DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “when the lid is engaged with lower portion the first and second magnetic cores together form a square closed core” should be changed to “when the lid is engaged with lower portion, the first and second magnetic cores together form a square closed core”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c] and Design Choice.
Regarding claim 1, Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses “a heating unit” (Fig.1a-1c. [0029], i.e., a heat-conducting ceramic plate 50 adds a thermal path that improves the transmission of heat from the windings to the bottom of the housing. [0032], i.e., This means that the heat generated by the windings 61, 62 can be dissipated very efficiently) “for rollers” (intended use), comprising:
“a housing” (fig.1a, 25 pointed at the housing having a lid 33) comprising “a lid” (33) and “a lower portion” (fig.1a, 25 pointed at a lower portion);
“a first magnetic core” (fig.2c, 32 pointed a first magnetic core) disposed within “the lower portion” (25) and “a second magnetic core” (33) the first magnetic core 32 includes two parallel legs (see annotated fig.1a below));
“a plurality of conductive windings wound around one of the two legs” (at least 61and 62 wound around one of the two legs. [0029] The winding or windings 61, 62 are inserted in the magnetic core 32 around the central leg), wherein “a second of the two legs” (another one of 32 (i.e., the side leg)) is “configure to receive a roller” (functional language. 32 can receive a roller. Examiner noted that roller is not part of apparatus. It is treated as a workpiece or an article worked upon the apparatus. MPEP 2115).
Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] is silent regarding a second magnetic core disposed within the lid; when the lid is engaged with the lower portion the first and second magnetic cores together form a square closed core.
Hansen teaches “a second magnetic core disposed within the lid” (30b or 32b pointed at the lid, the core 20 disposed within the lid). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] with Hansen, by modifying Granitsas’s lid with Hansen’s lid to provide gripping region to allow user to open the lid more convenient.
Granitsas [embodiment fig.2a-2c] teaches “when the lid is engaged with the lower portion the first and second magnetic cores together form a fig.3 shows when the lid 33 is engaged with the lower portion, the first and second magnetic cores 32 (i.e., the E shape core has two side legs and a center leg. At least the lid (hence, the second magnetic core) is engaged with side legs of the first magnetic core) together form a rectangular closed core). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] with Granitsas [embodiment fig.2a-2c], by modifying Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] with Granitsas [embodiment fig.2a-2c] that is engaged with the lower portion of core, to allow the magnetic circuit is completed by the lid so as to provide a completely closed magnetic path which increase high inductance and reduce flux leakage and improves overall efficiency.
Granitsas [embodiment fig.2a-2c] teaches the first and second magnetic cores together form a rectangular closed core. However, Granitsas [embodiment fig.2a-2c] is silent regarding the shape of the closed core is square shape.
However, the applicant has not disclosed that square closed core solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected results. The examiner notes that the square closed core just determines the size and shape of device. As such, the examiner considers this limitation to be a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to further modify Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c]’s shape of core according to square core as proposed by the applicant, since the applicant has not disclosed that square closed core solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected results and it appears that Granitsas’s rectangular core would perform equally well, since the number of folds that a cut crosses merely determines the size and shape of device.
Regarding claim 4, modified Granitsas discloses “the first magnetic core comprises an E- shape” (Granitsas, fig.3, 32 pointed at the E-shape magnetic core).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c] and Design Choice as applied in claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Glucksman (CN 219330908 U).
Regarding claim 2, modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses the lid comprising component A and the lower portion comprising component B.
Granitsas is silent regarding component A and component B are connected by a hinge.
Glucksman teaches “component A and component B are connected by a hinge” (114 and 108 are connected by a hinge (see fig.2, the hinge (not labeled) between the housing 108 and lid 114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] with Glucksman, by adding Glucksman’s hinge to Granitsas’s device, to allow user to close and open the lid more conveniently.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c] and Design Choice as applied in claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Pacholok (US 2017/0238374).
Regarding claim 3, modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses the first magnetic core comprises a
modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] is silent regarding magnetic core comprises a U- shape or a C-shape.
