CTNF 19/179,214 CTNF 85421 DETAILED ACTION Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: typo: “displayas” in line 12 should be “display as” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4, 11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Kerdreux; Christelle et al., US 20140353438 A1] in view of [Pflughaupt; Jaycob D., US 8902165 B1], [Chou; Chin-Wen, US 20070068788 A1] and further in view of [Fukushima, Yashuyuki et al., US 20030048252 A1] . Regarding claim 1: Kerdreux discloses: 1. A control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] for controlling a display (30) [Kerdreux: Fig.2: display screen 5; ¶ 0022: “pointer means for controlling a cursor on at least one display screen”] , the control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] comprising a palm rest (1) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: support 20; 0073: “ the support 20 has a palm rest ... in front of the armrest 35”; ¶ 0074: top portion 25”] , fixed relative to a structure [Kerdreux: ¶ 0062: reception face 19 with “a rim that can be fastened to a console by fastener means 16”; ¶ 0081: “ the base 15 of each interface is received in a housing in the console 2”] , the palm rest (1) Kerdreux: Fig.1: support 20; 0073: “ the support 20 has a palm rest ... in front of the armrest 35”; ¶ 0074: top portion 25”] being provided with: a support face (11) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0074: front face 25 “top portion 25”“] configured to receive a palm of a hand of an operator [Kerdreux: ¶ 0083: “the individual presses the palm 102 of the hand on the top portion 25'' of the front face 25””] ; two lateral faces (13, 14) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: a left side face 23 and a right side face 22: ¶ 0064: “the support 20 extends transversely between a left side face 23 and a right side face 22”] situated on either side of the palm rest (1) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: support 20; ¶ 0064: “the support 20 extends transversely between a left side face 23 and a right side face 22”; ¶ 0073: “ the support 20 has a palm rest ... in front of the armrest 35”; ¶ 0074: palm-rest top portion 25”] , one of the two lateral faces (13, 14) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0071: “the support 20 includes at least one notch 30 for receiving a user's thumb”; ¶ 0072: notch “formed in a side face” ] being reachable by a thumb of the hand resting on the palm rest (1) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: support 20; ¶ 0071: “the support 20 includes at least one notch 30 for receiving a user's thumb”; ¶ 0083: “places the thumb in the notch 30”] ; and a front face (12) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: front face 25; ¶ 0064 and 0074: “front face 25”] reachable by at least one other finger of the hand resting on the palm rest (1) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: support 20; ¶ 0083: “The individual can then easily move the pointer means with the fingers other than the thumb”] , wherein the control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] comprises the following four controls (2-5) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown. In a variant or in addition, the pointer means may include a touch zone, a wheel, or indeed button-type selector means, for example”] : at least one wheel (2) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0076: “a wheel”] projecting from one lateral face among the two lateral faces (13, 14), the wheel (2) being provided with at least three degrees of freedom, including at least one degree of freedom in rotation, with respect to the palm rest (1) ; at least one push-button (3) [Kerdreux: Fig.1:¶ 0047: “indeed selector means that may be activated by pressure from a user’s finger, such as a button”; ¶ 0076: “indeed button-type selector mean”; Examiner: Under BRI, Kerdreux’ s button-type selector is actuated by finger pressure and is therefore considered to be a type of push-button.] ; a rotary ring (4) able to rotate relative to the palm rest (1) about a main axis (AX4), the rotary ring (4) being positioned on the front face (12) ; a trackball (5) [Kerdreux: Fig.1; ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown”] , arranged at the center of the rotary ring (4) and concentrically to the rotary ring (4) , the trackball (5) [Kerdreux: Fig.1; ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown”] being able to rotate relative to the palm rest (1) about two complementary axes (AX5, AX6) [Kerdreux: Fig.1; ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown”; Examiner: A movable ball/ trackball is necessarily rotatable about two orthogonal axes to position a cursor.] distinct from the main axis (AX4) ; and a computer (9) [Kerdreux: Fig.1; ¶ 0063: “an electronic device for pointer means 40”; ¶ 0077: “The pointer means are connected to an electronic device arranged within the support or the base”] configured to generate control commands to control the display (30) [Kerdreux: Fig.2: display screen 5; ¶ 0078: “the electronic device generates an order that is transmitted to a display screen, e.g. for the purpose of moving a cursor”] according to the actions on the four controls (2-5) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown. In a variant or in addition, the pointer means may include a touch zone, a wheel, or indeed button-type selector means, for example”; ¶ 0078: “the