DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/179267 filed on 04/15/2025.
Claims 1-14 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Priority
Applicant priority to U.S. Application No. 17/275,076, filed on 03/10/2021, which is the U.S. National Phase under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/JP2018/033885, filed on 09/12/2018, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 04/15/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12306917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-14 of the instant application are anticipated by all limitations recited in claims 1-7 of the patent ‘917, respectively. Refer to the comparison table below for details.
Instant Application 19179267
Patent No. 12306917
(Application No. 17/275076)
Claim 1: An information processing apparatus comprising,
a microphone configured to take in a voice to convert the voice into a voice signal;
a memory configured to store a voice feature of an already- registered user and a plurality of voice passwords generated based on the voice feature of the already-registered user; and
a Central Processing Unit (CPU),
wherein the memory is configured to store programs that, when executed by the CPU, cause the CPU to:
in response to that the microphone takes in a first voice uttered by a user of the information processing apparatus to convert the first voice into a first voice signal, execute a process for extracting a first voice feature from the first voice signal to compare the first voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory,
in response to that the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value, execute a process for selecting a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords that have been stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus,
in response to that the microphone takes in a second voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus to convert the second voice into a second voice signal, execute a process for extracting a password from the second voice signal to compare the selected voice password with the extracted password,
in response to that the selected voice password matches the extracted password, execute a process for extracting a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory,
in response to that the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a second threshold value, execute a process for notifying the user of the information processing apparatus that a user authentication processing is completed,
wherein the second threshold value is different from the first threshold value.
Claim 1: An information processing apparatus comprising:
a microphone;
a memory;
and a Central Processing Unit (CPU),
wherein the microphone is configured to take in a first voice uttered by a user of the information processing apparatus to convert the first voice into a first voice signal,
wherein the memory is configured to store programs that, when executed by the CPU, cause the CPU to:
extract a first voice feature from the first voice signal to compare the first voice feature with a voice feature of an already-registered user that has already been stored in the memory,
in a case where the first voice feature does not match the voice feature of the already-registered user with a degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value, execute a process for storing the first voice feature in the memory so as to be associated with the user of the information processing apparatus, a process for generating a plurality of voice passwords based on the first voice feature, and a process for storing the plurality of voice passwords in the memory,
in a case where the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding the first threshold value, execute a process for selecting a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus,
in response to that the microphone takes in a second voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus to convert the second voice into a second voice signal, execute a process for extracting a password from the second voice signal to compare the selected voice password with the extracted password,
in a case where the selected voice password matches the extracted password, execute a process for extracting a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory,
in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a second threshold value, execute a process for notifying the user of the information processing apparatus that a user authentication processing is completed,
wherein the second threshold value is different from the first threshold value, and
wherein the CPU is configured to:
stop the user authentication processing in a case where the microphone does not take in a voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus within a predetermined time after presenting the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus.
Claim 8: A user authentication method by an information processing apparatus, the information processing apparatus comprising a microphone, a memory, a controller, the user authentication method comprising:
storing, by the memory, a voice feature of an already- registered user and a plurality of voice passwords generated based on the voice feature of the already-registered user;
taking in, by the microphone, a first voice uttered by a user of the information processing apparatus to convert the first voice into a first voice signal;
extracting, by the controller, a first voice feature from the first voice signal to compare the first voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory;
selecting, by the controller, a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords that have been stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus in a case where the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value;
taking in, by the microphone, a second voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus to convert the second voice into a second voice signal;
extracting, by the controller, a password from the second voice signal to compare the selected voice password with the extracted password;
extracting, by the controller, a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory in a case where the selected voice password matches the extracted password; and
notifying, by the controller, the user of the information processing apparatus that a user authentication processing is completed in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a second threshold value,
wherein the second threshold value is different from the first threshold value.
