DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0345147), hereinafter referenced as Mi, in view of Kim et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0009648), hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Mi discloses a vision sensor comprising: a first semiconductor die comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups (figure 2 exhibits a top chip 210 which includes a pixel array as disclosed at paragraph 54); and a second semiconductor die comprising a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) pixel circuit (figure 2 exhibits bottom chip 220 which include a DVS pixel circuit including drive circuit 310 and arbiter 330 as disclosed at paragraphs 54 and 56) and stacked on the first semiconductor die in a copper-to-copper bonding manner (paragraph 53 teaches that the chips 210 and 220 are bonding using copper to copper bonding), wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups comprises: a first-type photoelectric conversion element configured to output an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of light incident on the first-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 7 exhibits a 4x4 pixel group including a plurality of color image sensing pixels as disclosed at paragraph 73), and a plurality of second-type photoelectric conversion elements, each configured to output charges corresponding to an amount of light incident on the second-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 7 exhibits a 4x4 pixel group which includes a plurality of EVS pixels as disclosed at paragraph 73), wherein the DVS pixel circuit is configured to output an event signal based on the charges generated by the plurality of second-type photoelectric conversion elements (paragraph 68 teaches that the EPDs are used to output event signals). However, Mi fails to disclose wherein, in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, a total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is greater than a total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements.
Mi discloses a pixel array in which there are more color imaging pixels than event imaging pixels (see figure 7). Kim teaches a plurality of different ratios of color imaging pixels to event imaging pixels including wherein each pixel group a total number of event imaging pixels is greater than a total number of color imaging pixels (figure 5 shows a pixel group in which there are more event imaging pixels than color imaging pixels, additionally paragraph 110 teaches that there may be multiple lines of event pixels M surrounding the 9 color pixels C, adding a second line of event pixels to all sides would result in a total of 40 event imaging pixels M to 9 color imaging pixels C as shown in the annotated figure 5 below). Because both Mi and Kim disclose groups of pixels with both color imaging pixels and event imaging pixels, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the array taught by Kim for the array taught by Mi to achieve the predictable result of capturing both color images and motion events.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 1, in addition, Kim discloses a transmission transistor; a reset transistor; and a driving transistor corresponding to the first-type photoelectric conversion element in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups (figure 6B shows that the color imaging pixels are connected transfer transistors TG, a reset transistor RST and a driving transistor AMP as disclosed at paragraph 71), and wherein the transmission transistor, the reset transistor, and the driving transistor are disposed on the first semiconductor die (figure 4B shows that the top chip 210 includes on-chip transistors 410 as disclosed at paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 3, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 2, in addition, Kim discloses wherein, in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is more than twice the total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 5 shows a pixel group in which there are more event imaging pixels than color imaging pixels, additionally paragraph 110 teaches that there may be multiple lines of event pixels M surrounding the 9 color pixels C, adding a second line of event pixels to all sides would result in a total of 40 event imaging pixels M to 9 color imaging pixels C as shown in the annotated figure 5 below).
Regarding claim 4, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 3, in addition, Mi discloses wherein the DVS pixel circuit comprises: a logarithmic amplifier connected to at least one of the second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 6A exhibits a logarithmic amplifier formed by transistors LGT1, E_AMP1 and E_AMP2 as disclosed at paragraph 70); and a feedback transistor connected to at least one of the second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 6A shows that transistor LGT2 is connected to the output of the amplifier and forms a feedback loop).
Regarding claim 5, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 4, in addition, Kim discloses wherein, in each the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is more than three times the total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 5 shows a pixel group in which there are more event imaging pixels than color imaging pixels, additionally paragraph 110 teaches that there may be multiple lines of event pixels M surrounding the 9 color pixels C, adding a second line of event pixels to all sides would result in a total of 40 event imaging pixels M to 9 color imaging pixels C as shown in the annotated figure 5 below).
Regarding claim 6, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 3, in addition, Kim discloses wherein, in each photoelectric conversion element group, relative positions of the first-type photoelectric conversion elements with respect to the photoelectric conversion element group are identical (figure 5 shows a repeating pattern of color imaging pixels and motion imaging pixels).
