Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 recites “a grade controller.” It is unclear whether this is the same grade controller recited in claim 14 or an additional one. Claim 14 also recites the grade controller as an element separate from the “one or more controllers,” while claim 15 recites the “one or more controllers” as including a grade controller. For examination, Claim 15’s “grade controller” is interpreted as one of the one or more controllers of claim 14. Claim 16 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by dependency of claim 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US20180038082A1) in view of Mannepalli (US20080082238A1), hereinafter Hashimoto and Mannepalli, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto teaches of a method of operating an earth working machine having an earth working implement for working a terrain ("It is an object of the present invention to provide a control system for a work vehicle, a control method, and a work vehicle, with which work can be performed efficiently and with good finish quality", [0008], "The work vehicle 1 according to this embodiment is a bulldozer", [0029]), the method comprising: generating or retrieving, or both, a design topography for the terrain to be worked by the earth working implement ("The storage device 28 stores design terrain information and work site terrain information. The design terrain information indicates the position and shape of the final design terrain. The final design terrain is the target terrain to be worked at the work site", [0049], "In step S102, the controller 26 acquires design terrain information. As shown in FIG. 5, the design terrain information includes the height Z.sub.design of the final design terrain 60 at a plurality of points at predetermined intervals in the travel direction of the work vehicle 1", [0053]); retrieving or mapping, or both, an actual topography for at least a first portion of the terrain to be worked by the earth working implement ("In step S103, the controller 26 acquires the current terrain information", [0054], "The work site terrain information is, for example, a current topographical survey in a three-dimensional data format, which can be obtained by aerial laser", [0049], "More precisely, the current terrain information includes the heights Z0 to Zn of the current terrain 50 at a plurality of points up to a predetermined terrain recognition distance do from the current position in the travel direction of the work vehicle 1", [0055]); determining a lowest elevation of the actual topography for the first portion of the terrain to be worked by the earth working implement ("L may be the difference between the maximum and minimum values for the heights Z0 to Zn at a plurality of points in the above-mentioned current terrain 50", [0065]); calculating a volume of material disposed above a plane of the lowest elevation within the first portion ("In step S104, the soil volume of the current terrain 50 is calculated. Here, the controller 26 calculates the soil volume of the current terrain 50 on the basis of the height of the current position", [0058], "In calculating the soil volume, it is assumed that the cross sectional area of the current terrain 50 in the travel direction of the work vehicle 1 corresponds to the soil volume, and the size of the current terrain 50 in the width direction of the work vehicle 1 is not taken into account. However, the soil volume may be calculated by taking into account the size of the current terrain 50 in the width direction of the work vehicle 1", [0060], Hashimoto measures the dirt above the ground level under the blade (Z0), and since it digs uphill, that level is the lowest point ([0058]-[0059], [0101])); and setting a first position of the earth working implement for working the terrain based at least in part on the volume of material ("In step S109, an inclined first virtual design surface 70 is produced", [0076], "the controller 26 generates a command signal to the work implement 13 so that the cutting edge position of the work implement 13 will move along the first virtual design surface 70", [0078], "The soil volume S.sub.volume of the current terrain 50 is equal to or greater than a predetermined undulation determination threshold S.sub.const", [0061], "When the first starting condition is satisfied, the flow proceeds to step S106. When the first starting condition is not satisfied, the flow returns to step S101", [0062]).
However, Hashimoto does not teach of comparing the volume of material to a capacity volume of the earth working implement.
Mannepalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of comparing the volume of material to a capacity volume of the earth working implement ("In particular, machine 12 may have a maximum capacity to move material that is fixed according to a size of work implement 18, a maximum drawbar pull force of machine 12, a travel speed of machine 12, or other such machine-related limitation. Controller 30 may compare the desired excavation contour to the capacity of machine 12 and modify the value of the variable A based on the capacity such that a maximum volume of material is removed during each excavation pass, without exceeding the machine's capacity to efficiently move material along the work surface", [0028]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Hashimoto with the teaching of Mannepalli to compare the calculated soil volume of the terrain ahead of the machine to the capacity of the work implement with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to keep each pass within what the machine can move so that it is neither overloaded or underused (Mannepallis, [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising adjusting the first position of the earth working implement for a subsequent portion of the terrain ("The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50. Consequently, the first virtual design surface 70 is determined so that at a given work site (as shown in FIG. 13C), the inclination angle α will gradually decrease", [0095]).
