DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The submitted information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on 04/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification Objection
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Firstly, “The size-reduced population of drug particles possesses each of the PSD parameters: “Dl0 ≤ 1 μM, D50 ≤ 2.2 μM, and D90 ≤ 4.5 μM”.
μm is micrometer.
μM is micromolar.
Wrong μM units for PSD parameters in Specification.
The PSD parameters should be: Dl0 ≤ 1 μm, D50 ≤ 2.2 μm, and D90 ≤ 4.5 μm.
Secondly: “salt in the vehicle is from 0.25% w/v to -5% w/v,”. The specification must demonstrate that the inventor actually possessed the invention at the time of filing. Unless the specification outlines a highly specialized, alternative scientific definition for a negative concentration, the inventor cannot demonstrate possession of something that is physically impossible.
Appropriate corrections are required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 12 and 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 are indefinite because they recite:
“the size-reduced population of drug particles possessing each of the particle size distribution (PSD) parameters: Dl0 ≤ 1 μM, D50 ≤ 2.2 μM, D90 ≤ 4.5 μM,” …
μm is micrometer.
μM is micromolar.
Because the claim introduces particle size distribution in "μM" (micromolar) and later refers to it in "μm" (micrometer), the metes and bounds of the claim are technically unclear. A Person Of Ordinary Skill In The Art (POSITA) would understand it is likely a typo, but as written, it introduces indefiniteness and a lack of antecedent basis (i.e., the "μm" at the end lacks a proper preceding introduction in the same units). The terms "μM" and "μm" render the scope of the particle size distribution boundaries unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
For examining purposes, examiner will assume that claims 1 and 12: have all PSD in μm as below.
“the size-reduced population of drug particles possessing each of the particle size distribution (PSD) parameters: Dl0 ≤1 μm, D50 ≤ 2.2 μm, D90 ≤ 4.5 μm,”.
Claims 1 and 12 are also indefinite because they recite:
Claim 1,
Starting/Target Suspension Parameters: “The claim requires making a suspension with PSD parameters of: A method for making a suspension consisting essentially of a size-reduced population of drug particles dispersed in a liquid vehicle, the size-reduced population of drug particles possessing each of the particle size distribution (PSD) parameters: Dl0 ≤ 1 μM, D50 ≤ 2.2 μM, D90 ≤ 4.5 μM”,
Reducing Step Parameters: The claim states this is achieved "by reducing particle size so that the PSD parameters of drug particles" are Dl0 ≤ 1 μm, D50 ≤ 2.25 μm, D90 ≤ 4.75 μm”.
For D50 and D90, the reducing step permits larger upper bounds D50 ≤ 2.25 μM, D90 ≤ 4.75 μM than the final suspension requires D50 ≤ 2.2 μM, D90 ≤ 4.5 μM”. Reducing a particle size should result in smaller particles; it is unclear how or whether this guarantees the resulting suspension meets the stricter limits. This creates ambiguity regarding the scope of the claim and whether the reduction step actually results in the claimed suspension.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12,
Starting/Target Suspension Parameters: “The claim requires making a suspension with PSD parameters of: A method for making a suspension consisting essentially of a size-reduced population of drug particles dispersed in a liquid vehicle, the size-reduced population of drug particles possessing each of the particle size distribution (PSD) parameters: Dl0 ≤ 1 μM, D50 ≤ 2.25 μM, D90 ≤ 4.5 μM”,
Reducing Step Parameters: The claim states this is achieved "by reducing particle size so that the PSD parameters of drug particles" are Dl0 ≤ 0.15 μm, D50 ≤ 2.25 μm, D90 ≤ 4.75 μm”.
For D90, the reducing step permits larger upper bounds D90 ≤ 4.5 μM than the final suspension requires D50 ≤ 2.2 μM, D90 ≤ 4.5 μM”. Reducing a particle size results in smaller particles; it is unclear how or whether this guarantees the resulting suspension meets the stricter limits. This creates ambiguity regarding the scope of the claim and whether the reduction step actually should result in the claimed suspension. A particle size distribution cannot grow larger during a size-reduction (milling) process.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2 and 13 are indefinite because they recite: “salt in the vehicle is from 0.25% w/v to -5% w/v,”. A negative concentration of a chemical or physical ingredient (weight per volume) is physically impossible. The scope of the invention is completely unclear and impossible to calculate or infringe.
For examining purpose, the sentence is modified as: “salt in the vehicle is from 0.25% w/v to 5% w/v.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 20230085008 A1).
