Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerardi (EP 0742081, herein referenced by the EPO English machine translation).
Re Claim 1, Gerardi discloses a drive device 63 comprising: a drive for a vice 1; a coupling assembly (not labeled, the apertures located on the drive next to the socket wrench 64, as shown in figure 21); and a socket wrench 64 configured to rotate about an axis, the socket wrench 64 is movable in a direction of the axis (Pars. 0017, 0042 and 0045, Figs. 1-18 and 21).
Re Claim 2, Gerardi discloses the coupling assembly comprises a positive-locking fastening assembly as a torque input (Par. 0042). Note: Gerardi discloses the ends of the body 2 of the vice 1 have threaded holes 60, through which screw connections can be made with auxiliary devices, e.g. with different drive units for the spindle 21. The Examiner construes this to be equivalent to the claimed positive-locking fastening assembly as a torque input, as the screw connections are made via fasteners provided with a “torque input”.
Re Claim 4, Gerardi discloses a rotary handle (not labeled, shown in figure 2 near the drive) configured to displace the socket wrench 64 in the direction of the axis (Par. 0045, Figs. 2 and 21).
Re Claim 5, Gerardi discloses a rotary handle is disposed laterally on the drive 63 on a side of the drive 63 opposite to the coupling assembly 60 or on a side located between the coupling assembly and a side opposite to the coupling assembly (Par. 0045, Figs. 2 and 21).
Re Claim 6, Gerardi discloses a vice 1 comprising: the drive device 63 according to claim 1; and a coupling assembly counter-piece 60 which is disposed on a side of a drive spindle 21 (Par. 0042, Figs. 2 and 21).
Re Claim 10, Gerardi discloses an assembly comprising: the drive device 63 according to claim 1; and a vice 1 comprising a coupling assembly counter-piece 60 which is disposed on a side of a drive spindle 21, the drive device 63 is positively connected with the vice 1 (Pars. 0017, 0042 and 0045, Figs. 1, 2 and 21).
Re Claim 13, Gerardi discloses a method for operating the assembly according to claim 10, comprising: coupling the drive device 63 to the vice 1; moving the socket wrench 64 of the drive device 63 over the drive spindle 21 of the vice 1; and rotating the drive spindle 21 with the socket wrench 64 (Pars. 0017, 0042 and 0045, Figs. 1, 2 and 21).
Re Claim 14, Gerardi discloses drive device 63 is fastened on the vice 1 in order to couple the drive device 63 with the vice 1 (Pars. 0042 and 0045, Figs. 2 and 21).
Re Claim 15, Gerardi discloses socket wrench 64 is moved via the drive spindle 21 of the vice 1 by turning a rotary handle (shown in figure 2) (Pars. 0042 and 0045, Figs. 2 and 21).
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Egger (EP 4096868) discloses a drive device comprising: a drive for a vice; a coupling assembly; and a socket wrench configured to rotate about an axis, however, lacks a socket wrench that is movable in a direction of the axis.
/BAYAN SALONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726