DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Patent No. 12,705,433), hereinafter Xu, in view of Ferrari et al. ("Model Generation with LLMs: From Requirements to UML Sequence Diagrams"), hereinafter Ferrari.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that include stored thereon computer-executable instructions that when executed by at least a processor of a computing system (Column 18, lines 43-45, "A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for data processing is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor") cause the computing system to:
access requirements for a solution that are in human language (Column 2, lines 43-53, "According to one or more aspects of the present disclosure, a user may use the described techniques to generate and edit process flows based on user instructions. For example, given a user instruction describing a task (that is to be automated), a model may generate process flow metadata and deploy the metadata to the flow generation service to generate the process flow. A user may input a natural language input (also referred to herein as a natural language query) to the flow generation service. The natural language input may indicate instructions for automating a task or process in accordance with a first process flow."; A natural language input indicating instructions for automating a task reads on requirements for a solution that are in human language.);
generate a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate a solution topology in a graph representation [language] that is derived from the requirements (Column 2, lines 53-62, "Using a large language model (LLM) (e.g., a machine learning model, an artificial intelligence (AI) model) to decompose the natural language input into a set of multiple elements and a corresponding set of multiple connectors. For example, an element may include an indication of data (e.g., who sent or received an email), an action (e.g., sending an email), among other information, and a connector may indicate a relationship between two or more elements (e.g., an email will be sent based on the data indicated in the previous element)."; Column 7, lines 30-38, "The user input 210 may include a natural language input or prompt indicating instructions for automating a task or process according to a first process flow. For example, if the task is to send an email based on a particular trigger, the user may input “create a flow to send emails after an opportunity is closed, then follow-up with the customer.” The flow generation service may decompose the user input 210 into a set of elements 215 that represent actions associated with the task."; Column 7, lines 47-58, "For example, based on the LLM prompt that is input to the LLM 240, which may include the elements of the user input 210, the LLM 240 may generate element details 220. The element details 220 may include element details 220-a (e.g., an element 1 input and a corresponding output), element details 220-b (e.g., an element 2 input and a corresponding output), and element details 220-c (e.g., an element 3 input and a corresponding output). For example, the element details 220-a may correspond to the element 215-a, and thus may include element details of the record trigger. The element details 220 may each indicate the specific flow element details that are output based on the respective input."; Column 8, lines 47-54, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph."; A large language model prompt that includes elements of the user input reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a topology representing the structure of a process flow as a graph reads on a solution topology in a graph representation that is derived from the requirements.);
and in response to the prompt, generate the graph representation [language], and the solution topology in the graph representation [language] with the large language model (Column 7, lines 47-58, "For example, based on the LLM prompt that is input to the LLM 240, which may include the elements of the user input 210, the LLM 240 may generate element details 220. The element details 220 may include element details 220-a (e.g., an element 1 input and a corresponding output), element details 220-b (e.g., an element 2 input and a corresponding output), and element details 220-c (e.g., an element 3 input and a corresponding output). For example, the element details 220-a may correspond to the element 215-a, and thus may include element details of the record trigger. The element details 220 may each indicate the specific flow element details that are output based on the respective input."; Column 8, lines 47-54, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph."; A large language model prompt that includes elements of the user input reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a topology representing the structure of a process flow as a graph reads on a solution topology in a graph representation that is derived from the requirements.).
Xu does not specifically disclose: generate a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate a solution topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements; and in response to the prompt, generate the graph representation language, and the solution topology in the graph representation language with the large language model.
Ferrari teaches:
generate a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate a solution topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements (Section I, lines 28-29, "This paper aims to examine the capability of ChatGPT, a well-known LLM, to generate UML sequence diagrams."; Section III-A, lines 62-69, "We generated the sequence diagram for each variant by prompting ChatGPT using the visualization generator pattern [30]: “Generate a sequence diagram from these requirements so that I can provide it to Planttext to visualize it. Requirements: {list of requirements}”. We selected Planttext to visualize the sequence diagrams as it is webbased, free- and easy-to-use, and it applies the PlantUML textual language, a widely-used and human-readable language."; Prompting ChatGPT to generate a sequence diagram from requirements reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a sequence diagram from the requirements in a unified modeling language reads on generating a solution topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements.);
and in response to the prompt, generate the graph representation language, and the solution topology in the graph representation language with the large language model (Section I, lines 28-29, "This paper aims to examine the capability of ChatGPT, a well-known LLM, to generate UML sequence diagrams."; Section III-A, lines 62-69, "We generated the sequence diagram for each variant by prompting ChatGPT using the visualization generator pattern [30]: “Generate a sequence diagram from these requirements so that I can provide it to Planttext to visualize it. Requirements: {list of requirements}”. We selected Planttext to visualize the sequence diagrams as it is webbased, free- and easy-to-use, and it applies the PlantUML textual language, a widely-used and human-readable language."; Generating a sequence diagram from the requirements in a unified modeling language reads on generating a solution topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements.).