Claims 1 and 12,
Jain et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions and stable nano-suspensions comprising mifepristone and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, manufacturing process is also provided, (Abs); oral pharmaceutical compositions and stable nano-suspensions of mifepristone particles, methods for their administration, processes for their production. (0003). Mifepristone is a potent antagonist of steroid hormone receptors. (0004). Mifepristone refers to mifepristone freebase or its pharmaceutically acceptable salts, solvates or hydrates thereof. (0072). Mifepristone is a synthetic steroidal compound (an antiprogestational steroid). Mifepristone can be converted to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt refers to salts by inorganic or organic acids. (0074). And if required, adjust with ortho-phosphoric acid or l N Sodium hydroxide solution. (Tables 1 and 2), to increase solubility. It would be obvious that an acid or a base can be added as needed, which can be applied for other steroid drugs also. The process for preparing nano-suspension of mifepristone comprises:
(a) adding at least one surfactant to the purified water in a suitable container,
(b) adding mifepristone to step (a) and stirred continuously to obtain mifepristone dispersion,
(c) homogenizing the above mifepristone dispersion to obtain mifepristone slurry and
(d) nano-sizing mifepristone slurry in a ball-mill chamber to obtain nano-suspension containing desired particle size of mifepristone. (0135). The pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of mifepristone particles and at least one pharmaceutically
acceptable excipient, wherein the mifepristone particles have an average D90 particle size is equal to or less than about 1000 nm, (0030), which mean D50 and D10 ≤ 1000 nm. With D90 ≤ 1000 nm after nanosizing in a ball-mill, then it would have been obvious that drug particles size before nanosizing at least D10 ≥ 1000 nm.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare a steroid drug suspension formulation by adding a surfactant into water with the drug and homogenize the slurry, then nanosizing the slurry to drug particle size to D90 ≤ 1000 nm, taught by Jain et al., since they have proven these excipients will provide a suspension formulation with methods provided above.
With regard to claims 2 and 13,
Jain et al. teach 300 mg of Mifepristone, 8 mg of Sodium lauryl sulphate and 1 mg of Docusate sodium, and in water, (Table 4, (0207), so water can be up to 50, 100 or 200 mL. Mifepristone slurry 20%, (Table 16, 0258) then the water is 2000mL, and surfactants (1+8 mg)/2000mL x 100 = 0.45% w/v. The concentration of chelating agent ranges from about 0.1% to about 1% w/w of total composition. (0181). If required, adjust with ortho-phosphoric acid or lN Sodium hydroxide solution, (Tables 1 and 2), to increase solubility. And the amounts of acid or base in the vehicle will be varied depending on the drug needed to be in freebase or salt form. Mifepristone (MW 430g/mol), so with 300 mg = 0.70 mmol. To converse to salt form with acid, such as acetic acid (MW 60 g/mol), to have 1:1 ratio, 41.9 mg acetic acid is needed, which is 2.1 w/v acid in the vehicle. The amount of acid or base can be varied depending the needed pH of the suspension, the solubility of the drug.
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 3-4, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 20230085008 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20110200678 A1).
The teachings of Jain et al. are described in claims 1 and 12 above.
Jain et al. teach
a surfactant comprising sodium lauryl sulphate and (d) surface stabilizer comprising docusate sodium, (0030), lecithin, polyoxyethylene castor oil, and tyloxapol (0157), poloxamer 188 (0220); citric acid, (0181), if required, adjust with ortho-phosphoric acid or l N Sodium hydroxide solution (Tables 1 and 2).
Jain et al. teach corticosteroids as natural steroid hormones produced by a body (0008), but do not teach corticosteroids as drugs.
Hwang et al. teach
corticosteroids as drugs: Dexamethasone, Dexamethasone sodium phosphate, Dexamethasone palmitate, Hydrocortisone, Hydrocortisone sodium succinate, Prednisolone, Prednisolone acetate, Prednisolone sodium succinate, Prednisolone stearylglycolate, Triamcinolone, Triamcinolone acetonide, Betamethasone sodium phosphate, (0100); and Budesonide (0128).
Acid: Acetic acid. (0042).
Base: Magnesium hydroxide. (0086).
Surfactants: sodium lauryl sulphate, dioctyl sulfosuccinate, lecithin, polyoxyethylene castor oil, poloxamer, Pluronics F68 and tyloxapol. (0137).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare a steroid drug suspension formulation by adding a surfactant as listed above, into water with the drug and homogenize the slurry, then nanosizing the slurry to drug particle size to D90 ≤ 1000 nm, taught by Jain et al., and the drug can be corticostiroids, with surfactants, acids or bases as listed above, taught by Hwang et al., since they have proven these excipients will provide a suspension formulation with methods provided above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 20230085008 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20110200678 A1).