Claim 5: A user authentication method by an information processing apparatus, the information processing apparatus comprising a voice input processing unit, a memory, and a controller, the user authentication method comprising:
taking in, by the voice input processing unit, a first voice uttered by a user of the information processing apparatus to convert the first voice into a first voice signal;
extracting, by the controller, a first voice feature from the first voice signal;
comparing, by the controller, the first voice feature with a voice feature of an already-registered user that has already been stored in the memory;
storing, by the controller, the first voice feature in the memory so as to be associated with the user of the information processing apparatus to generate a plurality of voice passwords based on the first voice feature in a case where the first voice feature does not match the voice features of the already-registered user with a degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value;
storing the plurality of the voice passwords in the memory;
selecting, by the controller, a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords stored in the memory in a case where the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding the first threshold value;
presenting, by the controller, the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus;
taking in, by the voice input processing unit, a second voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus to convert the second voice into a second voice signal;
extracting, by the controller, a password from the second voice signal to compare the selected voice password with the extracted password;
extracting, by the controller, a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory in a case where the selected voice password matches the extracted password; and
notifying, by the controller, the user of the information processing apparatus that user authentication processing is completed in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a second threshold value,
wherein the second threshold value is different from the first threshold value, and
wherein the controller is configured to:
stop the user authentication processing in a case where a microphone of the information processing apparatus does not take in a voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus within a predetermined time after presenting the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama et al. (“Toyama,” US 2009/0254757) in view of Fujimoto (US 2005/0089172).
Regarding claim 1: Toyama discloses an information processing apparatus comprising,
a microphone configured to take in a voice to convert the voice into a voice signal (Toyama: par. 0046 the microphone 110 converts the spoken voice of the input password to an electrical voice signal);
a memory configured to store a voice feature of an already-registered user and a plurality of voice passwords generated based on the voice feature of the already-registered user (Toyama: par. 0039 each operator that will be the object of recognition says a password that identifies the operator a plurality of times, and HMM data that is created based on the voice component spoken by that operator is registered in advance; par. 0042 a database 140 in which HMM data of a plurality of passwords that are preset by the speaker is registered); and
a Central Processing Unit (CPU) (Toyama: par. 0072 the system control unit 240 comprises mainly a central processing unit (CPU)),
wherein the memory is configured to store programs that, when executed by the CPU, cause the CPU to:
in response to that the microphone takes in a first voice uttered by a user of the information processing apparatus to convert the first voice into a first voice signal, execute a process for extracting a first voice feature from the first voice signal to compare the first voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory (Toyama: par. 0046 the microphone 110 converts the spoken voice of the input password to an electrical voice signal; par. 0042 a characteristic amount extraction unit 130 that extracts a characteristic amount of the voice component of a spoken voice [] based on the voice signal of the spoken password; par. 0089 a likelihood calculation unit 150 that compares the extracted characteristic amount with HMM data for comparison that is learned from the characteristic amount of the spoken voice component of the operator's password),
in response to that the microphone takes in a second voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus to convert the second voice into a second voice signal, execute a process for extracting a password from the second voice signal to compare the selected voice password with the extracted password (Toyama: par. 0042 a characteristic amount extraction unit 130 that extracts a characteristic amount of the voice component of a spoken voice [] based on the voice signal of the spoken password; par. 0089 a likelihood calculation unit 150 that compares the extracted characteristic amount with HMM data for comparison that is learned from the characteristic amount of the spoken voice component of the operator's password),
in response to that the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a second threshold value, execute a process for notifying the user of the information processing apparatus that a user authentication processing is completed (Toyama: par. 0083 when the registration judgment unit 160 determines that the maximum likelihood is equal to or less than the registration judgment threshold value, the system control unit 240 [] notify the operator [] that registration is possible ( step S17); par. 0088 the system control unit 240 [] has the generated HMM data be correlated with the operator who entered the password and registered in the database 140 (step S23), after which it ends this operation),
wherein the second threshold value is different from the first threshold value (Toyama: par. 0083 when the registration judgment unit 160 determines that the maximum likelihood is equal to or less than the registration judgment threshold value, the system control unit 240 [] notify the operator [] that registration is possible ( step S17); par. 0088 the system control unit 240 [] has the generated HMM data be correlated with the operator who entered the password and registered in the database 140 (step S23), after which it ends this operation).
Toyama does not explicitly disclose in response to that the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value, execute a process for selecting a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords that have been stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus and in response to that the selected voice password matches the extracted password, execute a process for extracting a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory.