Ferrari is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of data extraction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to generate a sequence diagram from requirements in a unified modeling language. Doing so would allow for generating sequence diagrams from natural language requirements with terminological consistency and understandability (Ferrari; Section VII, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media as claimed in claim 1.
Xu further discloses:
further comprising instructions that when executed by at least the processor cause the computing system to generate a manifest with the large language model, wherein the manifest defines the graph representation language, wherein the manifest includes an enumeration of node types and edge types and corresponding descriptions of the node types and the edge types (Column 8, lines 47-60, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph. At this stage, only a high-level representation of each element may be generated. In addition, the resource list may indicate a list of the high-level representations of the resources, and the flow properties may include one or more global properties of the entire flow, such as a description, a label, and the like."; Generating a high-level representation of a topology, a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow that represent the structure of the flow as a graph and includes elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph, reads on a manifest that defines the graph representation language, wherein the manifest includes an enumeration of node types and edge types and corresponding descriptions of the node types and the edge types.).
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media as claimed in claim 1.
Xu further discloses:
wherein the instructions to generate the graph representation language further cause the computing system to: define node types to correspond to elements that are described in the requirements; and define edge types to correspond to connections that are described in the requirements (Column 8, lines 47-60, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph. At this stage, only a high-level representation of each element may be generated. In addition, the resource list may indicate a list of the high-level representations of the resources, and the flow properties may include one or more global properties of the entire flow, such as a description, a label, and the like."; Generating a high-level representation of a topology, a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow that represent the structure of the flow as a graph and includes elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph, reads on defining node types to correspond to elements that are described in the requirements and edge types to correspond to connections that are described in the requirements.).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
accessing requirements for a solution that are in human language (Column 2, lines 43-53, "According to one or more aspects of the present disclosure, a user may use the described techniques to generate and edit process flows based on user instructions. For example, given a user instruction describing a task (that is to be automated), a model may generate process flow metadata and deploy the metadata to the flow generation service to generate the process flow. A user may input a natural language input (also referred to herein as a natural language query) to the flow generation service. The natural language input may indicate instructions for automating a task or process in accordance with a first process flow."; A natural language input indicating instructions for automating a task reads on requirements for a solution that are in human language.);
generating a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate a solution topology in a graph representation [language] that varies in syntax in response to a change to the requirements (Column 2, lines 53-62, "Using a large language model (LLM) (e.g., a machine learning model, an artificial intelligence (AI) model) to decompose the natural language input into a set of multiple elements and a corresponding set of multiple connectors. For example, an element may include an indication of data (e.g., who sent or received an email), an action (e.g., sending an email), among other information, and a connector may indicate a relationship between two or more elements (e.g., an email will be sent based on the data indicated in the previous element)."; Column 7, lines 30-38, "The user input 210 may include a natural language input or prompt indicating instructions for automating a task or process according to a first process flow. For example, if the task is to send an email based on a particular trigger, the user may input “create a flow to send emails after an opportunity is closed, then follow-up with the customer.” The flow generation service may decompose the user input 210 into a set of elements 215 that represent actions associated with the task."; Column 7, lines 47-58, "For example, based on the LLM prompt that is input to the LLM 240, which may include the elements of the user input 210, the LLM 240 may generate element details 220. The element details 220 may include element details 220-a (e.g., an element 1 input and a corresponding output), element details 220-b (e.g., an element 2 input and a corresponding output), and element details 220-c (e.g., an element 3 input and a corresponding output). For example, the element details 220-a may correspond to the element 215-a, and thus may include element details of the record trigger. The element details 220 may each indicate the specific flow element details that are output based on the respective input."; Column 8, lines 47-54, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph."; A large language model prompt that includes elements of the user input reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a topology representing the structure of a process flow as a graph reads on a solution topology in a graph representation that is derived from the requirements.);
and in response to the prompt, generating the graph representation language, and the solution topology in the graph representation [language] with the large language model (Column 7, lines 47-58, "For example, based on the LLM prompt that is input to the LLM 240, which may include the elements of the user input 210, the LLM 240 may generate element details 220. The element details 220 may include element details 220-a (e.g., an element 1 input and a corresponding output), element details 220-b (e.g., an element 2 input and a corresponding output), and element details 220-c (e.g., an element 3 input and a corresponding output). For example, the element details 220-a may correspond to the element 215-a, and thus may include element details of the record trigger. The element details 220 may each indicate the specific flow element details that are output based on the respective input."; Column 8, lines 47-54, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph."; A large language model prompt that includes elements of the user input reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a topology representing the structure of a process flow as a graph reads on a solution topology in a graph representation that is derived from the requirements.).