Jain et al. teach
pharmaceutical compositions and stable nano-suspensions comprising mifepristone and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, manufacturing process is also provided. (Abs). Mifepristone is a synthetic steroidal compound (an antiprogestational steroid). oral pharmaceutical compositions and stable nano-suspensions of mifepristone particles, methods for their administration, processes for their production. (0003). Mifepristone can be converted to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt refers to salts by inorganic or organic acids. (0074). And if required, adjust with ortho-phosphoric acid or l N sodium hydroxide solution. (Tables 1 and 2), to increase solubility. It would be obvious that steroid mifepristone steroid and an acid or a base can be added if needed to apply for other drugs to improve solubility. The process for preparing nano-suspension of mifepristone comprises:
(a) adding at least one surfactant to the purified water in a suitable container,
(b) adding mifepristone to step (a) and stirred continuously to obtain mifepristone dispersion,
(c) homogenizing the above mifepristone dispersion to obtain mifepristone slurry and
(d) nano-sizing mifepristone slurry in a ball-mill chamber to obtain nano-suspension containing desired particle size of mifepristone. (0135). The pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of mifepristone particles and at least one pharmaceutically
acceptable excipient, wherein the mifepristone particles have an average D90 particle size equal to or less than about 1000 nm, (0030), which mean D50 and D10 ≤ 1000 nm. With D90 ≤ 1000 nm after nanosizing in a ball-mill, then it would have been obvious that drug particles size before nanosizing at least D10 ≥ 1000 nm.
300 mg of mifepristone, 8 mg of Sodium lauryl sulphate and 1 mg of docusate sodium, and in water, (Table 4, (0207), so water can be up to 50, 100 or 200 mL. Mifepristone slurry 20%, (Table 16, 0258) then the water is 2000mL,
and surfactants (1+8 mg)/2000mL x 100 = 0.45%.
The concentration of chelating agent ranges from about 0.1% to about 1% w/w of total composition. (0181).
If required, adjust with ortho-phosphoric acid or l N sodium hydroxide solution, (Tables 1 and 2), to increase solubility. And the amounts of acid or base in the vehicle will be varied depending on the drug needed to be in freebase or salt form. Mifepristone (MW 430g/mol), so with 300 mg = 0.70 mmol. To converse to salt form with acid, such as acetic acid (MW 60 g/mol), to have 1:1 ratio, 41.9 mg acetic acid is needed, which is 2.1 w/v acid in the vehicle. The amount of acid or base can be varied depending the needed pH of the suspension, the solubility of the drug.
a surfactant comprising sodium lauryl sulphate and (d) surface stabilizer comprising docusate sodium, (0030), lecithin, polyoxyethylene castor oil, and tyloxapol (0157), poloxamer 188 (0220); citric acid, (0181), if required, adjust with ortho-phosphoric acid or l N Sodium hydroxide solution (Tables 1 and 2).
Jain et al. teach corticosteroids as natural steroid hormones produced by a body (0008), but do not teach corticosteroids as drugs.
Hwang et al. teach
A group of corticosteroids as drugs: Dexamethasone, Dexamethasone sodium phosphate, Dexamethasone palmitate, Hydrocortisone, Hydrocortisone sodium succinate, Prednisolone, Prednisolone acetate, Prednisolone sodium succinate, Prednisolone stearylglycolate, Triamcinolone, Triamcinolone acetonide, Betamethasone sodium phosphate, (0100); and Budesonide (0128).
Especially Prednisolone acetate. (0100).
Acid: Acetic acid. (0042).
Base: Magnesium hydroxide. (0086).
Surfactants: sodium lauryl sulphate, dioctyl sulfosuccinate, lecithin, polyoxyethylene castor oil, poloxamer, Pluronics F68 and tyloxapol. (0137).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare a steroid drug suspension formulation by adding a surfactant tyloxapol, into water with the drug and homogenize the slurry, then nanosizing the slurry to drug particle size to D90 ≤ 1000 nm, taught by Jain et al., and the drug can be a corticosteroid prednisolone acetate, with surfactant tyloxapol, acids or bases as listed above, taught by Hwang et al., since substituting active ingredient corticosteroid prednisolone acetate into the formulation matrix of steroid mifepristone taught by Jain is a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield a predictable result. Because steroid mifepristone taught by Jain and corticosteroid prednisolone, taught by Hwang belong to the same functional and structural class (steroids/corticosteroids) and share similar utilities, so a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (PHOSITA) would have a reasonable expectation of success in preparing composition of claim 8, with these ranges of concentrations.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 14-15 and 5, 7, 9, 11, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 20230085008 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20110200678 A1) and further in view of Tada et al. (US 20140328917 A1) and Shaw et al. (US 8367651 B2).
The teachings of Jain et al. and Hwang et al. are described in claims 1, 3-4, 8, 14-15 above.
