DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 April, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batra et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0136851), hereinafter referred to as Batra, and Ellis et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0081085), hereinafter referred to as Ellis.
In regard to claim 1, Batra teaches a storage device (Fig. 1 NVM device 120), comprising: a memory (Fig. 1 memory element 123) including a first terminal for receiving a command, a second terminal for receiving or outputting data (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4A-4B; ¶ 0045 native mode uses first port 152 for commands and second port 154 for data), and a plurality of memory units capable of storing data (Fig. 2; ¶ 0065 memory element 123 includes plurality of memory cores 202), the first terminal being distinct from the second terminal (Fig. 1 ports 152 and 154 are separately identified); and a controller (Fig. 1 NVM controller 126 connected via two-port interface 150).
Batra does not teach the remaining limitations of claim 1, however Ellis teaches an embodiment of a memory interface connected to a controller configured to determine whether an interface with the memory is in a busy state (¶ 0038, lines 11-15 controller may receive busy indication from interface), transmit a target command to the first terminal when the interface with the memory is in the busy state or when the unprocessed data output command is not present (¶ 0038, lines 21-26 a target command may still be transmitted to the memory if busy, command is either read or write, a write (target) command would be sent if there is a write command and no read command exists or if there is a write command and the device is busy; in the combination with Batra, the command would be sent to the first port), and transmit the unprocessed data output command to the first terminal when the interface with the memory is not in the busy state and the unprocessed data output command is present (by normal operation of cited sections of ¶ 0038, if the memory is not busy and a read command is next pending, the read command is transmitted), achieving the claimed limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the disclosure of Ellis in order to selectively dispatch memory access commands and benefit from a memory controller designed to better coordinate data transfers and improve efficiency (¶ 0024 disclosed memory controller advantages).
As for claim 6, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above as the claims contain the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 2-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batra, Ellis, and Das et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0391864), hereinafter referred to as Das.
As for claim 2, the previously cited references teach the device of claim 1. They do not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claim 2. However, Das teaches a memory controller which determines that the interface with the memory is in the busy state when data is being input to the second terminal or data is being output from the second terminal. Das ¶ 0042 discloses a process by which a write command results in a busy signal when device controller 208 in Fig. 2 is writing to flash memory 206, and ¶ 0043 lines 3-4 disclose that the busy status may be applied to any memory operations. If combined with the two-port memory devices (wherein data moves over one port) connected to the controller of Batra and the busy signaling interface of Ellis, the claimed limitation is achieved. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the disclosure of Das in order to benefit from improved processor performance and reduced energy consumption (¶ 0018, lines 10-15).
As for claim 3, the previously cited references teach the device of claim 2. Additionally, Batra teaches an embodiment wherein the data input to the second terminal or output from the second terminal corresponds to a first memory unit among the plurality of memory units (Fig. 6B, ¶ 0118 data from first command is output to terminal, second command is sent during data burst), and wherein the target command is a command corresponding to a second memory unit, which is different from the first memory unit among the plurality of memory units (¶ 0120 second command is sent after a delay, which may be to switch to another die (memory unit) for the next command), achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 4, the previously cited references teach the device of claim 2. Additionally, Batra teaches an embodiment wherein the data input to the second terminal or output from the second terminal corresponds to a first memory unit among the plurality of memory units, and wherein the unprocessed data output command is a command requesting output of data stored in a second memory unit among the plurality of memory units to the second terminal. As cited in the rejection of claim 3, the disclosure of ¶ 0118 includes performing multiple read commands (i.e. unprocessed data output commands), achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 5, the previously cited references teach the device of claim 1. Additionally, Ellis ¶ 0038 as cited teaches wherein the target command is a read command or a write command. The previously cited references do not explicitly teach wherein the target command is a state read command, however Das ¶ 0042, lines 7-12 disclose a CRC status command sequence i.e. a state read command, achieving the claimed limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the disclosure of Das in order to benefit from improved processor performance and reduced energy consumption (¶ 0018, lines 10-15).
As for claim 7, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 2 above as the claims contain the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 8, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above as the claims contain the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 9, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 3 above as the claims contain the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 10, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 4 above as the claims contain the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al ("Decoupled Direct Memory Access: Isolating CPU and IO Traffic by Leveraging a Dual-Data-Port DRAM") discusses memory access techniques involving dual port memory.
Sivasankaran et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0173619) discloses techniques related to distributed memory modules in a single device.
/ZAKARIA MOHAMMED BELKHAYAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2139
/REGINALD G BRAGDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2139