Xu does not specifically disclose: generating a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate a solution topology in a graph representation language that varies in syntax in response to a change to the requirements; and in response to the prompt, generating the graph representation language, and the solution topology in the graph representation language with the large language model.
Ferrari teaches:
generating a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate a solution topology in a graph representation language that varies in syntax in response to a change to the requirements (Section I, lines 28-29, "This paper aims to examine the capability of ChatGPT, a well-known LLM, to generate UML sequence diagrams."; Section III-A, lines 62-69, "We generated the sequence diagram for each variant by prompting ChatGPT using the visualization generator pattern [30]: “Generate a sequence diagram from these requirements so that I can provide it to Planttext to visualize it. Requirements: {list of requirements}”. We selected Planttext to visualize the sequence diagrams as it is webbased, free- and easy-to-use, and it applies the PlantUML textual language, a widely-used and human-readable language."; Prompting ChatGPT to generate a sequence diagram from requirements reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a sequence diagram from the requirements in a unified modeling language reads on generating a solution topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements.);
and in response to the prompt, generating the graph representation language, and the solution topology in the graph representation language with the large language model (Section I, lines 28-29, "This paper aims to examine the capability of ChatGPT, a well-known LLM, to generate UML sequence diagrams."; Section III-A, lines 62-69, "We generated the sequence diagram for each variant by prompting ChatGPT using the visualization generator pattern [30]: “Generate a sequence diagram from these requirements so that I can provide it to Planttext to visualize it. Requirements: {list of requirements}”. We selected Planttext to visualize the sequence diagrams as it is webbased, free- and easy-to-use, and it applies the PlantUML textual language, a widely-used and human-readable language."; Generating a sequence diagram from the requirements in a unified modeling language reads on generating a solution topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements.).
Ferrari is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of data extraction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to generate a sequence diagram from requirements in a unified modeling language. Doing so would allow for generating sequence diagrams from natural language requirements with terminological consistency and understandability (Ferrari; Section VII, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to claim 2 are applicable.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to claim 3 are applicable.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari, and further in view of Bracholdt et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0004157), hereinafter Bracholdt.
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: further comprising instructions that when executed by at least the processor cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to disregard a portion of the requirements; and exclude the portion of the requirements from inclusion in the prompt.
Bracholdt teaches:
further comprising instructions that when executed by at least the processor cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to disregard a portion of the requirements; and exclude the portion of the requirements from inclusion in the prompt (Claim 8, lines 1-12, "The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving a subsequent request from the user to change one of the ontology or the visual depiction; generating a subsequent prompt in accordance with the subsequent request; receiving a subsequent table from the large language model in accordance with the subsequent prompt; and generating a subsequent knowledge graph based on the subsequent table, wherein the subsequent knowledge graph replaces the knowledge graph generated based on the table."; A request from the user to change one of the ontology or the visual depiction reads on an instruction to disregard a portion of the requirements, and generating a prompt in accordance with the request reads on excluding the portion of the requirements from inclusion in the prompt.).
Bracholdt is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari to incorporate the teachings of Bracholdt to receive a request from a user to change an ontology and generating a prompt in accordance with the request. Doing so would allow for leveraging the processing capabilities of a large language model to efficiently and automatically generate a knowledge graph (Bracholdt; Paragraph 0012, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to claim 4 are applicable.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari, and further in view of Cha et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0292646), hereinafter Cha, and Goligorsky (US Patent No. 12,608,548).
Regarding claim 5, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: further comprising instructions that when executed by at least the processor cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to replace either (1) a particular type of node with a plurality of types of node or (2) a particular type of edge with a plurality of types of edge.
Cha teaches:
further comprising instructions that when executed by at least the processor cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to replace either (1) a particular type of node with a plurality of types of node or (2) a particular type of edge with a plurality of types of edge (Paragraph 0081, lines 1-5, "Referring to FIG. 6, an exemplary pipeline 601 comprising context information 605 that includes node substitution information 606 is illustrated. Generally, node substitution is a way to replace an original node (i.e., a “target node”) with one or more new nodes (i.e., “substitute nodes”)."; Node substitution information to replace an original node with one or more new nodes reads on an instruction to replace a particular type of node with a plurality of types of node.).
Cha is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari to incorporate the teachings of Cha to receive node substitution information to replace an original node with one or more new nodes. Doing so would allow for the creation and execution of user-defined, data-driven pipelines associated with node graphs, such as direct acyclic graphs (Cha; Paragraph 0016, lines 1-13).
Xu in view of Ferrari and further in view of Cha does not specifically disclose: indicate the instruction in the prompt.