However, Fujimoto discloses in response to that the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value, execute a process for selecting a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords that have been stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus (Fujimoto: par. 0065 a user selects a recognized password field, the device 108 can present the user with an option similar to the "Generate" option 520 [] selection of the option 520 to generate an authorization code can launch the password generator or another password generation application [] selection of the "Generate" option 520 can initiate a voice connection with a VPS 114), and
in response to that the selected voice password matches the extracted password, execute a process for extracting a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory (Fujimoto: par. 0081 the VPS 114 determines that the stored device data and the obtained device data match, the method 700 can proceed to block 718, wherein the VPS 114 can obtain a voice sample from the requesting entity and compare the sampled voice data to the stored voice data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujimoto with the system/method of Toyama to include extracting a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory. One would have been motivated to providing a vocal print authentication system and program which prevent an illegal use by an unauthorized user who disguises an authorized user (Fujimoto: par. 0003).
Regarding claim 2: Toyama in view of Fujimoto discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Toyama further discloses wherein the second threshold value is set to be narrower than the first threshold value (Toyama: par. 0169 the recognition process threshold value is changed based on the likelihood that is calculated when performing registration judgment [] based on a maximum likelihood having a value larger than the registration judgment threshold value).
Regarding claim 3: Toyama in view of Fujimoto discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Fujimoto further discloses wherein the CPU is configured to select the voice password randomly from the plurality of voice passwords stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus (Fujimoto: par. 0099 the content of the password can be selected from a plurality of candidates which are preliminarily registered or can be arbitrarily set at each point of time on the vocal print authentication system 1 side).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5: Toyama in view of Fujimoto discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Fujimoto further discloses wherein the CPU is configured to stop the user authentication processing in a case where the microphone does not take in a voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus within a predetermined time after presenting the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus (Fujimoto: par. 0028 and the password determination means compares the sampled vocal data and/or time interval between the elements and the vocal data which is formed by the vocal data forming means and/or the time interval between the respective elements for every element which forms the password; par. 0058 since the intonation at the time of uttering the password and a lapse of time can be compared and hence, the authentication accuracy can be enhanced).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6: Toyama in view of Fujimoto discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Toyama further discloses further comprising a speaker (Toyama: fig. 3 item 190 speaker),
wherein the CPU is configured to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus by voice emitting from the speaker (Toyama: par. 0078 the system control unit 240 controls the display control unit 180 and amplification control unit 200 to send a notification by way of the display unit 170 and speaker 190 to prompt the operator to input the password).
Regarding claim 8: Toyama discloses a user authentication method by an information processing apparatus, the information processing apparatus comprising a microphone (Toyama: fig. 1 item 110 microphone), a memory, a controller (Toyama: fig. 1, item 110 microphone, item 140 database, and item 240 system control unit ), the user authentication method comprising:
storing, by the memory, a voice feature of an already- registered user and a plurality of voice passwords generated based on the voice feature of the already-registered user (Toyama: par. 0039 each operator that will be the object of recognition says a password that identifies the operator a plurality of times, and HMM data that is created based on the voice component spoken by that operator is registered in advance; par. 0042 a database 140 in which HMM data of a plurality of passwords that are preset by the speaker is registered);
taking in, by the microphone, a first voice uttered by a user of the information processing apparatus to convert the first voice into a first voice signal (Toyama: par. 0046 the microphone 110 converts the spoken voice of the input password to an electrical voice signal);
extracting, by the controller, a first voice feature from the first voice signal to compare the first voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory (Toyama: par. 0042 a characteristic amount extraction unit 130 that extracts a characteristic amount of the voice component of a spoken voice [] based on the voice signal of the spoken password; par. 0089 a likelihood calculation unit 150 that compares the extracted characteristic amount with HMM data for comparison that is learned from the characteristic amount of the spoken voice component of the operator's password);
taking in, by the microphone, a second voice uttered by the user of the information processing apparatus to convert the second voice into a second voice signal (Toyama: par. 0046 the microphone 110 converts the spoken voice of the input password to an electrical voice signal);
extracting, by the controller, a password from the second voice signal to compare the selected voice password with the extracted password (Toyama: par. 0042 a characteristic amount extraction unit 130 that extracts a characteristic amount of the voice component of a spoken voice [] based on the voice signal of the spoken password; par. 0089 a likelihood calculation unit 150 that compares the extracted characteristic amount with HMM data for comparison that is learned from the characteristic amount of the spoken voice component of the operator's password);
notifying, by the controller, the user of the information processing apparatus that a user authentication processing is completed in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a second threshold value (Toyama: par. 0083 when the registration judgment unit 160 determines that the maximum likelihood is equal to or less than the registration judgment threshold value, the system control unit 240 [] notify the operator [] that registration is possible ( step S17); par. 0088 the system control unit 240 [] has the generated HMM data be correlated with the operator who entered the password and registered in the database 140 (step S23), after which it ends this operation), and
wherein the second threshold value is different from the first threshold value (Toyama: par. 0083 when the registration judgment unit 160 determines that the maximum likelihood is equal to or less than the registration judgment threshold value, the system control unit 240 [] notify the operator [] that registration is possible ( step S17); par. 0088 the system control unit 240 [] has the generated HMM data be correlated with the operator who entered the password and registered in the database 140 (step S23), after which it ends this operation).
