DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “Mapping Coded Control Information to Transmission Resource” or the like.
Claim Objections
Claims 28, 36 and 44 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 28 recites, “when 0 < i < L2nd-SCI, gi = qi” (line 3). It is suggested to replace it with “when 0 ≤ i < L2nd-SCI, gi = qi” for more clarity. Claims 36 and 44 are objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 28.
Claim 28 recites, “wherein G - L2nd-SCI + Mdata” (line 5). It is suggested to replace it with “wherein G = L2nd-SCI + Mdata” for more clarity. Claims 36 and 44 are objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 28.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of Guo’502 (US Patent No. 12301502 B2).
Regarding claim 25, Guo’502 discloses, a method comprising:
mapping, by a first apparatus, first control information to a first transmission resource [see claim 1, lines 2-3];
mapping, by the first apparatus, second control information to a second transmission resource [see claim 1, lines 6-7],
wherein the second control information is at a forepart of second information [see claim 1, lines 7-9],
the second information comprises a coded bit sequence obtained by multiplexing a first output of channel coding performed on the second control information and a second output of channel coding performed on data [see claim 1, lines 9-13],
the first transmission resource and the second transmission resource are in a same slot in the time domain [see claim 1, lines 18-19], and
the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource are non- overlapping in the time domain [see claim 1, lines 20-22]; and
sending, by the first apparatus, the first control information and the second information to a second apparatus [see claim 1, lines 23-24].
Regarding claim 26, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Guo’502 discloses, wherein the first control information comprises information used to determine a size of a transmission resource occupied by the second control information [see claim 1, lines 3-5].
Regarding claim 27, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Guo’502 discloses, wherein the first control information is carried on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and the second control information is carried on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on which the data is carried [see claim 1, lines 14-17].
Regarding claim 28, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 28 as set forth above.
Guo’502 discloses, wherein the coded bit sequence is represented as: g0, g1, g2, ..., gG-1; wherein when 0 ≤ i < L2nd-SCI, gi = qi, wherein when L2nd-SCI ≤ i ≤ G-1, gi = fi-L2nd-SCI, wherein G = L2nd-SCI + Mdata, wherein L2nd-SCI is a number of code blocks output through channel coding performed on the second control information, and wherein Mdata is a number of code blocks output through channel coding performed on the data, wherein the first output of the channel coding performed on the second control information is represented as q0, q1, q2, ...,gL2nd-SCI-1, and wherein the second output of the channel coding performed on the data is represented as f0,f1, f2, .... ,fMdata-1 [see claim 2].
Regarding claim 29, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Guo’502 discloses, wherein the first transmission resource occupies an nth symbol to an (n+k)th symbol in the same slot, a time domain start symbol of the second transmission resource is an (n+k+1)th symbol in the same slot, n is o or 1, and k is a positive integer [see claim 3].
Regarding claim 30, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above
Guo’502 discloses, wherein the mapping the second control information to the second transmission resource comprises:
mapping, by the first apparatus, the second control information to the second transmission resource in the frequency domain in an ascending order of sequence numbers of resource blocks and subsequently in the time domain in an ascending order of sequence numbers of symbols [see claim 4].
Regarding claim 31, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Guo’502 discloses, wherein the mapping the first control information to the first transmission resource comprises:
mapping, by the first apparatus, the first control information to the first transmission resource starting from a second symbol in the same slot [see claim 5].
Regarding claim 32, Guo’502 discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Guo’502 discloses, the sending comprising:
sending, by the first apparatus, the first control information in a broadcast message, a unicast message, or a multicast message; and
sending, by the first apparatus, the second information in a second unicast message, or a second multicast message [see claim 6].
