DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
On page 8 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that Vartakavi discloses “selecting a media file based on the target arousal score”. However, Vartakavi’s selection mechanism is a proximity match, not a threshold hold comparison. Vartakavi selects media whose arousal score is near a target, wherein the arousal score may be above or below the target, so long as it falls within the tolerance band. There is no, e.g., “meets or exceeds” a goal mood score when selecting in Vartakavi.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim language does not preclude a proximity match selection system, such as the system discussed in Vartakavi. The claims merely recite a “mood score that meets or exceeds the first goal mood score”. Vartakavi discloses system for providing machine-led mood change. A machine is configured to identify a media file that, when played to a user, is likely to modify an emotional or physical state of the user to or towards a target emotional or physical state. Specifically, Vartakavi discloses that
“In particular, a machine (e.g., a media selector machine or device) may be configured (e.g., by software) to automatically select, recommend, suggest, or otherwise identify media (e.g., music) to be played for a user. Specifically, the machine may be configured to select or otherwise identify a media file that, when played to the user, is likely to modify an emotional or physical state of the user (e.g., stimulate a drowsy driver or calm an agitated driver). In some example configurations, the machine accesses play counts that quantify full or partial playbacks of media files that have been played for the user (e.g., played as requested by the user or played in the presence of the user). The playbacks may be locally performed (e.g., played by the machine itself) or detected by the machine from ambient sound. The machine accesses arousal scores (e.g., energy levels or energy values) of the media files and determines a distribution of the play counts over the arousal scores, thus enabling the machine to identify one or more relative maxima (e.g., local peaks) in the distribution of the play counts. The machine also selects a target arousal score for the user based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home).” ([0021])
“The machine then selects one of the relative maxima (e.g., a local peak whose corresponding arousal score is near the target arousal score) and selects one or more media files having similar arousal scores for playback to the user. In certain example embodiments, the machine determines a current arousal score of the user based on one or more biometric measurements of the user, and the selection of the relative maximum from the distribution, the selection of the one or more media files, or both, are based on the current arousal score in comparison to the target arousal score. In some example embodiments, the machine may cause the selected media file to be played to the user (e.g., by the machine itself or by a device of the user). Further details and example embodiments are discussed below.” ([0022])
“Accordingly, the media selector 240 can determine which one of the relative maxima (e.g., relative maxima 540, 560, 570, and 580) is the closest to the target arousal score (e.g., which relative maximum has the smallest difference between its corresponding arousal score and the target arousal score). This determination (e.g., by comparison of differences) is performed by the media selector 240 in operation 935. That is, in operation 935, the media selector 240 determines the smallest difference among the differences between the target arousal score and each of the arousal scores that correspond to the filtered relative maxima 540, 560, 570, and 580. As a result, the media selector 240 may determine that the relative maximum 540 has an arousal score that is closest to the target arousal score.” ([0065])
Therefore, Vartakavi’s proximity matching system selects media files with arousal scores closest to the target arousal score to modify an emotional or physical state of the user to or towards a target emotional state. In other words, the arousal score closest to the target arousal score “meets the goal mood score”.
On page 9 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that Vartakavi does not disclose "determining a second goal mood score for a second time period, wherein the first goal mood score is different than the second goal mood score, and wherein the first time period starts before the second time period," as recited in claim 1. Vartakavi only describes target arousal score selected at a time based on presently detected activity.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Vartakavi explicitly discloses that “The machine also selects a target arousal score for the user based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home)” ([0021]-[0022]). That is, Vartakavi teaches that based on the detected activity a target arousal score is selected, hence a new or second target arousal score is selected when a new activity is detected. Therefore, Vartakavi discloses different targeted arousal scores based on detected activities.
On page 9 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant request reconsideration of the double patenting rejections upon consideration of the amendments and arguments presented.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the amendments and arguments overcome the double patent rejection (see below for double patenting rejection).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 13, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,902,623 in view of Vartakavi et al. (US Pub. 2016/0196105), herein referenced as Vartakavi.
Instant Application Claim 1
US Pat. 11,902,623 Claims 1 and 3
A method comprising: determining a first goal mood score for a first time period; selecting one or more first content items from a first plurality of content items, based at least in part on the one or more first content items having a first cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the first goal mood score; adding the one or more first content items to a content playlist;
A method comprising: …wherein the video playlist comprises a first plurality of video segments, each video segment associated with a mood score; …calculating a cumulative mood score based on the mood scores of the first plurality of video segments; (Claim 1)
wherein the cumulative mood score is calculated based on a predetermined period. (Claim 3)
The claim in the instant application recites the additional limitation of causing to be provided at a device, during the first time period, the one or more first content items of the content playlist; determining a second goal mood score for a second time period, wherein the first goal mood score is different than the goal second mood score, and wherein the first time period starts before the second time period; selecting one or more second content items from a second plurality of content items, wherein the one or more second content items have a second cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the second goal mood score; adding the one or more second content items to the content playlist; and causing to be provided at the device, during the second time period, the one or more second content items of the content playlist.