Regarding claim 8, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 5, in addition, Kim discloses wherein, in each the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is more than four times the total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 5 shows a pixel group in which there are more event imaging pixels than color imaging pixels, additionally paragraph 110 teaches that there may be multiple lines of event pixels M surrounding the 9 color pixels C, adding a second line of event pixels to all sides would result in a total of 40 event imaging pixels M to 9 color imaging pixels C as shown in the annotated figure 5 below).
Regarding claim 11, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 5, in addition, Kim discloses wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups comprises a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements arranged in N rows and M columns, wherein the first-type photoelectric conversion element is disposed at a center portion of an array of N rows and M columns, and wherein N and M are integers (figure 5 shows that the color imaging pixels of each group are arranged at the center of the NxM array of the group).
Regarding claim 13, Mi discloses a vision sensor comprising: a first semiconductor die comprising a first-type photoelectric conversion element and a second-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 2 exhibits a top chip 210 which includes a pixel array as disclosed at paragraph 54; figure 7 exhibits a 4x4 pixel group including a plurality of color image sensing pixels and event sensing pixels as disclosed at paragraph 73); and a second semiconductor die comprising a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) pixel circuit (figure 2 exhibits bottom chip 220 which include a DVS pixel circuit including drive circuit 310 and arbiter 330 as disclosed at paragraphs 54 and 56), wherein the first-type photoelectric conversion element is configured to output an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of light incident on the first-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 7 exhibits color image sensing pixels including photodiodes as disclosed at paragraph 73), wherein the second-type photoelectric conversion element is configured to output charges corresponding to an amount of light incident on the second-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 7 exhibits a plurality of EVS pixels including photodiodes as disclosed at paragraph 73), wherein the DVS pixel circuit is configured to output an event signal based on charges generated by the second-type photoelectric conversion element (paragraph 68 teaches that the EPDs are used to output event signals), wherein the first semiconductor die is connected to the second semiconductor die in a copper-to-copper bonding manner (paragraph 53 teaches that the chips 210 and 220 are bonding using copper to copper bonding). However, Mi fails to disclose that the second semiconductor die comprises a selection transistor, and a driving transistor corresponding to the first-type photoelectric conversion element, and wherein, a total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is greater than a total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements.
At the time of filing, there was a recognized problem or need in the art to form the circuitry of the imaging pixels on one of two chips (Mi paragraph 49). There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem which were:
Locate the selection and driving transistors corresponding to the first-type photoelectric conversion element on the first semiconductor die; or
Locate the selection transistor on one semiconductor die and the driving transistor on the other semiconductor die; or
Locate the selection and driving transistors corresponding to the first-type photoelectric conversion element on the second semiconductor die (paragraph 49 teaches that the circuitry for the imaging pixels can be located on either the top chip 210 or the bottom chip 220; and figure 6B shows that the color imaging pixels include an AMP transistor and a SEL transistor).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since all the solutions provide the color imaging pixels with the required circuitry. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Mi discloses a pixel array in which there are more color imaging pixels than event imaging pixels (see figure 7). Kim teaches a plurality of different ratios of color imaging pixels to event imaging pixels including wherein each pixel group a total number of event imaging pixels is greater than a total number of color imaging pixels (figure 5 shows a pixel group in which there are more event imaging pixels than color imaging pixels, additionally paragraph 110 teaches that there may be multiple lines of event pixels M surrounding the 9 color pixels C, adding a second line of event pixels to all sides would result in a total of 40 event imaging pixels M to 9 color imaging pixels C as shown in the annotated figure 5 below). Because both Mi and Kim disclose groups of pixels with both color imaging pixels and event imaging pixels, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the array taught by Kim for the array taught by Mi to achieve the predictable result of capturing both color images and motion events.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 13, in addition, Kim discloses wherein the total number of photoelectric conversion elements in a first photoelectric conversion element group is identical to the total number of a second-type photoelectric conversion elements in a second photoelectric conversion element group (figure 5 shows a repeating pattern with the same number of pixels in each repetition of the pattern, therefore, the first group is interpreted as a first repetition of the pattern and the second group is interpreted as a second repetition of the pattern such that the first and second groups have the same number of pixels).