Regarding claim 33, Guo’502 discloses, a first apparatus [see claim 7, line 1] comprising:
at least one processor [see claim 7, line 2];
at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores a computer program for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations [see claim 7, lines 3-5] comprising:
mapping, by a first apparatus, first control information to a first transmission resource [see claim 7, lines 7-8];
mapping, by the first apparatus, second control information to a second transmission resource [see claim 7, lines 11-12],
wherein the second control information is at a forepart of second information [see claim 7, lines 12-14],
the second information comprises a coded bit sequence obtained by multiplexing a first output of channel coding performed on the second control information and a second output of channel coding performed on data [see claim 7, lines 14-18],
the first transmission resource and the second transmission resource are in a same slot in the time domain [see claim 7, lines 23-24], and
the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource are non- overlapping in the time domain [see claim 7, lines 25-27]; and
sending, by the first apparatus, the first control information and the second information to a second apparatus [see claim 7, lines 28-29].
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 26.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 27.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 28.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 29.
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 30.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 31.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 32.
Regarding claim 41, Guo’502 discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a first apparatus, cause the first apparatus to perform operations [see claim 13, lines 1-4] comprising:
mapping, by a first apparatus, first control information to a first transmission resource [see claim 13, lines 5-6];
mapping, by the first apparatus, second control information to a second transmission resource [see claim 13, lines 9-10],
wherein the second control information is at a forepart of second information [see claim 13, lines 10-12],
the second information comprises a coded bit sequence obtained by multiplexing a first output of channel coding performed on the second control information and a second output of channel coding performed on data [see claim 13, lines 12-16],
the first transmission resource and the second transmission resource are in a same slot in the time domain [see claim 13, lines 21-22], and
the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource are non- overlapping in the time domain [see claim 13, lines 23-25]; and
sending, by the first apparatus, the first control information and the second information to a second apparatus [see claim 13, lines 26-27]..
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 26.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 27.
Regarding claim 44, claim 44 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 28.
Regarding claim 45, claim 45 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 29.
Regarding claim 46, claim 46 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 30.
Regarding claim 47, claim 47 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 31.
Regarding claim 48, claim 48 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26, 32-34, 40-42 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US Publication No. 2020/0260472)1 in view of “Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97, Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019 (R1-1907012) (hereinafter “3GPP1”)2 and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2010/0254331).
Regarding claim 25, Ganesan discloses, a method comprising:
mapping, by a first apparatus, first control information to a first transmission resource [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0035, the transmitting UE 210 configures the SCI content of each stage (step 230) and transmits a fast control channel including the first stage SCI (i.e., first control information) to the receiving UE 220 (step 240); further see FIG. 4 and ¶0043, fast PSCCH corresponding to “fast control channel including the first stage SCI” is considered as a “first transmission resource”, and thus transmitting of the fast control channel including the first stage SCI requires mapping the first stage SCI (i.e., first control information) to the fast PSCCH (i.e., first transmission resource)] (see also, e.g., FIG. 2 and pages 9-10 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664);
mapping, by the first apparatus, second control information to a second transmission resource [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0035, the transmitting UE 210 configures the SCI content of each stage (step 230) and transmits a slow control channel including the second stage SCI (i.e., second control information) to the receiving UE 220 (step 260); further see FIG. 4 and ¶0043, slow PSCCH corresponding to “slow control channel including the second stage SCI” is considered as a “second transmission resource”, and thus, transmitting of the slow control channel including the second stage SCI requires mapping the second stage SCI (i.e., second control information) to the slow PSCCH (i.e., second transmission resource)] (see also, FIG. 2 and pages 9-10 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664),
the first transmission resource and the second transmission resource are in a same slot in the time domain [FIG. 4; ¶0045, the second stage SCI can be scheduled in the same BWP with the same slot as that of the first stage SCI; ¶0035, the fast PSCCH includes the first stage SCI and the slow PSCCH includes the second stage SCI; further see FIG. 4, the fast PSCCH (including the first stage SCI) and the slow PSCCH (including the second stage SCI) are in the same slot in the time domain] (see also, FIGS. 2 and 8 and pages 9-10 and 15-16 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664), and
sending, by the first apparatus, the first control information and the second information to a second apparatus [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0035-0036, the transmitting UE transmits the first stage SCI (i.e., first control information) via the fast PSCCH (step 240) and the second SCI via the slow PSCCH (step 260) and (sidelink) data (i.e., second information)] (see also, FIG. 2 and pages 9-10 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664).
