DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 4/15/2025 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abba EP1211427A1 (“Abba”).
Regarding Claim 1, Abba discloses a servo valve (1, figs. 1-4) comprising: a housing (51, para 0018, see fig. 4) defining a wetted zone (housing 22 for fluid transfer valve assembly 20) for holding a fluid; a fluid transfer valve assembly (fluid transfer valve assembly 20) disposed in the housing, the fluid transfer valve assembly comprising a fluid supply port (27 in transfer valve assembly 20) and a control port (26 in transfer valve assembly 20); a spool (34 in transfer valve assembly 20) arranged to control flow of fluid through a fluid pathway from the fluid supply port (27) to the control port (26), wherein the spool (34) is movable along a spool axis (axis that is longitudinal to spool 34); a lever (64) pivotally mounted (lever 64 is mounted on pin 56) to the housing and engaged with the spool (34) via a hinged connection (68), wherein the lever (64) is arranged to pivot (about pin axis E) and axially move the spool along the spool axis; and a seal (seal assemblies 61, para 0026) configured to isolate the wetted zone (transfer valve assembly housing 21) from a non-wetted zone (pin 56 and valve housing 51); wherein the spool (34) is positioned within the wetted zone (first transfer valve assembly housing 21); and wherein the lever (65) is positioned at least partially within the wetted zone (see fig. 4).
ABBA – FIGURES 1, 2, and 4
Regarding Claim 2, Abba discloses the lever (65) is mounted to a shaft (10), the shaft (10) being rotatable about a shaft axis (A).
Regarding Claim 3, Abba discloses the shaft axis (A) is perpendicular (see figs. 1-4) to the spool axis (C) and at a radial distance (see fig. 4) from the spool axis (C) such that the shaft axis (A) and spool axis (C) do not intersect.
Regarding Claim 4, Abba discloses the shaft (10) is positioned at least partially within the wetted zone (see fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Abba discloses the seal (61) is a rotative seal (para 0026 “a common pin 55, which has an axis E parallel to axis D and perpendicular to axes A, B and C, is fitted through valve body 51 inside a transverse through seat 62, and is supported inside seat 62 in rotary manner by conventional supporting and sealing assemblies 61”).
Regarding Claim 6, Abba discloses the lever (65) is a first lever and the servo valve (1) comprises a second lever (46) in the non-wetted zone (see fig. 4) configured to rotate or pivot the first lever (65).
Regarding Claim 7, Abba discloses the control port (26) is a first control port and the fluid transfer valve assembly (20) further comprises a second control port (27, see fig. 2) and a return port (25).
Regarding Claim 8, Abba discloses the hinged connection (68) comprises a ball joint (ball on rod 65) and socket (socket in spool 35)(see fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Abba discloses actuator comprising: one or more servo valves (1) according to claim 1 (see fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Abba discloses a servo valve (1, figs. 1-4) comprising: a housing (51, para 0018, see fig. 4) defining a wetted zone (housing 22 for fluid transfer valve assembly 20) for holding a fluid; a fluid transfer valve assembly (fluid transfer valve assembly 20) disposed in the housing, the fluid transfer valve assembly comprising a fluid supply port (27 in transfer valve assembly 20) and a control port (26 in transfer valve assembly 20); a spool (34 in transfer valve assembly 20) arranged to control flow of fluid through a fluid pathway from the fluid supply port (27) to the control port (26), wherein the spool (34) is movable along a spool axis (axis that is longitudinal to spool 34); a lever (64) pivotally mounted (lever 64 is mounted on pin 56) to the housing and engaged with the spool (34) via a hinged connection (68), wherein the lever (64) is arranged to pivot (about pin axis E) and axially move the spool along the spool axis; and a rotative seal (seal assemblies 61; para 0026 “a common pin 55, which has an axis E parallel to axis D and perpendicular to axes A, B and C, is fitted through valve body 51 inside a transverse through seat 62, and is supported inside seat 62 in rotary manner by conventional supporting and sealing assemblies 61”) configured to isolate the wetted zone (transfer valve assembly housing 21) from a non-wetted zone (pin 56 and valve housing 51); wherein the spool (34) is positioned within the wetted zone (first transfer valve assembly housing 21).
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753