Regarding claim 15, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 13, in addition, Kim discloses wherein the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements in the first photoelectric conversion element group is different than the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements in the second photoelectric conversion element group (figure 5 shows a repeating pattern with the same number of pixels in each repetition of the pattern, therefore, the first group is interpreted as a first repetition of the pattern and the second group is interpreted as two repetitions of the pattern such that the first and second groups have a different number of pixels).
Regarding claim 16, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 13, in addition, Kim discloses wherein, in each the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is more than twice the total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 5 shows a pixel group in which there are more event imaging pixels than color imaging pixels, additionally paragraph 110 teaches that there may be multiple lines of event pixels M surrounding the 9 color pixels C, adding a second line of event pixels to all sides would result in a total of 40 event imaging pixels M to 9 color imaging pixels C as shown in the annotated figure 5 below).
Regarding claim 17, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 13, in addition, Mi discloses wherein the DVS pixel circuit comprises: a logarithmic amplifier connected to at least one of the second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 6A exhibits a logarithmic amplifier formed by transistors LGT1, E_AMP1 and E_AMP2 as disclosed at paragraph 70), and a feedback transistor connected to at least one of the second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 6A shows that transistor LGT2 is connected to the output of the amplifier and forms a feedback loop).
Claims 7, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi in view of Kim and further in view of Dai et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2025/0159367), hereinafter referenced as Dai.
Regarding claim 7, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 5, however, Mi fails to disclose a third semiconductor die stacked on the second semiconductor die, wherein the third semiconductor dies comprises a DVS logic and an analog to digital converter.
Dai is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Dai teaches a hybrid image sensor wherein the motivation of forming a compact image sensor that can output digital image signals would have prompted a predictable variation of Mi by applying Dai’s known principal of providing a third semiconductor die stacked on the second semiconductor die (figures 1A and 1B show a third die 136 stacked on a middle die 134 as disclosed at paragraph 40), wherein the third semiconductor dies comprises a DVS logic (figure 1B shows that die 136 has an event signal processor ESP 154 as disclosed at paragraph 45) and an analog to digital converter (figure 1B shows that die 136 has an ADC 151 as disclosed at paragraph 45).
In view of the motivations such as forming a compact image sensor that can output digital image signals one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Mi.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, Mi in view of Kim and further in view of Dai discloses the vision sensor of claim 7, in addition, Mi discloses wherein the first-type photoelectric conversion element of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups shares a reset transistor, a driving transistor, and a selection transistor (figure 6B shows that the color imaging pixels in each group share a reset, amplification transistor and selection transistor).
Regarding claim 18, Mi in view of Kim discloses the vision sensor of claim 17, however, Mi fails to disclose a third semiconductor die stacked on the second semiconductor die, wherein the third semiconductor dies comprises a DVS logic and an analog to digital converter.
Dai is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Dai teaches a hybrid image sensor wherein the motivation of forming a compact image sensor that can output digital image signals would have prompted a predictable variation of Mi by applying Dai’s known principal of providing a third semiconductor die stacked on the second semiconductor die (figures 1A and 1B show a third die 136 stacked on a middle die 134 as disclosed at paragraph 40), wherein the third semiconductor dies comprises a DVS logic (figure 1B shows that die 136 has an event signal processor ESP 154 as disclosed at paragraph 45) and an analog to digital converter (figure 1B shows that die 136 has an ADC 151 as disclosed at paragraph 45).
In view of the motivations such as forming a compact image sensor that can output digital image signals one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Mi.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Mi.