However, modified Hashimoto does not teach of based at least in part on a volume of material of the subsequent portion being less than the capacity volume of the earth working implement.
Mannepalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of based at least in part on a volume of material of the subsequent portion being less than the capacity volume of the earth working implement ("Controller 30 may compare the desired excavation contour to the capacity of machine 12 and modify the value of the variable A based on the capacity such that a maximum volume of material is removed during each excavation pass, without exceeding the machine's capacity to efficiently move material along the work surface", [0028]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Hashimoto with the teaching of Mannepalli to compare the calculated soil volume of the terrain ahead of the machine to the capacity of the work implement with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to keep each pass within what the machine can move so that it is neither overloaded or underused (Mannepallis, [0037]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising adjusting the first position of the earth working implement for a subsequent portion of the terrain ("The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50. Consequently, the first virtual design surface 70 is determined so that at a given work site (as shown in FIG. 13C), the inclination angle α will gradually decrease", [0095]) based at least in part on a volume of material of the subsequent portion being greater than a capacity volume of the earth working implement ("More specifically, condition 4 means that the estimated held soil volume S.sub.sum has decreased from a soil volume that exceeds the target soil volume S, and has reached a value close to the target soil volume S (the second held soil volume threshold (q2.Math.S))", [0104], "As shown in FIG. 14B, the controller 26 may control the work implement 13 so that the work implement 13 moves along the inclined virtual design surface 70 when the estimated held soil volume S.sub.sum that combines the estimated dug soil volume with the held soil volume approximately matches the target soil volume S", [0102], "The target soil volume S may be decided on the basis of the capacity of the blade, for example", [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein the actual topography is sensed by a sensor external to or onboard the earth working machine ("Alternatively, the work site terrain information may be generated from survey data measured by a surveying device outside the work vehicle 1. Aerial laser surveying may be used as an external surveying device, for example", [0057], "The position sensing device 31 is the main body of a current terrain acquisition device (discussed below)", [0045], "The controller 26 acquires position information indicating the latest trajectory of the cutting edge position P0 as work site terrain information", [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 4 as stated above, additionally, wherein the sensor comprises a laser for sensing the actual topography ("Alternatively, the work site terrain information may be generated from survey data measured by a surveying device outside the work vehicle 1. Aerial laser surveying may be used as an external surveying device, for example", [0057], "The work site terrain information is, for example, a current topographical survey in a three-dimensional data format, which can be obtained by aerial laser", [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising controlling movement of the earth working implement for working the terrain ("Consequently, as the cutting edge position P0 of the work implement 13 moves along the first virtual design surface 70, digging work is performed on the current terrain 50", [0078]) based at least in part on the volume of material ("When the first starting condition is satisfied, the flow proceeds to step S106. When the first starting condition is not satisfied, the flow returns to step S101", [0062], "Next, as shown in FIG. 13A, when the held soil volume S.sub.held of the work implement 13 becomes greater than the target soil volume S, or when the height Z0 of the current terrain 50 at the current position has reached the target height Z.sub.target, the controller 26 produces the second virtual design surface 71 that follows along the current terrain 50. The controller 26 then controls the work implement 13 so that the work implement 13 will move along the second virtual design surface 71 that follows the current terrain 50", [0094]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising retrieving or mapping, or both, an actual topography for at least a second portion of the terrain to be worked by the earth working implement ("When the second ending condition is satisfied, the above-mentioned held soil volume S.sub.held is reset, and the flow returns to step S101", [0089], "The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50", [0095]); determining a lowest elevation of the actual topography for the second portion of the terrain to be worked by the earth working implement ("For example, L may be the difference between the maximum and minimum values for the heights Z0 to Zn at a plurality of points in the above-mentioned current terrain 50", [0065]); and calculating a volume of material disposed above a plane of the lowest elevation within the second portion ("In step S104, the soil volume of the current terrain 50 is calculated. Here, the controller 26 calculates the soil volume of the current terrain 50 on the basis of the height of the current position", [0058], "In this embodiment, the height of the current position is the height Z0 of the current terrain 50 located in the vertical direction of the current cutting edge position P0", [0059], "In the above embodiment, a scenario of digging uphill was described", [0101]).