electronic device generates an order that is transmitted to a display screen, e.g. for the purpose of moving a cursor”; Examiner: Command generation responsive to all four controls follows from incorporating the controls of Pflughaupt and Chou into Kerdreux electronic device.] . However, Kerdreux does not expressly disclose: a rotary ring (4) able to rotate about a main axis (AX4) and positioned on the front face (12); the trackball (5) arranged at the center of, and concentric with, the rotary ring (4) rotating about two complementary axes (AX5, AX6) distinct from main axis (AX4). Pflughaupt discloses: a rotary ring (4) [Pflughaupt: Figs.2-3: rotating scroll ring 106] able to rotate about a main axis (AX4) [Pflughaupt: Fig.2: Examiner: The ring 106 is rotatable about the ball’s or ring’s central axis] and positioned on the front face (12) [Pflughaupt: Fig.2: ring 106 exposed at the upper working face; Examiner: In combination, the ring is placed on the Kerdreux front face 25 where the point means already resides (Kerdreux: ¶ 0075)] ; the trackball (5) [Pflughaupt: Figs.2-3: trackball 98] arranged at the center of, and concentric with, the rotary ring (4) [Pflughaupt: Figs.2-3: rotating scroll ring 106; (Column 2, Lines 20-21): “ a rotating scroll ring 106 positioned around trackball 98”; Examiner: As shown in Figs.2-3, the trackball 98 is centered inside the scroll ring 106.] rotating about two complementary axes (AX5, AX6) distinct from main axis (AX4) [Pflughaupt: Figs.2-3; (Column 2, Lines 14-16): “ Rotation of trackball 98 is translated into a cursor-positioning signal corresponding to X-Y motion of a cursor”; Examiner: The ball’s two X-Y axes are distinct from the single rotation axis of the scroll ring 106.] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Kerdreux’ s front-face movable ball as Pflughaupt’ s concentric scroll-ring around-trackball, to add scroll/zoom control to the ball’s pointer positioning in a single compact control. A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to do so because both are analogues avionics cursor-control devices. The results would have been predictable: the ball continues to position the cursor (its function in Kerdreux) while the surrounding rings adds rotary scroll/zoom-screen-change input (its function in Pflughaupt), neither element’s operation being altered by the combination, so success was reasonably expected. Furthermore, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt discloses: the limitations as discussed above. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt does not expressly disclose: the wheel (2) provided with at least three degrees of freedom, including at least one degree of freedom in rotation. Chou discloses: the wheel (2) [Chou: Fig.1: direction wheel 10] provided with at least three degrees of freedom, including at least one degree of freedom in rotation [Chou: ¶ 0017: “The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom which includes one-degree of rotational freedom R (for forward rolling and backward rolling operations) and two-degree of freedom M1 and M2 (for leftward moving and rightward moving, and click operations)”] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combination’s wheel as Chou’s multi-degree-of-freedom direction wheel, to obtain additional input axes from a single thumb-operated member. A POSITA would have been motivated to do to expand the inputs available from one control. The results would have been predictable: the wheel provides rotation about its primary axis and movement about two further axes exactly as it does in Chou, performing the same function in the combination, so success was reasonably expected. Furthermore, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt and Chou disclose: the limitations as discussed above. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt and Chou does not expressly disclose: the wheel (2) projecting from one lateral face among the two lateral faces (13, 14). Fukushima discloses: the wheel (2) [Fukushima: Fig.1: second operational input means 12 or a third operational input means 13 or 17] projecting from one lateral face among the two lateral faces (13, 14) [Fukushima: ¶ 0035: “A second operational input means 12 and a third operational input means 13 are provided on a side S of enclosure 10”; ¶ 0051: “Rotary operating member 17 is exposed on a side of enclosure 10”] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate that wheel projecting from a lateral side face, as Fukushima positions operating members – including a rotary operating member (13) – on the side surface. A POSITA would have been motivated to place the thumb-operated wheel within thumb reach on the lateral face, consistent with the side-face notch 30 of Kerdreux. The result would have been predictable: the wheel remains fully operable from the side surface just as Fukushima’s rotary operating member (13) functions on the side surface, so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 2: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt and Fukushima and discloses: 2. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: wherein the wheel (2) includes the push-button (3) , the wheel (2) having three degrees of freedom. Chou discloses: wherein the wheel (2) includes the push-button (3) [Chou: ¶ 0017: “The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom which includes one-degree of rotational freedom R (for forward rolling and backward rolling operations) and two-degree of freedom M1 and M2 (for leftward moving and rightward moving, and click operations)”; ¶ 0023: “When the direction wheel 10 is depressed, the elbow 53 is moved towards the second elastic reed 42 of the first electrode 21 to force the second elastic reed 42 in contact with the second electrode 22 (referring to FIG. 7), hence the first electrode 21 and the second electrode 22 are connected electrically to trigger the encoder 20 to generate a click signa”; Examiner: Chou’s direction wheel 10 is itself depressible to generate a click signal, so the wheel includes the push-button function.] , the wheel (2) having three degrees of freedom [Chou: ¶ 0017: “The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom”] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wheel of the combination as Chou’s depressible direction wheel so that the wheel includes the push-button. A POSITA would have been motivated to consolidate the selection input into the wheel, reducing the number of separate controls on the support – a benefit in the confined cock setting of Kerdreux. The results would have been predictable: the wheel retains its three degrees of freedom and additionally generates a click signal on depression, exactly as in Chou, so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 4: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima discloses: 4. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1, wherein the control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] comprises two wheels (2) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0076: “a wheel”] and two push-buttons (3) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0035: “A button may also be arranged in the notch so as to be manipulated by the thumb”; ¶ 0072: “the support 20 has two notches formed respectively in the left and right side faces”; Examiner: A button arranged in each of the two notches yields the two push-buttons] , the two lateral faces (13, 14) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0064: “a left side face 23 and a right side face 22”] each comprising one of the two wheels (2) and one of the two push-buttons (3) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0035: “A button may also be arranged in the notch so as to be manipulated by the thumb”; ¶ 0072: “the support 20 has two notches formed respectively in the left and right side faces”; Examiner: A button arranged in each of the two notches yields the two push-buttons] . However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: two wheels (2), the two lateral faces (13, 14) each comprising one of the two wheels (2) [Examiner: claim 1 combination provides a single wheel (Chou: direction wheel 10) on one lateral face]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second wheel on the other lateral face, so that each of the two lateral faces comprises one wheel and one push-button. A POSITA would have been motivated to duplicate the wheel-and-button set because Kerdreux itself teaches the two-notch variant with a thumb-control station on each side face (¶ 0072), accommodating left- and right-handed operators pr a pilot and copilot on opposite sides of the console (¶ 0081). The mere duplication of a known control set has not patentable significance absent a new and unexpected result (MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B)), and the results would have been predictable: each lateral face carries an identically functioning wheel and push-button, so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 11: Kerdreux in view of Chou and Fukushima discloses: 11. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1. However, Kerdreux in view of Chou and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: wherein the controls are configured to move or modify an image displayed on the display (30) , to move a pointer displayed on the display (30) , to perform a selection on the display (30) , or to perform a validation action. Pflughaupt discloses: wherein the controls are configured to move or modify an image displayed on the display (30) , to move a pointer displayed on the display (30) [Pflughaupt: (Col. 2, Lines 14-17): “Rotation of trackball 98 is translated into a cursor-positioning signal corresponding to X-Y motion of a cursor on a display device 106 of a computer system”] , to perform a selection on the display (30) , or to perform a validation action [Examiner: Limitations recited in the alternative “or”. Thus, only one the alternatives is required to be taught by any one of the references.] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the controls of the combination to move a pointer displayed on the display, as taught by Pflughaupt. A POSITA would have been motivated to do so because translating trackball rotation into cursor X-Y motion is the established way to position a pointer on a display, and the trackball would predictably move the pointer exactly as in Pflughaupt, so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 13: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima discloses: 13. A display system [Kerdreux: Fig.2: FIG. 1 shows a man-machine interface 10: display screen 5] comprising at least one display (30) [Kerdreux: Fig.2: display screen 5] displaying an image comprising a pointer and the control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1 [Kerdreux: Fig.1; ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown”; ¶ 0078: “As a result of an individual moving the pointer means, the electronic device generates an order that is transmitted to a display screen, e.g. for the purpose of moving a cursor”] . Regarding claim 14: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima discloses: 14. A vehicle [Kerdreux ¶ 0079: “FIG. 2 shows a vehicle 1 of the invention”] comprising at least one display (30) [Kerdreux: Fig.2: display screen 5] displaying an image comprising a pointer and the control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1 [Kerdreux: Fig.1; ¶ 0076: “ The pointer means may comprise a movable ball as in the example shown”; ¶ 0078: “As a result of an individual moving the pointer means, the electronic device generates an order that is transmitted to a display screen, e.g. for the purpose of moving a cursor”] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Kerdreux; Christelle et al., US 20140353438 A1] in view of [Pflughaupt; Jaycob D., US 8902165 B1], [Chou; Chin-Wen, US 20070068788 A1], [Fukushima, Yashuyuki et al., US 20030048252 A1] and further in view of [Chion; James A. et al., US 20200125228 A1] . Regarding claim 3: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt and Fukushima and discloses: 3. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: wherein the wheel (2) forms the push-button (3). Chou discloses: wherein the wheel (2) forms the push-button (3) [Chou: ¶ 0017: “The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom which includes one-degree of rotational freedom R (for forward rolling and backward rolling operations) and two-degree of freedom M1 and M2 (for leftward moving and rightward moving, and click operations)”; ¶ 0023: “When the direction wheel 10 is depressed, the elbow 53 is moved towards the second elastic reed 42 of the first electrode 21 to force the second elastic reed 42 in contact with the second electrode 22 (referring to FIG. 7), hence the first electrode 21 and the second electrode 22 are connected electrically to trigger the encoder 20 to generate a click signa”; Examiner: Chou’s direction wheel 10 is itself depressible to generate a click signal, so the wheel includes the push-button function.] , the wheel (2) having three degrees of freedom [Chou: ¶ 0017: “The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom”] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wheel of the combination as Chou’s depressible direction wheel so that the wheel includes the push-button. A POSITA would have been motivated to consolidate the selection input into the wheel, reducing the number of separate controls on the support – a benefit in the confined cock setting of Kerdreux. The results would have been predictable: the wheel retains its three degrees of freedom and additionally generates a click signal on depression, exactly as in Chou, so success was reasonably expected. Furthermore, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Cho and Fukushima discloses: the limitations as discussed above. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Cho and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: the wheel (2) having four degrees of freedom, including one degree of rotational freedom and one degree of translational freedom along a primary axis allowing rotation of the wheel (2) on itself. Chion discloses: the wheel (2) having four degrees of freedom, including one degree of rotational freedom and one degree of translational freedom along a primary axis allowing rotation of the wheel (2) on itself [Chion: ¶ 0024: “The jog dial may be configured to rotate freely about an axis and at least partially move in a linear direction along a length of the axis”; ¶ 0026: “he user input device, or jog dial user interface device, may include at least one linear bearing and spring surrounding the rotational axis and defining a selection input line of travel (e.g., along a length of the rotational axis). The jog dial and/or the touchpad may be actuated, or depressed, in a direction along this input line of travel to provide a selection input to the jog dial user interface device, or other computing system, of a vehicle. For example, actuating the jog dial and/or the touchpad may contact a button or switch configured to provide a selection input”; ¶ 0083: “, the linear actuation input 808 may displace the jog dial 504, the touchpad 508, and/or the center shaft 520, a specific distance, HP, from a default position to an actuated, or input, position. The linear actuation input 808 may be provided in a direction along the center axis 518. In some embodiments, this type of linear actuation input 808 may correspond to a selection input that selects an icon, image, list element, application, or other visible object rendered to the display 256 of the display device 112”] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the click actuation of Chou’s direction wheel as a translation along the wheel’s primary rotation axis, as taught by Chion’s axially depressible jog dial, thereby providing the wheel with four degrees of freedom: Chou’s rotational freedom R and movements M1 and M2, plus the axial press by which the wheel forms the push-button. A POSITA would have been motivated to do so because Chion teaches axial depression as a known selection-input arrangement for a rotatable control in a vehicle interface, like Kerdreux’s. The results would have been predictable: the wheel rotates about, and translates along, its primary axis to select as in Chion (Chion ¶ 0083), so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 6: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima discloses: 6. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: wherein at least one of the four controls (2-5) comprises a haptic system in response to any movement. Chion discloses: wherein at least one of the four controls (2-5) comprises a haptic system in response to any movement [Chion: ¶ 0033: “the jog dial user interface device may include a jog dial, a high-precision rotary encoder, and a haptic device configured to provide haptic feedback when the jog dial is rotated from one angular position to another. In some cases, the haptic feedback may be provided based on a user interface context, speed of rotation, and/or a position of the jog dial along 360 degrees. In one embodiment, the haptic feedback may be provided when the jog dial is rotated to a computer- determined, virtual, detent position”; ¶ 0036: “the virtual detents provided by the haptic device may cause a movement of a spun dial to be restricted (e.g., interrupting an energy of the jog dial spinning by vibrating the shaft upon which the jog dial spins)”; Examiner: Chion’s haptic device produces tactile feedback in response to the rotational movements of the rotary control.] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one of the four controls of the combination – for example the wheel (2) or the rotary ring (4) – with a haptic system that responds to movement, as taught by Chion’s haptic device that provides a feedback when the dial is rotated. A POSITA would have been motivated to add such tactile feedback to confirm control inputs and convey detent/position information without requiring the operator to look at the control – particularly valuable in Kerdeux’s cockpit, where the operator’s visual attention is on the displays. The results would have been predictable: the control produces haptic feedback in response to its movement exactly as in Chion, so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 10: Kerdreux in view Chou and Fukushima discloses: 10. The control system (10) according to claim 1,wherein the wheel (2) has a primary axis allowing rotation of the wheel (2) on itself [Chou: ¶ 0017: “ The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom which includes one-degree of rotational freedom R (for forward rolling and backward rolling operations)”] , the wheel (2) comprising a first code wheel (2) about the primary axis and switches or strain gauges along two additional axes distinct from the primary axis for detecting movements of the wheel (2)] about the two additional axes [Chou: ¶ 0018: “The electrodes are connected to an encoder 20. According to the movements of the direction wheel 10 (including forward rolling, backward rolling, leftward moving, rightward moving and clicking), a corresponding electrode (22, 23, 25, 27 or 28 as shown in the drawings) is connected to form a circuit to trigger the encoder 20 to generate a corresponding signal”; Examiner: The electrodes are switches that detect the wheel’s leftward/rightward movements (M1, M2) about the two additional axes.] , the trackball (5) comprising optical sensors for detecting movements of the trackball (5) about the two complementary axes (AX5, AX6) and the rotary ring (4) having a second code wheel (2) about the main axis (AX4) . However, Chou does not expressly disclose: the wheel (2) comprising a first code wheel about the primary axes; the trackball (5) comprising optical sensors for detecting movements of the trackball (5) about the two complementary axes (AX5, AX6); and the rotary ring (4) having a second code wheel (2) about the main axis (AX4). Pflughaupt discloses: the trackball (5) comprising optical sensors for detecting movements of the trackball (5) about the two complementary axes (AX5, AX6) [Pflughaupt: Fig.2: trackball 98; (Col. 1, Lines 10-14): “an optical sensor and a light emitting diode are configured to convert reflected light into electrical signals. The electrical signals are encoded into information that a computer can use, such as cursor X-Y position data or scrolling direction and distance”] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect the movement of the trackball of the combination using optical sensors, as taught by Pflughaupt, for the reasons set forth in the claim 1 rejection (incorporated herein): the optical sensor and light emitting diode predictably convert the trackball’s rotation into X-Y position data exactly as in Pflughaupt, so success was reasonably expected. Furthermore, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou, and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: the wheel (2) comprising a first code wheel about the primary axis; and the rotary ring (4) having a second code wheel about the main axis. Chion discloses: the wheel (2) comprising a first code wheel about the primary axis [Chion: ¶ 0034: “This resolution may be achieved via a rotary encoder reading a rotation of the dial (e.g., via a rotary encoder disk or wheel, etc.). In one embodiment, the rotary encoder may comprise an optical sensor reading a rotary scale associated with a code wheel.”; Examiner: The code wheel read by an optical sensor detects rotation of the rotatable control about its axis, applicable both to the wheel about its primary axis and to the rotary ring] ; and