Regarding claim 1, Dai discloses a vision sensor comprising: a first semiconductor die comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups (figure 1A shows a first die 132 with a pixel array 138 as disclosed at paragraph 40; figure 1C shows that the pixels are grouped into 4x4 groups of pixels as disclosed at paragraph 46); and a second semiconductor die comprising a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) pixel circuit and stacked on the first semiconductor die (figure 1A shows a second die 134 with a EVS pixel circuit as disclosed at paragraph 43), wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups comprises: a first-type photoelectric conversion element configured to output an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of light incident on the first-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 1C shows that the pixel groups include color pixels 135 as disclosed at paragraph 46), and a plurality of second-type photoelectric conversion elements, each configured to output charges corresponding to an amount of light incident on the second-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 1C shows that the pixel groups include event pixels 137 as disclosed at paragraph 46), wherein the DVS pixel circuit is configured to output an event signal based on the charges generated by the plurality of second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 1B shows that pixels 137 output signals to the EVS circuit 100), and wherein, in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, a total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is greater than a total number of first- type photoelectric conversion elements (paragraph 51 teaches that the ratio of color pixels to event pixels can be 2:14 instead of the 15:1 shown in figure 1C). However, Dai fails to disclose that the first and second semiconductor dies are bonded in a copper-to-copper bonding manner.
Dai discloses bonding the first and second substrates. Mi discloses bonding the first and second substrates in a copper-to-copper bonding manner (paragraph 53 teaches that the chips 210 and 220 are bonding using copper to copper bonding). Because both Dai and Mi teach that two semiconductor dies are bonded together, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the copper-to-copper bonding taught by Mi for the bonding taught by Dai to achieve the predictable result of bonding two substrates together.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Dai in view of Mi discloses the vision sensor of claim 1, in addition, Dai discloses a transmission transistor; a reset transistor; and a driving transistor corresponding to the first-type photoelectric conversion element in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, and wherein the transmission transistor, the reset transistor, and the driving transistor are disposed on the first semiconductor die (figure 1B shows that the color imaging pixels 135 use a 4T pixel structure which includes a transmission transistor; a reset transistor; and a driving transistor disposed on the first die 132).
Regarding claim 3, Dai in view of Mi discloses the vision sensor of claim 2, in addition, Dai discloses wherein, in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is more than twice the total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (paragraph 51 teaches that the ratio of color pixels to event pixels can be 2:14 instead of the 15:1 shown in figure 1C).
Regarding claim 4, Dai in view of Mi discloses the vision sensor of claim 3, in addition, Dai discloses wherein the DVS pixel circuit comprises: a logarithmic amplifier connected to at least one of the second-type photoelectric conversion elements; and a feedback transistor connected to at least one of the second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 2 shows that the EVS circuits on the second die include a logarithmic amplifier and a feedback transistor with a gate connected to the output of the amplifier and a drain connected to the photodiode as disclosed at paragraphs 52 and 53).
Regarding claim 5 Dai in view of Mi vision sensor of claim 4, in addition, Dai discloses wherein, in each the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, the total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is more than three times the total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (paragraph 51 teaches that the ratio of color pixels to event pixels can be 2:14 instead of the 15:1 shown in figure 1C).
Regarding claim 19, Dai discloses a vision sensor comprising: a first semiconductor die comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups (figure 1A shows a first die 132 with a pixel array 138 as disclosed at paragraph 40; figure 1C shows that the pixels are grouped into 4x4 groups of pixels as disclosed at paragraph 46); a second semiconductor die comprising a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) pixel circuit and stacked on the first semiconductor die (figure 1A shows a second die 134 with a EVS pixel circuit as disclosed at paragraph 43); and a third semiconductor die comprising a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor image sensor (CIS) logic and a DVS logic (figure 1B exhibits a third semiconductor die which includes ESP circuit 154 and ISP circuit 152 as disclosed at paragraph 45), wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups comprises: a first-type photoelectric conversion element configured to output an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of light incident on the first-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 1C shows that the pixel groups include color pixels 135 as disclosed at paragraph 46); and a plurality of second-type photoelectric conversion elements, each configured to output charges corresponding to an amount of light incident on the second-type photoelectric conversion element (figure 1C shows that the pixel groups include event pixels 137 as disclosed at paragraph 46), wherein the DVS pixel circuit is configured to output an event signal based on charges generated by the plurality of second-type photoelectric conversion elements (figure 1B shows that pixels 137 output signals to the EVS circuit 100), wherein, in each the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, a total number of second-type photoelectric conversion elements is greater than a total number of first-type photoelectric conversion elements (paragraph 51 teaches that the ratio of color pixels to event pixels can be 2:14 instead of the 15:1 shown in figure 1C), and wherein the third semiconductor die is stacked on the second semiconductor die (paragraph 40 teaches that the third die is stacked on the second die). However, Dai fails to disclose that the first and second semiconductor dies are bonded in a copper-to-copper bonding manner.