However, modified Hashimoto does not teach of comparing the volume of material to a capacity volume of the earth working implement.
Mannepalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of comparing the volume of material to a capacity volume of the earth working implement ("In particular, machine 12 may have a maximum capacity to move material that is fixed according to a size of work implement 18, a maximum drawbar pull force of machine 12, a travel speed of machine 12, or other such machine-related limitation. Controller 30 may compare the desired excavation contour to the capacity of machine 12 and modify the value of the variable A based on the capacity such that a maximum volume of material is removed during each excavation pass, without exceeding the machine's capacity to efficiently move material along the work surface", [0028]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Hashimoto with the teaching of Mannepalli to compare the calculated soil volume of the terrain ahead of the machine to the capacity of the work implement with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to keep each pass within what the machine can move so that it is neither overloaded or underused (Mannepallis, [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 7 as stated above, further comprising adjusting the first position of the earth working implement to a second position ("The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50. Consequently, the first virtual design surface 70 is determined so that at a given work site (as shown in FIG. 13C), the inclination angle α will gradually decrease", [0095]) based at least in part on the volume of material disposed above the lowest elevation within the second portion ("In step S104, the soil volume of the current terrain 50 is calculated. Here, the controller 26 calculates the soil volume of the current terrain 50 on the basis of the height of the current position", [0058], "In this embodiment, the height of the current position is the height Z0 of the current terrain 50 located in the vertical direction of the current cutting edge position P0", [0059], "In the above embodiment, a scenario of digging uphill was described", [0101]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein calculating a volume of material is begun prior to the earth working implement beginning to work the terrain ("In step S104, the soil volume of the current terrain 50 is calculated. Here, the controller 26 calculates the soil volume of the current terrain 50 on the basis of the height of the current position", [0058], "When the first starting condition is not satisfied, the flow returns to step S101. The processing from step S101 to step S105 is repeated at predetermined intervals until the first starting condition is satisfied", [0062]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein calculating a volume of material is conducted during a time the earth working implement is working the terrain ("The controller 26 calculates the current held soil volume on the basis of the difference between the current terrain 50 and the trajectory of the cutting edge position P0, for example", [0071], "The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50", [0095], "When the second ending condition is satisfied, the above-mentioned held soil volume S.sub.held is reset, and the flow returns to step S101", [0089], Held-soil volume is calculated during digging).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, a control system for performing the method of claim 1 ("The controller 26 is not limited to a single unit, and may be divided up into a plurality of controllers", [0041], "The controller 26 automatically controls the work implement 13 on the basis of the current terrain information, the design terrain information, and the cutting edge position information", [0049]), the control system comprising: a data storage network having stored therein a design plan comprising design data representing a target profile of the terrain ("The control system 3 includes a storage device 28", [0048], "The storage device 28 stores design terrain information and work site terrain information. The design terrain information indicates the position and shape of the final design terrain. The final design terrain is the target terrain to be worked at the work site. The design terrain information is, for example, a construction drawing in a three-dimensional data format", [0049], "For example, processing for determining the virtual design surface may be executed by the remote controller, and processing for outputting a command signal to the work implement may be performed by the onboard controller", [0100]), wherein the design data comprise x, y, and z coordinate data in a reference system external to the earth working machine ("The storage device 28 stores design terrain information and work site terrain information. The design terrain information indicates the position and shape of the final design terrain. The final design terrain is the target terrain to be worked at the work site. The design terrain information is, for example, a construction drawing in a three-dimensional data format", [0049], "As shown in FIG. 5, the design terrain information includes the height Z.sub.design of the final design terrain 60 at a plurality of points at predetermined intervals in the travel direction of the work vehicle 1", [0053], "The controller 26 calculates the global coordinates of the cutting edge position P0 based on the global coordinates of the GNSS receiver 32, the local coordinates of the cutting edge position P0, and the vehicle inclination angle information", [0047]); a sensor external to or onboard the earth working machine comprising a laser for sensing an actual topography of