Goligorsky teaches:
indicate the instruction in the prompt (Column 1, line 64 - Column 2, line 3; "Providing all possible options for custom user preferences in a user interface (UI) to insert into a corresponding pre-constructed prompt is not necessarily feasible and/or desirable. Therefore, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, methods and systems are provided to collect instructions from the end user to send directly to the LLM as part of the prompt."; Receiving prompt instructions from the user and sending the instructions to the large language model as part of the prompt reads on indicating the instruction in the prompt.).
Goligorsky is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of large language model prompt construction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari and further in view of Cha to incorporate the teachings of Goligorsky to receive prompt instructions from a user and send the instructions to a large language model as part of the prompt. Doing so would allow for providing large language model prompts based on user preferences (Goligorsky; Column 1, line 64 - Column 2, line 3).
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 5 are applicable.
Claims 6, 13, 15 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari, and further in view of Kwatra et al. (US Patent No. 12,028,224), hereinafter Kwatra.
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the solution topology is a compute infrastructure topology, the instructions further comprising: convert the solution topology to an executable deployment specification; and execute the deployment specification with an orchestration engine to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that is consistent with the compute infrastructure topology.
Kwatra teaches:
wherein the solution topology is a compute infrastructure topology, the instructions further comprising: convert the solution topology to an executable deployment specification (Column 9, lines 31-40, "In embodiments, and as described in greater detail herein, the IaC server 220 creates the IaC document 260 by converting the cloud architecture document 250 to a graph structure using region-based segmentation, using natural language processing (NLP) to determine cloud environment information specified in nodes of the graph structure, and using a machine learning (ML) model to determine predefined code modules for inclusion in the IaC based on the determined cloud environment information."; Determining an Infrastructure as Code (IaC) document from a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on converting the solution topology to an executable deployment specification, where the Infrastructure as Code document reads on an executable deployment specification and a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on a compute infrastructure topology.);
and execute the deployment specification with an orchestration engine to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that is consistent with the compute infrastructure topology (Column 9, lines 17-31, "In accordance with aspects of the invention, the IaC server 220 creates an IaC document 260 based on the cloud architecture document 250 and provides the IaC document 260 to the cloud environment 230. The IaC document 260 includes code (e.g., machine-readable code and/or machine-executable instructions) that can be executed to automatically configure a physical and/or virtual cloud computing environment according to the visual representation in the cloud architecture document 250. The IaC document 260 may be executed by simply opening the IaC document 260 by the host platform (e.g., the cloud environment 230) and executing the code therein. Thus, the platform can automatically configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document 250 by executing the IaC document 260."; Executing the code of an Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on executing the deployment specification with an orchestration engine to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that is consistent with the compute infrastructure topology, where an Infrastructure as Code document reads on the deployment specification, a host platform reads on an orchestration engine, a cloud computing environment reads on a target computer system, and the configuration set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on the compute infrastructure topology.).
Kwatra is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari to incorporate the teachings of Kwatra to determine an Infrastructure as Code document from a graph structure of cloud environment information and execute the code of the Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in a cloud architecture document. Doing so would allow for automatically converting an architecture document to an Infrastructure as Code document to eliminate or greatly reduce the amount of user time involved in manually coding the Infrastructure as Code document (Kwatra; Column 3, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 8, but does not specifically disclose: further comprising: converting the solution topology to an executable deployment specification based on definitions of those node types and edge types that occur in the requirements; and executing the deployment specification with an orchestration engine to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that is consistent with the compute infrastructure topology.
Kwatra teaches:
converting the solution topology to an executable deployment specification based on definitions of those node types and edge types that occur in the requirements (Column 9, lines 31-40, "In embodiments, and as described in greater detail herein, the IaC server 220 creates the IaC document 260 by converting the cloud architecture document 250 to a graph structure using region-based segmentation, using natural language processing (NLP) to determine cloud environment information specified in nodes of the graph structure, and using a machine learning (ML) model to determine predefined code modules for inclusion in the IaC based on the determined cloud environment information."; Determining an Infrastructure as Code (IaC) document from a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on converting the solution topology to an executable deployment specification based on definitions of those node types and edge types that occur in the requirements, where the Infrastructure as Code document reads on an executable deployment specification and a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on a solution topology.);
and executing the deployment specification with an orchestration engine to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that is consistent with the compute infrastructure topology (Column 9, lines 17-31, "In accordance with aspects of the invention, the IaC server 220 creates an IaC document 260 based on the cloud architecture document 250 and provides the IaC document 260 to the cloud environment 230. The IaC document 260 includes code (e.g., machine-readable code and/or machine-executable instructions) that can be executed to automatically configure a physical and/or virtual cloud computing environment according to the visual representation in the cloud architecture document 250. The IaC document 260 may be executed by simply opening the IaC document 260 by the host platform (e.g., the cloud environment 230) and executing the code therein. Thus, the platform can automatically configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document 250 by executing the IaC document 260."; Executing the code of an Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on executing the deployment specification with an orchestration engine to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that is consistent with the compute infrastructure topology, where an Infrastructure as Code document reads on the deployment specification, a host platform reads on an orchestration engine, a cloud computing environment reads on a target computer system, and the configuration set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on the compute infrastructure topology.).