Although Ganesan discloses, “the first transmission resource”, “the second transmission resource”, and “second information” as set forth above, Ganesan does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein the second control information is at a forepart of second information, and wherein the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource are non-overlapping in the time domain.
However, the feature “the second control information is at a forepart of second information, and wherein the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource are non-overlapping in the time domain” is a known technique in the field Applicant’s endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
In particular, 3GPP1 discloses, the second control information is at a forepart of second information, and wherein the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource are non-overlapping in the time domain [page 8; last paragraph; page 9; figure 4 (as annotated below), note that the resource corresponding to the 2nd SCI and the resource (PSCCH) corresponding to the 1st SCI are non-overlapping in the time domain].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide well-established standard of providing the above-mentioned well-known feature, as taught by 3GPP1 in the system of Ganesan, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility between telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers, thereby providing users with easier and faster seamless transition regardless where the users are located in the country/world.
<Figure 4 of 3GPP1 (as annotated)>
Further, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the second information comprises a coded bit sequence obtained by multiplexing a first output of channel coding performed on the second control information and a second output of channel coding performed on data.
However, Kim discloses, the second information comprises a coded bit sequence obtained by multiplexing a first output of channel coding performed on the second control information and a second output of channel coding performed on data [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0004, the output of data/control multiplexing block (g0, g1, …) is obtained by multiplexing a channel coded control information (q0, q1, …) and a a channel coded data stream (f0, f1, …)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kim to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kim into the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to efficiently share radio resources among multiple signals and channels, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 26, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Ganesan discloses, wherein the first control information comprises information used to determine a size of a transmission resource occupied by the second control information [¶0091, the first stage SCI can include information including second stage SCI sizes] (see also, page 10 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664).
Regarding claim 32, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Ganesan further discloses, the sending comprising: sending, by the first apparatus, the first control information in a broadcast message [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0048, UE1 710 can transmit a first stage SCI in a broadcast communication (step 720)] (see also, FIG. 4 and pages 11-12 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664); and sending, by the first apparatus, the second information in a second unicast message [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0048, UE1 710 can transmit a second stage SCI and data in a unicast data (steps 730 and 740)] (see also, FIG. 4 and pages 11-12 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664).
Regarding claim 33, Ganesan discloses, a first apparatus [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0035, transmitting UE 210] (see also, (see also, page 10 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664) comprising:
at least one processor [FIGS. 2 and 16; their related descriptions; ¶0035 and 00760-0078, controller 1620 or any programmable processor; note that every network device has at least one processor] (see also, e.g., page 21 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664);
at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores a computer program for execution by the at least one processor that causes the first apparatus to perform operations [FIGS. 2 and 16; their related descriptions; ¶0035 and 0076-0078, memory 1650; note that every network device has at least one memory storing a computer program for execution by the processor that causes a network device to perform action(s)] (see also, e.g., page 21 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664).
Since claim 33 recites similar features to claim 25 except for the features as set forth above, claim 33 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 25.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 26.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 32.
Regarding claim 41, Ganesan discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause a first apparatus to perform operations FIGS. 2 and 16; their related descriptions; ¶0035 and 0076-0078, memory 1650; note that every network device has at least one memory storing a computer program for execution by the processor that causes a network device to perform action(s)] (see also, e.g., page 21 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664).
Since claim 41 recites similar features to claim 25 except for the features as set forth above, claim 41 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 25.
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 26.
Regarding claim 48, claim 48 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 32.
Claims 27, 35 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US Publication No. 2020/0260472) in view of “Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97, Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019 (R1-1907012) (hereinafter “3GPP1”) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2010/0254331) and further in view of Lin et al (US Publication No. 2022/0104203)3.