the terrain ("Alternatively, the work site terrain information may be generated from survey data measured by a surveying device outside the work vehicle 1. Aerial laser surveying may be used as an external surveying device, for example", [0057], "The position sensing device 31 is the main body of a current terrain acquisition device (discussed below)", [0045], "The controller 26 acquires position information indicating the latest trajectory of the cutting edge position P0 as work site terrain information", [0056]); one or more controllers configured to receive data from the sensor ("The controller 26 is not limited to a single unit, and may be divided up into a plurality of controllers", [0041], "The controller 26 acquires the current terrain information by calculation from the work site terrain information obtained from the storage device 28, and the vehicle position information and the travel direction information obtained from the position sensing device 31", [0054]), determine a lowest elevation of the actual topography ("L may be the difference between the maximum and minimum values for the heights Z0 to Zn at a plurality of points in the above-mentioned current terrain 50", [0065]), calculate a volume of material disposed above a plane of the lowest elevation ("In step S104, the soil volume of the current terrain 50 is calculated. Here, the controller 26 calculates the soil volume of the current terrain 50 on the basis of the height of the current position", [0058], "In calculating the soil volume, it is assumed that the cross sectional area of the current terrain 50 in the travel direction of the work vehicle 1 corresponds to the soil volume, and the size of the current terrain 50 in the width direction of the work vehicle 1 is not taken into account. However, the soil volume may be calculated by taking into account the size of the current terrain 50 in the width direction of the work vehicle 1", [0060]), and generate an intermediate topography target ("In step S109, an inclined first virtual design surface 70 is produced", [0076], "For example, processing for determining the virtual design surface may be executed by the remote controller, and processing for outputting a command signal to the work implement may be performed by the onboard controller", [0100]); and a grade controller configured to control the earth working machine in accordance with the intermediate topography target ("Here, the controller 26 generates a command signal to the work implement 13 so that the cutting edge position of the work implement 13 will move along the first virtual design surface 70 produced in step S109", [0078], "For example, processing for determining the virtual design surface may be executed by the remote controller, and processing for outputting a command signal to the work implement may be performed by the onboard controller", [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 14 as stated above, additionally, wherein the one or more controllers includes a grade controller further configured to set a first position of the earth working implement for working the terrain ("In step S109, an inclined first virtual design surface 70 is produced", [0076], "Here, the controller 26 generates a command signal to the work implement 13 so that the cutting edge position of the work implement 13 will move along the first virtual design surface 70 produced in step S109", [0078]), wherein the first position is based at least in part on the volume of material ("When the first starting condition is satisfied, the flow proceeds to step S106. When the first starting condition is not satisfied, the flow returns to step S101", [0062], "The first ending condition includes that the held soil volume S.sub.herd calculated in step 1111 is greater than a predetermined end determination threshold", [0080]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, additionally, wherein the one or more controllers is configured to adjust the first position of the earth working implement for working the terrain ("The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50. Consequently, the first virtual design surface 70 is determined so that at a given work site (as shown in FIG. 13C), the inclination angle α will gradually decrease", [0095]) based on changes to the volume of material ("Next, as shown in FIG. 13A, when the held soil volume S.sub.held of the work implement 13 becomes greater than the target soil volume S, or when the height Z0 of the current terrain 50 at the current position has reached the target height Z.sub.target, the controller 26 produces the second virtual design surface 71 that follows along the current terrain 50", [0094], "The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50", [0095]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 14 as stated above, additionally, wherein the one or more controllers is configured to direct operation of the earth working implement ("Here, the controller 26 generates a command signal to the work implement 13 so that the cutting edge position of the work implement 13 will move along the first virtual design surface 70 produced in step S109", [0078]) based at least in part on the volume of material ("When the first starting condition is satisfied, the flow proceeds to step S106. When the first starting condition is not satisfied, the flow returns to step S101", [0062], "The first ending condition includes that the held soil volume S.sub.herd calculated in step 1111 is greater than a predetermined end determination threshold", [0080]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 14 as stated above, additionally, wherein the one or more controllers generates a plurality of intermediate topography targets ("In step S109, an inclined first virtual