Kwatra is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari to incorporate the teachings of Kwatra to determine an Infrastructure as Code document from a graph structure of cloud environment information and execute the code of the Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in a cloud architecture document. Doing so would allow for automatically converting an architecture document to an Infrastructure as Code document to eliminate or greatly reduce the amount of user time involved in manually coding the Infrastructure as Code document (Kwatra; Column 3, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses a computing system, comprising: at least one processor connected to at least one memory; one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that include stored thereon computer-executable instructions that when executed by at least a processor of a computing system (Column 18, lines 43-45, "A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for data processing is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor") cause the computing system to:
access requirements for a compute infrastructure that are in human language (Column 2, lines 43-53, "According to one or more aspects of the present disclosure, a user may use the described techniques to generate and edit process flows based on user instructions. For example, given a user instruction describing a task (that is to be automated), a model may generate process flow metadata and deploy the metadata to the flow generation service to generate the process flow. A user may input a natural language input (also referred to herein as a natural language query) to the flow generation service. The natural language input may indicate instructions for automating a task or process in accordance with a first process flow."; A natural language input indicating instructions for automating a task reads on requirements for a compute infrastructure that are in human language.);
generate a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate an infrastructure topology in a graph representation [language] that is derived from the requirements (Column 2, lines 53-62, "Using a large language model (LLM) (e.g., a machine learning model, an artificial intelligence (AI) model) to decompose the natural language input into a set of multiple elements and a corresponding set of multiple connectors. For example, an element may include an indication of data (e.g., who sent or received an email), an action (e.g., sending an email), among other information, and a connector may indicate a relationship between two or more elements (e.g., an email will be sent based on the data indicated in the previous element)."; Column 7, lines 30-38, "The user input 210 may include a natural language input or prompt indicating instructions for automating a task or process according to a first process flow. For example, if the task is to send an email based on a particular trigger, the user may input “create a flow to send emails after an opportunity is closed, then follow-up with the customer.” The flow generation service may decompose the user input 210 into a set of elements 215 that represent actions associated with the task."; Column 7, lines 47-58, "For example, based on the LLM prompt that is input to the LLM 240, which may include the elements of the user input 210, the LLM 240 may generate element details 220. The element details 220 may include element details 220-a (e.g., an element 1 input and a corresponding output), element details 220-b (e.g., an element 2 input and a corresponding output), and element details 220-c (e.g., an element 3 input and a corresponding output). For example, the element details 220-a may correspond to the element 215-a, and thus may include element details of the record trigger. The element details 220 may each indicate the specific flow element details that are output based on the respective input."; Column 8, lines 47-54, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph."; A large language model prompt that includes elements of the user input reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a topology representing the structure of a process flow as a graph reads on an infrastructure topology in a graph representation that is derived from the requirements.);
in response to the prompt, generate with the large language model: (1) a manifest that defines the graph representation language (Column 8, lines 47-60, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph. At this stage, only a high-level representation of each element may be generated. In addition, the resource list may indicate a list of the high-level representations of the resources, and the flow properties may include one or more global properties of the entire flow, such as a description, a label, and the like."; Generating a high-level representation of a topology, a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow that represent the structure of the flow as a graph and includes elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph, reads on a manifest that defines the graph representation language),
and (2) the infrastructure topology in the graph representation [language] (Column 7, lines 47-58, "For example, based on the LLM prompt that is input to the LLM 240, which may include the elements of the user input 210, the LLM 240 may generate element details 220. The element details 220 may include element details 220-a (e.g., an element 1 input and a corresponding output), element details 220-b (e.g., an element 2 input and a corresponding output), and element details 220-c (e.g., an element 3 input and a corresponding output). For example, the element details 220-a may correspond to the element 215-a, and thus may include element details of the record trigger. The element details 220 may each indicate the specific flow element details that are output based on the respective input."; Column 8, lines 47-54, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph."; Generating a topology representing the structure of a process flow as a graph reads on an infrastructure solution topology in a graph representation.).
Xu does not specifically disclose: generate a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate an infrastructure topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements; in response to the prompt, generate with the large language model the infrastructure topology in the graph representation language.