the rotary ring (4) having a second code wheel about the main axis. [Chion: ¶ 0034: “This resolution may be achieved via a rotary encoder reading a rotation of the dial (e.g., via a rotary encoder disk or wheel, etc.). In one embodiment, the rotary encoder may comprise an optical sensor reading a rotary scale associated with a code wheel.”; Examiner: The code wheel read by an optical sensor detects rotation of the rotatable control about its axis, applicable both to the wheel about its primary axis and to the rotary ring] ; It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect the rotation of the wheel about its primary axis and the rotation of the rotary ring about the main axis using a respective code wheel, as taught by Chion. A POSITA would have been motivated to do so because an optical code-wheel encoder is a known, high-resolution means of sensing rotary position – Chion provides 200 steps per revolution (¶ 0034) – improving the precision of the wheel’s and ring’s rotational inputs over a gear-and-contact arrangement. The results would have been predictable: each code wheel reports the angular position of its respective control exactly as in Chion, so success was reasonably expected . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Kerdreux; Christelle et al., US 20140353438 A1] in view of [Pflughaupt; Jaycob D., US 8902165 B1], [Chou; Chin-Wen, US 20070068788 A1], [Fukushima, Yashuyuki et al., US 20030048252 A1] and further in view of [Adams; Aditha M. et al., US 6031518 A] . Regarding claim 5: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima discloses: 5. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 1, wherein the lateral face comprising the wheel (2) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: ¶ 0076: “a wheel”; ¶ 0072: notch 30 in side face; Chou: ¶ 0017: direction wheel 10; Examiner: Per the claim 1 combination, the wheel projects from a lateral face.] comprises a lateral bulge (6) configured to guide the thumb and an index finger of the hand towards the wheel (2) . However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: the lateral face comprising the wheel (2) comprises a lateral bulge (6) configured to guide the thumb and an index finger of the hand towards the wheel (2) . Adams discloses: the lateral face comprising the wheel (2) comprises a lateral bulge (6) configured to guide the thumb and an index finger of the hand towards the wheel (2) [Adams: (Column 8, Lines 63-66): “The remaining portion of the palm, including the thenar eminence and palm gutter, are filled with the continuous convex curve of the upper surface 86 in this region”; (Column 8, Lines 63-66): “The contiguous recesses, therefore, facilitate the abduction and adduction of the index finger as it moves between the trackball and the wheel or the middle finger as it moves between the trackball and the wheel, as the user prefers”; Examiner: Adam’s convex (bulging) surface supports the thenar eminence – the part the palm to which the thumb attaches – while its adjoining contour guides the finger’s movement on t the wheel.] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lateral face carrying the wheel of the combination with a bulge as taught by Adams – a convex surface supporting the thenar eminence with contours guiding the fingers to the wheel. A POSITA would have been motivated to apply Adam’s known ergonomic contouring at the wheel’s lateral-face location to ease finger access and steady grip, particularly desirable in Kerdreux’s vibration-prone cockpit. The results would have been predictable: the bulge supports the base of the thumb and guides the thumb and index finger to the wheel exactly as Adam’s contour guides fingers to its wheel, so success was reasonably expected; and a change in the position or shape of such a contour is ordinarily an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Kerdreux; Christelle et al., US 20140353438 A1] in view of [Pflughaupt; Jaycob D., US 8902165 B1], [Chou; Chin-Wen, US 20070068788 A1], [Fukushima, Yashuyuki et al., US 20030048252 A1], [Chion; James A. et al., US 20200125228 A1] and further in view of [Koo, James Y., US 20050110759 A1] . Regarding claim 7: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou, Fukushima and Chion discloses: 7. The control system (10) [Kerdreux: Fig.1: man-machine interface 10] according to claim 6, wherein the wheel (2) comprises a primary axis allowing rotation of the wheel (2) on itself [Chou: ¶ 0017: “The direction wheel 10 has three-degree-of-freedom which includes one-degree of rotational freedom R (for forward rolling and backward rolling operations) “] However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou, Fukushima and Chion does not expressly disclose: and comprises incrementation notches about the primary axis, mechanically marking a rotation of the wheel (2) between two of the incrementation notches. Koo discloses: and comprises incrementation notches about the primary axis, mechanically marking a rotation of the wheel (2) between two of the incrementation notches [Koo: ¶ 0008: “The present invention improves upon existing scroll wheel designs by providing a single component that rotatably supports the scroll wheel, … Formed on a circumferential surface of the scroll wheel are regularly spaced detents or other structures forming regularly spaced regions of alternating height. Located on an end of the follower arm is a follower which