design surface 70 is produced", [0076], "In step S114 a virtual design surface that follows along the current terrain 50 is produced. Here, the controller 26 produces a second virtual design surface 71 along the smoothed current terrain 50A", [0086], "The controller 26 updates the current terrain 50 on the basis of the updated work site terrain information, and newly decides on the virtual design surfaces 70 and 71 based on the updated current terrain 50", [0095]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 18 as stated above, additionally, wherein the grade controller is configured to control the earth working machine ("Here, the controller 26 generates a command signal to the work implement 13 so that the cutting edge position of the work implement 13 will move along the first virtual design surface 70 produced in step S109", [0078]) based at least in part on selection of one of the plurality of intermediate topography targets ("Next, as shown in FIG. 13A, when the held soil volume S.sub.held of the work implement 13 becomes greater than the target soil volume S, or when the height Z0 of the current terrain 50 at the current position has reached the target height Z.sub.target, the controller 26 produces the second virtual design surface 71 that follows along the current terrain 50", [0094], "However, if the inclined first virtual design surface 70 is equal to or greater than a maximum height Z.sub.max, the controller 26 produces a first virtual design surface 70 that extends horizontally at the maximum height Z.sub.max", [0076]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto in view of Mannepallis, and further in view of Wei et al. (US20160258129A1), hereinafter Wei.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising comparing the design topography and the actual topography ("However, the second virtual design surface 71 is set so as not to go below a final design terrain 60", [0086], "The controller 26 automatically controls the work implement 13 on the basis of the current terrain information, the design terrain information, and the cutting edge position information", [0049], "As shown in FIG. 5, the design terrain information includes the height Z.sub.design of the final design terrain 60 at a plurality of points at predetermined intervals in the travel direction of the work vehicle 1", [0053], "FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an example of the final design terrain and the current terrain", [0016]).
However, modified Hashimoto does not teach of determining that a total volume of material above the design topography exceeds a maximum capacity of material capable of being moved by the earth working implement over a single pass of the terrain to be worked by the earth working machine.
Wei, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of determining that a total volume of material above the design topography ("The earthmoving operation may be performed using the work plan 60 by initially setting the desired parameters of the final work surface or final design plane 61", [0033], "If the machine 10 cannot handle the weight or volume of materials to be pushed during the initial pass 80, the machine 10 may stall or otherwise become unable to complete the initial pass 80 of the material movement plan 50", [0036]) exceeds a maximum capacity of material capable of being moved by the earth working implement over a single pass of the terrain to be worked by the earth working machine ("Due to the presence of the bump 84, the initial pass 80 may include excessive materials and the machine 10 may not be capable of moving all of the materials which would, prospectively, be moved during the initial pass 80", [0036], "For earthmoving, the machine 10 may employ a work implement, such as the blade 17, to push or otherwise move materials at a worksite", [0022]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Hashimoto with the teaching of Wei to determine that the volume of material above the final design surface exceeds the maximum amount of material the work implement can move in a single pass with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the system by avoiding stalling the machine on a pass that holds more material than it can move (Wei, [0042]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, further comprising generating an intermediate topography target having a target elevation ("In step S109, an inclined first virtual design surface 70 is produced… However, if the inclined first virtual design surface 70 is equal to or greater than a maximum height Z.sub.max, the controller 26 produces a first virtual design surface 70 that extends horizontally at the maximum height Z.sub.max", [0076], "The virtual design surface is a surface indicating the cutting edge target position of the work implement 13 during work by the work vehicle 1", [0063]) wherein at least a portion of the target elevation is above an elevation of the design topography ("As a result, as shown in FIG. 13C, the inclination of the current terrain 50 gradually becomes less steep, and digging is performed so as to approach the final design terrain 60", [0095], "However, the second virtual design surface 71 is set so as not to go below a final design terrain 60", [0086]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hashimoto teaches of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above, additionally, wherein at least a portion of the target elevation of the intermediate topography target equals the elevation of the design topography, but not below the elevation of the design topography ("However, the second virtual design surface 71 is set so as not to go below a final design terrain 60", [0086]).
Conclusion
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657