DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis for the “security clip.” Perhaps “securing clip” was intended instead. For examination purposes, “security clip” will be read as “securing clip.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fund (4,058,918).
Fund discloses a flip placard comprising: a base (40, Fig. 2); a first placard (42, Fig. 2); a second placard (42, Fig. 2); and only two securing clips (52, Fig. 2) secured to the base, the first securing clip having a first position engaging the first placard to hold the first placard in a fixed position and the second securing clip having a first position engaging the second placard to hold the second placard in a fixed position.
Regarding claim 3, see Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, see Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 2 shows that the first and second placards each have three apertures therein, and the first and second securing clips each engage at least one of the apertures.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, see hook 80 in Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fund (4,058,918).
Regarding claim 2, Fund discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, each securing clip disclosed by Fund uses a single mounting flange. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two mounting flanges because it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-15 are allowed.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a securing clip of the type recited that is capable of engaging a placard in at least two locations.
Regarding claim 7, as set forth above, the placards disclosed by Fund have a plurality of apertures. However, neither Fund nor the other prior art of record disclose or suggest securing clips that have two arms, each of which engages an aperture on the placard.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a flip placard having securing clips that engage a placard in at least two locations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631