DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/23/2026 was filed after the filing date of this Application on 04/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “are configured to facing” is grammatically incorrect and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- are configured to face --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This term renders claim 1 indefinite because it is unclear what “to substantially not overlap with each other” is. Thus, as used to qualify the positions of the air input parts relative to each other, this term renders the same indeterminate and the claim (and all claims depending therefrom) indefinite with regard to the scope of protection sought thereby.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “said at least two subparts … are provided in said at least one second part” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 from which claim 6 depends, previously disclosed that “at least two subparts provided in said at least one part”. Therefore, it is unclear how the two subparts can be provided at two different locations. More clarity is requested.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “said first inner rear wall” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “said first inner rear wall” will be interpreted as -- a first inner rear wall --
Claim 8 recites the limitation “respective sides of said first air input part” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “positioned at respective sides of said first air input part” will be interpreted as -- positioned at the respective sides of said first air input part --
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “said evaporator is a first evaporator; a second evaporator has a middle part; and said first air input part is associated with said middle part of said second evaporator and is configured to open into said second evaporator” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 previously disclosed that “at least two air input parts opening into said evaporator”. Since the disclosed “evaporator” of claim 1 is defined by claim 11 as the “first evaporator”, it is therefore unclear how the first air input part (which is one of the “at least two air input parts”) can be associated to both the first and second evaporator. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “said evaporator is a first evaporator; a second evaporator has a middle part; said second air input part and said third air input part open into said second evaporator” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 previously disclosed that “at least two air input parts opening into said evaporator”. Since the disclosed “evaporator” of claim 1 is defined by claim 12 as the “first evaporator”, it is therefore unclear how the second and third air input parts (which are included in the “at least two air input parts”) can be associated to both the first and second evaporator. More clarity is requested.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “said second inner rear wall” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “said second inner rear wall” will be interpreted as -- a second inner rear wall --
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “wherein said at least one part includes a second part” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 6 from which claim 13 depends, previously disclosed “wherein said at least one part includes at least one second part”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “second part” of claim 13 is referencing the previously disclosed “second part” of claim 6 or a different/additional structure. More clarity is requested.
Claims 2-5, 9-10, and 14-15 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gu (US 20120011879 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gu teaches a cooling device (corresponds to the refrigerator illustrated in Fig. 2), comprising: at least one part (corresponds to the disclosed “storage compartments” in paragraph [0048]) suitable for storage of at least one material (corresponds to the disclosed “food” in paragraph [0005]); at least two subparts (second storage compartment 60 and lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2) provided in said at least one part (paragraph [0048]); a respective inner rear wall (corresponds to the rear wall of inner shell 12 Figs. 1-2) provided in each of said at least two subparts (Figs. 1-2); at least one respective cold air input part (opening 41 and second discharge holes 72 Figs. 2 and 4) provided at said inner rear walls (Figs. 2 and 4); at least one fan (fourth circulating fan 63 Figs. 2-3); an evaporator (second evaporator 71 Figs. 2-3) disposed in said at least one part for providing a formation of cold air (corresponds to the disclosed “cold air” in paragraph [0078]) suitable for passage through said at least one cold air input part to said at least two subparts by using said at least one fan (paragraphs [0069] and [0078]); at least one air transfer path (second cold air path 74 Fig. 3) providing a transfer of cold air (corresponds to the disclosed “cold air” in paragraph [0069]) for passage through said at least one cold air input part from said evaporator (Figs. 2-3) to a respective one of said at least two subparts (corresponds to any of second storage compartment 60 or lower storage compartment 70 Figs. 2-3); at least two air input parts (correspond to the outlet of ice-making chamber return duct 35, the outlet of cold air return duct 67, and the outlet of second suction hole 73 Fig. 2) opening into said evaporator (Fig. 2) and being configured to not overlap with each other and be aligned and side-by-side in a width direction (corresponds to the width of the refrigerator Figs. 2 and 7); and at least one air feeding channel (ice-making chamber return duct 35 and cold air return duct 67 Figs. 2 and 7) providing a transfer