DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s continuing patent application number 19/179,867 filed on 4/15/2025.
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 1, par. [0001], line 2; after “November 30, 2021” should be inserted -- now U.S. Patent No. 12,304,657 --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, lines 7-8; a phrase “which” renders the claim indefinite and confusing because it’s unclear whether “which” referring to which structure? Clarification is required. Claims 2-12 depending upon the rejected claim 1 are also rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,304,657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all structures of the instant claims are fully encompassed within the patented claims.
Following are mapping between instant and patented claims:
Instant claims: Patented claims:
1, 2, 3, 4 1, 2
5, 6 3
7 4
8 5
9 7
10 8
11 9
12 10
13 11, 2
14 3
15 10
16 14, 17, 18
17 16, 11
18 2
19 10
20 14, 17, 18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by US No. 2016/0376031 to Michalski et al. (‘Michalski’).
Re claims 1, 4, 5: Michalski discloses a kiosk (Notes that no special definition has been applied to the term, “kiosk” as [par. 0040] of applicant’s specification discloses that, “the UAS kiosk is easily replicable and customizable such that it can be designed to blend in with and/or aesthetically integrate into the particular area in which it is situated. In various embodiments, the UAS kiosk may comprise the roof top of an existing building, a shell of a building (e.g., a house) with the roof removed or with a retractable roof, for example. Additionally and/or alternatively, the UAS kiosk may include a natural barrier, such as a grove of trees for example”) for use in an unmanned aerial system (UAS) delivery system, the kiosk comprising: an enclosure comprising at least one vertical wall (see Fig. 26 & Base structure: Fig. 26, #204) having an entrance therethrough (Door: Fig. 26, #196), wherein the entrance is secured by an access control system to prevent unauthorized persons from entering the enclosure (A keypad, card reader, RFID reader or biometric sensor 200 is provided for authentication and authorization to enter the drone dome 180: [par. 0163]); a landing zone for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) of the UAS located within the enclosure (see Fig. 25, & FIG. 25 is a diagram of a stand 11 within an enclosure 180 referred to herein as a drone dome.: Par. 0159), the landing zone comprising infrastructure from which the UAV can take off and on which the UAV can land (The operational condition of the stand may include an availability of the stand for landing or launching: [par. 0096]); sensors for detecting an environment of at least one of the kiosk and the enclosure (one or more flight observation cameras 210 may be positioned at the top of the drone dome 180 to enable remote observation of UAVs approaching or departing from the drone dome 180: [par. 0165]; a secured area (Fig. 25, par. [0159]) within the enclosure 180 having a secured entrance to prevent unauthorized persons from entering the secured area, wherein the landing zone 30/32 is within the secured area; a package pickup or retrieval area, the package pickup area comprising equipment for securely storing packages addressed to recipients (The package may be delivered or released into a drop box that is physically secure and cannot be opened by a person without a key or combination, to deter theft or vandalism: Par. 0161).
Re claim 2: further comprising sensors 28 detecting an environment of at least one the kiosk and the enclosure (par. [0045]).
Re claims 3, 8: a guidance system for providing signals to the UAV to guide the UAV into the enclosure and onto the landing zone (A radio control antenna 214 may be provided to communicate control signals and position data to one or more UAVs: [par. 0165 & the processor 152 may execute software or be implemented by application specific integrated circuitry. The processor 152 may implement a flight course determination module 168 that computes flight course information for a U AV using know ledge of a current position of the UAV and the destination stand of the UAV. The processor 152 may also implement a UAV tracking module 170 to track a flight of one or more UAVs: par. [0121] & Once communication between the UAV and the stand 11a is established, the stand may determine that the UAV is near enough to the stand 11a to takeover flight control of the UAV to guide the UAV onto the stand and to land the UAV on the stand: par. [0091]); and a retractable roof disposed over a top of the enclosure (Retractable roof: Fig. 26, #184).
Re claims 6, 7: Michalski further discloses a maintenance area within the enclosure (services provided by the stand 11 may include refueling, recharging, material, package or fluid upload or download to or from the UAV 10, UAV maintenance and repair: par. [0096]), the maintenance area comprising equipment (clamping mechanism: par. [0097]) for use by a maintenance personnel to conduct maintenance on the UAV.
Re claims 9, 10, 11: Michalski further discloses wherein the package pickup area equipment comprises a locker, and wherein one of the packages addressed to one of the recipients is stored in the locker (The package may be delivered or released into a drop box that is physically secure and cannot be opened by a person without a key or combination, to deter theft or vandalism: Par. [0161]). Examiner has interpreted a drop box that is physically secured by a key or combination as a locker), wherein the package pickup area equipment communicates to the one of the recipients information for enabling the one of the recipients to enter the kiosk and open the locker to gain access to the one of the packages.
Claim(s) 13-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US No. 2018/0305125 to Guo et al. (‘Guo’).
Re claims 13, 14, 16, 17, 20: Guo discloses a kiosk 120 for use an unmanned aerial system (UAS) delivery system, the kiosk 120 comprising: an enclosure 121 comprising at least one wall 132 including a door 212 therethrough; a package receipt system (par. [0016]) within the enclosure 121 (Fig. 1), the package receipt system comprising: a package sorting funnel (par. [0016], Fig. 6) for receiving a package from a UAV hovering over the packages package sorting funnel, wherein the package includes radio frequency identification (RFID) tag affixed thereto (par. [0042]) ; a locker system 140 comprising a plurality of secured lockers 142; a package sorting system 188 (par. 0016]) configured to receive the package from the package sorting funnel and to automatically and without human intervention identify one of the plurality of secured lockers based on the RFID tag and place the received package into the identified one of the plurality of secured lockers 142; and a notification system (see par. [0005]) for providing a notification to a recipient of the received package, wherein the recipient is identified based on the RFID tag. Note that a citation “for use an unmanned aerial system” is functional, therefore, the citation is not being given any patentable weight.
Re claims 15, 19: further comprising ground robots 180 for transporting the UAV within the enclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US No. 2016/0376031 to Michalski in view of US No. 2018/0305125 to Guo.
Re claim 12, Michalski discloses basic structures for the claimed invention as stated above but does not disclose expressly further comprising ground robots for transporting the UAV within the enclosure. Guo discloses an accessible automated robotic warehouse, including a plurality of ground robots 180 (Fig. 1) for transporting within an enclosure 120. In view of Guo, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Michalski ground robots as suggested by Guo in order to assist and perform a quicker for desirable tasks.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US No. 2018/0305125 to Guo in view of U.S. No. 2016/0376031 to Michalski.
Re claim 18: Guo discloses basic structures for the claimed invention as stated above but does not disclose expressly wherein the secured area comprises at least one of equipment for charging the UAV, equipment for use by a maintenance personnel to conduct maintenance on the UAV, and equipment for securely storing the UAV when the UAV is not in use. Michalski further discloses a charging station within the enclosure, the charging station including equipment for charging the UAV (Inside or outside the drone dome 180 may be a fluid tank and pump 216 and a power generator 218 for recharging a UAV 10: par.[ 0165] & The stand supporting structure 36 may provide space for electronics that include control electronics 38, power supplies and power charger 40: par. [0047]). In view of Michalski, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Guo a charge station for UAV as suggested by Michalski in order to fully refill power for future usages.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached PTO-892).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to CHI Q. NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-6847. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 7AM-5PM or email: chi.nguyen@uspto.gov. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Mattei can be reached at (571) 270-3238. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197.
/CHI Q NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635