Nevertheless, Vartakavi discloses causing to be provided at a device, during the first time period, the one or more first content items of the content playlist ([0059], Fig. 8, i.e., selection of the candidate media file may include adding an identifier of the candidate media file to a playlist, initiating a playback of the candidate media file (e.g., as the selected media file), causing presentation of a suggestion that the candidate media file be played); determining a second goal mood score for a second time period, wherein the first goal mood score is different than the second goal mood score, and wherein the first time period starts before the second time period ([0021], [0040]-[0041], [0051], Fig. 6, i.e., selection of a target arousal score based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home). It is also noted, that “driving a car to work” occurs in a first time period before “working” which occurs in a second time period); selecting one or more second content items from a second plurality of content items, wherein the one or more second content items have a second cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the second goal mood score ([0053], i.e., the media file is selected based on the target arousal score); adding the one or more second content items to the content playlist; and causing to be provided at the device, during the second time period, the one or more second content items of the content playlist ([0059], Fig. 8, i.e., selection of the candidate media file may include adding an identifier of the candidate media file to a playlist, initiating a playback of the candidate media file (e.g., as the selected media file), causing presentation of a suggestion that the candidate media file be played).
It would have been obvious to include causing to be provided at a device, during the first time period, the one or more first content items of the content playlist; determining a second goal mood score for a second time period, wherein the first goal mood score is different than the second goal mood score, and wherein the first time period starts before the second time period; selecting one or more second content items from a second plurality of content items, wherein the one or more second content items have a second cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the second goal mood score; adding the one or more second content items to the content playlist; and causing to be provided at the device, during the second time period, the one or more second content items of the content playlist in claim 1 of patent 11,902,623 for the benefit of providing a system to facilitate machine-led mood changes appropriate for the current state of a person ([0003]).
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 9.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 7.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to patented claims 11 and 13.
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 19.
Claim 20 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11, 13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vartakavi et al. (US Pub. 2016/0196105), herein referenced as Vartakavi.
Regarding claim 1, Vartakavi discloses “A method comprising: determining a first goal mood score for a first time period ([0021], [0040]-[0041], Fig. 6, i.e., a machine selects a target arousal score for the user based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home));
selecting one or more first content items from a first plurality of content items, based at least in part on the one or more first content items having a first cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the first goal mood score ([0043], [0053], i.e., the media file is selected based on the target arousal score);
adding the one or more first content items to a content playlist; causing to be provided at a device, during the first time period, the one or more first content items of the content playlist ([0059], Fig. 8, i.e., selection of the candidate media file may include adding an identifier of the candidate media file to a playlist, initiating a playback of the candidate media file (e.g., as the selected media file), causing presentation of a suggestion that the candidate media file be played);
determining a second goal mood score for a second time period, wherein the first goal mood score is different than the second goal mood score, and wherein the first time period starts before the second time period ([0021], [0040]-[0041], [0051], Fig. 6, i.e., selection of a target arousal score based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home). It is also noted, that “driving a car to work” occurs in a first time period before “working” which occurs in a second time period);
selecting one or more second content items from a second plurality of content items, wherein the one or more second content items have a second cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the second goal mood score ([0053], i.e., the media file is selected based on the target arousal score);
adding the one or more second content items to the content playlist; and causing to be provided at the device, during the second time period, the one or more second content items of the content playlist.” ([0059], Fig. 8, i.e., selection of the candidate media file may include adding an identifier of the candidate media file to a playlist, initiating a playback of the candidate media file (e.g., as the selected media file), causing presentation of a suggestion that the candidate media file be played).
Regarding claim 3, Vartakavi discloses “identifying a first context of the one or more first content items; and wherein the one or more second content items have a second context different from the first context.” ([0078]-[0079], i.e., music is identified by genre and energy levels).