Jain et al. teach ball-mill (0214), ball-milled at a speed of 1730 RPM at 30° C. for 80
minutes and further milled at 10° C. for 70 minutes, using the conditions set forth in Tables 5 and 6, (0215); Homogenized mifepristone slurry of Composition B was ball-milled at speed of 2500 RPM at 20° C for 140 minutes (see Table 7), (0216); 0.2 mm zirconium beads (see Table 8). Change in zirconium beads size from 0.3 mm to 0.2 mm in milling procedure does not have any significant effect on the particle size distribution of the final nano-suspension. (0217).
Hwang et al. teach prednisolone acetate. (0100).
Jain and Hwang do not teach the beads are from 1 mm to 10 mm in diameter and of
material selected from the group consisting of agate, alumina, ceramic, flint, stainless steel, steel chrome, tungsten carbide, and zirconia, and combinations thereof.
Tada et al. teach one of methods for finely-milling the organic compound to the level of nano-powder with a narrow particle diameter distribution, a method for milling the organic compound by a bead mill using beads made of ceramic, glass, or the like is well known. (0007). The temperature is not particularly limited as far as it can inhibit melting or decomposition of the organic compound, is preferably -50 to 50°C. Time for milling may be determined arbitrarily in considering the organic compound to be milled, the milling apparatus and the like, for example, about 1 to 50 hours. (0074).
Tada et al. do not teach the bead size 1-10mm.
Shaw et al. teach the grinding media comprises beads having a size ranging from 0.05-4 mm. (253).
It would have been obvious that the milling parameters of whether it is mill ball mill, an attritor mill, a vibration mill, a sand mill, or a bead mill, the timing to mill, the temperature to mill, the diameter of the beads, the material of the bead, bead diameters and the rate rpm of milling are varied and interrelated to each other to provide the particle size according to the drug properties, stability and solubility, so one with skill in the art can vary these parameters with the instruments they have, the comprised excipients, the drug they work with, and the particle size they want to have a good suspension composition to prepare a steroid drug suspension formulation by adding a surfactant into water with the drug and homogenize the slurry, then nanosizing the slurry to drug particle size to D90 ≤ 1000 nm, taught by Jain et al.; the drug can be corticostiroids, with surfactants, acids or bases as listed above, taught by Hwang et al., to have bead mill using beads made of ceramic, the temperature can be -50 to 50°C; time for milling can be about 1 to 50 hours, taught by Tada et al. and bead size can be 0.05-4 mm taught by Shaw et all since they have proven these excipients will provide a suspension formulation with methods provided above.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 14, 15 and 6, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 20230085008 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20110200678 A1) and further in view of Selvaraj et al. (US 20220211630 A1).
The teachings of Jain et al. and Hwang et al. are described in claims 1, 3-4, 8, 14 and 15 above.
Hwang et al. teach Prednisolone acetate. (0100).
Jain et al. and Hwang et al. do not teach the slurry is subjected to the high-pressure homogenization for 5 passes to 250 passes, at from 10,000 PSI to 50,000 PSI and from 4°C to 50°C.
Selvaraj et al. teach an emulsion is formed by homogenization under high pressure and high shear forces. Such homogenization is conveniently carried out in a high-pressure homogenizer, typically operated at pressures in the range of about 3,000 up to 30,000 psi, (0310), during homogenization the emulsion was cooled between 5°C and 10°C and 5-8 passes. (0332).
It would have been obvious that the milling parameters of whether it is mill ball mill, an attritor mill, a vibration mill, a sand mill, or a bead mill, the timing to mill, the temperature to mill, the diameter of the beads, the material of the bead, bead diameters and the rate rpm of milling are varied and interrelated to each other to provide the particle size according to the drug properties, stability and solubility, so one with skill in the art can vary these parameters with the instruments they have, the comprised excipients, the drug they work with, and the particle size they want to have a good suspension composition to prepare a steroid drug suspension formulation by adding a surfactant into water with the drug and homogenize the slurry, then nanosizing the slurry to drug particle size to D90 ≤ 1000 nm, taught by Jain et al., the drug can be corticostiroids, with surfactants, acids or bases as listed above, taught by Hwang et al., and an emulsion is formed by homogenization under high pressure and high shear forces at pressures in the range of about 3,000 up to 30,000 psi, between 5°C and 10°C and 5-8 passes, taught by Selvaraj et al. since they have shown it would be possible to do so.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/590780 (US 20250268918 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method steps are identical and the only differences are the PSD parameters and the presence of acid and base in the instant claims. Since the method steps are the same, it is clear that the starting conditions (PSD parameters) determine the ending PSD parameters; both sets of claims include the same types of drugs and adjustment of the pH via acid and/or base is common in pharmaceutical formulations and such adjustment would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NGOC-ANH THI NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615