of air (corresponds to the air return process described in paragraphs [0066] and [0122]) located in said at least two subparts to be fed to at least a respective one of said at least two air input parts (correspond to any of the outlet of ice-making chamber return duct 35, the outlet of cold air return duct 67, or second suction hole 73 Fig. 2) opening into said evaporator by using at least one air feeding opening (air suction hole 64, air suction hole 65, and the inlet of second suction hole 73 Fig. 2) provided in a respective one of said at least two subparts (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Gu teaches wherein said at least two air input parts opening into said evaporator are at least three air input parts (correspond to the outlet of ice-making chamber return duct 35, the outlet of cold air return duct 67, and the outlet of second suction hole 73 Fig. 2) opening into said evaporator (Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Gu teaches wherein said at least one part includes at least one first part (corresponds to the combination of second storage compartment 60 and lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2), and said at least two subparts are suitable for storage of the at least one material and are provided in said at least one first part (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, and due to indefiniteness, Gu teaches wherein said at least one part includes at least one second part (corresponds to the combination of second storage compartment 60 and lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2), and said at least two subparts are suitable for storage of the at least one material and are provided in said at least one second part (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Gu teaches wherein said at least one part includes a first part (corresponds to the combination of second storage compartment 60 and lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2), and said at least two subparts include at least one first subpart (lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2) and at least one second subpart (second storage compartment 60 Fig. 2) in said first part (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu.
Regarding claim 11, and due to indefiniteness, Gu teaches further comprises: first (second storage compartment 60 Fig. 2) and second inner volumes of the cooling device (lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2); said evaporator is a first evaporator (First evaporator 51 Fig. 2); a second evaporator (second evaporator 71 Fig. 2) has a middle part (corresponds to the middle part of second evaporator 71 Fig. 2); and said first air input part is associated with said middle part of said second evaporator (Fig. 2) and is configured to open into said second evaporator (Figs. 2 and 7).
Gu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “said first air input part is configured to face in a direction of said second inner volume”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “said first air input part is configured to face in a direction of said second inner volume” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing the air back to the evaporator as return air. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Gu and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing the air back to the evaporator as return air.
Regarding claim 12, and due to indefiniteness, Gu teaches wherein: the cooling device has a front opening (corresponds to the front opening of body 10 Figs. 1-2); said evaporator is a first evaporator (first evaporator 51 Fig. 2); a second evaporator (second evaporator 71 Fig. 2) has a middle part (corresponds to the middle part of second evaporator 71 Fig. 2); said second air input part and said third air input part open into said second evaporator at respective sides of said first air input part (corresponds to the left and right sides of second suction hole 73 Fig. 2) opening into said second evaporator and associated with said middle part of said second evaporator (Fig. 2); a second inner rear wall (corresponds to the rear wall of third storage compartment 70 Figs. 2-3).
Gu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “said second air input part and said third air input part are configured to face in a direction opposite to said front opening and the second inner rear wall”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “said second air input part and said third air input part are configured to face in a direction opposite to said front opening and the second inner rear wall” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing the air back to the evaporator as return air. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Gu and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing the air back to the evaporator as return air.
Claims 3-4, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu in view of Bae et al. (US 20090113920 A1, herein after referred to as Bae).
Regarding claim 3, Gu teaches wherein said evaporator has a middle part (corresponds to the middle part of evaporator 71 Figs. 2 and 7), said at least three air input parts opening into said evaporator include a first air input part (corresponds to the outlet of second section hole 73 Fig. 2) and other air input parts (correspond to the outlet of ice-making chamber return duct 35 and the outlet of cold air return duct 67 Figs. 2 and 7), and said first air input part is associated with said middle part of said evaporator (Figs. 2-3 where a person skilled in the art would recognize that air entering second cold air path 74 via second section hole 73 would interact with the entirety of evaporator 71 including its middle part when pulled by circulating fan 63).
Gu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “said first air input part is larger than said other air input parts”.