Ferrari teaches:
generate a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, wherein the prompt is configured to cause a large language model to generate an infrastructure topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements (Section I, lines 28-29, "This paper aims to examine the capability of ChatGPT, a well-known LLM, to generate UML sequence diagrams."; Section III-A, lines 62-69, "We generated the sequence diagram for each variant by prompting ChatGPT using the visualization generator pattern [30]: “Generate a sequence diagram from these requirements so that I can provide it to Planttext to visualize it. Requirements: {list of requirements}”. We selected Planttext to visualize the sequence diagrams as it is webbased, free- and easy-to-use, and it applies the PlantUML textual language, a widely-used and human-readable language."; Prompting ChatGPT to generate a sequence diagram from requirements reads on a prompt based at least in part on the requirements, and generating a sequence diagram from the requirements in a unified modeling language reads on generating an infrastructure topology in a graph representation language that is derived from the requirements.);
in response to the prompt, generate with the large language model the infrastructure topology in the graph representation language (Section I, lines 28-29, "This paper aims to examine the capability of ChatGPT, a well-known LLM, to generate UML sequence diagrams."; Section III-A, lines 62-69, "We generated the sequence diagram for each variant by prompting ChatGPT using the visualization generator pattern [30]: “Generate a sequence diagram from these requirements so that I can provide it to Planttext to visualize it. Requirements: {list of requirements}”. We selected Planttext to visualize the sequence diagrams as it is webbased, free- and easy-to-use, and it applies the PlantUML textual language, a widely-used and human-readable language."; Generating a sequence diagram from the requirements in a unified modeling language reads on generating an infrastructure topology in a graph representation language.).
Ferrari is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to generate a sequence diagram from requirements in a unified modeling language. Doing so would allow for generating sequence diagrams from natural language requirements with terminological consistency and understandability (Ferrari; Section VII, lines 1-5).
Xu in view of Ferrari does not specifically disclose:
convert the infrastructure topology into an executable deployment specification based on the manifest; and execute the deployment specification to automatically configure a target computing system to have the compute infrastructure that is described by the requirements.
Kwatra teaches:
convert the infrastructure topology into an executable deployment specification based on the manifest (Column 9, lines 31-40, "In embodiments, and as described in greater detail herein, the IaC server 220 creates the IaC document 260 by converting the cloud architecture document 250 to a graph structure using region-based segmentation, using natural language processing (NLP) to determine cloud environment information specified in nodes of the graph structure, and using a machine learning (ML) model to determine predefined code modules for inclusion in the IaC based on the determined cloud environment information."; Determining an Infrastructure as Code (IaC) document from a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on converting the solution topology to an executable deployment specification, where the Infrastructure as Code document reads on an executable deployment specification and a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on an infrastructure topology.);
and execute the deployment specification to automatically configure a target computing system to have the compute infrastructure that is described by the requirements (Column 9, lines 17-31, "In accordance with aspects of the invention, the IaC server 220 creates an IaC document 260 based on the cloud architecture document 250 and provides the IaC document 260 to the cloud environment 230. The IaC document 260 includes code (e.g., machine-readable code and/or machine-executable instructions) that can be executed to automatically configure a physical and/or virtual cloud computing environment according to the visual representation in the cloud architecture document 250. The IaC document 260 may be executed by simply opening the IaC document 260 by the host platform (e.g., the cloud environment 230) and executing the code therein. Thus, the platform can automatically configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document 250 by executing the IaC document 260."; Executing the code of an Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on executing the deployment specification to configure a target computer system to have compute infrastructure that described by the requirements, where an Infrastructure as Code document reads on the deployment specification, a cloud computing environment reads on a target computer system, and the configuration set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on the requirements.).
Kwatra is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari to incorporate the teachings of Kwatra to determine an Infrastructure as Code document from a graph structure of cloud environment information and execute the code of the Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in a cloud architecture document. Doing so would allow for automatically converting an architecture document to an Infrastructure as Code document to eliminate or greatly reduce the amount of user time involved in manually coding the Infrastructure as Code document (Kwatra; Column 3, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra discloses the computing system as claimed in claim 15.
Xu further discloses:
wherein the instructions to generate the manifest that defines the graph representation language, when executed by at least the processor, further cause the computing system to: define node types to correspond to elements that are described in the requirements; and define edge types to correspond to connections that are described in the requirements (Column 8, lines 47-60, "In decomposing the natural language input, the LLM service 325 may generate (e.g., using a generator component) high-level representations of a topology (e.g., elements and connectors), a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow. The topology may represent the structure of the flow as a graph and may include elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph. At this stage, only a high-level representation of each element may be generated. In addition, the resource list may indicate a list of the high-level representations of the resources, and the flow properties may include one or more global properties of the entire flow, such as a description, a label, and the like."; Generating a high-level representation of a topology, a resource list, and properties of a corresponding process flow that represent the structure of the flow as a graph and includes elements, which may be represented as nodes in the graph, and connectors, which may be represented as edges in the graph, reads on defining node types to correspond to elements that are described in the requirements and edge types to correspond to connections that are described in the requirements.).
Regarding claim 20, Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra discloses the computing system as claimed in claim 15.
