (2) positioned outside of the molten salt tank (1) MPEP 2144.04 states:
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)
It would be an obvious matter of design choice to a skilled artisan to rearrange the regeneration tank (2) to be within the salt tank (1) instead of outside and still pump the impure molten salt through the regeneration tank to remove impurities from the molten salt, thus regenerating it.
Regarding claim 27, Example 1 on page 12 indicates a sodium impurity from the glass ion exchange, A skilled artisan knows the original molten potassium nitrate salt will exchange potassium for the sodium in the glass thus yielding excess nitrate and the sodium will bond with at least some of this nitrate thus the impurities comprise an alkali metal nitrite, an alkali metal oxide, an alkaline earth metal nitrite, an alkaline earth metal oxide, or combinations of these.
Regarding claim 28, the regeneration medium comprises an alkali metal phosphate salt, an alkali metal carbonate or combinations of these (See Fig 1, and page 7 ¶5-page 8).
Regarding claim 29-31, Yamada does not indicate the claimed particle size of claim 39. Yamada states;
“What is necessary is just to stand still until Na containing precipitate precipitates completely. The time required for the precipitate to settle completely depends on the particle size of the precipitate, and the smaller the particle size, the longer the time is required”
It would be obvious to optimize the particle size of the regeneration medium as motivated to optimize the precipitate time. A particulate is considered a grain, saddle, or monolith shape given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 32, Yamada suggests potassium nitrate (page 4 ¶4) and potentially potassium carbonate (Page 4 ¶7) thus the salt bath composition positioned within the first interior volume (1) is considered substantially free of the regeneration material.
Regarding claim 33, Yamada does not disclose the rate the molten salt is circulated through the containment device however it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pump the salt through the regeneration tank (2) in correspondence with the rate at which the impurity precipitates (steps 5-7).
Regarding claim 34, Yamada discloses heating a salt bath composition comprising an alkali metal salt to an ion exchange temperature to form the molten salt (process 1, step 1 Page 4 ¶2); and
submerging a glass article into the molten salt such that an ion exchange between the molten salt and the glass article occurs, wherein the ion exchange between the molten salt and the glass article forms the one or more impurities in the molten salt (Step 2, Page 2 ¶2-3).
Regarding claim 37, Example 1 on page 12 indicates a sodium impurity from the glass ion exchange, A skilled artisan knows the original molten potassium nitrate salt will exchange potassium for the sodium in the glass thus yielding excess nitrate and the sodium will bond with at least some of this nitrate thus the impurities comprise an alkali metal nitrite, an alkali metal oxide, an alkaline earth metal nitrite, an alkaline earth metal oxide, or combinations of these.
Regarding claim 38, the regeneration medium comprises an alkali metal phosphate salt, an alkali metal carbonate or combinations of these (See Fig 1, and page 7 ¶5-page 8).
Regarding claims 39-41, Yamada does not indicate the claimed particle size of claim 39. Yamada states;
“What is necessary is just to stand still until Na containing precipitate precipitates completely. The time required for the precipitate to settle completely depends on the particle size of the precipitate, and the smaller the particle size, the longer the time is required”
It would be obvious to optimize the particle size of the regeneration medium as motivated to optimize the precipitate time. A particulate is considered a grain, saddle, or monolith shape given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 42, Yamada suggests potassium nitrate (page 4 ¶4) and potentially potassium carbonate (Page 4 ¶7) thus the salt bath composition positioned within the first interior volume (1) is considered substantially free of the regeneration material.
Regarding claim 43, Yamada does not disclose the rate the molten salt is circulated through the containment device however it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pump the salt through the regeneration tank (2) in correspondence with the rate at which the impurity precipitates (steps 5-7).
Regarding claim 44, Yamada discloses heating a salt bath composition comprising an alkali metal salt to an ion exchange temperature to form the molten salt (process 1, step 1 Page 4 ¶2); and
submerging a glass article into the molten salt such that an ion exchange between the molten salt and the glass article occurs, wherein the ion exchange between the molten salt and the glass article forms the one or more impurities in the molten salt (Step 2, Page 2 ¶2-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hu (US 20180057402) [0035] storage case within molten salt
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741