DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2025 and 06/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirschner (DE 102021129893 A1) in view of Pfeilschifter et al. (US 2018/0131220 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kirschner discloses an energy storage device, wherein the energy storage device at least has a first operating mode, a second operating mode, and a dormant mode ([0038-0039] system and or control of the system includes a control device that can control the transfer of thermal and electrical energy and optimize the energy being delivered and thus can be read as the first and second operating mode and a dormant mode in which no heating is done) and comprises:
A cabinet, comprising an energy storage interface (Figures 1-3; [0033-0052] infrastructure equipment 12; charging point 34);
A battery pack installed inside the cabinet ([0034] infrastructure storage battery 24), wherein the battery pack is electrically connected to the energy storage interface ([0034] and Figure 1);
A charging connector ([0037] connector/ charging plug 42), used to transfer electrically energy ([0037]);
A cooling system (cooling line 48, coolant water inlet 58 and water outlet 60), configured to exchange heat with the charging connector (coolant line 48, see Figures 1-3; provides coolant to the connector);
A first heat dissipation apparatus, disposed in the cooling system (coolant line 48; [0041] multiple coolant lines can be used);
A temperature adjustment apparatus ([0034] coolant circuit 18 can be heated and have the temperature of the water changed), disposed in the cooling system;
A temperature adjustment system, configured to exchange heat with the battery pack, wherein the cooling system and the temperature adjustment system are thermally separated ([0034] coolant circuit 18 can be heated and have the temperature of the water changed through a heat exchanger);
A second heat dissipation apparatus, disposed in the temperature adjustment system (heat exchanger 28; [0034]); and
A controller, configured to keep the cooling system off and turn on the temperature adjustment system in the first operating mode, wherein the controller is configured to turn on the cooling system and the temperature adjustment system in the second operating mode, and the controller is configured to keep the cooling system off and turn on the temperature adjustment system in the dormant mode (Figures 1-3; control device 32 controls the thermal and or electrical energy between the building 12 and the vehicle 14 and can control the readings of the system; [0038-0039]).
Kirschner is silent with respect to a charging current converter, electrically connected to the battery pack to convert electrical energy inputted into or outputted from the battery pack, and wherein the converter electrically connected with the connector to transfer electrical energy converted by the charging current converter.
Pfeilschifter discloses a vehicle side charging circuit for a vehicle with electric drive and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the field of energy storage devices. Pfeilschifter discloses wherein a current converter that is used to generate a charging signal to an electrical energy storage device is provided and connected to a connector to simplify the connection between the battery and vehicle since no further electronics are required for the electrical connection such that electrical energy from the connector can be transmitted to the battery in a controlled manner ([0028-0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the converter of Pfeilschifter into the battery of Kirschner such that the converter is electrically connected to the battery pack and connector to generate a charging signal to transmit electrical energy to/from the battery pack in a controlled manner as taught by Pfeilschifter. The resulting modification would render obvious the structure of the independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kirschner discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kirschner further discloses wherein the first heat dissipation apparatus is a cooling container for accommodating a cooling medium (coolant line 48); a space in the cooling container for accommodating the cooling medium is provided in the cooling system (Figures 1-3); the cooling container exchanges heat with air; the second heat dissipation apparatus comprises a cooler and a first heat exchanger (Figures 1-3; heat exchanger 28); and the first heat exchanger spans between the cooler and the temperature adjustment system (Figures 1-3; [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kirschner discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kirschner further discloses wherein the temperature adjustment system comprises a third circulating loop and a third circulating pump (Figures 1-3; [0048] circulation or flow of the coolant takes place through pumps); a temperature adjustment flow channel of the battery pack and the third circulating pump are connected in series with the third circulating loop (Figures 1-3; [0048] circulation of the flow of coolant and heated coolant that can adjust the temperature of the channel); and the second heat dissipation apparatus is disposed in the third circulating loop (Figures 1-3; heat exchange is provided through the third circulating loop). Thus the structure of modified Kirschner renders obvious all the claim limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kirschner discloses all the claim limitations of claim 9. Modified Kirschner further discloses wherein the energy storage device further comprises an energy storage current converter (Pfeilschifter [0028-0029], see modification of claim 1); the energy storage current converter is electrically connected to both the battery pack and the energy storage interface to convert electrical energy inputted into or outputted from the battery pack (Pfeilschifter [0028-0029], see modification of claim 1); the temperature adjustment system further comprises a second pipeline ([0012, 0041] two coolant lines 48 are provided and more can be used and thus one or the plurality of coolant lines can be read as the second pipeline).
Modified Kirschner is silent with respect to the specific orientation of the second pipeline is connected in parallel with the temperature adjustment flow channel of the battery pack; the second pipeline is connected in series with the third circulating pump; and the temperature adjustment flow channel of the energy storage current converter is disposed in the second pipeline, however, this is deemed to be an orientation that can be rearranged. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the second pipeline to be connected in parallel with the temperature adjustment flow channel of the battery pack and to be in series with the third circulating pump and be disposed in the second pipeline as a simple rearrangement of the configuration of modified Kirschner without any unexpected results. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kirschner discloses all the claim limitations of claim 10. Modified Kirschner further discloses wherein the energy storage device further comprises a valve ([0013] valve). Kirschner is silent with respect to wherein the valve and the temperature adjustment flow channel of the energy storage current converter are connected in series with the second pipeline, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the valve and temperature adjustment flow channel to be connected in series with the second pipeline as a simple rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kirschner discloses all the claim limitations of claim 9. Modified Kirschner further wherein the temperature adjustment system further comprises a heater, and the heater is disposed in the third circulating loop ([0048-0052] figures 1-3; a heater/ exchanger can be used to heat the pipeline and can be disposed in the third circulating loop).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 contains the limitations wherein a cooler comprises a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, and an evaporator that are sequentially connected heat to tail and the first heat exchanger spans between the evaporator and the temperature adjustment system. This structure is not taught nor rendered obvious in view of the prior art as a skilled artisan would have no motivation to modify Kirschner nor Pfeilschifter to include all of the equipment in the particular orientation as claimed and thus claim 3 is deemed to be allowable for the structure as claimed used within the structure of claims 1-2. Claims 4-6 are objected for depending upon claim 3.
Claim 7 contains the limitations of an energy storage device comprising a first circulation pump, a first circulating loop comprising a pump and cooling flow channel, and a cooling subsystem wherein a cooling flow channel of the charging connector is disposed in the cooling subsystem that comprises a first pipeline connected in series with the first circulating pump and connected in parallel with the cooling flow channel of the charging current converter and wherein the first heat dissipation apparatus can be disposed within the cooling subsystem. This structure is not taught nor rendered obvious in view of the prior art as a skilled artisan would have had no motivation to modify Kirschner nor Pfeilschifter to include the first circulating loop and cooling sub-system with the particular orientation as claimed and thus claim 7 is deemed to be allowable for the structure as claimed used within the structure of claim 1. Claim 8 is objected for depending upon claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0147331 A1)- discloses an every storage system including a battery pack having a power converter and a pump for the power converter that uses fluid and air to heat a discharged fluid for the system. Kim is analogous with the instant invention as being directed towards heat exchange within energy storage modules.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728