Kwatra further teaches:
wherein the computer-executable instructions to generate the infrastructure topology in the graph representation language, when executed by at least the processor, further cause the computing system to: generate an intermediate logical infrastructure topology in an intermediate graph representation language based on the requirements (Column 9, lines 31-40, "In embodiments, and as described in greater detail herein, the IaC server 220 creates the IaC document 260 by converting the cloud architecture document 250 to a graph structure using region-based segmentation, using natural language processing (NLP) to determine cloud environment information specified in nodes of the graph structure, and using a machine learning (ML) model to determine predefined code modules for inclusion in the IaC based on the determined cloud environment information."; Converting the cloud architecture document to a graph structure reads on generating an intermediate logical infrastructure topology in an intermediate graph representation based on the requirements, where a graph structure of cloud environment information reads on an intermediate logical infrastructure topology in an intermediate graph representation and the cloud architecture document reads on the requirements.);
and generate the infrastructure topology in the graph representation language based on the intermediate logical infrastructure topology, the intermediate graph representation language, and the requirements, wherein the infrastructure topology is a physical infrastructure topology (Column 9, lines 17-40, " In accordance with aspects of the invention, the IaC server 220 creates an IaC document 260 based on the cloud architecture document 250 and provides the IaC document 260 to the cloud environment 230. The IaC document 260 includes code (e.g., machine-readable code and/or machine-executable instructions) that can be executed to automatically configure a physical and/or virtual cloud computing environment according to the visual representation in the cloud architecture document 250. The IaC document 260 may be executed by simply opening the IaC document 260 by the host platform (e.g., the cloud environment 230) and executing the code therein. Thus, the platform can automatically configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document 250 by executing the IaC document 260. In embodiments, and as described in greater detail herein, the IaC server 220 creates the IaC document 260 by converting the cloud architecture document 250 to a graph structure using region-based segmentation, using natural language processing (NLP) to determine cloud environment information specified in nodes of the graph structure, and using a machine learning (ML) model to determine predefined code modules for inclusion in the IaC based on the determined cloud environment information."; Determining an Infrastructure as Code (IaC) document from a graph structure of cloud environment information and executing the code of an Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in the cloud architecture document reads on generating the infrastructure topology in the graph representation language based on the intermediate logical infrastructure topology, the intermediate graph representation language, and the requirements, where the Infrastructure as Code document reads on the infrastructure topology, and executing the code of an Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment reads on the infrastructure topology being a physical infrastructure topology.).
Kwatra is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra to further incorporate the teachings of Kwatra to convert a cloud architecture document to a graph structure, determine an Infrastructure as Code document from the graph structure of cloud environment information, and execute the code of the Infrastructure as Code document to configure a cloud computing environment based on the configurations set forth in a cloud architecture document. Doing so would allow for automatically converting an architecture document to an Infrastructure as Code document to eliminate or greatly reduce the amount of user time involved in manually coding the Infrastructure as Code document (Kwatra; Column 3, lines 1-17).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari, and further in view of Zhong et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0201241), hereinafter Zhong.
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Ferrari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the instructions to generate the prompt further cause the computing system to specify a verbosity hyperparameter in the prompt.
Zhong teaches:
wherein the instructions to generate the prompt further cause the computing system to specify a verbosity hyperparameter in the prompt (Paragraph 0037, lines 1-5, "With continued reference to FIG. 1 and example prompt compositions 200A, 200B of FIGS. 2A and 2B, the prompt composition 200 includes an instruction parameter 210 that specifies a task for the assistant LLM 160 to response to user queries concisely."; Including a parameter that specifies a large language model to response to a user concisely reads on specifying a verbosity hyperparameter in the prompt.).
Zhong is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of large language model prompt construction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari to incorporate the teachings of Zhong to include a parameter that specifies a large language model to response to a user concisely. Doing so would allow for improving conversation conciseness during conversations between a user and a large language model (Zhong; Paragraph 0027, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 7 are applicable.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra, and further in view of Bracholdt.
Regarding claim 17, Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra discloses the computing system as claimed in claim 15, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the instructions that when executed by at least the processor further cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to disregard a portion of the requirements; and exclude the portion of the requirements from inclusion in the prompt.
Bracholdt teaches:
wherein the instructions that when executed by at least the processor further cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to disregard a portion of the requirements; and exclude the portion of the requirements from inclusion in the prompt (Claim 8, lines 1-12, "The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving a subsequent request from the user to change one of the ontology or the visual depiction; generating a subsequent prompt in accordance with the subsequent request; receiving a subsequent table from the large language model in accordance with the subsequent prompt; and generating a subsequent knowledge graph based on the subsequent table, wherein the subsequent knowledge graph replaces the knowledge graph generated based on the table."; A request from the user to change one of the ontology or the visual depiction reads on an instruction to disregard a portion of the requirements, and generating a prompt in accordance with the request reads on excluding the portion of the requirements from inclusion in the prompt.).