However, Bae teaches a first air input part (the outlet of the channel formed by guide 250 and mechanical room 107 Fig. 3B corresponds to the first air input part of Gu) that is larger than other air input parts (Fig. 4A where the outlets of return ducts 218 correspond to the other air input parts of Gu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Gu to include “said first air input part is larger than said other air input parts” in view of the teachings of Bae to account for different volumes of return air based on the size of the compartments.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein said other air input parts are second (correspond to the outlet of ice-making chamber return duct 35 Fig. 2 of Gu) and third air input parts (correspond to the outlet of cold air return duct 67 Fig. 2 of Gu) opening into said evaporator (Figs. 2 and 7 of Gu), and said second and third air input parts have different sizes (Figs. 2 and 7 of Gu) and are each configured to be positioned at a respective one of two sides of said first air input part (corresponds to the left and right sides of second section hole 73 Figs. 2 and 7 of Gu) opening into said evaporator and associated with said middle part of said evaporator (Figs. 2 and 7 of Gu).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach further comprises a front opening of the cooling device (corresponds to the front opening of body 10 Figs. 1-2 of Gu), said first air input part opening into said evaporator and being associated with said middle part of said evaporator being configured to face in a direction opposite (Fig. 3 of Gu where based on the airflow direction, the outlet of second section hole 73 is facing in a direction which is opposite to the front opening of body 10) to said front opening and a first inner rear wall (corresponds to the rear wall of third storage compartment 70 Figs. 2-3 of Gu).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach further comprises an inner volume of the cooling device (corresponds to the storage volume of body 10 Figs. 1-2 of Gu), said second and third air input parts opening into said evaporator and positioned at the respective sides of said first air input part associated with said middle part of said evaporator (Figs. 2 and 7 of Gu), are configured to face in a direction of said inner volume (Fig. 7 of Gu where based on the airflow direction, both the outlet of ice-making chamber return duct 35 and the outlet of cold air return duct 67 are facing toward the storage volume of body 10).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein said at least two subparts include a first subpart (lower storage compartment 70 Fig. 2 of Gu) configured to be connected to said first air input part opening into said evaporator and associated with said middle part of said evaporator (Figs. 2 and 7 of Gu), and said at least one air feeding channel (the channel formed by guide 250 and mechanical room 107 Fig. 3B of Bae corresponds to the at least one air feeding channel of Gu) connected to said at least one air feeding opening (the inlet of the channel formed by guide 250 and mechanical room 107 Fig. 3B of Bae corresponds to the at least one air feeding opening of Gu) is positioned at said first subpart (Fig. 3B of Bae where second storage room 130 corresponds to the first subpart of Gu).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu in view of Okabe (JP6790279B2).
Regarding claim 13, Gu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein said at least one part includes a second part having at least one first compartment, at least one second compartment and at least one third compartment”.
However, Okabe teaches wherein at least one part (the storage volume of refrigerator 1B Fig. 9 corresponds to the at least one part of Gu) includes a second part (corresponds to the combination of ice-making chamber 21, temperature switching chamber 22, and vegetable compartment 31 Fig. 9) having at least one first compartment (ice-making chamber 21 Fig. 9), at least one second compartment (temperature switching chamber 22 Fig. 9) and at least one third compartment (vegetable compartment 31 Fig. 9) to provide a refrigerator with a simplified airflow configuration (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Gu to include “wherein said at least one part includes a second part having at least one first compartment, at least one second compartment and at least one third compartment” in view of the teachings of Okabe to provide a refrigerator with a simplified airflow configuration.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach further comprises at least one first compartment air feeding channel (second return air passage 241a Fig. 9 of Okabe) connected with at least one first compartment air feeding opening (second return port 231a Fig. 9 of Okabe) provided in said at least one first compartment (Fig. 9 of Okabe) and configured to be connected to said second air input part (Fig. 9 of Okabe where left joint 252 corresponds to the second air input part of Gu) opening into said second evaporator (Fig. 9 of Okabe where cooler 600 corresponds to the second evaporator of Gu).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach further comprises at least one second compartment air feeding channel (third return air passage 242 Fig. 9 of Okabe) connected with at least one second compartment air feeding opening (third return port 232 Fig. 9 of Okabe) provided in said at least one second compartment (Fig. 9 of Okabe) and configured to be connected to said third air input part (Fig. 9 of Okabe where right joint 252 corresponds to the second air input part of Gu) opening into said second evaporator (Fig. 9 of Okabe).
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763