Regarding claim 27, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Although Ganesan further discloses, a physical side link shared channel (PSSCH) on which the data is carried [¶0036, 0041-0042 and 0066, every scheduled side link data packet in PSSCH] (see also, FIG. 2 and page 9 of US Provisional App. No. 62/804,664), the above-mentioned aspect of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Lin discloses, the first control information is carried on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0074, the 1st stage SCI is transmitted in PSCCH resource region 201], the second control information is carried on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0074, the 2nd stage SCI is transmitted in PSSCH resource region 202].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Lin in the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim in order to cause the system to be able to offload the total SCI payload into two stages over various resource channels, thus allowing for more efficient utilization of resources [e.g., ¶0075 of Lin].
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 27.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 27.
Claims 28, 36 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US Publication No. 2020/0260472) in view of “Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97, Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019 (R1-1907012) (hereinafter “3GPP1”) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2010/0254331) and further in view of Mundarath et al (US Publication No. 2010/0183101)4.
Regarding claim 28, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 and particularly, “the concatenation of the second control information and the data” as set forth above, as set forth above.
Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Lin does not explicitly discloses (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein the coded bit sequence is represented as: g0, g1, g2, ..., gG-1; wherein when 0 ≤ i < L2nd-SCI, gi = qi, wherein when L2nd-SCI ≤ i ≤ G-1, gi = fi-L2nd-SCI, wherein G = L2nd-SCI + Mdata, wherein L2nd-SCI is a number of code blocks output through channel coding performed on the second control information, and wherein Mdata is a number of code blocks output through channel coding performed on the data, wherein an output obtained through the channel coding performed on the second control information is represented as q0, q1, q2, ...,gL2nd-SCI-1, and wherein an output obtained through the channel coding performed on the data is represented as f0,f1, f2, .... ,fMdata-1.
However, the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant’s endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
In particular, Mundarath discloses, wherein an output of ... information and data is represented as: g0, g1, g2, ..., gG-1 [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, an output obtained through encoding performed on first data stream 265a and second data stream 265b is represented by CB1(1), CB1(2), ... and CB1(m1), CB2(1), CB2(2), ... and CB2(m2)]; wherein when 0 ≤ i < L2nd-SCI, gi = qi [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, when 0 ≤ x< m1-1, CB1(x+1); see reference number 416a of FIG. 5], wherein when L2nd-SCI ≤ i ≤ G-1, gi = fi-L2nd-SCI [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, when m1 ≤ x< m2-1 , CB2(x+1); see reference number 416b of FIG. 5], wherein G = L2nd-SCI + Mdata [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, m1+m2 = number of code blocks obtained through encoding performed on the first data stream 265a (m1) + number of code blocks obtained through encoding performed on the second data stream 265b (m2)], wherein L2nd-SCI is a number of code blocks output through channel coding performed on the information [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, the number of code blocks obtained through encoding performed on the first data stream 265a (m1); see reference number 416a of FIG. 5], and wherein Mdata is a number of code blocks output through channel coding performed on the data [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, the number of code blocks obtained through encoding performed on the data stream 265b (m2); see reference number 416b of FIG. 5], wherein an output obtained through the channel coding performed on the information is represented as q0, q1, q2, ...,gL2nd-SCI-1 [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, an output obtained through encoding performed on first data stream 265a is represented by CB1(1), CB1(2), ... and CB1(m1)], and wherein an output obtained through the channel coding performed on the data is represented as f0,f1, f2, .... ,fMdata-1 [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0044-0052, an output obtained through encoding performed on second data stream 265b is represented by CB2(1), CB2(2), ... and CB2(m2)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)” taught by Mundarath to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Mundarath into the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., allowing for easy identification of specific data streams, enabling quick access and retrieval when needed, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement. Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 28.
Regarding claim 44, claim 44 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 28.
Claims 29, 37 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US Publication No. 2020/0260472) in view of “Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97, Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019 (R1-1907012) (hereinafter “3GPP1”) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2010/0254331) and further in view of Yasukawa et al (US Publication No. 2021/0127361)5.
