DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2019/0110058 A1, referred to herein as “Chien”) in view of Abe et al. (WO 2019031136 A1, referred to herein as “Abe”).
Regarding claim 1, Chien discloses: A method, comprising:
obtaining information for a current video block from a neighboring video block before the information is refined for use in the neighboring video block (Chien: Fig. 7, paragraph [0115], disclosing use of a current block and a reference picture to derive motion information based on a neighboring block);
refining the information for use with the current video block (Chien: paragraph [0119] and [0193], disclosing refinement of candidate motion vectors);
…using a final motion vector when a coding unit uses a motion vector predictor from a coding unit within a current coding tree unit (Chien: Figs. 10 and 11, paragraphs [0134] and [0136], disclosing use of template matching from a neighboring block to derive motion information; paragraphs [0169]-[0170], disclosing that the coding units may be associated with coding tree units); and
encoding the current video block using the refined information (Chien: Fig. 16, paragraph [0194], disclosing encoding of the current block using refined motion vector information).
Chien does not explicitly disclose: using a motion vector predictor from a neighboring coding unit when that coding unit is outside a current coding tree unit.
However, Abe discloses: using a motion vector predictor from a neighboring coding unit when that coding unit is outside a current coding tree unit (Abe: Figs. 19A-B, page 29, lines 47-60, disclosing that an adjacent neighboring coding unit outside the coding tree unit may be referred when determining the motion vector information).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the neighboring coding tree unit of Abe in the method of Chien.
One would have been motivated to modify Chien in this manner in order to improve processing time associated with motion vector prediction (Abe: page 29, lines 58-60 and page 30, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the information comprises a motion vector predictor, refining the information comprises frame rate up conversion to generate a motion vector, and encoding comprises using the motion vector for the current video block (Chien: paragraph [0085], disclosing motion vector predictors; paragraphs [0097] and [0130], disclosing use of frame rate up-conversion associated with motion vector matching; Fig. 16, paragraph [0194], disclosing encoding of the motion vector information for the current block).
Regarding claim 3, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 2, wherein refining the information is based on template matching (Chien: paragraph [0147], disclosing use of template matching associated with FRUC).
Regarding claim 4, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 3, wherein the template matching is confined to a coding tree unit containing the current video block (Chien: Figs. 10 and 11, paragraphs [0134] and [0136], disclosing use of template matching from a neighboring block to derive motion information; paragraphs [0169]-[0170], disclosing that the coding units may be associated with a coding tree unit).
Regarding claim 5, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein a motion vector predictor is checked to see whether it is in a list of candidates before adding it to the list (Chien: paragraphs [0118] and [0131], disclosing generation and checking of a list of candidate motion vectors).
Regarding claim 6, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein syntax is used to signal the refining (Chien: paragraph [0051], disclosing use of syntax that describes characteristics and/or processing of blocks and other coding units—e.g., including refining).
Regarding claim 7, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the refining comprises illumination compensation (Chien: Fig. 11, paragraph [0136], disclosing use of illumination compensation).
Regarding claim 8, Chien and Abe disclose: A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the method of claim 1 (Chien: paragraph [0198], disclosing implementation via stored instructions executed by one or more processors).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. (Note that Chien discloses implementation via memory and processor in paragraphs [0198]-[0200]).
Regarding claim 10, Chien discloses: A method, comprising:
obtaining information for a current video block from a reconstructed neighboring video block before the information is refined for use in the neighboring video block (Chien: Fig. 7, paragraph [0115], disclosing use of a current block and a reference picture to derive motion information based on a neighboring block; Fig. 14, paragraph [0186], disclosing use of reconstructed blocks in decoding);
refining the information for use with the current video block (Chien: paragraph [0119] and [0193], disclosing refinement of candidate motion vectors);
…using a final motion vector when a coding unit uses a motion vector predictor from a coding unit within a current coding tree unit (Chien: Figs. 10 and 11, paragraphs [0134] and [0136], disclosing use of template matching from a neighboring block to derive motion information; paragraphs [0169]-[0170], disclosing that the coding units may be associated with coding tree units); and
decoding the current video block using the refined information (Chien: Fig. 15, paragraph [0193], disclosing decoding the video based on refined motioned motion vector information).
Chien does not explicitly disclose: using a motion vector predictor from a neighboring coding unit when that coding unit is outside a current coding tree unit.
However, Abe discloses: using a motion vector predictor from a neighboring coding unit when that coding unit is outside a current coding tree unit (Abe: Figs. 19A-B, page 29, lines 47-60, disclosing that an adjacent neighboring coding unit outside the coding tree unit may be referred when determining the motion vector information).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the neighboring coding tree unit of Abe in the method of Chien.
One would have been motivated to modify Chien in this manner in order to improve processing time associated with motion vector prediction (Abe: page 29, lines 58-60 and page 30, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 10, wherein the information comprises a motion vector predictor, refining the information comprises frame rate up conversion to generate a motion vector, and decoding comprises using the motion vector for the current video block (Chien: paragraph [0085], disclosing motion vector predictors; paragraphs [0097] and [0130], disclosing use of frame rate up-conversion associated with motion vector matching; Fig. 16, paragraph [0194], disclosing encoding of the motion vector information for the current block).
Regarding claim 12, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 11, wherein refining the information is based on template matching (Chien: paragraph [0147], disclosing use of template matching associated with FRUC).
Regarding claim 13, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 12, wherein the template matching is confined to a coding tree unit containing the current video block (Chien: Figs. 10 and 11, paragraphs [0134] and [0136], disclosing use of template matching from a neighboring block to derive motion information; paragraphs [0169]-[0170], disclosing that the coding units may be associated with a coding tree unit).
Regarding claim 14, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 10, wherein a motion vector predictor is checked to see whether it is in a list of candidates before adding it to the list (Chien: paragraphs [0118] and [0131], disclosing generation and checking of a list of candidate motion vectors).
Regarding claim 15, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 10, wherein syntax is used to signal the refining (Chien: paragraph [0051], disclosing use of syntax that describes characteristics and/or processing of blocks and other coding units—e.g., including refining).
Regarding claim 16, Chien and Abe disclose: The method of claim 10, wherein the refining comprises illumination compensation (Chien: Fig. 11, paragraph [0136], disclosing use of illumination compensation).
Regarding claim 17, Chien and Abe disclose: A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the method of claim 10 (Chien: paragraph [0198], disclosing implementation via stored instructions executed by one or more processors).
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 10, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. (Note that Chien discloses implementation via memory and processor in paragraphs [0198]-[0200]).
Regarding claim 19, Chien and Abe disclose: The apparatus of claim 18, further comprising at least one of:
an antenna configured to receive a signal over the air, the signal including the current video block;
a band limiter configured to limit the received signal to a band of frequencies that includes the current video block; or
a display configured to display an output comprising the decoded current video block (Chien: paragraphs [0044] and [0051], disclosing a display for displaying decoded video).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER T. BRANIFF
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/CHRISTOPHER BRANIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484