Pacholok teaches “the magnetic core comprises a U- shape or a C-shape” ([0004], i.e., one of the two legs of a “C” or “U” shaped magnetic core). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] with Pacholok, by modifying Granitsas ‘s core to desired shape such as U or C shape core according to Pacholok, so that leakage inductance is reduced and power output increased (para.0004) as taught by Pacholok.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c] and Design Choice as applied in claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Zeller (US 3019329).
Regarding claim 5, modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses the first and second magnetic cores comprise a material.
Modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] is silent regarding the material comprise grain-oriented laminated silicon steel.
Zeller teaches “a grain-oriented laminated silicon steel” (col.19 at lines 36-50, i.e., the core is laminated, of grain-oriented silicon steel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas with Zelle, by modifying the core material with Zelle material, to drastically cuts down energy and heat losses.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c] and Design Choice as applied in claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Zeller (US 3019329) and Piascik et al. (US 20120225784).
Regarding claim 6, modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses the plurality of conductive windings includes number of turns of wire (61).
modified Granitsas is silent regarding 350 turns of 12GA enameled copper wire for the windings.
Zeller teaches “the windings includes turns of 12GA enameled copper wire” ([0039], The spherically wound electrical conductor was a 12 gauge enameled copper wire). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas with Zeller, by modifying Granitsas’s type of wire according to Zeller’s type of wire having 12GA enameled copper wire, to provide high electrical and thermal conductivity of copper with space-saving and protective polymer coating for high space efficiency and short circuit prevention.
Piascik et al. teaches “350 turns for the windings” ([0031], i.e., electromagnetic coil assembly 92 contains a 350-turn coil). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas with Piascik et al., by modifying Granitsas the number of coils according to Piascik’s number of coils, to amplify magnetic field strength and increase inductance based on design specification.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c] and Design Choice as applied in claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Birk (US 9,226,560).
Regarding claim 7, modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a thermal sensor disposed proximate to the second leg and configured to produce an analog signal in response to a temperature of the roller.
Birk teaches “a thermal sensor” (abstract, i.e., The curler may contain a blow dryer element, sensors or other smart technology to start or stop any function of the styling system. Col.6 at lines 61-67 and Col.7 at lines 1-5, i.e., The curler could also contain a sensor to monitor temperature, humidity, moisture, time, or other parameters or any combination that may be applicable to hair drying or curling. The sensor could monitor these parameters and suggest when hair is dry, a maximum temperature is reached or a recommended time has been achieved to indicate to shut off the blow drying element or heating element or both) disposed proximate to “the second leg” (one of 27) and configured to “produce an analog signal in response to a temperature of the roller” (Col.6 at lines 61-67 and Col.7 at lines 1-5, i.e., The curler could also contain a sensor to monitor temperature, humidity, moisture, time, or other parameters or any combination that may be applicable to hair drying or curling. The sensor could monitor these parameters and suggest when hair is dry, a maximum temperature is reached or a recommended time has been achieved to indicate to shut off the blow drying element or heating element or both). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas with Birk, by adding Birk’s thermal sensor near Granitsas second leg, to measure if the temperature at properly level or prevent overheating.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.1a-1c] in view of Hansen (US 3129399), Granitsas (US 20230317345) [embodiment fig.2a-2c], Design Choice and Birk (US 9,226,560) as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Toh (EP 2708152 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Granitsas [embodiment fig.1a-1c] discloses “configured to control the flow of alternating current to the windings and to turn off the alternating current in response to the thermal sensor” (Birk, Col.6 at lines 61-67 and Col.7 at lines 1-5, i.e., The curler could also contain a sensor to monitor temperature, humidity, moisture, time, or other parameters or any combination that may be applicable to hair drying or curling. The sensor could monitor these parameters and suggest when hair is dry, a maximum temperature is reached or a recommended time has been achieved to indicate to shut off the blow drying element or heating element or both).
However, Granitsas is silent regarding a microcontroller.
Toh teaches “a microcontroller” (a microcontroller 302 and See para. [0030]-[0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Granitsas with Toh, by adding Toh’s microcontroller to Granitsas’s device, to operate the device automatically (para.0033) as taught by Toh.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761