Bracholdt is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra to incorporate the teachings of Bracholdt to receive a request from a user to change an ontology and generating a prompt in accordance with the request. Doing so would allow for leveraging the processing capabilities of a large language model to efficiently and automatically generate a knowledge graph (Bracholdt; Paragraph 0012, lines 1-6).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra, and further in view of Cha and Goligorsky.
Regarding claim 18, Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra discloses the computing system as claimed in claim 15, but does not specifically disclose: wherein the instructions that when executed by at least the processor further cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to replace either (1) a particular type of node with a plurality of types of node or (2) a particular type of edge with a plurality of types of edge.
Cha teaches:
wherein the instructions that when executed by at least the processor further cause the computing system to: accept an instruction to replace either (1) a particular type of node with a plurality of types of node or (2) a particular type of edge with a plurality of types of edge (Paragraph 0081, lines 1-5, "Referring to FIG. 6, an exemplary pipeline 601 comprising context information 605 that includes node substitution information 606 is illustrated. Generally, node substitution is a way to replace an original node (i.e., a “target node”) with one or more new nodes (i.e., “substitute nodes”)."; Node substitution information to replace an original node with one or more new nodes reads on an instruction to replace a particular type of node with a plurality of types of node.).
Cha is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of graph generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra to incorporate the teachings of Cha to receive node substitution information to replace an original node with one or more new nodes. Doing so would allow for the creation and execution of user-defined, data-driven pipelines associated with node graphs, such as direct acyclic graphs (Cha; Paragraph 0016, lines 1-13).
Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra and further in view of Cha does not specifically disclose: indicate the instruction in the prompt.
Goligorsky teaches:
indicate the instruction in the prompt (Column 1, line 64 - Column 2, line 3; "Providing all possible options for custom user preferences in a user interface (UI) to insert into a corresponding pre-constructed prompt is not necessarily feasible and/or desirable. Therefore, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, methods and systems are provided to collect instructions from the end user to send directly to the LLM as part of the prompt."; Receiving prompt instructions from the user and sending the instructions to the large language model as part of the prompt reads on indicating the instruction in the prompt.).
Goligorsky is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of large language model prompt construction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra and further in view of Cha to incorporate the teachings of Goligorsky to receive prompt instructions from a user and send the instructions to a large language model as part of the prompt. Doing so would allow for providing large language model prompts based on user preferences (Goligorsky; Column 1, line 64 - Column 2, line 3).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra, and further in view of Zhong.
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra discloses the computing system as claimed in claim 15, but does not specifically disclose:
wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by at least the processor, further cause the computing system to: include a hyperparameter in the prompt that indicates to what extent the graph representation language is to be verbose; and generate the graph representation language to prioritize human-readability of the graph representation language in proportion to the hyperparameter.
Zhong teaches:
wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by at least the processor, further cause the computing system to: include a hyperparameter in the prompt that indicates to what extent the graph representation language is to be verbose; and generate the graph representation language to prioritize human-readability of the graph representation language in proportion to the hyperparameter (Paragraph 0037, lines 1-5, "With continued reference to FIG. 1 and example prompt compositions 200A, 200B of FIGS. 2A and 2B, the prompt composition 200 includes an instruction parameter 210 that specifies a task for the assistant LLM 160 to response to user queries concisely."; Including a parameter that specifies a large language model to response to a user concisely reads on specifying a verbosity hyperparameter in the prompt to prioritize human-readability.).
Zhong is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of large language model prompt construction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Ferrari and Kwatra to incorporate the teachings of Zhong to include a parameter that specifies a large language model to response to a user concisely. Doing so would allow for improving conversation conciseness during conversations between a user and a large language model (Zhong; Paragraph 0027, lines 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Papancea et al. (US Patent No. 12,190,416) teaches a method for receiving a natural language prompt from a user, providing the natural language prompt to a large language model configured to identify patterns in the natural language prompt, and generating a graph based on the identified patterns.
Pena-Pena et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0094010) teaches a method for automatically generating a compliance graph for a workflow.
Levy et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0010568) teaches a method for determining a taxonomy of an object from its textual description, standardizing attributes of the object from the description and the taxonomy using a language model, and building a graph data structure by using the standardized attributes for a node and connecting the node to other nodes using edges for common attributes.
Abolhasani et al. ("OntoKGen: A Genuine Ontology and Knowledge Graph Generator using Large Language Model") teaches a method for ontology extraction and Knowledge Graph generation using large language models.
Mao et al. ("Advancing Graph Representation Learning with Large Language Models: A Comprehensive Survey of Techniques") teaches techniques for integrating large language models into the graph domain.
/JAMES BOGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 2657