Dai discloses bonding the first and second substrates. Mi discloses bonding the first and second substrates in a copper-to-copper bonding manner (paragraph 53 teaches that the chips 210 and 220 are bonding using copper to copper bonding). Because both Dai and Mi teach that two semiconductor dies are bonded together, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the copper-to-copper bonding taught by Mi for the bonding taught by Dai to achieve the predictable result of bonding two substrates together.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 20, Dai in view of Mi discloses the vision sensor of claim 19, in addition, Dai discloses wherein the first semiconductor die further comprises: a transmission transistor; a reset transistor; and a driving transistor corresponding to the first-type photoelectric conversion element in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups, and wherein the transmission transistor, the reset transistor, and the driving transistor are disposed on the first semiconductor die (figure 1B shows that the color imaging pixels 135 use a 4T pixel structure which includes a transmission transistor; a reset transistor; and a driving transistor disposed on the first die 132). However, Dai fails to disclose wherein the reset transistor, driving transistor, and the selection transistor are shared by a plurality of first-type photoelectric conversion elements in a first photoelectric conversion element group.
Mi is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Mi teaches an imaging device wherein the motivation of minimizing the space taken up on the top die by transistors would have prompted a predictable variation of Dai by applying Mi’s known principal of sharing the reset transistor, driving transistor, and the selection transistor by a plurality of first-type photoelectric conversion elements in a first photoelectric conversion element group (figure 6B shows sharing the reset, driving and selection transistors between a plurality of color imaging pixels).
In view of the motivations such as minimizing the space taken up on the top die by transistors one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Dai.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Mi and further in view of Pyo et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0303509), hereinafter referenced as Pyo.
Regarding claim 9, Dai discloses the vision sensor of claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups comprises a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements arranged in N rows and M columns, and wherein N and M are integers. However, Dai fails to disclose wherein the first-type photoelectric conversion element is disposed at one of four corners formed by an array of N rows and M columns.
Dai discloses an arrangement of pixel groups with a ratio of 4 color imaging pixels to 12 event pixels (paragraph 51). Pyo discloses an arrangement of pixel groups with a ratio of 4 color imaging pixels to 12 other pixels where the color imaging pixels are disposed at one of four corners formed by an array of N rows and M columns (see annotated figure 17 below). Because both Dai and Pyo disclose arrangements of color imaging pixels with other pixels, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the arrangement taught by Pyo in which the color imaging pixels are disposed at one of four corners formed by an array of N rows and M columns for the arrangement disclosed by Dai to achieve the predictable result of arraying color imaging pixels with other pixels.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, Dai in view of Mi discloses the vision sensor of claim 5, however, Dai fails to disclose wherein, the first-type photoelectric conversion elements in a first photoelectric conversion element group is directly adjacent to the first-type photoelectric conversion elements in a second photoelectric conversion element group, and wherein the first photoelectric conversion element group is directly adjacent to the second photoelectric conversion element group.
Dai discloses an arrangement of pixel groups with a ratio of 4 color imaging pixels to 12 event pixels (paragraph 51). Pyo discloses an arrangement of pixel groups with a ratio of 4 color imaging pixels to 12 other pixels where the color imaging pixels in one group are arranged directly adjacent to the color imaging pixels in a second adjacent pixel group (see annotated figure 17 below). Because both Dai and Pyo disclose arrangements of color imaging pixels with other pixels, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the arrangement taught by Pyo in which the color imaging pixels in one group are arranged directly adjacent to the color imaging pixels in a second adjacent pixel group for the arrangement disclosed by Dai to achieve the predictable result of arraying color imaging pixels with other pixels.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0392941) discloses a stacked image sensor.
Nomoto (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0400218) discloses a DVS sensor.
Suh et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0084403) discloses a hybrid image sensor.
Gao et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0344867) discloses a stacked image sensor.
Conclusion
JASON A. FLOHRE
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/JASON A FLOHRE/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637