Toyama does not explicitly disclose selecting, by the controller, a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords that have been stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus in a case where the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value and extracting, by the controller, a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory in a case where the selected voice password matches the extracted password.
However, Fujimoto discloses selecting, by the controller, a voice password from the plurality of voice passwords that have been stored in the memory to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus in a case where the first voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding a first threshold value (Fujimoto: par. 0065 a user selects a recognized password field, the device 108 can present the user with an option similar to the "Generate" option 520 [] selection of the option 520 to generate an authorization code can launch the password generator or another password generation application [] selection of the "Generate" option 520 can initiate a voice connection with a VPS 114); and
extracting, by the controller, a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory in a case where the selected voice password matches the extracted password (Fujimoto: par. 0081 the VPS 114 determines that the stored device data and the obtained device data match, the method 700 can proceed to block 718, wherein the VPS 114 can obtain a voice sample from the requesting entity and compare the sampled voice data to the stored voice data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujimoto with the system/method of Toyama to include extracting a second voice feature from the second voice signal to compare the second voice feature with the voice feature of the already-registered user that has been stored in the memory. One would have been motivated to providing a vocal print authentication system and program which prevent an illegal use by an unauthorized user who disguises an authorized user (Fujimoto: par. 0003).
Regarding claims 9-10: Claims 9-10 are similar in scope to claims 2-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 12-13: Claims 12-13 are similar in scope to claims 5-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4, 7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama et al. (“Toyama,” US 2009/0254757) in view of Fujimoto (US 2005/0089172) and Macwan (US 2013/0298213).
Regarding claim 4: Toyama in view of Fujimoto discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Toyama in view of Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the CPU is configured to update the voice feature of the already-registered user based on the second voice feature in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding the second threshold value, generate a new voice password based on the updated voice feature, and store the updated voice feature and the new voice password.
However, Macwan discloses wherein the CPU is configured to update the voice feature of the already-registered user based on the second voice feature in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding the second threshold value, generate a new voice password based on the updated voice feature, and store the updated voice feature and the new voice password (Macwan: par. 0076 at any time, the voice data and/or the AS-specific data can be updated by a user, network operator, and/or another authorized entity, as illustrated at block 704; par. 0073 the VPS 114 can determine if the sampled voice data matches the stored voice data [] if the VPS 114 determines that the sampled voice data matches the stored voice data [] wherein the VPS 114 can generate a single-use password; par. 0085 updating the voice data can include [] generating a new voiceprint when the user's voice changes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Macwan with the system/method of Toyama and Fujimoto to include to update the voice feature of the already-registered user based on the second voice feature in a case where the second voice feature matches the voice feature of the already-registered user with the degree of similarity exceeding the second threshold value. One would have been motivated to provide a voiceprint password system for generating a password for use by a device in communication with a communications network (Macwan: par. 0013).
Regarding claim 7: Toyama in view of Fujimoto discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Toyama in view of Fujimoto does not explicitly disclose a display and wherein the CPU is configured to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus by displaying wording information of the selected voice password on the display.
However, Macwan discloses a display (Macwan: fig. 4 item 300 display), and
wherein the CPU is configured to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus by displaying wording information of the selected voice password on the display (Macwan: par. 0057 the instruction 408 can instruct a user to speak one or more words and/or phrases, for example, the words or phrases displayed to the user in a word/phrase box 410; par. 0088 the VPS 114 can display the generated password for the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Macwan with the system/method of Toyama and Fujimoto to include to present the selected voice password to the user of the information processing apparatus by displaying wording information of the selected voice password on the display. One would have been motivated to provide a voiceprint password system for generating a password for use by a device in communication with a communications network (Macwan: par. 0013).
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14: Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/FAHIMEH MOHAMMADI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439