rests within the detents. As the scroll wheel rotates and the follower is pushed out of a detent, the follower arm biases the follower radially into the surface on which the detents are located”; Examiner: The regularly spaced detents on the wheel’s circumferential surface are incrementation notches about the wheel’s rotation axis, and the follower being pushed out of one detent and biased towards the next as the wheel rotates mechanically marks a rotation between two notches] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wheel of the combination with mechanical detent notches about its rotation axis, as taught by Koo (¶ 0008). A POSITA would have been motivated to do so to give tactile feedback, prevent inadvertent rotation, and index rotation into discrete uniform increments, which is especially useful in Kerdreux’s vibration-prone cockpit. The results would have been predictable: the wheel’s rotation is mechanically marked in discrete steps between adjacent notches exactly as in Koo, so success was reasonably expected. Regarding claim 8: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou, Fukushima and Chion discloses: 8. The control system (10) according to claim 6, herein the rotary ring (4) comprises incrementation notches about the main axis (AX4) [Pflughaupt: Fig.2: scroll ring 106]. However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou, Fukushima and Chion does not expressly disclose: mechanically marking a rotation of the rotary ring (4) between two of the incrementation notches. Koo discloses: mechanically marking a rotation of the rotary ring (4) between two of the incrementation notches [Koo: ¶ 0008: “The present invention improves upon existing scroll wheel designs by providing a single component that rotatably supports the scroll wheel, … Formed on a circumferential surface of the scroll wheel are regularly spaced detents or other structures forming regularly spaced regions of alternating height. Located on an end of the follower arm is a follower which rests within the detents. As the scroll wheel rotates and the follower is pushed out of a detent, the follower arm biases the follower radially into the surface on which the detents are located”; Examiner: The regularly spaced detents on the wheel’s circumferential surface are incrementation notches about the wheel’s rotation axis, and the follower being pushed out of one detent and biased towards the next as the wheel rotates mechanically marks a rotation between two notches] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotary ring of the combination with mechanical detent notches about the main axis, as taught by Koo (¶ 0008). A POSITA would have been motivated to do so to give tactile feedback, prevent inadvertent rotation, and index rotation into discrete uniform increments, which is especially useful in Kerdreux’s vibration-prone cockpit. The results would have been predictable: the ring’s rotation is mechanically marked in discrete steps between adjacent notches exactly as in Koo, so success was reasonably expected . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Kerdreux; Christelle et al., US 20140353438 A1] in view of [Pflughaupt; Jaycob D., US 8902165 B1], [Chou; Chin-Wen, US 20070068788 A1], [Fukushima, Yashuyuki et al., US 20030048252 A1] and further in view of [Cheng; Yu-Chih, US 20100214220 A1] . Regarding claim 9: Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima discloses: 9. The control system (10) according to claim 1, wherein the wheel (2) comprises elastic return elements to return it to an initial position [Chou: ¶ 0019: “When the direction wheel 10 is still, the movable contact 30 bounces back elastically to a normal position without connecting the fifth electrode 25 or the seventh electrode 27 (referring to FIG. 4).”] . However, Kerdreux in view of Pflughaupt, Chou and Fukushima does not expressly disclose: wherein the push-button (3) comprises elastic return elements to return it to an initial position. Cheng discloses: wherein the push-button (3) comprises elastic return elements to return it to an initial position [Cheng: ¶ 0040: “Until the external force for tilting the scroll wheel 21 toward the left side is eliminated, the compressed second elastic element 26 will be restored such that the wheel swing member 22 is returned to its original position (as shown in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3)”; ¶ 0041: “the scroll wheel 21 is pressed down (in the direction D), the depressing force will move the wheel swing member 22 downwardly. As the wheel swing member 22 is moved downwardly, the first extension arm 224 and the second extension arm 225 at bilateral sides of the wheel swing member 22 are synchronously moved downwardly. At the same time, the first extension arm 224 and the second extension arm 225 are respectively sustained against the first elastic element 25 and the second elastic element 26. As such, the first extension arm 224 and the second extension arm 225 are in the compressed state. In addition, as the wheel swing member 22 is moved downwardly toward the base 23, the wheel switch 243 is touched by the swing member triggering part 227 of the wheel swing member 22, thereby issuing a switch button signal to the circuit board 24 and enabling the wheel button function of the tilt wheel mouse 2 (see FIG. 2 and FIG. 5”; ¶ 0042: “the first elastic element and the second elastic element are arranged at bilateral sides of the wheel swing member, the touch feel of operating the scroll wheel becomes humanized and more natural. Moreover, the uses of the first elastic element and the second elastic element can facilitate returning the scroll wheel to its original position”; Examiner: The elastic elements return both the wheel’s tilt/scroll movement and wheel’s press-down (push-button) movement to their original positions] . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wheel and the push-button of the combination with elastic return elements, as taught by Cheng. A POSITA would have been motivated to do so in order for each control to reset to its initial position after actuation, readying it for the next input. The results would have been predictable: the wheel and the push-button each return under elastic bias exactly as in Cheng, so success was reasonably expected . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 12 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 12: The prior art does not teach or suggest either singularly or in combination the at least claimed “ wherein the computer is configured to generate control commands transmitted to the display in response to control signals transmitted by the controls in order to perform: a movement of a pointer displayed on the display as a function of a movement of the trackball along the two complementary axes; a selection or validation action when the push-button is pressed; a modification of a display scale of an image displayed on the display as a function of a rotation of the wheel about a primary axis allowing a rotation of the wheel on itself; a movement of the image as a function of a movement of the wheel along two additional axes distinct from the primary axis; and a rotation of the image as a function of a rotation of the rotary ring about the main axis ”, in combination with the other recited claim features. Regarding claim 15: The prior art does not teach or suggest either singularly or in combination the at least claimed “ the method comprising the following steps carried out as a function of the actions on the at least one wheel, the push- button, the rotary ring and the trackball of the control system: a movement of a pointer displayed on the display as a function of a movement of the trackball along the two complementary axes; a selection or validation action when the push-button is pressed; a modification of a display scale of an image displayed on the display as a function of a rotation of the wheel about a primary axis allowing a rotation of the wheel on itself; a movement of the image as a function of a movement of the wheel along two additional axes distinct from the primary axis; and a rotation of the image as a function of a rotation of the rotary ring about the main axis ”, in combination with the other recited claim features. Regarding claims 16-18: Claims 16-18 depend on claim 15 and are found allowable for at least the same reason as discussed above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. [Bigand; Jean-Louis et al., US 20150286291 A1] discloses: “A data-input device comprises a designator able to point to a position on a screen of a computer system to which the device is intended to be connected and a body intended to be fixed to a workstation, the body comprising a support zone intended to support the hand of an operator as he manipulates the designator. The device further comprises a knob arranged in such a way that it can be manipulated by the fingers of the operator, his hand remaining supported on the support zone. The knob is configured to allow at least two distinct data selections of which one is a choice of values in a series and one is a binary acquisition in relation to the chosen value,” as recited in the abstract. Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Koosha Sharifi-Tafreshi whose telephone number is (571)270-5897. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8AM to 5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nitin Patel can be reached at (571) 272-7677. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KOOSHA SHARIFI-TAFRESHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 2 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 3 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 4 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 5 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 6 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 7 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 8 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 9 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 10 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 11 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 13 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 14 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 15 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 16 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 17 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 18 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 19 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 20 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 21 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 22 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 23 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 24 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/179,214 Page 25 Art Unit: 2628