Regarding claim 29, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Although Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 16 and particularly, “the first transmission resource” and “the second transmission resource” as set forth above, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim does not explicitly discloses (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein the first transmission resource occupies an nth symbol to an (n+k)th symbol in the same slot, a time domain start symbol of the second transmission resource is an (n+k+1)th symbol in the same slot, n is 0 or 1, and k is a positive integer.
However, Yasukawa discloses, wherein the first transmission resource occupies an nth symbol to an (n+k)th symbol, a time domain start symbol of the second transmission resource is an (n+k+1)th symbol, n is 0 or 1, and k is a positive integer [FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0092-0093, note that the resource pool for first round of SCI transmission (i.e., first transmission resource) occupies 0th symbol to kth symbol, and a time domain start symbol of the resource pool for second round of SCI transmission (i.e., second transmission resource) is an (k+1)th symbol].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Yasukawa in the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim in order to cause the system to be able to transmit SCIs in a more secure and efficient manner [e.g., ¶0092 of Yasukawa].
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 29.
Regarding claim 45, claim 45 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 29
Claims 30, 38 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US Publication No. 2020/0260472) in view of “Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97, Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019 (R1-1907012) (hereinafter “3GPP1”) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2010/0254331) and further in view of Kwon et al (US Publication No. 2016/0212042)6.
Regarding claim 30, although Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 and particularly, “the mapping the second control information to the second transmission resource” as set forth above, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), mapping, by the first apparatus, the second control information to the second transmission resource in the frequency domain in an ascending order of sequence numbers of resource blocks and subsequently in the time domain in an ascending order of sequence numbers of symbols.
However, Kwon discloses, mapping the second control information to the second transmission resource in the frequency domain in an ascending order of sequence numbers of resource blocks and subsequently in the time domain in an ascending order of sequence numbers of symbols [FIGS. 58 and 61; their related descriptions; ¶0698 and 0710, DP0 may be mapped to RBs in a frequency axis direction according to the order of the RBs and, if an OFDM symbol is completely filled, move to a next OFDM symbol on the time axis to be continuously mapped in a frequency axis direction].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kwon in the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim in order to provide the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Lin with enhanced flexibility in selecting a manner of mapping transmission to resources in a wireless communication system [e.g., FIGS. 58-61 and their related descriptions of Kwon].
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 30.
Regarding claim 46, claim 46 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 30.
Claims 31, 39 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US Publication No. 2020/0260472) in view of “Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #97, Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019 (R1-1907012) (hereinafter “3GPP1”) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2010/0254331) and further in view of “Sidelink physical layer structure for NR V2X” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #97, Reno, USA, May 13-17, 2019 (R1-1906007) (hereinafter “3GPP2”)7.
Regarding claim 31, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim discloses, the method according to claim 25 and particularly, “the mapping the first control information to the first transmission resource” as set forth above, Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), mapping, by the first apparatus, the first control information to the first transmission resource starting from a second symbol in the same slot.
However, the feature “the first control information to the first transmission resource starting from a second symbol in the same slot” is a known technique in the field Applicant’s endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
In particular, 3GPP2 discloses, the first control information to the first transmission resource starting from a second symbol in the same slot [section 4.1.1 PSCCH resource format; figure 6; pages 7-8; PSSCH should start immediately after AGC symbol in time domain; further see figure 6 (resource pools 1 and 2) where the PSCCH starts from a second symbol in the same slot as that of the PSSCH].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide well-established standard of providing the above-mentioned well-known feature, as taught by 3GPP2 in the system of Ganesan in view of 3GPP1 and Kim, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility between telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers, thereby providing users with easier and faster seamless transition regardless where the users are located in the country/world.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 31.
Regarding claim 47, claim 47 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bradford et al (US Publication No. 2019/0036586) [FIG. 3; ¶0026]
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Ganesan was cited by Applicant in the IDS.
2 3GPP1 was cited by Applicant in the IDS.
3 Lin was cited by Applicant in the IDS.
4 Mundarath was cited by Applicant in the IDS
5 Yasukawa was cited by Applicant in the IDS
6 Kwon was cited by Applicant in the IDS.
7 3GPP2 was cited by Applicant in the IDS