DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newman. (US 4,930,436)
With respect to claim 1, Newman teaches a wind indicator apparatus, elongated arm (flange 11); a spindle (pole 3) extending vertically from the elongated arm, the spindle configured to rotate about a vertical axis; a directional indicator element (mannequin 7) attached to the spindle, the directional indicator element configured to rotate with the spindle and indicate wind direction; a tail (display sign 10) extending upwardly from the directional indicator element, the tail comprising a surface for displaying advertisements or promotional content; and a base detachably secured to the elongated arm, the base configured for securing to a structure or object. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1) Note that although the base is not discussed, it must inherently exist.
With respect to claim 3, Newman teaches the directional indicator element comprises a center opening located between and integrally connected to a first horizontal member and a second horizontal member. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 6, Newman teaches the tail is removably attached to the directional indicator element to allow for interchangeable tails bearing different advertising or promotional content. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 9, Newman teaches the elongated arm is balanced about a center of mass to enable free rotation about the vertical axis. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 10, Newman teaches the base and elongated arm are configured to support attachment of alternative objects in place of the directional indicator element. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman.
With respect to claim 2, although Newman does not explicitly teach the base includes one or more magnets for securing the apparatus to a metallic structure it is known to attach a display apparatus using magnetic connectors and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use such a connector in order to removably attach the apparatus.
With respect to claim 12, Newman teaches a wind indicator apparatus, an elongated arm (flange 11); a spindle (pole 3) extending vertically from the elongated arm, the spindle configured to rotate about a vertical axis; a directional indicator element (mannequin 7) attached to the spindle, the directional indicator element configured to rotate with the spindle and indicate wind direction, and where the directional indicator comprises: a first horizontal member; a second horizontal member; and a center opening located between and integrally connected to the first horizontal member and the second horizontal member; a tail (display sign 10) extending upwardly from the directional indicator element, the tail providing a surface for displaying advertisements or promotional messages; and a base detachably secured to the elongated arm, the base configured for securing to a structure or object. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1) Note that although the base is not discussed, it must inherently exist.
Although Newman does not explicitly teach one or more magnets detachably secure the elongated arm to the base, it is known to attach a display apparatus using magnetic connectors and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use such a connector as an alternative structure for removably attaching the arm.
With respect to claims 4 and 13, although Newman does not explicitly teach wherein the spindle comprises a bottom portion and a threaded shaft, where a first end of the threaded shaft is integrally connected to, and extending upwardly from, the bottom portion and a second end of the threaded shaft is configured to engage with the center opening of the directional indicator element, the shaft must inherently include a bottom portion at a first end and a second end configured to engage with the center opening of the directional indicator element. It is common to use threading to attach such apparatus and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to supply this type of connection in order to easily connect and disconnect the structure.
With respect to claim 5, although Newman does not explicitly teach wherein the second horizontal member of the directional indicator element includes a channel configured to receive the tail, this is a common structure of attachment and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use such a channel as an alternative structure for removably attaching the tail.
With respect to claims 7 and 15, although Newman does not explicitly teach wherein the directional indicator element is magnetically attachable to a ferromagnetic surface, allowing the apparatus to be temporarily mounted apart from the base, it is known to attach a display apparatus using magnetic connectors and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use such a connector in order to facilitate the temporary attachment to other services.
With respect to claims 8 and 14, although Newman does not explicitly teach wherein the elongated arm includes a knurled texture adjacent the base to facilitate manual rotation and leveling of the apparatus, a knurled surface texture is known to provide additional assistance in grasping an article and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include such a structure for ease of use.
With respect to claims 11 and 18, although Newman does not explicitly teach the apparatus comprises modular components, each configured to be removed and replaced without tools, it is well known to provide modular components in an apparatus in order to readily attach articles and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide such an attachment for ease of replacement.
With respect to claim 16, Newman teaches the elongated arm is balanced about a center of mass to enable free rotation about the vertical axis. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 17, Newman teaches the base and elongated arm are configured to support attachment of alternative objects in place of the directional indicator element. (col. 3, lines 17-42, Fig. 1)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 305,098; US 842,693; US 1,798,840; US 2,034,813; KR 2000-0054701 and US 2011/0083350 each teach an apparatus having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853