Regarding claim 6, Vartakavi discloses “accessing a viewing history associated with the device, wherein the viewing history comprises a previous plurality of content items previously provided at the device during a time period corresponding to the first time period, and wherein the previous plurality of content items is associated with respective mood scores; and determining, based at least in part on the respective mood scores, the first goal mood score for the first time period.” ([0042]-[0043], [0053], i.e., the media file selected in operation 630 may be selected from among a group (e.g., collection or library) of familiar media files previously played for the user 132 (e.g., media files having play counts above a threshold number of playbacks)).
Regarding claim 7, Vartakavi discloses “wherein determining the second goal mood score for the second time period comprises: accessing a viewing history associated with the device, wherein the viewing history comprises a previous plurality of content items previously provided at the device during a time period corresponding to the second time period, and wherein the previous plurality of content items is associated with respective mood scores; and determining, based at least in part on the respective mood scores, the second goal mood score for the second time period.” ([0042]-[0043], [0053], i.e., the media file selected in operation 630 may be selected from among a group (e.g., collection or library) of familiar media files previously played for the user 132 (e.g., media files having play counts above a threshold number of playbacks)).
Regarding claim 11, Vartakavi discloses “A system comprising: one or more input/output (I/0) paths configured to provide content; and control circuitry ([0109]-[0110], Figs. 1-3, 24) configured to: determine a first goal mood score for a first time period ([0021], [0040]-[0041], Fig. 6, i.e., a machine selects a target arousal score for the user based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home));
select one or more first content items from a first plurality of content items, based at least in part on the one or more first content items having a first cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the first goal mood score ([0043], [0053], i.e., the media file is selected based on the target arousal score);
add the one or more first content items to a content playlist; cause to be provided at a device, via the one or more I/O paths and during the first time period, the one or more first content items of the content playlist ([0059], Fig. 8, i.e., selection of the candidate media file may include adding an identifier of the candidate media file to a playlist, initiating a playback of the candidate media file (e.g., as the selected media file), causing presentation of a suggestion that the candidate media file be played);
determine a second goal mood score for a second time period, wherein the first goal mood score is different than the second goal mood score, and wherein the first time period starts before the second time period ([0021], [0040]-[0041], [0051], Fig. 6, i.e., selection of a target arousal score based on contextual data that describes an activity in which the user is engaged (e.g., driving a car to work, working, or driving the car home). It is also noted, that “driving a car to work” occurs in a first time period before “working” which occurs in a second time period);
select one or more second content items from a second plurality of content items, wherein the one or more second content items have a second cumulative mood score that meets or exceeds the second goal mood score ([0043], [0053], i.e., the media file is selected based on the target arousal score);
add the one or more second content items to the content playlist; and cause to be provided at the device, via the one or more I/O paths and during the second time period, the one or more second content items of the content playlist.” ([0059], Fig. 8, i.e., selection of the candidate media file may include adding an identifier of the candidate media file to a playlist, initiating a playback of the candidate media file (e.g., as the selected media file), causing presentation of a suggestion that the candidate media file be played).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set for above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set for above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set for above in the rejection of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vartakavi in view of O’Konski et al. (US Pub. 2019/0155840), herein referenced as O’Konski.
Regarding claim 2, Vartakavi discloses providing a mood-based playlist to users during various activities or time periods ([0003], [0021], [0040], [0090]), however Vartakavi fails to explicitly disclose “wherein a portion of the first time period overlaps with the second time period.”
O’Konski teaches the technique of providing wherein a portion of the first time period overlaps with the second time period ([0074], [0079], [0093], i.e., a playlist is modified dynamically based on the change in the condition of a user activity and location. A progression format can be selected to order media tracks in the playlist along a transitional path from the user's current mood to the target mood. In other words, media tracks are ordered to provide a transition or progression format, and thus one time period or activity overlaps the other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein a portion of the first time period overlaps with the second time period as taught by O’Konski, to improve the machine-led mood change system of Vartakavi for the predictable result of preventing abrupt changes in the playlist and thus providing smoother, gradual transitions for an improved experience.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set for above in the rejection of claim 2.
Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vartakavi in view of Archibong et al. (US Pub. 2014/0067828), herein referenced as Archibong.
Regarding claim 8, Vartakavi fails to disclose “wherein the content playlist comprises one or more social media content items.”
Archibong teaches the technique of providing wherein the content playlist comprises one or more social media content items ([0258], Claim 12, i.e., determining trending media content on the social-networking system, wherein the playlist further comprises the trending media content). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the content playlist comprises one or more social media content items as taught by Archibong, to improve the machine-led mood change system of Vartakavi for the predictable result of providing a variety of new media content to further enhance or affect the mood.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set for above in the rejection of claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 14-15, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 September 23, 2026